Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealer pulling a stroke!

• 24-05-2014 8:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭

Pretty pissed off this evening.

Saw a second hand mower advertised on a local reputable dealer for the past few months with topper skids and season guarantee.
    Rang up about it on Monday to see what the price is now as it is coming into season and it's being there for a whole. Girl at reception checked the book and said it's reduced by 300. Said I would try get a look at it today.

Called in today and spoke to man in charge. Asked him what's the best price he would take. Checked the book and gave me the same price as girl on phone. I asked did that include topper skids. He said no. I said well it's advertised with skids . He said ok. Looked though it with him and in v good condition and right make and size for me. Haggled for a while and knocked another 100 off. I paid a 1000 deposit. Was to be delivered during week.

Got phone call from him at 4 pm saying there was a mix up and couldn't do it for that price including toppers. Would be 150 extra for skids. I said no way deal was done and deposit paid . It's there problem if they mixed up pricing internally.

His boss rings me then 15 mins later and said the same. I repeated the same. He then had the cheek to say I pulled a stunt on them by quoting add at lower price. Went on a while like that. I said deposit is a guarantee. If I had rang you next week and said I'd changed my mind you'd say tough.,

Eventually he says you can have it at the price but collect yourself and no guarantee. I said that wasn't deal. He said that's the new deal or give deposit back.

What would you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

sea12 wrote: »
    Pretty pissed off this evening.

Saw a second hand mower advertised on a local reputable dealer for the past few months with topper skids and season guarantee.
    Rang up about it on Monday to see what the price is now as it is coming into season and it's being there for a whole. Girl at reception checked the book and said it's reduced by 300. Said I would try get a look at it today.

Called in today and spoke to man in charge. Asked him what's the best price he would take. Checked the book and gave me the same price as girl on phone. I asked did that include topper skids. He said no. I said well it's advertised with skids . He said ok. Looked though it with him and in v good condition and right make and size for me. Haggled for a while and knocked another 100 off. I paid a 1000 deposit. Was to be delivered during week.

Got phone call from him at 4 pm saying there was a mix up and couldn't do it for that price including toppers. Would be 150 extra for skids. I said no way deal was done and deposit paid . It's there problem if they mixed up pricing internally.

His boss rings me then 15 mins later and said the same. I repeated the same. He then had the cheek to say I pulled a stunt on them by quoting add at lower price. Went on a while like that. I said deposit is a guarantee. If I had rang you next week and said I'd changed my mind you'd say tough.,

Eventually he says you can have it at the price but collect yourself and no guarantee. I said that wasn't deal. He said that's the new deal or give deposit back.

What would you do?

Collect your deposit and never darken his door unless it suits you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Collect your deposit and wait for a more decent person to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

I'd tell the owner that you're going to contact the main distributors of the brands he's stocking, and tell them what kind of messing they're at. Keep going up the chain until you get a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I'd tell the owner that you're going to contact the main distributors of the brands he's stocking, and tell them what kind of messing they're at. Keep going up the chain until you get a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Collect your money and tell him to go **** himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Yes pretty pissed off as it was the make and model. I wanted. It was his attitude on the phone that was absolut incredible. Telling me I was pulling a stunt on them.
    Was trying to get off a dealer so that you'd be sure it was checked through etc rather than buying second off a farm that you Woulnt know what condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭EamonKilkenny

A deal is a deal, tell him to keep it. I wouldn't take it for nothing after that. I also wouldn't go to collect the deposit, you have wasted enough time. Cancel the cheque and have it posted out to you on principal alone.

Yes pretty pissed off as it was the make and model. I wanted. It was his attitude on the phone that was absolut incredible. Telling me I was pulling a stunt on them.
    Was trying to get off a dealer so that you'd be sure it was checked through etc rather than buying second off a farm that you Woulnt know what condition.

I go in some time they are busy and if it is not sorted start talking and arguing for everyone to hear in a loud voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

He's a boll*x l think we are all in agreement with that. But don't cut your nose off despite your face would be my advice. You've seen the mower, you like it, you seem to be getting an excellent deal.

