Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travelling Bull

• 30-05-2014 11:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭

I know its illegal and stupid but it's still going on.

Heard lately of a fella bringing a bull on the road into an area close enough to me to bull cows, height of ignorance as he coming out of an area that has had fair few BVD PI calves.. He mixing and breeding with those cows/calves and now coming close to me.

No BR testing , no movement Cert obviously .. Few people saying if dept of ag were to catch him/ get tip off .. He and the man calling him in would lose all SFP etc

Would ye report him/ threatening our livelihood etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Bodacious wrote: »
    I know its illegal and stupid but it's still going on.

Heard lately of a fella bringing a bull on the road into an area close enough to me to bull cows, height of ignorance as he coming out of an area that has had fair few BVD PI calves.. He mixing and breeding with those cows/calves and now coming close to me.

No BR testing , no movement Cert obviously .. Few people saying if dept of ag were to catch him/ get tip off .. He and the man calling him in would lose all SFP etc

Would ye report him/ threatening our livelihood etc

Have you only heard of it or seen him moving this bull and seen him with neighbours cows? Word of mouth can be a dangerous thing in some parts.

If you are suspicious about it Bodacious then yes, please do call it in to the dept vet in the area. While you have no concrete proof that he has no movement cert or testing to be able to show the dept, they will be able to check all his records.
    If he's up to date with all that he needs to be, then no harm done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Have you only heard of it or seen him moving this bull and seen him with neighbours cows? Word of mouth can be a dangerous thing in some parts.

If you are suspicious about it Bodacious then yes, please do call it in to the dept vet in the area. While you have no concrete proof that he has no movement cert or testing to be able to show the dept, they will be able to check all his records.
    If he's up to date with all that he needs to be, then no harm done.

confirmed by 2 people.. e40 and away to next cow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Report him. Only way that this country will ever get sense is by learning through the actions taken against stockholders that continue to flout the laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Seen ad's on Donedeal recently offering such a service :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

That's a bit blatant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Base price wrote: »
    Seen ad's on Donedeal recently offering such a service :mad:

Saw the rent a bull on dd, but you'd imagine that would be done the correct way, but maby not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Lambofdave

Some farmers are continually flouting the law and never see any consequence because others don't want to rock the boat and report them or other wise they be seen for the want of another word a grass. This is happening in all sectors.

One sector is in its boom to bust phase at the moment and if its downfall comes from a farm or from listening to food harvest 2020, those will take no personal responsibility for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I know a lad doing the rounds with four bulls , he could be in and out of 10 farms a day !
    Is there a proper procedure for hiring in a bull for a month or two ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

moy83 wrote: »
    I know a lad doing the rounds with four bulls , he could be in and out of 10 farms a day !
    Is there a proper procedure for hiring in a bull for a month or two ?

Yes, bulls may be leased for a season. It's completely legal to do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Had to collect 3 springers for friend in portumna back couple of years ago in calf to lim, asked him did he work all lm or have a lm bull? He told me a lad travels around with bull servicing, untold of around here

simx wrote: »
    Had to collect 3 springers for friend in portumna back couple of years ago in calf to lim, asked him did he work all lm or have a lm bull? He told me a lad travels around with bull servicing, untold of around here

Ya the travelling bull died out years ago around here but a lad started up again a couple of years ago again and he seems to be flat out . Im surprised with people being more clued into biosecurity and the like . But it is handy if something is bulling on an outfarm or if you haven't time to put something in for ai'ing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

A good way to bring IBR into your herd, and probably a host of other diseases aswell.
    If the bull is covering a lot of farms, then the chance of having one of these infectious diseases goes up big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Report any suspicious or unusual transactions or movements involving livestock to the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine or the Garda Siochana (such information can be provided on a strictly confidential basis).

From here:

http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/media/migration/animalhealthwelfare/animalidentificationandmovement/ShowsCircular2012.doc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A good way to bring IBR into your herd, and probably a host of other diseases aswell.
    If the bull is covering a lot of farms, then the chance of having one of these infectious diseases goes up big time.
    is there not also a risk of ai man carrying diseases from farm to farm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    Once the normal biosecurity practices are taken then it lessens the risk.
    Although how many of ye here have foothbaths in use. I know we only pull ours out if Dept are due or annual test :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

It's hard enough keeping disease out of a closed herd without getting in a bull that's been around half the county. Surely if the farmer goes to the bother of putting a cow in to meet this bull he could get her Ai'ed.

