Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aggressive behaviour on the course

• 03-06-2014 1:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭

I played in a competition yesterday with three other guys. The first guy is a very good friend of mine (off 12), the other is a nice fella I kind of know (off 15), and the final guy was a complete stranger (off 22).

To begin with the last guy, the stranger, was very nice, very friendly. None of us were playing particularly well - but he was having a very bad day. His short game was all over the place. He started first by swearing a lot, which I don't really mind as we're all guilty of it at one time or another on the course. Then on the back 9 he started throwing clubs at his bag. He toed one shot 40 yards out of a greenside bunker and proceeded to nearly wrap his sandwedge around his bag. This continued now and again until the 15th when he made his excuses and left.

I didn't say anything to him as I was enjoying the morning, despite not playing well, and I didn't really want confrontation on a nice bank holiday Monday morning. However, thinking about it today I probably should have told him to grow up and cop on.

I'm sure you've come across childish behaviour like this, how did you deal with it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

You should have told him that he's not good enough to be getting upset at his poor play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Thankfully it's not often I've been faced with really aggressive behaviour on the course, but I do recall one incident where a non member was playing on my home course in a society and after a bad shot he slammed his club into the fairway taking a huge divot. I wasnt impressed and told him to repair the course and not do it again or I was getting into my car and going to his home course to do the same. He didnt do it again.

Other than that I played with 3 juniors one day and one of them was getting himself all worked up on the 1st hole throwing clubs about so I called his 2 buddies over and told them they had to calm him down or I wouldnt be signing anyones card. All was grand after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Thankfully I've never experienced anything too bad, usual cursing after a bad shot, but that's harmless unless its roaring or while someone's hitting.
    Hard to know how to handle real bad behaviour, I'd probably make a "joke with a jag" remark and hope he gets the message, but after that I be hesitant to do too much unless the person is putting me off or damaging the course.
    I'm just imagining an awkward 18 holes after a confrontation and that would really put me off my game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

My wife was playing with 3 other women in a practice round for a match at an away course. Three men playing behind them started hitting balls closer and closer, until the 4th hole where they hit a drive past them, hitting one of the women's bags. My wife and her friends called them through because they were afraid of getting hit by a ball at this stage. One of the men arrived up shouting that f**in' women were too slow playing golf and shouldn't be allowed play, the other two men said nothing. My wife pointed to the fourball ahead of them who were still on the green and who they were waiting on so that they could hit their next shot. The man who had been shouting at them just grunted and then proceeded to wait another two minutes for the green to clear so he could play through. For the rest of the round these three guys were right in front of them, apparently they didn't have the balls to treat the fourball of men ahead of them the same way. I'm glad I wasn't there :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Id be more upset with his premature departure than the other behaviour described tbh. Nothing you could have said would've made things any better so better off saying nothing.

Unless something happens that clearly distracts a player in the process of hitting a shot or a repeated assault on the course itself that's likely to affect groups coming behind, Id leave them to it and let them tire themselves out. Speaking as someone who was (and still is, if to a lesser extent) plenty guilty of losing the rag, Ive found that individuals have to come to the realisation of the utter pointlessness of expending energy with flip-outs (not to mention the cost of replacing abused weapons) themselves. Some learn faster than others, but everyone learns eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭delboykelly

Played in a open singles in Naas GC last year with a friend. While signing in the lad in pro shop said your out with two of our finest loud mouths.. Didn't know what he was about till we got to the first tee. Met these two chaps about 15/16 years old. Low handicappers. Think they were off 6/9 or something like that. One chap started hitting a few wild shots and cursed a few times but didn't overact. But the other little runt started hitting the odd wide tee shot and proceeded to mental. I never seen reactions like this before. He was cursing and swearing, throwing his clubs and shouting at his golf ball. Things like "you stupid fat ugly c**t"" out really loud after a bad swing. The carry on was fair bad. I said nothing to him but told his partner he should calm his friend. These two lads were members,, and we were there as visitors... I doubt any other Naas members would like us to be welcomed to their club like that!!!!

