Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Election Posters.

• 19-05-2014 2:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭

Nearly got killed crossing the street in Limerick because three candidates put their posters up over traffic lights. I was crossing on the green man and a jeep came through the crossing because he couldn't see his red. Rang the Gardai and they said the council would sort it. Surely the candidates should be chastised for being so reckless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You can report illegally placed election posters here - http://www.fixyourstreet.ie/reports/submit

Ironically I was just reading a story there about a Labour candidate reporting to gardai that people had 'defaced' her posters. Silly bitch... at least 3 of them are illegally placed! (too low)

http://www.thejournal.ie/lorraine-higgins-posters-pro-abort-1472719-May2014/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Shame the guidelines of 2.3 metres off the ground is not law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I was crossing on the green man and a jeep came through the crossing because he couldn't see his red.
    I got the same, telling me it was litter. I wondered if I should not have mentioned it was an election poster, just to make them actually think about it. I went to the gardai about long cable ties pointing out at eye level on a cycletrack, invisible in the dark and on a track where people go at really high speed, absolute cunts

You should email them again anyway, gardai have proven time & time again that they do not know the actual laws they are meant to enforce.
    Contact Details

Telephone: Tel: 01-666 9800 (Road Safety Unit)
    Email: traffic@garda.ie

Stuff like this is not littering, its a serious deliberate act of distraction of motorists. Labour and FG have signs which mimick road warning signs, they only use 2 colours red & white, or FG use yellow & black. They put them up at angles so they are diamond shaped. Hopefully they will be done for manslaughter if there is a death. I fear it will take a death or 2 before they are banned. There have already been people who sued for injury.
    SHOVELLER wrote: »
    Shame the guidelines of 2.3 metres off the ground is not law.
    The real shame is the wasted taxpayers money to get someone to have to issue these guidelines.

These are the dun laoghaire rathdown 2014 guidelines issued to all parties, and wilfully broken by most if not all. And violated the ESB warnings, so we now have fire hazards all over the country.
    REVISED GUIDELINES ON THE ERECTION AND REMOVAL OF ELECTION POSTERS:

1. Election posters should only be erected (a) not earlier than 30 days before the poll date or (b) from the date the Minister makes the order for the holding of the poll, whichever is the shorter period. The time limit for Referendum posters is not restricted to 30 days. These posters are allowed from the date the polling day order is signed. In this regard the effective date for the erection of posters is not before 12 midnight on Tuesday 22nd of April 2014.

2. In accordance with the Litter Pollution Act 1997 election posters and ties must be removed within 7 days after polling date. Failure to do so may result in prosecution. The associated fixing arrangement particularly plastic ties must be removed at the same time the poster is being removed.

3. No adhesive or metal fixings are permitted.

4. All posters should be manufactured from cardboard composites or other recyclable materials.

5. The Party or individual responsible for the poster must be clearly indicated on the poster.

6. Posters must not be erected as follows:

a. on lamp standards with overhead line electricity feed,

b. on traffic signal poles,

c. on bridge parapets, overpasses and on pedestrian bridges

d. on roundabouts

e. on roadside traffic barriers

f. on traffic poles or statutory signage of any type including stop, yield, cycletrack, parking control, etc.

g. on Motorways

h. must not obstruct the view of traffic lights or road signs,

i. must not block or obstruct motorists view of pedestrians, i.e. pedestrian barriers, or railings or motorists view of other traffic

7. There should be a minimum clearance of 2.5 metres (8ft) from the lower edge of any poster to ground level on footpaths and 3.2metres (10ft) on cycle lanes and no posters should be placed higher than 6.5 metres (20ft) from the ground.

8. A maximum of two posters per candidate is permitted on any lamp or standard pole.

9. Political parties/independent candidates are reminded that no claims for damages arising from placing, displaying or removal of their posters will lie with the Council and they may consider it appropriate to take out Public Liability Insurance in this regard

10. Where the Council incurs costs in the removal of posters these costs may be recovered.

Election posters that do not comply with these conditions or that are erected on Council property prior to the declaration of an election will be removed by the Council. In the event of a breach of the Litter Pollution Act 1997 – 2009, prosecutions may be initiated.

Have, or will, any of them be charged with an offence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

makes reading the actual road signs diffiult too, because the election posters everywhere obscure them

Have, or will, any of them be charged with an offence?

Some were charged with putting them up to early, that is littering. If they are left up too long after the are subject to fines too. DL-rathdown have taken down loads, and so they will be subject to the cost of that, hope the price is high.

I expect many people might take them down and hold on to them and put them back up themselves and report it. Especially the likes of this guy who knowingly littered a womans house, then she tore it up, and he reported HER for littering. The fucker ended up paying himself. I would imagine locals are baying for that cunt's blood
    Labour candidate Gerry Sheridan who is at the center of a littering row has offered to pay the fine issued to a woman who ripped up his election leaflets in front of him.

http://www.theliberal.ie/local-election-candidate-offers-to-pay-fine/
    Michelle Byrne (32) said: “….. The candidate pushed the leaflet through the letterbox and I pushed it back out. He then proceeded to push the leaflet through the letterbox again.I opened the door and told him I didn’t want any election material…and I proceeded to tear up the leaflet.” As the candidate left, Ms. Byrne picked up the pieces of paper and put them into the rubbish bin outside her residence….”
    The next morning she was notified by registered post of a €150 fine
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/05/07/anything-bizarre-in-the-westmeath-topic/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Theres a cutie running for labour round my way.