There is but you could say that about your contractor for any other farm work or you visiting a friends farm or your vet. You can't completely eliminate the risk but you can try manage it as much as possible. Our vet and old ai/scan man youst to do a full scrub down with disinfectant like a doctor before and after all work. Any good lad at should do this.

an ai man could visit lets say 40 farms a day-at least-. The bulls ye are on about would be going to a few farms aday. i reckon the risk is alot higher from ai man , but thats just my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

an ai man could visit lets say 40 farms a day-at least-. The bulls ye are on about would be going to a few farms aday. i reckon the risk is alot higher from ai man , but thats just my opinion

Yeah, but the Ai man is using new sheaths and gloves for every cow. The bull only has the one set of equipment :D

tanko wrote: »
    Yeah, but the Ai man is using new sheaths and gloves for every cow. The bull only has the one set of equipment :D
    same wellies for every farm, in order for them to clean them properly would need a brush and disenfectant mixed properly on each farm

This is exactly what he dose. This is what he done 15 years ago. Your right it's possible, but the risk is small if they disinfect properly. The only way to lower the risk further is to do your own ai or breed your own stock bull. How many of us go to the mart or factory in our boots or Welles and go home to the farm with out disinfecting them properly? (Myself included)

Its just an observation. Fair enough bull may pass something on but ai etc too has risks

Any one given any thought to the bull. Jesus I'd say he'd love a smoke!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Used to work as an ai man. Often done up to seventy cows in a day.

When you in a crush on a rough place youd often be lucky to get the boots clean enough to get back into the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

mf240 wrote: »
    Used to work as an ai man. Often done up to seventy cows in a day.

When you in a crush on a rough place youd often be lucky to get the boots clean enough to get back into the car.

My AI man is very clean always makes sure he bins all his sleeves and has clean boots when he comes and leaves with clean boots

yes normally that is the way, but a few weeks ago our ai man didnt even have time to write in the book and was running back to his jeep. I know myself i powerwash my wellies before i get into milk tank to wash it but they are still dirty.....takes a good wash to really wash them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

yes normally that is the way, but a few weeks ago our ai man didnt even have time to write in the book and was running back to his jeep. I know myself i powerwash my wellies before i get into milk tank to wash it but they are still dirty.....takes a good wash to really wash them
    But my bull doesnt wear wellies, should i get him a pair. he does it the old fashioned way with his tommy tucker and i dont fancy washing that every time he services something.

Miname wrote: »
    But my bull doesnt wear wellies, should i get him a pair. he does it the old fashioned way with his tommy tucker and i dont fancy washing that every time he services something.
    same with all my bulls, just putting it out there that ai is not the be all and end all where disease is concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

I reckon that a lot of disease is in the AI straw.

Do you have an enclosed tank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Hope there is no milk in the tank. Or is it a bath your having.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

dzer2 wrote: »
    I reckon that a lot of disease is in the AI straw.

Bulls in AI stations are regularly checked for all diseases that might be transmitted venereally.

But it could be educational to have a travelling bull in the area. I've never seen Trichomoniasis, Vibriosis, Infectious Pustular Vulvovaginitis or herd outbreaks of Contagious Bovine Pyelonephritis.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Isnt a bit like condemning the prostitute but absolving clients .this whole business of biosecurity is bit of red hering in my books to be honest and while I maintain a relatively closed herd there is no way to farm completely secure.feck sake the mart would be the first place to go and are you going to disinfect every bird , fox or fly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

keep going wrote: »
    Isnt a bit like condemning the prostitute but absolving clients .this whole business of biosecurity is bit of red hering in my books to be honest and while I maintain a relatively closed herd there is no way to farm completely secure.feck sake the mart would be the first place to go and are you going to disinfect every bird , fox or fly.
    im just a bowzy that cant sleepafter too much red bull why are you up at this time?

Do you have an enclosed tank?
    no its a 30 year old dari kool tank, soon to be gone. The main question i asked each bulk tank sales man was would i ever have to get into the new tank. Have to get into this one once a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

greysides wrote: »
    Bulls in AI stations are regularly checked for all diseases that might be transmitted venereally.

But it could be educational to have a travelling bull in the area. I've never seen Trichomoniasis, Vibriosis, Infectious Pustular Vulvovaginitis or herd outbreaks of Contagious Bovine Pyelonephritis.

I wouldnt be blaming the bull

i wonder do the farmers who are offering this service has insurance for what they are doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

i wonder do the farmers who are offering this service has insurance for what they are doing?

Ahh....... no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

insurance on vehicle towing it - maybe ;-)

Bodacious wrote: »
    insurance on vehicle towing it - maybe ;-)

And its a big maybe :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Backroad insurance!!!