Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gents, would you take your girlfriend's surname after you got married?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I wouldn't but my girlfriend doesn't like her surname so will probably take mine if we did get married. I wouldn't be bothered if she wanted to keep her surname though.

But i'd draw the line at double-barrelled surname for our kids. Not a fecking chance of that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I have a severe dislike for people with double barrelled surnames.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

No. Reading that article made me cringe tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I would but I actually have a set of balls...I know a few who've done it , they have high pitched voices..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

My kids will have to pass a long, complicated test of bravery and courage on their sixteenth namedays before they're allowed ANY surname.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭Mr_Red

It would all depend if I liked it or not

if it was Hitler or Rammsbottom then eh .......No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭B_Rabbit

I wouldn't.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

You dislike people for the name their parents gave them? Why?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

pfft....says "Mr. Celly-Smunt"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

Oh I dunno about that :)

http://www.locksleynet.com/2010/05/27/when-not-to-double-barrel-your-name/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

No I wouldn't. I like my surname and although it probably doesn't matter in reality, i do see it is an essential part of my identity.

Getting married in the next while and we haven't really discussed if she will take my surname. It's not important to me and if she wished to preserve her/her family's identity, then more power to her

We have discussed the situation if we have kids and they'll take mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Absolutely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

wouldnt bother me to be honest, the wife took mine no bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Dawn Porter became Dawn O'Porter after she married Chris O'Dowd.

I believe this is called 'meshing'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Humanbean

I think, as long as any children have their fathers surname then sanity will prevail.

I think, if I have either not got married or have not taken my husband's surname on getting married, then if I have carried the child for nine months and ruined my body for it, I should at least get to give it my surname.

wouldnt bother me to be honest, the wife took mine no bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I think, as long as any children have their fathers surname then sanity will prevail.

Explain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Sure that's going to happen when I marry my sister boss

You dislike people for the name their parents gave them? Why?

Idiot parents make idiot children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

eviltwin wrote: »
    Explain

It would be a genealogical mess if we abandoned the norm of children having their father's surname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Dawn Porter became Dawn O'Porter after she married Chris O'Dowd.

I believe this is called 'meshing'.

She is taking a joke a bit too far there. Not very funny either.

It would be a genealogical mess if we abandoned the norm of children having their father's surname.

You'll have to explain that one too, I'm not really following your line of thinking

I'm not sure she is joking...not totally anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Iceland seems to be coping just fine - they use the father's (occasionally mother's) first name and append "son" or "daughter" to it to make the children's surnames

So Olaf Jonnson's son might be Tor Olafsson, and then his kid would be Sigrid Torsdaughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I'm quite protective of my surname, I don't have any brothers to pass it on and there isn't a massive amount of cousins on my fathers side regardless. I doubt I will ever be getting married but if I did then I will be keeping my name, I would love to pass my surname onto my children, it isn't massively common either, particularly not where I am from, however I know compremises have to be made somewhere and most men want their kids to have their surname. I have to say I think it is unfair that its just s given that the women are the one to have give up their name or at the least the chance to pass on part of their identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

I'm not sure she is joking...not totally anyway.

I suppose I was giving her the benefit of the doubt. Her modified name is quite ridiculous.

B0jangles wrote: »
    Iceland seems to be coping just fine - they use the father's (occasionally mother's) first name and append "son" or "daughter" to it to make the children's surnames

So Olaf Jonnson's son might be Tor Olafsson, and then his kid would be Sigrid Torsdaughter.

Yes.But this is Ireland, where double barrelled surnames are not the norm.

You'll have to explain that one too, I'm not really following your line of thinking

The tradition of a child taking their father's name simplifies genealogy. My father was Mr. Internet, his father was Mr. Internet, his father....etc.

Abandon that certainty and, in 150 years time, genealogy records will be a complete mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Men - would you take on your girlfriend's surname when you got married? Either as a straight-forward swap for your own, a double barrelled one, or a merger of the two surnames to form a new one.

Apparently (see article below), people are doing it.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/men/relationships/10847140/Should-I-take-my-girlfriends-surname-when-we-marry.html#source=refresh

I wouldn't. My wife hasn;t taken my name either btw.

i wouldn me bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I think it's still illegal for a man to change his name by marriage in Ireland and you'd have to execute a seperate deed poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

As long as its not banannahammock then i couldn't give a shíte

B0jangles wrote: »

Yes, and that's a fine system. But it is a clearly defined, predictable system. We have such a system too - a child has it's father's surname. Take away that certianty and things become messy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Yes.But this is Ireland, where double barrelled surnames are not the norm.

So? Norms can and do change all the time. Why not make it the new norm that sons take their father's surname and daughter's take their mothers?

Sometimes a child has their mother's surname. :confused:

Don't really get the snobbery against double barrels tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

I never expected my wife to take my name and she hasn't.

So I wouldn't take hers and again it wouldn't be expected.

Yes, and that's a fine system. But it is a clearly defined, predictable system. We have such a system too - a child has it's father's surname. Take away that certianty and things become messy.

Messy for who and for what? My daughter has my name not her dad's. What possible problem could that cause for her in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

I'm not for changing names by either party, but my wife did take my name. However, I have a serious cringe factor when people go double-barreled. Keep your single name if you wish but don't start making shoite up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

The tradition of a child taking their father's name simplifies genealogy. My father was Mr. Internet, his father was Mr. Internet, his father....etc.

Abandon that certainty and, in 150 years time, genealogy records will be a complete mess.

I somehow doubt it. 10 seconds on facebook and I know more about extended family members than I ever cared to.....

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    As long as its not banannahammock then i couldn't give a shíte
    I know a publican who's surname is ramsbottom, the poor unfortunate gobshite

Messy for who and for what? My daughter has my name not her dad's. What possible problem could that cause for her in the future.

The problem is not for her. It is for genealogists 200 years from now who have no clue who she's related to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

The problem is not for her. It is for genealogists 200 years from now who have no clue who she's related to...

yeah, people in the future are clueless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Changed my surname to Stuart-Houston, because it got a bad rep due a member being a dick.;)

Might have started off as a joke but even her books on Amazon have her name as O'Porter.

All they have to do is go on her facebook. 1000 years from now my relations will be able to see what i had for breakfast. Besides her birth cert says exactly who she is related too, all you have to do is follow the trail back. Its pretty common for kids now to have their mothers name, I'm sure the future people of the world will be able to figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

No woman would ever be dumb enough to marry me so that's not gonna be an issue I'll have to deal with. Having kids outside of marriage though I would want my kid to have my surname. I find the thought of my son not having my name quite sad tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

Men - would you take on your girlfriend's surname when you got married?

No, I expect my wife would object. Sure she doesn't even know her that well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

I'll probably be seen as sexist by saying this but I genuinely think its a really nice tradition for the woman to take the mans surname in marriage.

edit .. so to answer the op, no I definately would not take her name as I believe it should be her taking mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

oldyouth wrote: »
    I'm not for changing names by either party, but my wife did take my name. However, I have a serious cringe factor when people go double-barreled. Keep your single name if you wish but don't start making shoite up

I like double-barrel names, and I think they're a fine idea to ensure that the wife's (usually) name doesn't fade through lack of use. I'd reckon that's why the toff types in Blighty do it - chances are that both families of a young married couple would be considered quite "important" in a heraldic context.

--
    Yours,

General Sir Anthony Cecil Hogmanay-Melchett. Bah!!