Go down pay your money and bring it out of it let him stick his delivery and 'year warranty.' If it's a good mower you won't need it. Blow the horn, wave at him and away with ya. I'd never fall out with him if he is handy for parts and good on price.
    No point having an ego if you need parts and the sun is shining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

I go in some time they are busy and if it is not sorted start talking and arguing for everyone to hear in a loud voice.

You'd only be making a tool of yourself, he's not worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Ah no feck that. Don't l like that sort if carry on. Collect your deposit and find a good brand of mower of another dealer.
    If mower has been there a while and he wants to sell it he might cop on when your heading out the door with your deposit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Don't forget they are probably a member of the FTMTA, that's another crowd you can go to. A deal is a deal. I hate that kind of fcuking around, he ballsed up. It's his problem. What ever happen to someone's word, or a deals a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

Don't bother your head, buy mower in another place pull up outside and go in for 1 blade in that place.

Don't forget they are probably a member of the FTMTA, that's another crowd you can go to. A deal is a deal. I hate that kind of fcuking around, he ballsed up. It's his problem. What ever happen to someone's word, or a deals a deal.

Exactly as I said to him. If I went home to the wife and told I made a deal and she said you gob****e you paid too much. Go back and tell him you want it at a cheaper price what would you say.

"Tough look. A deal is a deal"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Ask another dealer for a quote and give the current price you are getting as a bargining chip, if dealer 2 beats it go collect deposit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Get your deposit.

It's only a mower.

Best case scenario - you buy it. Every time you use it, you'll think of him, and get annoyed.

Worst case scenario - you buy it. Something happens in 2 months, he won't want nothing to do with you. You'll be even more annoyed for buying it.

Walk away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

this is good advice...do you want to be going back for warrenty issue...to someone who you don't trust/like dealing with??

Muckit wrote: »
    He's a boll*x l think we are all in agreement with that. But don't cut your nose off despite your face would be my advice. You've seen the mower, you like it, you seem to be getting an excellent deal.

Go down pay your money and bring it out of it let him stick his delivery and 'year warranty.' If it's a good mower you won't need it. Blow the horn, wave at him and away with ya. I'd never fall out with him if he is handy for parts and good on price.
    No point having an ego if you need parts and the sun is shining

If he is that sort of a tool every time you are stuck for a part he will screw you anyway. His dealer was a idiot he gave him a hundred off after the argument over the skids. OP went to a dealer to get a warranty, a lot can go wrong in a season the dealer did the deal.

I was often in a yard and if the deal cannot be done then that it. Like another poster pointed out if OP changed his mind would he get his deposit back. Not off this lad I bet my bottom dollar.

I go in with the balance, and get him to write up receipt as per deal. If not I ask him was he welshing on it in a loud voice. F@@K him

If he is that sort of a tool every time you are stuck for a part he will screw you anyway. His dealer was a idiot he gave him a hundred off after the argument over the skids. OP went to a dealer to get a warranty, a lot can go wrong in a season the dealer did the deal.

I was often in a yard and if the deal cannot be done then that it. Like another poster pointed out if OP changed his mind would he get his deposit back. Not off this lad I bet my bottom dollar.

I go in with the balance, and get him to write up receipt as per deal. If not I ask him was he welshing on it in a loud voice. F@@K him

its only a mower and an idiot of a dealer throwing up a sale and all future sales..for e100..I wouldn't go back for parts if I was him anyway either...plenty places will post out over the phone/internet nowadays

go in...get his money and as frazzled said never set foot in there again if possible...life forever too short to be getting wound up over a mower

its only a mower and an idiot of a dealer throwing up a sale and all future sales..for e100..I wouldn't go back for parts if I was him anyway either...plenty places will post out over the phone/internet nowadays

go in...get his money and as frazzled said never set foot in there again if possible...life forever too short to be getting wound up over a mower

I would not be getting wound up I be getting my mower.

just saying if it was me I wouldn't bother...collect my deposit and let him keep his mower altogether...why bother with the hassle...there hundreds of mowers lying around in more reputable dealers around the country

why bother doing business with him over it...if it gives bother do you want hassle of getting it fixed

im only surprised the dealer didn't just take the e100 of a hit and be done with it...no way is e100 worth losing a reputation over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

