Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you voting today?

• 23-05-2014 5:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

A poll about a poll

Are you voting today in the local and European elections? 234 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 234 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

No, I'll vote tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Yup. I can't complain about the state of the government unless I vote. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

Yup. I can't complain about the state of the government unless I vote. :rolleyes:
    I firmly believe that if you vote you have no right to complain. Now, some people like to twist that around and say 'If you dont vote, you have no right to complain,' but where's the logic in that? If you vote you elect dishonest, incompetent politicians, and they get into office and f**k everything up, you are responsible for what they have done. You voted them in. You caused the problem. You have no right to complain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

No, turns out I CAN'T decide between a douche and a turd and they're my only options. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Already voted. No poll option for me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

masti123 wrote: »
    I firmly believe that if you vote you have no right to complain. Now, some people like to twist that around and say 'If you dont vote, you have no right to complain,' but where's the logic in that? If you vote you elect dishonest, incompetent politicians, and they get into office and f**k everything up, you are responsible for what they have done. You voted them in. You caused the problem. You have no right to complain.

and what if you don't vote FF etc but they still get in ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

No, I have became disillusioned with politics and democracy in general. I'm getting drunk instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Never in my life heard of any of these people,I know they say do some research but seriously who can be bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

What if the people I vote for aren't elected? Am I allowed complain then? Because i don't think anyone I've voted for has ever won.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

No, it creates a passive sense of accomplishment among the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

nah. Its not that I have no interest, I have literally never heard of any of these people before I seen their posters. I have no reason to vote for anyone as I don't know what they have done or will do that will benefit me.

Daveysil15 wrote: »

Well that's a stupid reason not to vote.
    deadybai wrote: »
    nah. Its not that I have no interest, I have literally never heard of any of these people before I seen their posters.

This is a better reason. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I will be voting again, there I was driving to the polling station, and as I walk in the door I realised I had forgot my voting card arrrggg, so will have to go back over again later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Daveysil15 wrote: »

Good to see you're taking a principled stand against this horror.

I voted this morning. I feel a passive sense of accomplishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭neamhspleachi

No, I have became disillusioned with politics and democracy in general. I'm getting drunk instead.
    Democracy is only an illusion to placate the plebs into thinking that they actually have a say in things

Regardless, government wins & the whole corrupt circus continues ad infinitum

I will be voting again, there I was driving to the polling station, and as I walk in the door I realised I had forgot my voting card arrrggg, so will have to go back over again later.

If you can remember your name and address you don't need it.

Once in a local election, I was given two ballots instead of one. Being the honest person I am, I handed one back. They were rrrriiiight on top of things at that polling station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Total bullshi.t. Bravo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

kneemos wrote: »
    If you can remember your name and address you don't need it.

Too late now. Didn't realise that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

You voted them in. You caused the problem. You have no right to complain.

What an absolute load of cock.

I didn't have any part in fostering or sustaining a failed model of governance where the major parties have no discernible differences in policy and only look out for themselves.

I didn't ask for their lies or incompetence by voting.

Mezcita wrote: »
    Total bullshi.t. Bravo.
    Good enough bullshine to be a politician

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

No. Those election posters annoyed me too much. I'll still complain about the government though.

Your logic is irrefutable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭JOSman

It's very hard to argue with the above posts but you have a social responsibility to vote.

If people don't want to vote, then they should be removed from the electoral register, as they appear to have voluntarily opted out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I only done it cos I was bored and had nothing to do cos i finished college today

All my friends are out drinking and i went voting, I'm wild I tells ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Democracy is only an illusion to placate the plebs into thinking that they actually have a say in things

Kim Jong-il agrees with you.

I, however, prefer having a say in who makes the decisions that affect my life.

Mazel tov

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I decided not to vote. There are no candidates that I would choose so I wasn't prepared to vote for the one I hated least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yes I voted, it's something many people would love to be able to do and the right to vote is taken for granted here.

Someone has to run the country, why don't you stand for election then seeing as you don't think the crowd that's there can do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Hopefully I will make it down on time to vote. Gotta get me some of them extra dry extra plain and flavourless voting biscuits they hand out at the community centre and I can't very well just show up for the biscuits.

The girlies behind the desk will hopefully be chatting away to the local Fianna Failing farmer after he's committed his sin, so hopefully with the help o the good Lord himself I will make it out with a fistful of these delicious voting biscuits without them noticing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

I've an exam tomorrow morning so I can't make it home.

Would have been my first election to vote in that had actual people to vote for in it. Instead of a change in legislation/constitution as the past few have been

Yes I voted, it's something many people would love to be able to do and the right to vote is taken for granted here.
    Yes, but that right means nothing if you can't find a candidate whom you would choose to represent you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Do you truly have a say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Do you truly have a say?

Surely more of a say than if you choose not to participate at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

Just back from the polling station with Mr Byrne. We had to queue!!! Like South Africa!! Just went 123 on each paper couldn't cope with the rest of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭shroom007

I did, but it was torture trying to grade them from most odious to least appalling, had to walk past the polling station anyway so its done .
    there was a little dog tied up outside barking at anyone who went in ,class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

JOSman wrote: »
    ......you have a social responsibility to vote.
    If people don't want to vote, then they should be removed from the electoral register, as they appear to have voluntarily opted out.

The social responsibility also lies with those we vote for ! I've been looking at the candidates/ voting choices here in my local patch :

- FG/Labour - at national level they have treated the people of this country with disdain and empoverished the taxpayer - go see if Merkel and your Euro buddies will help ye out now lads, cos I'm not voting an imprimatur to your carry onn albeit for your local authority lackeys ! Think property charges, water tax, deplorable roads etc etc !!

- FF - still have to atone for their past mismanagement of this country, not forgetting that here - no vote.

- SF - no way Jose !! Takes more than a bit of skirt and the usual populist guffaw to change my mind about these crowd of chancers - still not answering the hard questions about their dark past !

- a motley bunch of independents - most of them single issue / and lacking any real conviction as far as I can see - not persuaded by them either !

Besides, I've only ever met or seen any of the local candidates when they do their door to door canvass - and so it will be for another 5 years ! And the last straw is that these guys and gals clsimed over half a million euro last year in expenses and allowances in my local authority area !! Total waste of money, all passengers on the good old taxpayer fuelled gravy train !

Totally disillusioned with the lot of them ! And the frightening thing is there are no real alternatives !! In voting for any of the above lot I feel I'm rewarding someone who doesn't merit it !

Yes, but that right means nothing if you can't find a candidate whom you would choose to represent you.

The right to vote means everything, finding a suitable candidate is a different issue.

The right to vote is an important part of democracy, but saying that it means everything is stretching it just a tad.

The poll is opposite to the national average.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Sinn Fein have some totty running for them. They just want me to say
    "I'll give her (my number) one"

I voted for everyone except FF and the Taliban (catholic headcases)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

If, at local level you cannot find a political party you feel comfortable voting for, look to the independents. Most of these men & women have spent long hours helping in the local community & getting them elected will benefit the locale in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

Voted for the first time today.

There was a guy on our ballot whose occupation was listed as an unemployed private investigator. Thought it was unusual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Tarzana wrote: »
    Well that's a stupid reason not to vote.

I think its the best reason tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Because we don't really have a true democracy. We elect them on promises, they get in, do what they want and give a lot talk in five years about global conditions and other $hite. A democracy would have some opportunity for an upper house to amend, review or even cancel legislation.

What we have an elected oligarchy, brought about by a 2 party system. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

That's why I voted Communist for Cork City Council.* :pac:

*Lies, all lies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

The only person I knew on the ballot sheet was Ming Flanagan so he got my vote .