Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trespassers

• 27-05-2014 11:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭

I Was sitting down watching telly tonight when someone went by our back window, got up and there was a guy going down our field with a rifle and 2 other lads down there too.
    Now I not that bothered about shooters on the land but when they are on our back and front street passing open sheds etc that's a different matter, i'm a bit annoyed at this and you never know who about.
    They have no respect and don't give a damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

What did you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

2pack wrote: »
    I Was sitting down watching telly tonight when someone went by our back window, got up and there was a guy going down our field with a rifle and 2 other lads down there too.
    Now I not that bothered about shooters on the land but when they are on our back and front street passing open sheds etc that's a different matter, i'm a bit annoyed at this and you never know who about.
    we have gun club signs up that no one is allowed through yard or near it . They can go up the fields alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

I'm a shooting man myself, don't own land or anything.I live in a housing estate,
    But that's disgusting!
    Whenever we go shooting on club ground its our priority to stay clear of farm buildings/ livestock
    The same if we shoot a permission
    If needs must and we have to cross a yard/garden, the owner always gets a call or else 1 man takes guns and dogs while another calls to the house to ask would it be OK

I would have ran the 2 sh!tes and told them not to return!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

'Trespassers - take note that due to recessionary cutbacks, we no longer fire a warning shot'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭househero

I often go cycling on shooting land and wonder if I'll get me head blown off.

Have a word with em.next time, that's just cheeky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

This enrages me. These lads pick up a gun and think their John Wayne walking anywhere they please.

We had quite a struggle but in recent years no shooters come at all. We used to have gun club lads coming round and they showed no respect for fences nor stock so my father ran them one by one and had a word with the gun club secretary who on fairness out a stop to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭2pack

I just dont like the way they crossed pass our dwelling house and yard,
    I did go out and shout hey at them but they just ignored me and went on.
    Didnt even ask me if they could shoot, what are they after anyway

Now I'm thinking of trying to keep all trespassers of our land.

What the best way to go about this or will they even heed it

Few signs and have a word with gun club.
    As For those lads, you could have called the local station and reported lads in shooting on land close to your house with no permission.

djflawless wrote: »
    I'm a shooting man myself, don't own land or anything.I live in a housing estate,
    But that's disgusting!
    Whenever we go shooting on club ground its our priority to stay clear of farm buildings/ livestock
    The same if we shoot a permission
    If needs must and we have to cross a yard/garden, the owner always gets a call or else 1 man takes guns and dogs while another calls to the house to ask would it be OK

I would have ran the 2 sh!tes and told them not to return!

fair enough but what do you do then if no one at home at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Respect peoples privacy, realise it's a hobby and not a mission from God, and take a different route or go home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

"they have no respect"plus one..whats happens if one of these shooters/walkers (fookers) trips on wire/gates having got NO PERMISSION ,can they come after your insurance

Yes they can "come after" your insurance..
    But I read recently that of all cases taken where trespassers have been injured on farm land - not one was successful to date !

For the life of me I can't remember where I read that, but it was in the Irish context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

We had massive trouble here yrs ago after we moved in. This area would be a big hunting area be it horses and hounds or gun clubs. First 4 yrs we couldn't stop them lads coming every Sunday and walking through our wood and any where they liked. When you catch them they would say oh we used to shoot with the previous owner and thought we could carry on as normal. Bull****. Previous owner never let any locals in to shoot.
    Final straw came when my father was rolling in grass seed and lads were hiding in wood and firing shots above the tractor cab.
    Father caught two lads the following week and took there gun licences and told them they could pick them up in the guards and explain to them why he took them.
    Complained numerous times to the local gun club but no good and it was the chairman's sons that were trespassing most.
    Have none any more.
    My father as ways said if you wanted to come shoot come and knock on our door and ask.
    Ye may nip this in the bud or it'll just keep going on

We do have hunters on the land too and had a case where the sheep wire was cut, maybe a hound got caught up in it or something but still not a nice thing to do and pisses you off.
    If they just show a bit of respect i wouldn't care

what is the story with hounds on the road.
    My friend was going round a corner on Sunday and met a pack of hound coming out of a hedge way, he had to brake hard to avoid hitting them and had children in the car, a huntsman who was on the road at the time said what the fu*k you doing and told him he would be in serious trouble had he killed any of them hounds. he does not drive hard either thank God.
    Huntsman said they had the right to be on the road. Surely that aint true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

My friend was going round a corner

You must be able to stop in the distance you can see, would be the first issue. I imagine the hounds would need to be under control on a public road also.

that would be very difficult if coming out of a blind hedge or heading for you, impossible to stop in time,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

that would be very difficult if coming out of a blind hedge or heading for you, impossible to stop in time,

If you're going around a blind corner, you should already be thinking about possible dangers on the other side of it.

so who is at fault here, is it 50/50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

so who is at fault here, is it 50/50

Horses and hounds are allowed on the road, simple as that. They should not have spoken to the driver in that way and perhaps had the hounds under proper control but they are allowed to be there.

