Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nct tonight, a quick Q

• 19-05-2014 6:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭

Hi i have nct at 830
    Do the water n the wipers have to work ?
    Is this a pass r fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

afaik you can fail the NCT if they do not function correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Id say wipers not working would probably be a fail alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Windshield washers and wipers must both work Im afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Windshield washers and wipers must both work Im afraid.

Oh jasus right two outlets from right hand side only one works and left works fine would that suffice ? Wipers are grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

monflat wrote: »
    Oh jasus right two outlets from right hand side only one works and left works fine would that suffice ? Wipers are grand

Front washers must work. Rear windscreen washer is not checked.

cnoc wrote: »
    Front washers must work. Rear windscreen washer is not checked.

Ok grand thanks the husband is out there now with a needle
    No wiper on back
    Typical last hour panic .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Sowing needle will unblock nossal

it should pass if it cleans the window adequately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

No wiper on back

Good luck with the test:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

No wiper on back

Good luck with the test:) As mentioned, a sowing needle will unblock the washer jets.

Thanks v much on road now !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

Let us know how you get on! Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Sometimes using the compressed air from a tyre inflater through the nozzles will clear them too.

Right o
    I have to do a retest wipers etc fine.
    The two front side lights are not bright enuf.
    I need two flexible brake pipes.

The front passenger tyre
    Back pasdenger tyre thread dept not up to scratch.
    Got 4 new tyres last july.
    Obviously trackin is out or balancing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Colm, I put my yoke through the test a couple of weeks ago and she failed on a shock and steering rod (also I had one winter and one summer tyre on the front and a back seatbelt clip was stuck under the chair).

I went to the Polish lads near Airside Swords to get it fixed and they discovered the mount for the shocks was busted too. So two shocks, two rods and the mount were done for 440 quid.

Do you think that was a fair price?

(The car has since passed the second time no problem)

Hard luck Monflat.

You must have been driving her quare hard for fairly new tyres to fail?

Jesus. wrote: »
    Hard luck Monflat.

You must have been driving her quare hard for fairly new tyres to fail?

Possibly 144 km round trip to work 3 times a week plus local driving.
    It all adds up dosnt it

Possibly 144 km round trip to work 3 times a week plus local driving. It all adds up dosnt it

It all adds up alright but you still should be getting a lot more than 10 months out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

I need two flexible brake pipes.
    Jesus, they are amassing a fortune from retest fees for either rubber or metal brake line replacement. Way OTT on observational fail for either.

It all adds up alright but you still should be getting a lot more than 10 months out of them.

Yes thats what i thought especially as i paid 310 for them. I cud b heard cursing !
    The 4 people that were in with me all had to retest.

Yes thats what i thought especially as i paid 310 for them. I cud b heard cursing !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Just taking your 3 trips to work a week for 10 months that's 17,280km. Add in a bit of local driving you could easily be up to 23k km or so. Still abit early for tyres to be worn so bad they fail but not an unbelievable amount as you'd expect to get 30-40k km out of a set of tyres but then that depends on so many variables. Are the tyres worn evenly or I'd the thread more worn on the inside etc which would suggest tracking is out which could easily cause a set of tyres to wear out in 20k km.

The NCT tester told me my rear tyres are over six years old. My last car I had the same set on for four years.

A lot of it's down to driving style too I think. I've a light right foot so that probably saves on tyres.