Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Neaky Speed Traps.

• 24-05-2014 3:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all most may already know this but the cops are now catching you from behind while sitting on slip roads and such.

I fully understand they have a job to do and I myself have been caught before.

I think this is low and very sneaky as they are waiting till you pass then catching you from behind.

I believe more Garda presence and better teaching of driving would be better then catching you 5-10km/h over the limit.

Be good out there;)

I Apoligise for typo in heading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Hi all most may already know this but the cops are now catching you from behind while sitting on slip roads and such.

I fully understand they have a job to do and I myself have been caught before.

I think this is low and very sneaky as they are waiting till you pass then catching you from behind.

I believe more Garda presence and better teaching of driving would be better then catching you 5-10km/h over the limit.

Be good out there;)

I Apoligise for typo in heading.

No, they caught you from the front, the second car was just waiting as you passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Its nothing new; Gardai have been sitting on sliproads for years.

Sneaky it may be, but if youre speeding then so be it; you cant really complain if you get caught.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭daveohdave

No, they caught you from the front, the second car was just waiting as you passed.

Nope. Guards have being thing this for years, only one car required. Direction is irrelevant as long as the car is coming straight towards or heading straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Yes I know they have been doing it.

Just have seen it a hell of a lot recently including near UCD.

I am seeing it been done all over the country it's something usually wouldn't see as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Shur everybody gets them quashed. Just ring a friend in the guards or a friend of a friend kinda thingy. Dont tell the fella with the long white gruaig or the fella who smokes dope abroad. Ya'l be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I am seeing it been done all over the country it's something usually wouldn't see as much.

Thats because they are usually well hidden :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

"They are waiting till you pass then catching you from behind"...........??
    Wait...the guards are waiting for people to commit an offence and then catching them ? When did this carry on start? Sure that's just mad like.

You can read into it whatever way you want but the car can get away from time to time espaecially on hills and starights and of course thats where they will be.

Don't get me started on the flash for cash vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Report it.

This practice has been criticized in the past and a number of individual members chastised.

It undermines the policies of the Go Safe vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

daveohdave wrote: »
    Nope. Guards have being thing this for years, only one car required. Direction is irrelevant as long as the car is coming straight towards or heading straight away.

Doubtful .. don't think they use Radar anymore, and by the time you got a reading from a reflective surface they would be gone.

AFAK they use a Tripod mounted Lidar type device with a second car to pull you in further down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Red Nissan wrote: »
    Report it.

This practice has been criticized in the past and a number of individual members chastised.

It undermines the policies of the Go Safe vans.

Lol.

Report it to who?
    "I want to make a report, a guard is out catching people breaking the law, I don't like the way he is doing it, I could get caught"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭daveohdave

They do still use radar. I saw a speedy shooting fish in a barrel at the end of a dual carriageway just last month. And if they could do on-ramp checks ten years ago, they can still do it today. The technology hasn't magically disimproved.

This is the police force that protested over pencils, not the bloody Dubai PD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Doubtful .. don't think they use Radar anymore, and by the time you got a reading from a reflective surface they would be gone.

I'm fairly sure they still use radar.

But they do not need a radar, just a stop watch and time you over a given distance.

Think of the situation described by the OP, think of the location, we all have one just like it, ever noticed small yellow or faded yellow lines across the road, not the tiny speed bumps things, just thin paint.

They are guide marks and anyone with a watch can determine the speed of the vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

the car can get away from time to time espaecially on hills and starights and of course thats where they will be.
    If you know where they're going to be, how are they being neaky?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭paddydone1

Stick to the legal speed limits and you will have no worries

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 ezopsae

I think they do a great job.

The government doesn't get enough revenue from the tax on petrol, motor tax, NCT cartel, levies on insurance, VRT, tax on car maintenance and road tolls including botched M50 agreement. It's great to have the gardai hiding in bushes catching people drifting over ridiculously low limits - squeezes the cash cow that is the Irish motorist more and unlike investigating real crime, it's very straightforward and easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Common on the M1, especially the Tallanstown exit.

Your observation is at least 10 years out of date.

Garda also use hairdriers and lasers out the window too to this day. So can be either

dgt wrote: »
    Common on the M1, especially the Tallanstown exit.

Your observation is at least 10 years out of date.

Garda also use hairdriers and lasers out the window too to this day. So can be either

I did say I know this has been done for a long time but it is a hell of a long time since I have seen them doing such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I did say I know this has been done for a long time but it is a hell of a long time since I have seen them doing such.

Keep an eye for them, they're fairly active on the M1. Especially between Dundalk and Drogheda. More so in the afternoon they do be on sliproads however whos to dictate when they'll appear

In an unrelated matter, I do often see them stopping coaches on the way south (Fiat Ulysse positioned just after the Ravensdale exit in an old customs checkpoint)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Seen them at that on the n2 coming back from the north the other day hidden behind a fence, some fella flew past em and off they went, sly, but there you have it