Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Brolly is a wally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

So do TheJournal.ie just post people's twitter timelines as stories now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

c_man wrote: »

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,413 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

:o I humbly accept this is the worst thread ever because I posted it in the wrong place. Oooopppsy. Suppose to be in GAA forum. I am a wally too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

I thought he was a barrister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Let's be honest, $ky use attractive women to present a lot of their shows, it works for them.

We are talking about getting the viewing figures up, and nothing does that better than a pretty girl. Call that sexist, but its how it works. SSN have been doing it best for a long time. A lot of these girls have become celebs and lads mags regulars on the back of their work with $ky. Look at the recent move of that BBC newsreader (and Strictly star) to a morning breakfast show, there were complaints that they moved her behind a desk and you couldn't see her legs any more!!

This is what the TV companies love.

Why get in a presenter who really knows the GAA when you can get in a bit of eye candy.

c_man wrote: »

The indo too. Then again they do have a unique interest here.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/sky-sports-express-disappointment-over-brolly-comments-30293644.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I seriously doubt a pretty face draws in punters to watch sports commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Biscuits studies is it? Sure I must have a PhD in the auld biscuit and chocolate studies meself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Everyone who's into bogball is a wally,with absolutely no exceptions!

D4 accented Wyse is an odd choice to host the GAA on Sky though,they should have just gone to Coppers on a Monday night and picked the most attractive culchie nurse or female Guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

That girl should be delighted that someone compared her to a Baywatch babe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I'm be more annoyed at Brian Carney getting the co-presenters job. Sure that lad wouldn't now a gaelic football if it hit him square in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

It didn't take him long to backtrack on his comments, the sap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Between this and Rory it must be a seriously slow news day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

How long until we see Brolly previewing matches on Youtube on a park bench with a gang of kids drinking Carlsberg Special Brew in the background?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Considering Joe Brolly has a face like a pair of tits, I don't see how he isn't raking in the viewers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

kneemos wrote: »

The Sky Sports News girls are always popular...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Adamantium wrote: »
    Considering Joe Brolly has a face like a pair of tits, I don't see how he isn't raking in the viewers.
    Don't forget the accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Adamantium wrote: »

Not true at all. I've never had the urge to slap the head off a pair of tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

This RTE GAA fella is gettin himself in to a bit of hot water with this wan on Sky Sports labelling the company sexists and saying that basically she is just a pair of *its to look at seemingly uaware that she has a degree in biscuit studies AND represented Ireland in showjumping.

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/joe-brolly-sky-sports-gaa-sexist-1476250-May2014/?utm_source=shortlink

And here is her response comparing this gang in Montrose on their looks with other males.

http://balls.ie/gaa/the-rachel-wyse-joe-brolly-story-rolls-on/?utm_campaign=twitter&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitter

Stay classy with your pundits RTE.
    Bit of a crummy degree

Sorry :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

EyeSight wrote: »
    Bit of a crummy degree

Sorry :o

Ye can tell he just sat down with a cup of tay...

This is Ms Wyse' qualifications, though I think knowledge of GAA is whats needed for the job....and not being Joe Brolly, which always helps.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rachel_Wyse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

In fairness, they could have gotten a more knowledgeable presenter if they wanted...

Instead we'll be stuck with watching Jamesie O'Connor & Nicky English hide their semi's whilst talking ****e about hurling

Hasn't she been writing on GAA for the Irish Independent though? She must have some knowledge.

Anyway here is chapter and verse on his apology. Some of his choice of words make it seem insincere and even patronising.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/discover/rtes-brolly-apologises-to-sky-presenter-wyse-for-crass-baywatch-jibe-631195.html
    nothing to do with the girl personally. Never heard of her until now. Not a show jumping fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Everyone who's into bogball is a wally,with absolutely no exceptions!

D4 accented Wyse is an odd choice to host the GAA on Sky though,they should have just gone to Coppers on a Monday night and picked the most attractive culchie nurse or female Guard.

The only wally here is you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

I'm be more annoyed at Brian Carney getting the co-presenters job. Sure that lad wouldn't now a gaelic football if it hit him square in the face.

Brian Carney played Gaelic football with Valleymount GFC in Wicklow before his Rugby career took off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Hammar wrote: »
    Brian Carney played Gaelic football with Valleymount GFC in Wicklow before his Rugby career took off.

Not exactly the CV to be qualified to present the show though is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

:o I humbly accept this is the worst thread ever because I posted it in the wrong place. Oooopppsy. Suppose to be in GAA forum. I am a wally too.

Would have thought the poetry forum to be more apt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

kneemos wrote: »
    You're seriously naïve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

Not exactly the CV to be qualified to present the show though is it?

A presenter is different than an analyst though.
    The presenter will be a journalist/professional and the analyst will be the "expert".
    Carney presents Rugby league coverage on Sky sports so he is qualified for the role, he won't be analysing the game as such,that will be Peter Canavan's job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You're seriously naïve.

People are going to tune in because there's a woman presenting the show?
    Sorry I don't get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

Brolly is just one of those so lacking in all other qualities that his only way of keeping himself relevant is to be controversial. He is best ignored.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Brolly is a ****e pundit, along with most of the other RTE GAA pundits. As a player myself, I know a few of the county lads and listening to RTE pundits analysis of them you can tell that they are completely clueless despite being "qualified" to do the job.

I'm sure Rachel Wyse will do just fine on Sky's coverage, certainly no worse than RTE, and the same goes for Carney (who I believe has a Junior Football Championship medal, which by itself is no mean feat).