Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Collins

• 26-05-2014 9:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else notice that this lad puts on a real country accent sometimes?? - especially when he is on his GAA show on Sunday mornings and whenever hes trying to have the craic with Ray Darcy

:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

He does, often when mentioning some club fundraiser he has been asked to, and there's no need for it. Neither is there a need for repeated references to 'Tiobraid Árann', 'cúl baire' or 'bainisteoir'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭splashthecash

He does, often when mentioning some club fundraiser he has been asked to, and there's no need for it. Neither is there a need for repeated references to 'Tiobraid Árann', 'cúl baire' or 'bainisteoir'

Yes!! What is it with the throwing in of very specific Irish terms over and over again...I guess its his thing but really grates on me...so much so that I switch off Today FM when he is on cos he does it every segment he is on at least once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Horse84

Denis can u please put that in the paper the next time you're writing an article. This clown is one of the greatest spoofers on the national airwaves and gives a bad name to sports journalists if u can actually call him that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

ha glad im not the only that he seems to annoy.... he tries to funny all of the time but it just never works....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

His sporting knowledge seems to only be gaa. If he's asked anything specific about other sports he's in the **** it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Does anyone else notice that this lad puts on a real country accent sometimes??

Notice, notice ?!?! He makes his living out of it, the most annoying man in radio, and that's saying something when you're in competition with John Drennan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

I cant stand him but what amazes me is that Ian Dempsey seems to find him hilarious. He must be great craic around the office :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭jkmanc1974

Agreed with the post above ref his gaa knowledge...seriously limited and challenged on other sports though.

Brgds
    Johnny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭deise man

He's the main reason that I stopped listening to Ian Dempsey. He's always coming in with what he thinks are clever comments. It's like having pat shortt reading the sport. His gaa show on a Sunday is fairly poor too. There's no natural flow of conversation between him and his guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Godeatsboogers

How very dare he try to brighten peoples mornings with light imitations

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 Mr Steak

Yes!! What is it with the throwing in of very specific Irish terms over and over again...I guess its his thing but really grates on me...so much so that I switch off Today FM when he is on cos he does it every segment he is on at least once

I do the same. I dislike boggers in general but he takes the biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Paul Collins is Today FM's answer to Des Cahill, if this thread is anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

This man is such an idiot. Heard an ad on Today FM for some rubbish GAA thing they are doing (not necessarily rubbish but he made it sound awful). He was on about Some Canning guy from Galway and how great he was but basically focused on all of Galway's failures and described it as the Galway Famine! Seriously, does he know what a famine actually it? Grrrr:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭ads20101

I agree with the above statements. This man is really annoying and is obviously a pain in the arse for anyone that fills in for Ian. He is the only reason I have switched to 2fm for the sports timeslot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭johnire

I completely agree. He's such a pain. It's really irritating the way he throws in the odd Irish word here and there during his reports. He is only interested in GAA.
    I find John Duggan to be very good but that Paul Collins guy gives me the pip!
    ads20101 wrote: »
    I agree with the above statements. This man is really annoying and is obviously a pain in the arse for anyone that fills in for Ian. He is the only reason I have switched to 2fm for the sports timeslot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Captian Swashbuckle

You're right he does seem to have a bias towards the gaa! He can really grate on me at times, other times he's great craic with Dempsey. He must be there nearly 15 plus years at this stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Would he even get a sports job in local radio if he wasn't with Today FM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭small town girl

I actually like his style, very different to the "invastigashon" and "liderally" accents which most radio contributors seem to be afflicted by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Alas he seems to forget that he is employed by a national radio station and not a local one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭peterobrien100

have any of you people ever heard him doing the pre-match and half time presenting at Croke Park on match days ! Holy mother of god how is this man in a job ! He is a spoofer true and true, hasn't a clue about any sports !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 665 ✭✭✭philthrill69

And lads don't forget the obligatory "Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam" he uses with a really somber tone when a sporting personality passes away.
    Do ye remember the make up selfie he did? God love him he's precious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

As an exponent of the English language he is "unrail":rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭lilywhitearmy

His constant referral to the 'soccer world cup' earlier in the summer was frightening. You wouldn't hear it called that in your local gaa club bulletin!

Also he never refers to the currency in which English clubs sign players. Angel Di Maria signed for Manchester United for 59 million apparently. 59 million what exactly?

John Duggan may sound like he takes himself too seriously sometimes but he is much, much more professional.

But sure then again, I'm sure clueless Collins is good craic all the same!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

This 15 for 15 is fierce hard to listen to.

Isn't it just.......it's painful. He's in his element.
    This 15 for 15 is fierce hard to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

His constant referral to the 'soccer world cup' earlier in the summer was frightening. You wouldn't hear it called that in your local gaa club bulletin!

Also he never refers to the currency in which English clubs sign players. Angel Di Maria signed for Manchester United for 59 million apparently. 59 million what exactly?

John Duggan may sound like he takes himself too seriously sometimes but he is much, much more professional.