Usually the footmen following would have some sort of warnings up. Anytime meet a hunt there have been lots of warnings beforehand, be it foot followers, horseboxes or dung on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

I'm coming at this as a farmer and someone who enjoys shooting.
    First off OP, did you give anyone permission to hunt on your land? If no well then no one has the right to be on it. And especially not if you called them and they ignored you. It just seems lately that anyone can get a firearm when there doesn't seem to be a undeniable reason to possess one.
    My first move would be to put up signs and if at all possible lock all road gates, make it clear you are intent on keeping "uninviteds" out.

Regards the hounds they have every right to be there but they need to be controlled. There should have been someone on the bend to alert your friend to the danger. And he had no need to listen to the guff from the houndsman. That was just him knowing he was in the wrong and trying to bully your friend into accepting the blame. Whenever we used to walk cattle on the road we always had someone driving ahead of the cattle to close gates and warn traffic coming around corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Dogs have to be controlled 100% of the time, and under road traffic guidelines you don't have to stop if theres one on the road(you fail your driving test if you brake for one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Them lads were what you call armed trespassers. If you reported them to the guards they could get prison. It's a serious offence and all firearm owners are told this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Just accept you won't be shooting that persons land/crossing it
    Simple decisions and a bit or respect for the land you have permisson to shoot goes a long way.every time I meet a farmer along my travels, I always ask if he wants a rabbits for the pot, or pheasants/ duck if they are in season
    Works out lovely when I go out me door some morning and there's a sack of spuds or a brace of veg waiting for me!

lefthooker wrote: »
    I'm coming at this as a farmer and someone who enjoys shooting.
    First off OP, did you give anyone permission to hunt on your land? If no well then no one has the right to be on it. And especially not if you called them and they ignored you. It just seems lately that anyone can get a firearm when there doesn't seem to be a undeniable reason to possess one.
    My first move would be to put up signs and if at all possible lock all road gates, make it clear you are intent on keeping "uninviteds" out.

Regards the hounds they have every right to be there but they need to be controlled. There should have been someone on the bend to alert your friend to the danger. And he had no need to listen to the guff from the houndsman. That was just him knowing he was in the wrong and trying to bully your friend into accepting the blame. Whenever we used to walk cattle on the road we always had someone driving ahead of the cattle to close gates and warn traffic coming around corners.
    our neighbour has 125 acres and the hunters and shooters tramp on in on from his land to ours, its the walking pass our dwelling house that bugs me, i have several quads in the garage beside house which was open at the time and will have to move them now just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

If the individuals entered the yard / area immediately adjacent to the house without permission and you have reasonable grounds to believe they were up to no good (ie carrying firearms etc) they may be reported under

Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1994/en/act/pub/0002/sec0011.html

Report them to the Gardai the next time they come around and give description so that it is recorded and dealt with accordingly. The Garda are more likely to respond to an incident where firearms are reported.

Note : The area immediately adjacent to a house is defined by law as Curtilage where "curtilage in relation to the dwelling means an area immediately surrounding or adjacent to the dwelling and which is used in conjunction with the dwelling, other than any part of that area which is a public place."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Had a previous thread myself about this very same thing some time ago ... (can't quiet locate it at the mo)

I always thought it very brazen of hunters/fowlers etc to trespass on private land without permission and shoot/take whatever game they fancy and leave spent cartridges around the ground and occasionally knock stones off walls etc. often in fields where there is stock.

I enquired fairly comprehensively about this, regarding Gun club licenses etc. and found that the hunting, fishing and mining rights to land do not always automatically follow with title/ownership. Basically somebody can apply to the local County Council and get these rights to lands .. although the lands might be owned by somebody else.

That's all fair enough. As there is nothing stopping the land owner from doing this themselves too .. and then excluding anybody they feel like.

Its the trespassing bit that is more controversial. In theory nobody can come onto your land without your permission. You would be well within your rights to call the guards, especially if they are carrying firearms and or accompanied by dogs. The dwelling house is absolutely off limits ..and the 'Padriac Nally' case will have everybody well tuned-in to the possible repercussions of that.

