Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warriors Run 2014

• 22-05-2014 9:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭

Registration opens today - didn't see a thread for this years event yet.
    Have my room booked for the weekend, I just need to make sure I get a place and get a better training plan over the summer.

Anyone else doing it?

o/

As long as I get a place, I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I'm in...again....like an idiot!!

Done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

I'm in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

In... Sold out after 10 mins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
    T runner wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

I'm in despite the fire alarm going off in work

It's back open, must have just crashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Damnit.... More popular than Miley Cyrus.
    Some day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Got my place last night. 300 available for grabs in Strandhill for applicants applying in person. Even arriving an hour before hand I was No.120 in the queue.

Gaelforce a week before hand so I will either absolutly smash my 84 minute PB, or I'll be crippled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

If ever there was a lad who might be kept an entry by the organisers...
    I can't believe you have to scrabble for a place T runner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Peterx wrote: »

The least he can do is be slower than us at something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

didnt bother.. but ye have me tempted now.. is it saturday or sunday..gaelforce the week before as well though.. might put name on waiting list

woody1 wrote: »
    didnt bother.. but ye have me tempted now.. is it saturday or sunday..gaelforce the week before as well though.. might put name on waiting list

It's a Saturday. I'm signed up for the dublin race series 10 miler the same day but sure this'll be way more craic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 GeraldineN

So 5 years after doing my 1st warrior (and only) run, I got my place for this year :) T runner, might need your support again ;) excited

GeraldineN wrote: »
    So 5 years after doing my 1st warrior (and only) run, I got my place for this year :) T runner, might need your support again ;) excited

No problem Geraldine. Give me a shout, I can answer any questions and help you with planning training etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

I didn't make the cut - was an hour late logging on. Gutted as it is a super race.
    If anyone has entry going closer to the date please keep me in mind for a transfer. Thanks a mill :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Got my place, this'll be the 4th in a row. Should be a great atmosphere this year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Some day!

Did you not get in?
    Would really suit you, based on WWR performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

bazman wrote: »
    I didn't make the cut - was an hour late logging on. Gutted as it is a super race.
    If anyone has entry going closer to the date please keep me in mind for a transfer. Thanks a mill :-)

There is something wrong when a previous winner does not get an entry.

Some day!

Krusty. I actually had a feeling you might try this this year, don't know why. You can plan on doing this race under the assumption that you'll get a place. The organisers allow transfers. About 120 of those registered wont be able to race due to injury or lack of training. There wont be many people in a position to avail of those because they wont have prepared. Plus there's an extra 100 tickets gone to locals so it will be easier to get than other years, and its handy most times. Marathon training is perfect for it. The last 4 miles is a real test of strength endurance, much like the latter stages of a marathon. (Most painfully noticeable perhaps when its lacking.)
    dna_leri wrote: »
    There is something wrong when a previous winner does not get an entry.

I think they probably should have an allowance for elites and especially part winners like Bazman, but I suppose in fairness the entry on Thursday was a first come first served effort.

My first card was the Thursday reg...but I had 51 nepotism cards in the deck after that!

Hopefully you got in yourself? That would give us a strong Rathfarnham team to have a go at the team title. Or if Krusty was coming down wed have a 4 strong IMRA team. 3 to score. Would be good craic!

I'm in Sligo, so I'll keep ye here in mind if I see places advertised over the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Krusty. I actually had a feeling you might try this this year, don't know why. You can plan on doing this race under the assumption that you'll get a place. The organisers allow transfers. About 120 of those registered wont be able to race due to injury or lack of training. There wont be many people in a position to avail of those because they wont have prepared. Plus there's an extra 100 tickets gone to locals so it will be easier to get than other years, and its handy most times. Marathon training is perfect for it. The last 4 miles is a real test of strength endurance, much like the latter stages of a marathon. (Most painfully noticeable perhaps when its lacking.)
    Cool. It's a race that has been on the bucket list for a couple of years, but I only ever think of it once I see the annual sold-out thread. Will stick my name down on their message-board in June and keep my fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Keep an eye on the Sligo Forum as well. Annual thread is there at the mo, and ocassioanly people have posted if they cant run or giving up their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭username84

Anyone any ideas on HOW THE HELL TO TRAIN FOR THIS!

I was in Bella Vista for my ticket - qued for AGES but got it! Only then I though, ****e, I'm chubby and unfit!

I was thinking about getting the up to the 15k milage and doing Croagh Patrick a few times too? This may have been a terrible mistake :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

hilly half marathon training will do grand.. most wont be running up knocknarea anyway.. bit of practice running down rough ground will be no harm.. if you can get up and run around the course without the knocknarea bit just stay on the road its no harm either..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

username84 wrote: »

I was in Bella Vista for my ticket - qued for AGES but got it! Only then I though, ****e, I'm chubby and unfit!

