Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Cup Fantasy Football General Chat

• 05-06-2014 9:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

One of the lads on another thread mentioned this so said I'd get it started. I'd imagine we'll go with the McDonalds game where you pick a squad of 23.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/y=2014/m=5/news=mcdonald-s-world-cup-fantasy-is-back-2336126.html

Anyone with any players to watch? I don't follow international football too much to be honest.

A mate has said that Higuain could be one to watch. He apparently plays through the middle for Argentina with Aguero and Messi flanking him. I see he didn't feature in a friendly they had yesterday though against Trinidad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Backfire

Thanks for starting this thread lemlin.

I wouldnt be too well up on international players either.
    The epl is the only league i follow which wont help me that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

Argentina have a tasty group, Higuain could be a decent call; not forgetting Messi and Aguero.

I reckon Ribery could be one to watch as well.

Serge Aurier, Ivory Coast, he plays right back and gets forward (think Dani Alves), they've got a decent enough group and he could be one to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

I'll be overloading my team with Belgium, Argentina and France players

By far the easiest groups so looking like 3 from each of those

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

I wont be playing this as Im going over for the group stages going to usa ghana and japan greece both in natal. The last thing Ill want over there is trying to get to an internet cafe to change my FF team. I reckon dzeko will be a good shout they should get out of their group. Japan could be good for cheap players I also fancy them to get out of their group kagawa and a defender possibly. Id also look at a couple of french players benzema if fit. Anyway best of luck to all taking part I'll be spending my FF profits while watching all the group games in a beachside bar and taking in the other scenery;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Key Points...

23 man squad of...
    • 2 Goalkeepers
    • 6 Defenders
    • 6 Midfielders
    • 4 Forwards
    • 5 Any poistion

Player limits...
    Group Stage - 3 players from the same team
    Round of 16 - 5 players from the same team
    Quarter-finals - 5 players from the same team
    Semi-finals - 8 players from the same team
    Final - Unlimited

Transfers
    For group stage, each round of Games is a "Gameweek". You can make subs during between gameweeks, but no transfers.
    Each knockout round is a "Gameweek", and you can make unlimited transfers and subs between these gameweeks.
    Players values won't change during the game

Scoring
    Goals/Assists don't vary between positions. Defender goal is same as a forward goal.
    Clean Sheets same as FPL
    A lot more bonus points available than FPL. Bonus for every 30mns played, blocked shot, Every 2 balls delivered into penalty area, Ball recovered, Save rate (GK), Passes completion (D+M), Attempts rate (F). Negative points for 3 Fouls.
    Captains same as FPL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

I'm probably not going to bother for the first time in ages! If they measure the BR stat the same as last time it makes the game a bit silly really.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Crazy feckers...I need a break from FF!!!

LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I wont be playing this as Im going over for the group stages going to usa ghana and japan greece both in natal. The last thing Ill want over there is trying to get to an internet cafe to change my FF team. I reckon dzeko will be a good shout they should get out of their group. Japan could be good for cheap players I also fancy them to get out of their group kagawa and a defender possibly. Id also look at a couple of french players benzema if fit. Anyway best of luck to all taking part I'll be spending my FF profits while watching all the group games in a beachside bar and taking in the other scenery;)

I'm thinking about Varane from France. Mourinho has said he's the best centre back in the world.

Dzeko is a good shout. He's going into the WC in good form too.
    FutureGuy wrote: »
    Crazy feckers...I need a break from FF!!!

I'd sit it out but work are running a league with some decent prizes.

Lemlin wrote: »
    I'm thinking about Varane from France. Mourinho has said he's the best centre back in the world.

Dzeko is a good shout. He's going into the WC in good form too.

Clearly hasn't seen Jason Pearce in action

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Will the 'always captain Suarez' tactic be in effect? Have a fair idea of what my team will look like just wish I could set it up already!

You just know that the servers will crash the day it launches because they condensed the time to set up your team.

Captain Benzema laaaaaaaaaaads

HighClass wrote: »
    Will the 'always captain Suarez' tactic be in effect? Have a fair idea of what my team will look like just wish I could set it up already!

Its always captain a defender that works in this one!

Is this the game where, say, I play Neymar on Thursday night and he scores 2 points, I can sub him out for, say, Higuain because Higuain has yet to play?

No, if you have Neymar for the first round of group games that's it. No changing until the second round of group games.

Shedite27 wrote: »
    No, if you have Neymar for the first round of group games that's it. No changing until the second round of group games.

Ah that's good. I remember one of these games annoyed me a few years back because people could chop and change if a player didn't pay well.

Also check the game dates not sure if its this game but in one Brazil have a DGW in the first round.

jimmii wrote: »
    Also check the game dates not sure if its this game but in one Brazil have a DGW in the first round.

Is Neymar their main striker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭AlanDeGenerous

Pretty sure he plays just behind Fred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭Dearg81

Pretty sure he plays just behind Fred.

Yea he plays as a left winger but is still their main goal threat. His goal record at international level is amazing considering he's not their main striker.

Do France play with just Benzema up top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

My reading of the rules (http://en.mcdonalds.fantasy.fifa.com/rules) is that no transfers can be made during the group stage, would ye agree?

KevIRL wrote: »
    My reading of the rules (http://en.mcdonalds.fantasy.fifa.com/rules) is that no transfers can be made during the group stage, would ye agree?

Yep. It says 0 transfers and then unlimited from the last 16 when the groups are sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

Yep. It says 0 transfers and then unlimited from the last 16 when the groups are sorted.

Makes it far more interesting in my opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,115 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Just signed up for the Daily Mirror fantasy football.

Buffon

Zabaleta
    Alba
    Hummels

Vidal
    Di Maria
    Reus
    Rakitic

Messi
    Neymar
    Benzema

Dietsquirt wrote: »
    Makes it far more interesting in my opinion!

Are there valuations on players or do you just pick a best 23?

They state prices won't change over the torunament so I'm assuming that menas there's a budget.

BBC World Cup team guide that shows some predicted line-ups:

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/25155825

Ribery ruled out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

BBC World Cup team guide that shows some predicted line-ups:

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/25155825

Sweet link. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,220 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

Dónal wrote: »
    You just know that the servers will crash the day it launches because they condensed the time to set up your team.

Yep, a near certainty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Just stumbled across this after seeing this Tweet

https://footballfanager.com/register

Haven't read into it much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Reus ruled out of WC too. Some big enough names have been very unlucky this year.

44 hours til reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

44 hours til reg

4 hrs ;)

lol :O)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Shedite27 wrote: »

You sure about this? I thought you could sub out a player who had played if he didn't play well but then couldn't put him back in if his replacement did worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Rosco79

Degag wrote: »
    You sure about this? I thought you could sub out a player who had played if he didn't play well but then couldn't put him back in if his replacement did worse.

rule below....

You can change every player in your line-up that has not already played during the current round for any other relevant player in your squad that hasn’t already played.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand we're off

where is it!?!?!?!?

Doesn't seem to be working?

Edit: timer now reset with another 5 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,074 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

still 4 hours 38 mins to go

They've just put it back another 5 hours for ****s sake

Ah ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Backfire

It says 3hrs 27 mins remaining for me...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Rosco79

The Qatari's mustn't have been happy with David Luiz FF price.......

1 hour to go

60 seconds....

and its put back for another 2 hours