But then there is also ramblers and rights of way etc. That is tricky. I'm sure the gaurds would be slow-ish to give you any satisfaction too...."sure, sort it out yourselves" is the kind of line I assume they would be peddling.

The more politically correct move, I think is .. to try to work out the identities of who you are dealing with, maybe take the registration of any vehicle they are using and maybe approach them to see if recognize them and/or enquire regarding names, Addresses, Club affiliations etc. (if they give you any guf .. threaten to call to the gaurds or indeed call the gaurds straight away)... using any info you get, bring it to the attention of any local clubs...and explain you do not want anybody on your land.... or the conditions in which they can use your land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Had a previous thread myself about this very same thing some time ago ... (can't quiet locate it at the mo)

I enquired fairly comprehensively about this, regarding Gun club licenses etc. and found that the hunting, fishing and mining rights to land do not always automatically follow with title/ownership. Basically somebody can apply to the local County Council and get these rights to lands .. although the lands might be owned by somebody else

There is a lot of bullshyte being peddled (mostly by the NARGC) that land owners don't own their shooting/fishing.
    They reckon if a farmer never did any shooting on their land that the local gun club have the rights to it as they could be shooting it for years.

If I'm buying a bit of land I always make certain of the shooting/fishing rights.

I know of gun/fishing clubs where the priest and/or guard went around to unsuspecting landowners and got them to sign over the rights. Scandalous behavior indeed and in keeping with recent revelations about the Guards and Clergy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I went to my local Garda a few weeks ago about trespassing and damaged caused and they said nothing they could do if though I have very strong evidence

Criminal damage & criminal trespass...did they even record it as a crime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

Is their any law which states the distance shooting can take place from a residential dwelling ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If they recorded every little thing like that, they would have to make efforts to solve the case. otherwise their clear-up rate would look horrendous. Better to not record it...............
    Did you get a Pulse number? If no Pulse number, it never happened.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    If they recorded every little thing like that, they would have to make efforts to solve the case. otherwise their clear-up rate would look horrendous. Better to not record it...............
    Did you get a Pulse number? If no Pulse number, it never happened.

But they are obliged to take a record of every reported crime.
    They're more likely to record it if you say that your not expecting an outcome. But having them recorded helps if u do end up having an ongoing problem

I'm aware that local Garda stations aren't always that local but when ya make the effort ya should make sure it's recorded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

The Cuban wrote: »
    Is their any law which states the distance shooting can take place from a residential dwelling ??

the laws here regarding firearms is such a mess and covered by many acts, if you look in the shooting forum now and then you will see how bad the acts are.
    Re shooting distance, the only thing stated is you must be 65 yards from the centre of a road. This act is from the 1800's and in my opinion more to do with scaring horse and carts than anything else.
    A bit of common curtsey and cop on goes a long way but seems to be lacking more and more in every aspect of life.
    Not all of us who hunt are bad people or have no regard for land owners. A lot of us have built up a very good reputation over the years and work hard at keeping it. Just as there are good farmers and bad farmers there are good hunters and bad ones.

We text or call the land owners if going out lamping. Those who know us tell us park up in the yard and work away but we text them anyway. Even on my own family's place I will send a text to say I am going out with the lamp in an hour or so.

homerhop wrote: »

We text or call the land owners if going out lamping. Those who know us tell us park up in the yard and work away but we text them anyway. Even on my own family's place I will send a text to say I am going out with the lamp in an hour or so.

'You' might but there's many who certainly don't and take it on themselves to go lamping whether they have permission or otherwise :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

they might have a right of way

all right of ways should now be registered with the coco, if theyre not then theres no right of way

gozunda wrote: »
    'You' might but there's many who certainly don't and take it on themselves to go lamping whether they have permission or otherwise :mad:

And as I keep saying you get people like that in every aspect of life. I can't apologise enough about people who do that,many others like me have a good relationship with land owners.We are not all bad. Should we all paint farmers in a bad light because there are those who don't give a rats ass about their neighbours, or their property?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

ganmo wrote: »
    Criminal damage & criminal trespass...did they even record it as a crime?

No neither

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

all right of ways should now be registered with the coco, if theyre not then theres no right of way

jayus rights of ways is another wasps nest. i know from where we had the childhood farm there were two laneways which got overgrewn. u cud just about walk up thro them.

they werent marked but we were always told they were right-of-ways. probably only a few locals wud have known it.

probably plenty of does types of rights-of-ways which fall out of local memory and arent marked on signs.