I was thinking about getting the up to the 15k milage and doing Croagh Patrick a few times too? This may have been a terrible mistake :p

I got in this year 5th year in a row went out to strandhill to bella vista round 5 and was 11 in line. I do run the road section of the warriors run a few times before the day and train on hilly courses,

username84 wrote: »

Train on the course itself as much as you can, and add in plenty of hiking. Do the mountain via the usual path route a few times too.
    If you can jog the road section easily enough, and have done the mountain too you should be ok, as chances are you'll be walking up it anyway.
    Practice coming down it too if you get a chance, that takes a bit of getting used to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Guys, all very quiet on the transfer front over on the warriors message board. Can boards folks keep me in mind should they not be able to make it? I know Bazman and Krusty are also in the queue looking at the thread.

Great race and a great day so trying hard to get in.

stmochtas wrote: »
    Guys, all very quiet on the transfer front over on the warriors message board. Can boards folks keep me in mind should they not be able to make it? I know Bazman and Krusty are also in the queue looking at the thread.

Great race and a great day so trying hard to get in.

I'd say it'll be another couple of weeks before the injuries and lack of prep etc. will cause a fair few places to become available. Hang in there!

Sauve wrote: »
    I'd say it'll be another couple of weeks before the injuries and lack of prep etc. will cause a fair few places to become available. Hang in there!

I could be one of them :o

Stop that talk this instant or so help me!

Sauve wrote: »
    Stop that talk this instant or so help me!

Sorry, was having a bit of panic yesterday. Be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mullser

Howdy folks.
    I have one place to transfer for the run, out due to injured foot.
    I had booked a medium tshirt for it, incase anyone's interested to know.

first to get in touch gets it!
    hope everyone's training is going well :)

hiya Mullser. If I can I'd take it for a friend who is very very keen for a place but not on the internet today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Does anyone have a garmin of the route that they would be willing to share?

Ignore - just found one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

The warriors transfer site doesn't have much activity. If anyone has an entry here they can't use I'd be happy to take it off their hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mullser

Great Peterx, I'll pm you. Thanks.
    hiya Mullser. If I can I'd take it for a friend who is very very keen for a place but not on the internet today.

geld wrote: »
    Does anyone have a garmin of the route that they would be willing to share?

Ignore - just found one!

I'll be doing the road bit of the route on Sat. with a garmin, so if anybody wants any stats/split distances, just shout.

mullser wrote: »
    Great Peterx, I'll pm you. Thanks.

Thanks Mullser,

I've emailed yourself and my friend there now.

regards,
    Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

The warriors transfer site doesn't have much activity. If anyone has an entry here they can't use I'd be happy to take it off their hands.

I agree SJ it is very quiet fingers crossed we can be sorted with transfers through boards as it seems a lot busier on here.

So how's the training going for everyone? what mileage is everyone up to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 merble

Hi there....i missed the date tix went in sale so hoping someone might know someone who might have one to spare ???. Reckon I'll have to get to the strand next year as 2nd year in a row I've missed the launch ! Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Only a few weeks away..... how are people getting on?
    I did my usual mountain trek today but had to stop and walk twice on the steepest bit.....this isn't normal for me. I'm still getting over a bout of chicken pox (4 weeks ago and I still feel like i'm running on empty) so hopefully things will improve over the next 2 weeks.
    I'll head up again on Monday or Tuesday and make sure I just get it done

W.B. Yeats wrote: »
    Only a few weeks away..... how are people getting on?
    I did my usual mountain trek today but had to stop and walk twice on the steepest bit.....this isn't normal for me. I'm still getting over a bout of chicken pox (4 weeks ago and I still feel like i'm running on empty) so hopefully things will improve over the next 2 weeks.
    I'll head up again on Monday or Tuesday and make sure I just get it done

Did the road bit today and felt alright. Been doing a lot of hills lately and fingers crossed it's starting to pay off. I think I'll walk the mountain bit on Monday just for a bit of recce, is it all cleared and easy enough to get up now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

DULLAHAN2 wrote: »

Is that your place? I've already emailed him this morning but got no reply yet. They seem to be grabbed up very fast!

bman wrote: »
    Is that your place? I've already emailed him this morning but got no reply yet. They seem to be grabbed up very fast!

No not my place, i see that his place his gone now, yeah they are going very fast,

If still without a entry.

Check here: http://www.warriorsfestival.com/messageboard.php Regularly.

Thursday is the transfer deadline so its going to get busy between now and then. two places up there at the moment.

I have my place available, I'm gutted :(

check the warriorsfestival website on the link above