That's infuriating .. If shoe were on the other foot and you went with a cheaper option on DD and rang up asking for your 1k back .. Would you expect to get it in full?! I doubt it

When they pulled guarantee on it I'd be wary they'd do something or swap inferior or worn parts on it to recoup their few quid

Bodacious wrote: »
    That's infuriating .. If shoe were on the other foot and you went with a cheaper option on DD and rang up asking for your 1k back .. Would you expect to get it in full?! I doubt it

When they pulled guarantee on it I'd be wary they'd do something or swap inferior or worn parts on it to recoup their few quid

When they pulled guarantee on it I'd be wary they'd do something or swap inferior or worn parts on it to recoup their few quid[/quote]

Yes that's what I would be worried about too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭newholland mad

Imagine the hassle with him even if he did back down and gave the warranty and the bed or something big blew up, forget about him go somewhere else or get a contractor til something suitable turns up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Imagine the hassle with him even if he did back down and gave the warranty and the bed or something big blew up, forget about him go somewhere else or get a contractor til something suitable turns up

You bought the mower at a good price.. he obviously thinks if you pull out he can sell it at a higher price. if you don't buy the mower someone else will and he will get a higher price...that's probably what is eating him.

If the collection isn't too much hassle I would go and collect it. If its a bargain then take the bargain. It sounds like you will be the winner.

Figerty wrote: »
    You bought the mower at a good price.. he obviously thinks if you pull out he can sell it at a higher price. if you don't buy the mower someone else will and he will get a higher price...that's probably what is eating him.

If the collection isn't too much hassle I would go and collect it. If its a bargain then take the bargain. It sounds like you will be the winner.

life is not all about winning/getting one over
    let him have it...do you really want to be doing business with that type of individual??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It's a balls but leave it with him.

I had a deal struck on an agitator a month ago.
    Called into his yard and the snake had the cheek to ask for another €100 because he was getting a lot of interest on DoneDeal.
    I left it with him and told him where to store it and what to mix with it.

Lads like that have no word, and so called warranty they are blasting about is probably just hot air too.

I noticed he is still advertising it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

let him have it...do you really want to be doing business with that type of individual??

This is my sentiments exactly. As a few have said if he's ty the type to go back on a deal for a €150 what's his guarantee worth. Collect your deposit and even if the mower costs more elsewhere now presumably you will buy some machinery in the future and it's good to deal with someone who you know will stand behind anything they say in the ad or when selling. That €150 should be small money to secure repeat business and good word of mouth publicity in that man was decent to deal with. His ad said skids were included even though it shouldn't have and he gave them anyway. That would make me think he's worth enquiring with if I wanted something. Your story though and I'd avoid him like the plague.

_Brian wrote: »
    It's a balls but leave it with him.

I had a deal struck on an agitator a month ago.
    Called into his yard and the snake had the cheek to ask for another €100 because he was getting a lot of interest on DoneDeal.
    I left it with him and told him where to store it and what to mix with it.

Lads like that have no word, and so called warranty they are blasting about is probably just hot air too.

I noticed he is still advertising it !

Glad to hear it brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

No, I wouldn't but I would make him stand by the deal that was agreed.

I had a similar issue in the past and the dealer did regret his price but did stand by it so I will buy from him again. It was also for a mower but it was new; if he hadn't stood by his price I would have never darkened his door again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Lambofdave

Farmers can be just as bad, its a fact of life not all people are honest, but in a situation like this there is two sides to a story. It's a mower not the end of the world, get your money back instead of giving him more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Just a side note but, Donedeal is absolutely killing these guys for second hand machinery sales. Farmers are buying more and more directly from each other. No justification for what he did.
    If it was me....don't know. Probably just collect deposit and walk away, and tell enyone who would listen exactly what he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

If you have no word then you have nothing!
    How people get into doubling back on deals. If you price something for sale and agree a price then that's it. People who can't stick to the deal are just shallow and a quick stab at you is more important that a decent long term customer - they're not worth dealing with.

Figerty wrote: »
    No, I wouldn't but I would make him stand by the deal that was agreed.