It didn't put me off the place. Lovely course and I'd like to play there again. Just not with them two plebs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭shamco

Played in a open singles in Naas GC last year with a friend. While signing in the lad in pro shop said your out with two of our finest loud mouths.. Didn't know what he was about till we got to the first tee. Met these two chaps about 15/16 years old. Low handicappers. Think they were off 6/9 or something like that. One chap started hitting a few wild shots and cursed a few times but didn't overact. But the other little runt started hitting the odd wide tee shot and proceeded to mental. I never seen reactions like this before. He was cursing and swearing, throwing his clubs and shouting at his golf ball. Things like "you stupid fat ugly c**t"" out really loud after a bad swing. The carry on was fair bad. I said nothing to him but told his partner he should calm his friend. These two lads were members,, and we were there as visitors... I doubt any other Naas members would like us to be welcomed to their club like that!!!!

It didn't put me off the place. Lovely course and I'd like to play there again. Just not with them two plebs...
    Played with a low handicapper one time in Castlewarden. He hit a tee shot OOB on one of the holes and proceeded to blame the crow in the tree beside for squawking at the top of his backswing. I kid you not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Felexicon

shamco wrote: »
    Played with a low handicapper one time in Castlewarden. He hit a tee shot OOB on one of the holes and proceeded to blame the crow in the tree beside for squawking at the top of his backswing. I kid you not.

Ah I've been guilty of that myself. Or those pesky cows who seem to now when I'm hitting a putt for 4 points and moo just before I hit it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

shamco wrote: »

Might be the same guy I played with in an open at Castlewarden. Topped a shot into the rough and proceeded to ask if one of us was chewing gum as it put him off. Needless to say none of us were :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Not going to say I've never got thick playing with familybut never, ever with strangers or friends.

In fact in competitions I totally lose the edge and tend to try and laugh it off, when if that was a fourball with my old man and brothers I would be steaming. I just can't get angry in front of people.

Double edged sword, emotions in check, but that desire to scramble like a demon, smouldering underneath to get points back to a target.

Imposing yourself on others on the course is so fu**ing selfish. The worst thing to say to the ragers is calm down, you kind of have to ride it out then say 'listen, you can't be going around like that' semi jokingly, but the point had to be made.

Fair play to the guy who pulled the junior up through his mate, that's a great example of tact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Having professional golfers swear, break clubs, throw balls in the water certainly doesn't help with proper course etiquette for the normal golfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

Played with a Prima Donna 5 handicapper a few years ago. I knew we were in for a long day when he sweared out loud having lipped out from at least 30 feet! Anything <100% and he was off. The highlight was a poor rescue wood into a par 4 when he threw the club after the ball. He turns and looks at me with his big red head and I just say, calmly, "Jesus, if you're like this on a golf course, what are you like at home?" and he goes MAD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

It's a horrible day to be playing with somebody who behaves like that.

A few weeks ago I played with somebody who was equally annoying in a totally different way.
    He got a par putt from 4 foot on the first and proceeded to let out a big "yes" shout while celebrating like he just won the masters. He did this for every par he got and he had about 8-9.

I found it very very annoying I must admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

This thread is making me laugh, I too have unfortunately being parred with some right tools over the years, few juviniles in our place are shocking, jamming putters into the green, throwing clubs, smashing up there bag, bad manners if nothing else. It's only a game, not as if there playing for there lively hood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Played with a 17 year old in an open recently who told me on the first tee that this wasn't his driver as he had broken his other one as he swings too fast. :rolleyes:

Knew I was in for a long day after that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 PaddyOisin

I had a strange one recently when I played with a guy who lost it completely after lots of shots, wailing about how unfair the world was when he missed a 20 foot breaking putt, throwing clubs at his bag, after the ball and back along the fairway when he hit bad shots, and he was having a terrible day. To be fair, he apologised to me at the end of the round. The strange thing was that I went into a state of zen calm, played the second best round of golf in my life and won the competition by 6 shots!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

