Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking In Residential Housing Estates???

• 28-05-2014 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭

Just looking to get a few points of views on this .......... where I work has no parking for staff and the nearest car park is quite expensive (in excess of 20 euros per day, 100 euros per week etc.) so I and a few other commuters park in a nearby residential area which annoys the residents no end!!

The thing is ......... I don't get why?
    We park on a public road and don't block their driveways .......... so what's the problem? They have rang the Guards to complain and were told that it's a public road so no offence has been committed ............ they rang the Council and were told the same thing with a possibility of doing Pay & Display there but were warned that residents would need to pay for a permit to park on the road and their visitors/guests would need to use the Pay & Display machine to pay for parking.
    They have resorted to leaving petty notes on our windscreens ("your nct/tax is due, I've called the Guards" kinda thing) and placing traffic cones in parking spaces (removed by the Council as they were deemed illegal and actually the property of the Council so also stolen property!) ............ I just don't get it, am I missing something?

The same thing happens in the estate I live in ......... people park outside my house (assume they work nearby) on a regular basis but as long as they don't block my driveway it doesn't bother me or any of my neighbours I have to say ........ as one of my neighbours commented "I bought the house, not the road!!".

So what's your opinion on this? Do you park in residential areas?? Do commuters park in your area and does it bother you?? If so ......... why?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

there's nothing anyone can do on a public road with no restrictions. The Residents wouldn't be happy with restrictions either....fact of life.

I hope they did call the Gard's about the no tax/NCT thing though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

corktina wrote: »
    there's nothing anyone can do on a public road with no restrictions. The Residents wouldn't be happy with restrictions either....fact of life.

I hope they did call the Gard's about the no tax/NCT thing though

One resident did call the Guards (we have a "mole" on the Residents Committee, distant relative of one of the girls I work with) about an nct that was due the following week and a tax disc being two days overdue .......... I believe the Guard said something along the lines of "we'll get our best detectives on the case asap!!" :)

MadDog76 wrote: »
    One resident did call the Guards (we have a "mole" on the Residents Committee, distant relative of one of the girls I work with) about an nct that was due the following week and a tax disc being two days overdue .......... I believe the Guard said something along the lines of "we'll get our best detectives on the case asap!!" :)

ah well, that is daft..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Tdoyle

I have relatives living quite close to DCU and on their road there are traffic cones along the whole length of the road on both sides even though most houses have their own driveways. It's very intimidating and I always feel I can't park where these cones are even though I know they are illegal and it's a public road. I don't get it at all.

Tdoyle wrote: »
    I have relatives living quite close to DCU and on their road there are traffic cones along the whole length of the road on both sides even though most houses have their own driveways. It's very intimidating and I always feel I can't park where these cones are even though I know they are illegal and it's a public road. I don't get it at all.

Why don't you report them to the Council??? I would personally (and have done) pull up, move the cones onto the pavement and park my car!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Tdoyle

Yes I know you are correct but I dont because my relatives are younger family members and I wouldn't like to cause any problems for them with their neighbours. I know this is intimidation and I know it shouldn't be happening but I am not prepared to be the one to rock the boat so to speak!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

A private housing estate is not a public road, unless the local council has formally taken over maintenance of the services there, including roads, lighting, sewers, water etc. If there is a residents management company paying for and looking after these services, they are quite entitled to erect gates on the estate if they wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I live right beside a train station.

cars park in my estate all the time. I don't mind....I understand you don't own the road outside your house. Other people go mental though! Fierce territorial.

The one thing I don't like though is when the bin lorries are blocked..not so much that the bins aren't collected for one week...more that I always think what if that was an ambulance or fire engine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Just looking to get a few points of views on this .......... where I work has no parking for staff and the nearest car park is quite expensive (in excess of 20 euros per day, 100 euros per week etc.) so I and a few other commuters park in a nearby residential area which annoys the residents no end!!

We park on a public road and don't block their driveways .......... so what's the problem? They have rang the Guards to complain and were told that it's a public road so no offence has been committed ............ they rang the Council and were told the same thing with a possibility of doing Pay & Display there but were warned that residents would need to pay for a permit to park on the road and their visitors/guests would need to use the Pay & Display machine to pay for parking.
    They have resorted to leaving petty notes on our windscreens ("your nct/tax is due, I've called the Guards" kinda thing) and placing traffic cones in parking spaces (removed by the Council as they were deemed illegal and actually the property of the Council so also stolen property!) ............ I just don't get it, am I missing something?