But sure then again, I'm sure clueless Collins is good craic all the same!:rolleyes:

Collins is so bad he was what made me switch from listening to Ian Dempsey in the mornings.
    The Ray D'Arcy got very irritating so I stopped listening to him too.
    Now the only Today FM show I actually bother opting for is Matt Cooper and the Last Word.

Collins is so bad he was what made me switch from listening to Ian Dempsey in the mornings.
    The Ray D'Arcy got very irritating so I stopped listening to him too.
    Now the only Today FM show I actually bother opting for is Matt Cooper and the Last Word.

That's pretty much exactly what happened to me. I used to get really annoyed in the mornings then I noticed him doing the MC during matches in croke park and thurles since then I've just despised him. I haven't seen him doing much of that this year so maybe people have started copping onto him.
    An absolute spoofer to the hilt. I pray I don't ever meet him face to face lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 janemurphy

He knows jack sh#t about GAA. He was on some celebrity hurling show with liam hassett, charlie redmond and donal o grady a few years back and he could hardly hit a sliothar. He knows nothing about hurling or football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

so glad I found this thread and no doubt Mr Collins has read it all. Paul you are a disaster and everytime I hear you my ears bleed. I have switched off today fm in the mornings full stop now because of you. just letting you know...awful annoying..

Isn't he just sooooo annoying???

so glad I found this thread and no doubt Mr Collins has read it all. Paul you are a disaster and everytime I hear you my ears bleed. I have switched off today fm in the mornings full stop now because of you. just letting you know...awful annoying..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

Its his "bastardised" Irish that was the most annoying. I say "was" because as like alot more on here i completely switched off from Today FM over his attempt at comedy and his lack of sporting knowledge. At the end of the day Des Cahill at the weekends on radio is top class.

Yes....I agree. He strikes me as a total spoofer. John Duggan really shows him up.
    archieknox wrote: »
    Its his "bastardised" Irish that was the most annoying. I say "was" because as like alot more on here i completely switched off from Today FM over his attempt at comedy and his lack of sporting knowledge. At the end of the day Des Cahill at the weekends on radio is top class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

johnire wrote: »
    Yes....I agree. He strikes me as a total spoofer. John Duggan really shows him up.

I fee sorry for Ian losing listeners because of him because Ian is a great broadcaster imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

I fee sorry for Ian losing listeners because of him because Ian is a great broadcaster imo.

Yes but have no doubt it is Mario Rosenstock that has made his breakfast show what it is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Dj

Was Paul Collins drunk interviewing Michael O'Leary at the races during the week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Pretty much a "yellow-pack" Des Cahill when you look at his style coldly.
    His "hail-fellow-well-met" gimmick really shouldn't have kept him in a job for as long as it has.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

It's been about ten years since I stopped listening to the Ian Dempsey show and I can't believe this 'sports' guy is still on the radio and according to this thread still spouting the same nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Agree with pretty much everything that's said, i hate his "i lár na páirce" spiel and the fact he breathes in through his nose before every sentence, really annoying when you have earphones in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

He is one of a handful of *broadcasters* that makes me reach for the on / off button. Mike Moloney is another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭billbond4

Yeah he grates me up the wrong way, every sentence has to have a sports pun, or laying on the accent heavier every now and again. Find him so irrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭swampy353

billbond4 wrote: »
    Yeah he grates me up the wrong way, every sentence has to have a sports pun, or laying on the accent heavier every now and again. Find him so irrating

Could be worse, could be johnny lyons from 98fm with his booming baratone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭Puddle Q

Most annoying voice and personality in radio. Have to switch over when I hear him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

Can't stand the guy either.

His default hilarious response to every question is:
    <engage thick Irish accent> I wouldn't know anything about that Ian! </engage thick Irish accent>

I can't tell if he's deathly afraid of saying anything remotely controversial, or if it's just a general lack of any kind of wit.

This spoofer is being inducted into the Munster gaa hall of fame.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Wish they'd keep him in it and throw away the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Collins has been with the station since it's Radio Ireland days. In that time, he is the only 'long serving' staff member to not have been promoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭chatterbox

grenache wrote:
    Collins has been with the station since it's Radio Ireland days. In that time, he is the only 'long serving' staff member to not have been promoted.

He has fresh competition from Bernard o Shea on 2fm for worst sports bulletins.. Terrible execution...news and sports should be left to the professionals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

I like Ian's breakfast show but have to switch off the minute I hear his little intro " I'm Paul collins " , I don't care what your name is , just give the scripted sports news with your little clip of arsene wegner and Jose Mourinho, like you've Being doing forever and go away .

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Oops69 wrote: »
    I like Ian's breakfast show but have to switch off the minute I hear his little intro " I'm Paul collins " , I don't care what your name is , just give the scripted sports news with your little clip of arsene wegner and Jose Mourinho, like you've Being doing forever and go away .

Well.. considering nearly every news/sports reader introduces themselves that's quite a gripe to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Faugheen wrote: »
    Well.. considering nearly every news/sports reader introduces themselves that's quite a gripe to have.

Not really, only the ones with the big egos , who try to turn a 5 minute sports round up into their own show.