May as well confess I can be that guy. I 100% hate myself for being that way and I try very hard to control it but some days it just all builds up. So to all the people I've played with ... Sorry :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Myself and a playing partner set up a swear box as we used to constantly flip out. More from shame than actually putting money in we both eradicated most of these shortcomings.
    Nowadays I keep it pent up for the next box which can be counteractive unfortunately.
    Worst I've seen is a broken phone in a bag pocket where a driver was slammed into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

We are all guilty of having anger build up during a round. If i do something very silly and schoolboy or miss a simple putt I try my best to vent before standing on the next tee box.
    The way I deal with it is I use the ball as a stress ball and I just pass it between my hands squeezing it as hard as I can on the walk. I don't scream or shout or act childish and I find this a good way of loosening out some of the tension built up by the bad mistake.

I find it very simple and effective and it works for me but that's not saying it will for everyone. I'd generally be a calm personality and wouldn't get too high with great shots or get too low with the bad ones but I understand that some people do have extreme highs and lows while playing and may need to find their own remedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Played with a 17 year old in an open recently who told me on the first tee that this wasn't his driver as he had broken his other one as he swings too fast. :rolleyes:

Knew I was in for a long day after that :D

Jees, I played with a kid on Monday who said the exact same thing to me! Did his name begin with J?

A few minor explosions on the way around due to bad choices of shot more than bad shots. Also didn't appear to think there was anything wrong with using the C-word regularly in front of my wife.

Nice guy, but he drove me mad for the round with his obsession with distance.
    "What did you hit there?"
    "My friend's brother's aunt's nephew hits his 9 iron 215 yards"
    "Will you go for this in two, it's only 570 yards?"
    etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭stooge

I broke my G10 driver last week in killeen at the 18th.

Hit a bit of a weak drive (not too bad though) and proceeded to hit my tee with the bottom of my club in anger (not partcularly hard) and the head came away from the shaft. painful and pricey lesson on anger management (especially considering I had to play a round the next day too!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

newport2 wrote: »
    Jees, I played with a kid on Monday who said the exact same thing to me! Did his name begin with J?

A few minor explosions on the way around due to bad choices of shot more than bad shots. Also didn't appear to think there was anything wrong with using the C-word regularly in front of my wife.

etc

Might just be compensating for something there! ;)

newport2 wrote: »

etc

No not J. I'd say there's a few of them out there. :D

Ya distance was a big concern. Not a hint of course management. Driver on every hole.

I didn't play golf growing up so no idea if I would have been like that. Well apart from the language. My mother would box my ears :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

It's a game of golf. I know it's frustrating but it's a game. Cannot tolerate anyone I play with banging clubs and cursing. Have told many playing partners in the past to cop on when they start acting up on the course..

Heard a good tip from Karl Morris. He says something along the lines of expel all the air out of your body slowly and deeply. Consider the air to be the bad shot leaving you. You can also consider the trees around taking in the air and turning it back into good oxegen.

Works for me anyway. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Rippeditup

A guy I grew up with use to have an awful temper and it cost him quite a few times.

- He got a brand new Taylor Made - Burner Ti (way back when) and we where on the 11th in Ashbourne and he hit a bad drive, Yoink he threw the club in the wrong direction and it flew all the way down to the lake on the 12th green.. Gone - His Dad was none too impressed and gave him a bit of a slapping for it
    - Missed a putt on the 18th and threw his putter (Lovely original Scotty) which got caught in a tree and he couldn't see it or get it down - Gone

Bags broke, rounds ruined and loads of laughs for us as this guy was so quite normally and a savage golfer who ruined cards with this temper as once it went he lost his game completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Heard a good tip from Karl Morris. He says something along the lines of expel all the air out of your body slowly and deeply. Consider the air to be the bad shot leaving you. You can also consider the trees around taking in the air and turning it back into good oxegen.

Works for me anyway. :D

Ha, I do a trick like that, open water bottle and pour it over my face, cleansing the badness out of me,

Jaysus I'd have to carry a lot of water :eek: :D

Air is free (for now) - water won't be for long :D