The same thing happens in the estate I live in ......... people park outside my house (assume they work nearby) on a regular basis but as long as they don't block my driveway it doesn't bother me or any of my neighbours I have to say ........ as one of my neighbours commented "I bought the house, not the road!!".

So what's your opinion on this? Do you park in residential areas?? Do commuters park in your area and does it bother you?? If so ......... why?!?!

You don't get why?
    Because it blocks parking for them, it causes additional traffic in a residential area, it poses an increased risk to the kids and other residents.

There's countless reasons. When the houses were built a payment was made to the council this covered such things as maintaining and providing roadways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

In general, people don't like this too much as it only takes one of your co-workers to park badly and the resident can be inconvenienced for the whole day. Example being if someone is waiting on a delivery etc.

As said above though, there's nothing stopping you parking there once you park sensibly of course.

Where I used to live in Dublin was a busy road which became madness while GAA matches were on in Croke Park. We found that cars visitng from the country, perhaps not used to parking restrictions, would block our driveway and we were stuck for a whole day without the use of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Man007

Most people these days have more than one car so whether you are blocking their driveway or not is irrelevant. The person with the 2nd car or in some cases 3 rd or 4th if kids living at home may have nowhere to park because you are blocking the space on the road.

If it was me I'd be seriously pissed if someone was constantly parking outside my house as it is it annoys me if my neighbour parks outside my house.

By the way how many cars are we talking about here how many of you constantly park in this estate.

In some estates there is ample parking for visitors, in others not so much. Would you be so enthusiastic if your friends or family coming to visit you had no where to park all day, every day, all year ?

It would depend on the residential area and how much room it had, and at most it would be for an hour or two, not 40 hours a week 50 weeks a year. That's taking the piss. Private companies have a responsibility to provide parking for their employees instead of inconveniencing local residents. Any commercial property applying for planning or a change of use, must prove that they have adequate parking for staff, visitors, and customers.

ryan101 wrote: »
    A private housing estate is not a public road, unless the local council has formally taken over maintenance of the services there, including roads, lighting, sewers, water etc. If there is a residents management company paying for and looking after these services, they are quite entitled to erect gates on the estate if they wish.

it's a public road, the Gard's said so

Man007 wrote: »
    Most people these days have more than one car so whether you are blocking their driveway or not is irrelevant. The person with the 2nd car or in some cases 3 rd or 4th if kids living at home may have nowhere to park because you are blocking the space on the road.

If it was me I'd be seriously pissed if someone was constantly parking outside my house as it is it annoys me if my neighbour parks outside my house.

By the way how many cars are we talking about here how many of you constantly park in this estate.

where do your visitors park? Surely not outside someone else's house?

Well legally speaking the home owners have no more right to park outside on the road in front of their house than you or I do ......... there are two cars in my family but it doesn't mean I "own" the space in front of my house because we own a second car and "need" the space out front.

Same goes for people visiting my home ..........

Well then the Council must have taken over the maintenance of the services there because the Council told them it IS a public road ......... erect gates?? They weren't even allowed to put out traffic cones ffs!!! lol

corktina wrote: »
    where do your visitors park? Surely not outside someone else's house?

Nope I live in a cul de sac there's no houses facing me so room for about 6 cars that's why it pisses me off when people park outside my house.

Or if a neighbour who has room for 3 cars parks outside my house when there is only one in their driveway.

Joking aside it does annoy me but would never be to the point it made me angry. If however someone was parking outside 5 days a week that's just taking the piss.

Well legally speaking the home owners have no more right to park outside on the road in front of their house than you or I do ......... there are two cars in my family but it doesn't mean I "own" the space in front of my house because we own a second car and "need" the space out front.
    You'll find that where pay and display parking is introduced that residents are legally allowed to obtain parking permits for a small fee ( about 40 quid a year)

ted1 wrote: »
    You don't get why?
    Because it blocks parking for them, it causes additional traffic in a residential area, it poses an increased risk to the kids and other residents.

There's countless reasons. When the houses were built a payment was made to the council this covered such things as maintaining and providing roadways

If it's ok for a resident or a guest/visitor of a resident to park in a space on a public road then it's ok for everybody else as well ......... a homeowners rights stop at the end of his/her driveway

I don't care about legally speaking it's a common courtesy that you don't park outside someone's house 40 hours a day 5 days a week anyone who can't see what the problem is needs to cop on.

