Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

California Chrome Belmont

• 07-06-2014 8:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭

Well lads what do you reckon about California chrome tonight? My local bookie was doing a special of Ireland In rugby, England in the footy and California chrome at 3-1 so threw a score on it, plus have yank cousins over and they'll be watching it, they reckon it's some thing seriously special! haven't a clue about horse racing so what do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Will win by half the track

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Will blow up two out chasing home Samraat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I'd be against him. The distance of the Belmont is a marathon as far as the Americans are concerned. California Chrome might be the best over 9 and 10 furlongs but there's no guarantee he'll be as good over a mile and a half.

A dosage index of 3.4 it's surprising he even made 10 furlongs. None of the yanks bred for this trip Samraat the only one remotely near and took a chance each way at 25/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

What time is it on?

6.32 my time 11.32 there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

11:50, cheers lads,not so confident now!

UrbanSea wrote: »
    6.32 my time 11.32 there

Nooooo, I'll be out on the lash looking for wetties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

I hope he wins, good for racing and all that but i don't think he will stay well enough, heres hoping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

UrbanSea wrote: »
    6.32 my time 11.32 there

11.52 Irish time Im sure

It will be like Smarty Jones except this guy will hold on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Medal Count to nab a place at 4s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

11.52 Irish time Im sure

Are you sure sure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭amkin25

Nulty wrote: »
    Are you sure sure?

Just look on paddypower u can see there the race starts at 11.52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Finished 5th, looks like Totalist barely won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Not many happy faces in Belmont park tonight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

What was first 3?Couldn't get stream.

tonalist commisioner and medal count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Only the 9million lost on him by the Yanks. :pac: Strange enough ride but probably an impossible task these days as the record suggests.

Haha, the owner's one sour fecker.

Owner isn't taking it too well.

amkin25 wrote: »
    Owner isn't taking it too well.

Typical Yanks. Full of shyte.

They say how impossible it is. They have themselves to blame for the lack of stamina in their thoroughbreds. They never rate a European horse either, forget two 10 furlong races and a 12 furlong Sea the Stars won 8 to 12 a group 1 each month and he wasnt drugged up to his eye balls like very yank horse (or sportsman)

Disappointing to see him beaten. Ran a bit wide on the final turn possibly but was level with the winner 300 yards out so clearly didn't stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I'd say he'd have thumped de wife if the camera's werent there!!
    The cheek of her, doesnt know her role.

He only wants horses who ran in the Kentucky Derby to contest the other two legs of the Triple Crown.
    Yeah right :D

Wanted the horse to win but after that I'm glad he was beat. A terrible loser, a bit of class doesn't cost anything the colt has won over two million in prize money and will be a valuable stallion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

bitter and unreasonable but you gotta feel for him too. Guy obviously was desperate to see another triple crown winner and thought he might have it. Maybe he's a wanker all the time but I'd excuse him straight after the race.

Nulty wrote: »
    bitter and unreasonable but you gotta feel for him too. Guy obviously was desperate to see another triple crown winner and thought he might have it. Maybe he's a wanker all the time but I'd excuse him straight after the race.

Nah, no excuses. With the cameras on him, he knew exactly what he was saying. Simply a Grade A prick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Knob.

Jockey is a ****ing scumbag, should be banned for life for the treatment of that horse last night. The horse had nothing in the tank and he whipped the life out of it, was watching on a stream. I got brought home by two women Garda so I'll have to watch it again lol but that was my reaction at the time.

Johner wrote: »
    Jockey is a ****ing scumbag, should be banned for life for the treatment of that horse last night. The horse had nothing in the tank and he whipped the life out of it, was watching on a stream. I got brought home by two women Garda so I'll have to watch it again lol but that was my reaction at the time.

giggity giggity goo!

jimjamcos wrote: »
    giggity giggity goo!

Who has my ****ing shoes. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Who has my ****ing shoes. :(
    Another Cinderella story.:D

Maybe we should ban you from drinking for life too .

You'd wanna relax there amkin25. :mad:

Was just messing man didn't mean it to sound so serious.
    Have to say i didn't notice him overwhipping the horse but watched on a crap stream must try and get it on youtube.

Sorry amkin I love you really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

So the owner wants the winner of the Kentucky Derby to only meet the losers from that race in the Preakness and the Belmont?
    On pedigree California Chrome should be suited to 7f. Winning twice at 10f was probably because almost all US horses aren't bred to get more than a mile.

diomed wrote: »
    So the owner wants the winner of the Kentucky Derby to only meet the losers from that race in the Preakness and the Belmont?
    On pedigree California Chrome should be suited to 7f. Winning twice at 10f was probably because almost all US horses aren't bred to get more than a mile.

I know seems like a ridiculous idea,surely if it was done like this there would be triple crown winners every few years would surely take the magic out of it.

Yeah owner must have the I.q of a wooden spoon. Imagine your horse has a setback the week before the Derby and can't run in the other two or your horse is a massive improver or a slow developer. Good logic alright

Wasn't just a straight after the race reaction, this guy has no class. Complete and utter fcuktard!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SISguGDBUOM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Wasn't just a straight after the race reaction, this guy has no class. Complete and utter fcuktard!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SISguGDBUOM

That is classic!! "Would it be fair if I played basketball against a child in a wheelchair?" - what a moronic analogy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Deise Packers

Yoke was never gona get the trip in a box. Only managed to win KD because of ridiculous early pace. Think they went closer to 26 than 22 first quarter. Thanks will never see another Secretariat. They've killed off all their stamina Laden lines in favour of more precocious speed sorts. Their salvation may lie in Darley and Coolmore's US operations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

hopefully we will see California in the breeders