I had a similar issue in the past and the dealer did regret his price but did stand by it so I will buy from him again. It was also for a mower but it was new; if he hadn't stood by his price I would have never darkened his door again.

everyone has that issue...but at least he would stand over the price even there taking a small hit
    how he could risk his reputation for small money is beyond me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

my 2 pence worth

If you have a deal done at a set price and including x,y,z and deposit paid that's a deal.

So tell him to supply the goods at the price get the invoice and get it delivered like was agreed

Then to get him back break his bollix all season over small bits.

business law is there to protect consumers. so use it to your advantage

everyone has that issue...but at least he would stand over the price even there taking a small hit
    how he could risk his reputation for small money is beyond me

Yep very surprised with him for the sake of 150 as they are a long established family business and main dealers. Think I'll throw it up reluctantly as it was a nice mower. Don't think I'll have any luck with it.,

Just a side note but, Donedeal is absolutely killing these guys for second hand machinery sales. Farmers are buying more and more directly from each other. No justification for what he did.
    If it was me....don't know. Probably just collect deposit and walk away, and tell enyone who would listen exactly what he did.

Yeah we buy nearly everything of donedeal now. Buy very little off dealers.

Ah God l never met such a bunch of emotional nannies! :) Don't let your emotions crowd your judgement OP. Emotion has no place in this. Save that for family and friends who deserve it. He's neither. Merely a lad that has what you want. Let him b the biggest bo***x ever. You won't change him. He's the 'issue' not the mower. You managed to secure a good mower at a great deal. Why would you let the way he acts change the reality or effect your opinions on the mower? It's totally illogical but a totally human reaction done the less.

Delivery would mean diddly squad to me. Horsing a yoke up on a trailer with a fork lift. I'd prefer to collect in person behind my own tractor the way it was designed to be transported.

As for warranty it's not a year in reality. What's going to go wrong in the shed over the winter? The warranty is only for the next 3 months or so! Dealers will only offer it on a good yoke that they know won't give bother so l personally wouldn't put much value on this. If it can't last a few days mowing it's a ball of wire, which it's not as you've seen it.

Don't get me wrong. A gentleman's agreement and having a word l would hold in great esteem but l wouldn't let it rule my pocket or make me throw up a bargain!

Yep very surprised with him for the sake of 150 as they are a long established family business and main dealers. Think I'll throw it up reluctantly as it was a nice mower. Don't think I'll have any luck with it.,

stick him to the agreement.

Its a legal agreement now. End of. If you decided to change the terms after the sale you wount be long loosing your €1000

Tell him to deliver it with the skids and if not send a legal letter registered.

He's getting the skids. All the dealer isreneging on is the warranty and delivery. Getting up in a heap over nothing.

I wount allow him to change the deal after. A contract for sale is a contract.

Exactly. What good is he if he has no word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

have you not got a recipt for yout deposit, it should include all detaails of the transaction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Im not sure what I would do , but its getting late now to find another mower that might suit you as well as this one . Picking it up wouldnt be a big deal if its local but I would ask for a three month warranty if at all possible ( he should be able to meet you halfway seems as he reneged on the original deal )

Its bad form on the dealers part for the sake of 150 euro . I've made boo boos pricing work but I swallow the bitter pill and do it for the agreed price . I would rather it that way instead of losing the next potential job

I understand perfectly your point of principle. But a solicitors letter is €100 and means nothing.

You do not have to pay a solicitor to send a legal letter. You can draft a letter outlining your position, detailing the contract that he accepted the deposit under. 1K is a substandical deposit I imagine that it is 15-20% of the price. You can inform him you will beholding him responsible for any costs incurred by you because of his action. Register it and send it to him.

It has the same weight as a solicitor letter and you give him 7 days from receipt to reply. With it registered the date of receipt is recorded so it leaves him little wriggle room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

You do not have to pay a solicitor to send a legal letter. You can draft a letter outlining your position, detailing the contract that he accepted the deposit under. 1K is a substandical deposit I imagine that it is 15-20% of the price. You can inform him you will beholding him responsible for any costs incurred by you because of his action. Register it and send it to him.

It has the same weight as a solicitor letter and you give him 7 days from receipt to reply. With it registered the date of receipt is recorded so it leaves him little wriggle room

When you have to go to all this bother to get guarantee from him I'd say it will be real easy to get him to fix something when it goes wrong
    Not