Well then the Council must have taken over the maintenance of the services there because the Council told them it IS a public road ......... erect gates?? They weren't even allowed to put out traffic cones ffs!!! lol

I don't know the estate, and your post did not make any of that clear to say the least, so calm down, and take a deep breath. Maybe do a stress relief course, rather than howling at the moon about some local residents.

If it's ok for a resident or a guest/visitor of a resident to park in a space on a public road then it's ok for everybody else as well ......... a homeowners rights stop at the end of his/her driveway

As Per my above post if permit pay and display is bought in, residents have a legal right to get parking permits.

You'll find that where pay and display parking is introduced that residents are legally allowed to obtain parking permits for a small fee ( about 40 quid a year)

The residents in this particular estate were quoted 180 euros per year ........... they don't seem keen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

You don't get why?

And road tax continues to pay for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 714 ✭✭✭PlainP

I don't care about legally speaking it's a common courtesy that you don't park outside someone's house 40 hours a day 5 days a week anyone who can't see what the problem is needs to cop on.

Someone has asked already how many of your colleagues use the residential area to park in?

Its not an inconvenience for you as you are in work all day but it is an inconvenience for the residence who have to put up with it.

Could you not get the bus to work? Or there's also the train.....

As Per my above post if permit pay and display is bought in, residents have a legal right to get parking permits.

And I have a right to pay, display and park there ........... which the residents are also not keen on. It'll cost 5 euros for the whole day so still a lot cheaper than the bigger carpark nearby!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

If you have two cars and don't want someone else parking outside your house leave your least used car on the road and keep your driveway free.

PlainP wrote: »
    Someone has asked already how many of your colleagues use the residential area to park in?

Its not an inconvenience for you as you are in work all day but it is an inconvenience for the residence who have to put up with it.

Could you not get the bus to work? Or there's also the train.....

Two more colleagues of mine and I assume other commuters (no way of knowing who's a resident/visitor/commuter) ........ most of the residents from the estate are aslo at work all day so???

I start early so no option of public transport .......... besides I pay motor tax, insurance, nct etc so I'm entitled to drive and park legally am I not?

K.Flyer wrote: »
    If you have two cars and don't want someone else parking outside your house leave your least used car on the road and keep your driveway free.

I don't mind people parking outside my house ........... the world is for everyone ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

which annoys the residents no end!!

We park on a public road and don't block their driveways .......... so what's the problem?

It's just inconvenient when anything out of the norm is happening. If you're trying to get something big delivered, like a washing machine or a sofa, it creates a big hassle and stress. It can give the feeling of being under siege - if you feel sick and come home in the middle of the day you're left wondering where to leave your car. If granny comes to visit in her wheelchair it adds to the general faffing around.

My friends live on a public road, but it's very narrow, and the gates are very narrow - if there's someone parked opposite the gate, you can't get a car in or out of the driveway.

Things like bin collections can get awkward too - if you've got a full bin, and it's not collected because the bin lorry can't get down, it's a pain in the neck, particularly if you don't know if the bin lorry will make it next week either.

It increases traffic at peak hours. It makes crossing the road more difficult (and more dangerous for small children). All in all, there are nothing but negatives for the residents, no positives.

It's not illegal though - their only option is parking meters, which are another irritation (getting parking permits, friends having to pay to come visit you - how much would it cost for someone to come visit you for the weekend?). If this is all down to one company not having proper provisions for their employees, it'd be very galling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 714 ✭✭✭PlainP

Two more colleagues of mine and I assume other commuters (no way of knowing who's a resident/visitor/commuter) ........ most of the residents from the estate are aslo at work all day so???

I start early so no option of public transport .......... besides I pay motor tax, insurance, nct etc so I'm entitled to drive and park legally am I not?

Paying road tax, insurance etc does not entitle you to anything!

Oh this country and and peoples sense of entitlement.

Find a spot where where you're not annoying people.

It entitles you to FULL use of public roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭tf2

Beware of residents and their keys! Cars have been keyed over parking on the tar in front of 'annoyed' homeowners

bumper234 wrote: »

Motor tax has nothing to do with using roads it's a tax for owning a motor vehicle hence the name that's why it's not called road tax.

It's treated the same as vat or any other tax it's not used for roads.

What does paying insurance have to do with using roads you're paying a private company to insure you against loss same goes for nct there's no relevance.

