Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A decent pair of runners, and best place to get them?

• 29-05-2014 9:23pm

Hey folks,

About a year or two ago (jaysus, maybe even more?) there was a thread either in the Health and Fitness section, or the Bargain Alerts section, and whatever it was about, I jumped into the thread and read loads of reviews about a great pair of runners.

I bought them, and never really regretted it (it helped that they were only about €30 at the time too, if memory serves me right).

They were highly recommended on the thread.

They were called (I think, this is from looking at the runners themselves, as I can't find the actual thread) Saucony Pro Grid Ride 2.

This is them:

f_2259d_1.1.jpg

I think I bought them on StartFitness.co.uk.

So I was wondering, seen as ye guys would generally be more clued in than I, is it worth just looking for the same exact runners again, or are runners seasonal (ie; is there Ride 3, and Ride 4, etc?) or is there a new favourite brand or model of runners that everyone on boards loves (you can usually trust boards :P ).

From a quick mooch on StartFitness, i see there's a Ride 5, but there's also a ton of other varieties, varying in price. Should I stick to what I know, or is there any thing in particular you should look for in a decent pair of runners? (I'd have no idea).

I can only run about 2k before dying a death, but they'll see at about an hour of daily walking each day (With running thrown in randomly) and I'm a heavy chap, so..

Anyone any advice? Or am i complicating a simple procedure? :confused:

Cheers :)

Ended up caving and just buying the Ride 6.

http://www.startfitness.co.uk/product.asp?strParents=&CAT_ID=0&P_ID=53045&strPageHistory=search&numSearchStartRecord=1

Was tempted to go with a cheaper set of Asics, but I have found the Saucony runners to be exceptionally good, so fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

/thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 ShadowLFC

Personally I would have gone for Asics but that could just be me being brainwashed from working at a sports shop! Hope it works out for you!

endacl wrote: »
    /thread?

Was kinda hoping a few more clued in posters would've appeared a bit sooner, but i do realise it's a thursday night and people have better things to be doing (the cheek of them!) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

fitnessfootwear.com

Just bought the Salomon Speedcross 3 for trail running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

OP, if you've found a pair that are comfortable and don't give you sore feet, then go with that.

I do the same with runners and football boots and it's never let me down :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

In some elvery's stores they will do a "foot balancing", where they show you on a machine your "footprint". I was having trouble with the outside of my foot and my hip. It turns out i have really, really high arches. On my left foot, only the ball and heel touch the ground, i have nothing in the middle.