And as I keep saying you get people like that in every aspect of life. I can't apologise enough about people who do that,many others like me have a good relationship with land owners.We are not all bad. Should we all paint farmers in a bad light because there are those who don't give a rats ass about their neighbours, or their property?

This thread btw is titled 'trespassers' not 'rats ass' farmers. That's maybe a different thread. Farmers are the ones who bear the greatest risk with this activity in terms of risk and legal liability. Re lamping IME there are more bad lampers than good uns. But that as I said has been my experience to date.

I guess that's your opinion and you are entitled to it just as I am mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

gozunda wrote: »
    This thread btw is titled 'trespassers' not 'rats ass' farmers. That's maybe a different thread. Farmers are the ones who bear the greatest risk with this activity in terms of risk and legal liability. Re lamping IME there are more bad lampers than good uns. But that as I said has been my experience to date.

My experience as well, have never met a 'good' lamper, it's dealing with cut fences, trampled hedges, gates left open because their dogs don't know how to get through, livestock in crops, those that aren't terrified... Round here if lights are seen in the fields at night phone calls are made and a concerted effort is made to intercept the gentlemen concerned.
    Last serious incursion was a few years ago, lot of damage done, lads were caught and asked (nicely) to stop, it just got worse the last straw was when they started shining lights on our houses in the middle of the night, they were caught up with again and this time it ended badly, won't say what took place here but suffice to say they haven't been seen or heard of since...

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    My experience as well, have never met a 'good' lamper, it's dealing with cut fences, trampled hedges, gates left open because their dogs don't know how to get through, livestock in crops, those that aren't terrified... Round here if lights are seen in the fields at night phone calls are made and a concerted effort is made to intercept the gentlemen concerned.
    Last serious incursion was a few years ago, lot of damage done, lads were caught and asked (nicely) to stop, it just got worse the last straw was when they started shining lights on our houses in the middle of the night, they were caught up with again and this time it ended badly, won't say what took place here but suffice to say they haven't been seen or heard of since...

Those people who go on like deserved everything they got. I cannot understand that mindset. A little respect goes a very long way.. I don't lamp with dogs. But I do know there are a few of our ethnic minority causing problems as well as one or two coming from other counties.
    I will stick to my permissions and letting the owners know I am my way to their place. Pity that those of us who show respect are getting hammered cod of those who don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Put up signs once, but they seem to enjoy pulling them down. And don't get me started on the 'otter hound' crowd, utter shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Put up signs once, but they seem to enjoy pulling them down. And don't get me started on the 'otter hound' crowd, utter shower.

I had a no trespass sign on a gate for the last few years , some lad tipped the contents of a bathroom refurb inside it the last night and to top it off he broke the sign and threw it as far into the garden as he could . I'll go Liam Neeson on him if catch him there again !

Bullocks wrote: »
    I had a no trespass sign on a gate for the last few years , some lad tipped the contents of a bathroom refurb inside it the last night and to top it off he broke the sign and threw it as far into the garden as he could . I'll go Liam Neeson on him if catch him there again !

and if ya leave it there the coco will be after ya to clear it up...its a joke!!

We have our signs in a bit into the land so that ppl can't easily tear them down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

and if ya leave it there the coco will be after ya to clear it up...its a joke!!

We have our signs in a bit into the land so that ppl can't easily tear them down

Would you believe I just passed there and the council must've cleaned it up. I gave one of the council workers the heads up that it was there . I didnt expect them to do much about it but I wont complain !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Bullocks wrote: »
    Would you believe I just passed there and the council must've cleaned it up. I gave one of the council workers the heads up that it was there . I didnt expect them to do much about it but I wont complain !

Did you have a lock on your gate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Those people who go on like deserved everything they got. I cannot understand that mindset. A little respect goes a very long way.. I don't lamp with dogs. But I do know there are a few of our ethnic minority causing problems as well as one or two coming from other counties.
    I will stick to my permissions and letting the owners know I am my way to their place. Pity that those of us who show respect are getting hammered cod of those who don't

That's the word, respect.. I bore the arse off people going on about it but at the end of the day that's what it's about.. Respect for property, animals and people. I have allowed all sorts over the years, campers, walkers, metal detectors, model aircraft flyers, a motorbike ! archeologists etc etc and all I have asked is that they let me know when they are about and keep to the areas I have shown them and as has been said all it takes is a text..
    Any body not prepared to respect me or the land or animals is guaranteed a cold welcome! And that goes for official bodies as well...