Terms and conditions apply, driving and public road usage is a privilege, not an entitlement.

tf2 wrote: »
    Beware of residents and their keys! Cars have been keyed over parking on the tar in front of 'annoyed' homeowners

Beware of annoyed car owners ........ lot of stones lying around, lot of windows ;)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

You can explain why or don't post on this thread again.

Please do not come on here insulting posters again saying they need to cop on without having the common courtesy to explain why.

Terms and conditions apply, driving and public road usage is a privilege, not an entitlement.

The Terms and Conditions are .......... do everything legal ........... which I do .......... and I pay for the "privilege" to use the roads ......... which makes me entitled to use the road :)

Thoie wrote: »
    It's just inconvenient when anything out of the norm is happening. If you're trying to get something big delivered, like a washing machine or a sofa, it creates a big hassle and stress. It can give the feeling of being under siege - if you feel sick and come home in the middle of the day you're left wondering where to leave your car. If granny comes to visit in her wheelchair it adds to the general faffing around.

My friends live on a public road, but it's very narrow, and the gates are very narrow - if there's someone parked opposite the gate, you can't get a car in or out of the driveway.

Things like bin collections can get awkward too - if you've got a full bin, and it's not collected because the bin lorry can't get down, it's a pain in the neck, particularly if you don't know if the bin lorry will make it next week either.

It increases traffic at peak hours. It makes crossing the road more difficult (and more dangerous for small children). All in all, there are nothing but negatives for the residents, no positives.

It's not illegal though - their only option is parking meters, which are another irritation (getting parking permits, friends having to pay to come visit you - how much would it cost for someone to come visit you for the weekend?). If this is all down to one company not having proper provisions for their employees, it'd be very galling.

Some good valid points here ......... but we all have to deal with these situations, it doesn't mean we can dictate who parks where

The Terms and Conditions are .......... do everything legal ........... which I do .......... and I pay for the "privilege" to use the roads ......... which makes me entitled to use the road :)

The state decides what you are entitled to do and not entitled to do, not you.
    Use the public road, yes, if you meet the terms and conditions, antagonise and harass people in their homes, and threaten to brake their windows etc. no.

Like people who feel that they are entitled to say who can and cannot park on a public road?

Use the public road, yes, if you meet the terms and conditions, antagonise and harass people in their homes, and threaten to brake their windows etc. no.

And the "State" (the Council/Guards) have said to the residents that I (anybody) am entitled to park there because it's a public road ......... that wasn't a threat btw, it was a whimsical reply to a threat in another post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

Actually it's a free country thankfully. The people vote on a constitution and elect lawmakers to decide on laws in compliance with the constitution. Once you obey the law you can do as u like - you don't need to check with the government as to what you are entitled to do - we're not communists!

In other words, you don't decide your own entitlements when it comes to public property, you obey the law.

monument wrote: »
    You can explain why or don't post on this thread again.

Please do not come on here insulting posters again saying they need to cop on without having the common courtesy to explain why.

Lol who did I insult.

I'll elaborate. Anyone can see that it's a problem to park outside someone's house all day every day the op himself knows it but has decided he's going to do it regardless of what the residents do or say or no matter what people say on here.

The majority of people have said they'd have a problem but he refuses to take this on board and has an answer for everything.

As I said it goes without saying you don't park outside someone's house constantly in a housing estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Sometimes life is funny, I don't even have a car, and the driveway in front of my house is so empty, you could park a car inside...just to mention ;)

Lol who did I insult.

I'll elaborate. Anyone can see that it's a problem to park outside someone's house all day every day the op himself knows it but has decided he's going to do it regardless of what the residents do or say or no matter what people say on here.

The majority of people have said they'd have a problem but he refuses to take this on board and has an answer for everything.

As I said it goes without saying you don't park outside someone's house constantly in a housing estate.

What you are describing was once simply known as common courtesy, it's now uncommon.

In other words, you don't decide your own entitlements when it comes to public property, you obey the law.

And op is obeying the law by parking on a public road, the guards even said he wasn't breaking the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

And op is obeying the law by parking on a public road, the guards even said he wasn't breaking the law.

just because someone isn't breaking the law doesn't give them the right to do it!

people are all too busy shouting for their rights, but no one is shouting for their responsibilities!

hoodwinked wrote: »
    just because someone isn't breaking the law doesn't give them the right to do it!

people are all too busy shouting for their rights, but no one is shouting for their responsibilities!

So no one should ever park on a public road in a residential area in case they inconvenience someone?