Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

graduation leaving cert year

• 19-05-2014 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭

How was your school grad the year of your leaving cert?
    Did you go on your own etc.

I with to my first grad byself and I wasn't the only one lad that went on there own.

The second grad was great. Nearly ended in a river while On a pedaling GO kart at the house party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

cena wrote: »
    I myself with the first one by self and I wasn't the only one.
    Dafuq?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Every does like what else no. Nearly twice now I'd say. Great party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

How was your school grad the year of your leaving cert?
    Did you go on your own etc.

The second grad was great. Nearly ended in a river while On a pedaling GO kart at the house party
    Your grad is tonight and you've ended up as that one guy who has to go home at 11pm because you're annoyingly drunk.

Sleep it off OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Dafuq?

I fixed it goodish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I never went to it.

Suas11 wrote: »
    I never went to it.

Why is that?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

When you say grad, do you mean debs?

For us, grad was a mass and an awards ceremony.

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    When you say grad, do you mean debs?

For us, grad was a mass and an awards ceremony.

My school did it all on the night. The mass go for the meal and than thendancing or drinking.

The awards where done in the school on a different date.

But ya I mean debs.

They didn't do debs in England. We just had an egg and flour fight on last day of school.

Good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It consisted of a mass in the school, a few awards and then a quick walk down to the pub.

Was a good night, the teachers went to the pub as well and drank pints with the rest of us.

It was also my first experience of a bad hangover the next morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

My debs was in September, right after I started college (great planning from my old school). Went with a bf. Hated every minute. Would rather forget as much as I can.

I had a gorgeous dress and looked hot, though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Didn't bother going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I missed my grad night because I didn't graduate.

Did you graduate twice, OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

Didnt attend debs, graduation, or post-grad party thing.
    Hated school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I didn't have one at Leaving Cert. That was in 1961 and, quite rightly, graduation at that time meant graduating with a degree. Leaving Cert is not a graduation. Graduation is defined as receiving or conferring of an academic degree or diploma. Certainly not for a certificate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Oooooo he card read good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

we just had mass and a piss up like the good culchies we were.

I ended up in A&E and my friend had to get a tetanus shot (unrelated incidents) :D

Debs was grand, my shoes were killing me and I got the ride, nothing really memorable about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

My school did it all on the night. The mass go for the meal and than thendancing or drinking.

The awards where done in the school on a different date.

But ya I mean debs.

It wasn't a debs either? A debutante ball (debs) if for young women making a formal debut into society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Travel lodge sell bottles of miller for 10 euro at 5 in the morning. Even at 5 in the morning there was no ****ing way I was spending 10 euro on a bottle of anything, never mind miller.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

My debs was in September, right after I started college (great planning from my old school). Went with a bf. Hated every minute. Would rather forget as much as I can.

I had a gorgeous dress and looked hot, though :)

How did you get the stains out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I did the splits whilst dancing to 'Footloose' and ripped my trousers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

The debs was always on at the start of the year for sixth years in my school (i.e. so it wouldn't drag on during the leaving cert). There was a kind of a 'grad' thing a week before the leaving cert but that was just the principal telling us some stuff and then we went drinking to a pub a few miles away in another village (yeh, exciting stuff).

To be honest, both the debs and that session before the leaving cert were a load of bollocks. Absolutely anachronistic having a debs and a waste of money at a time when nobody was particularly flush. The grad thing was a joke as well, there was no degrees conferred so it was absolutely pointless (like most of secondary school I suppose).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

We had pre debs, I didn't go, but a few people got arrested so they cancelled the actual debs.
    I didn't even know graduation was on, I went into school, and my class was empty, I was wandering round for about an hour confused till someone told me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

My Grad ball was in '91. It was fun, most of us didn't have partners. I had a great ball gown and the ball was held in a hotel. Some arsehole decided that there would be bowling afterwards. That was a mistake. Only 1 group had a limo that night and they were kind of spurned by the rest of us plebs who went on the hired coach:D

I sneaked a naggin of bacardi in strapped to my thigh with a garter:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

we just had mass and a piss up like the good culchies we were.

I ended up in A&E and my friend had to get a tetanus shot (unrelated incidents) :D

Debs was grand, my shoes were killing me and I got the ride, nothing really memorable about it.

The ride or the graduation?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, our Grad was just a mass I think. Then one of the pupil's Dads owned a pub so was willing to rent out the upstairs of the pub to 120 boys of questionable age.
    A couple of teachers turned up. The quiet, ridiculously smart kid got outrageously drunk and vomited everywhere. He's now a decorated consultant doctor.

There were no fights, which kind of surprises me since so many people in my year were assholes who got into fights at the debs six months later...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

The ride or the graduation?:P

well, now that you mention it...

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I missed my grad night because I didn't graduate.

Did you graduate twice, OP?

I did graduate twice and not by repeating the leaving cert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    How did you get the stains out?

Stains??