Her picture makes me think happy sh1t

rubadub wrote: »
    Some were charged with putting them up to early, that is littering. If they are left up too long after the are subject to fines too. DL-rathdown have taken down loads, and so they will be subject to the cost of that, hope the price is high.

I expect many people might take them down and hold on to them and put them back up themselves and report it. Especially the likes of this guy who knowingly littered a womans house, then she tore it up, and he reported HER for littering. The fucker ended up paying himself. I would imagine locals are baying for that cunt's blood

http://www.theliberal.ie/local-election-candidate-offers-to-pay-fine/

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2014/05/07/anything-bizarre-in-the-westmeath-topic/

There are no words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Burn them, burn them all! and the election posters :p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

Would ban postering altogether ! Just an eyesore and after polling they just tear down the posters leaving the cable ties ! I doubt very much if they sway many voters one way or the other , well maybe the cute ones do ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

i have one of kate feeney's posters in my bedroom.so technically im helping things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

fran17 wrote: »
    i have one of kate feeney's posters in my bedroom.so technically im helping things

You mean she's helping things fran :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

There was posters on a pole by my road end during the last elections. They blocked the view of cars coming from the right hand side. We cut them down and used them as sleds on the snow and ice :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Saw a crash yesterday in phibsboro. The traffic lights at phibsboro bus garage were completely blocking the traffic lights so you didn't even see them till you were right on top of them and them so they were in fact red so the driver locked up and was rear ended.

nearly happened to me the previous night as i was driving home. I knew there were traffic lights on the road but was a little confused as i couldn't see them until i was about 10 feet from the red light when i passed the election sign that was blocking them.

And what muppet has started to use fake road signs as election posters? same shape and colour as road warning signs? How is that not illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Think_then_talk

Lets see how many of the Candidates will be breaking the law on polling day, You see under the Electoral Act 1992 (147 {2[c]) No Posters or Canvassing Within 100 meters of Polling Station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 TheSecretOut

Hi Folks,
    Have you seen any of the election candidates from FF & FG, well if you have, now go and have a good look at their election posters and photos of 15 / 10 years old.

1- Sean Kelly FG Munster Euro candidate is almost totally grey and in early 60's yet looks 45 in his posters and not a grey hair to be seen. This is completely false advertising and grossly misleading.

2- Cathal Crowe FF council election candidate is using posters when he was 22 years old, he's now 32, again grossly misleading and frankly dishonest.

3 - Kieran Hartley Munster Euro Candidate, looks like a youthful 30 year old, however look at independent newspaper and he look a good 40 year old.

This is dishonest electioneering and if they succeed in conning voters, I'm going to challenge validity of result in High Court.

Any more dirty tricks from these politicians ?

Disillusioned voter

Remember we were conned last general election with FG & Lab what we got was FF repackaged.

Water Rates bill will be €1,000 within 12 months remember I told you !
    Property Tax will be €1,000 within 12 months after these elections, remember I told you.
    Universal charge is Tax for nothing just scamming hard pressed tax payers.

Remember when voting, it's worth €70,000 per year for each councillor, they get 30k plus €40k expenses

MEP get €150k plus €120k expenses, it's all about money..... Money money money

They don't give a toss about the electorate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Around d5 some prat has election posters that look like stop signs

Can someone link to an image of the "road sign" type posters?

Election posters should be banned, they are up on poles besides traffic lights.
    It's bad enough looking at those ugly mugs on the TV most nights without having to see them on every shagging pole in the country.
    I had enough of that smarmy grin of Enda Kenny, that dopy look of Michael Martin, that serene look from female candidates, I'm a mum, from Dublin and living in City oh ya I forgot, there latest mantra, I come from "Working Class Background we were beggars until I found the light and joined FG or FF"

Did anyone listen to Vincent brown last night, it was comical, what a bunch of idiots. I know why Hayes has been forced to put his name in the hat for Europe, not much brain matter there, from last night performance, I suppose he'd be lost amongst the crowd in EU parliament and compensated by cool 1/4 of million per year pay cheque.

The best guy, was the Direct Democracy Ireland candidate, don't know him, but I say a great guy, we need this sort of candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 cathalcrowe

Hi Folks,
    Have you seen any of the election candidates from FF & FG, well if you have, now go and have a good look at their election posters and photos of 15 / 10 years old.

1- Sean Kelly FG Munster Euro candidate is almost totally grey and in early 60's yet looks 45 in his posters and not a grey hair to be seen. This is completely false advertising and grossly misleading.

2- Cathal Crowe FF council election candidate is using posters when he was 22 years old, he's now 32, again grossly misleading and frankly dishonest.

3 - Kieran Hartley Munster Euro Candidate, looks like a youthful 30 year old, however look at independent newspaper and he look a good 40 year old.

This is dishonest electioneering and if they succeed in conning voters, I'm going to challenge validity of result in High Court.

Any more dirty tricks from these politicians ?

Disillusioned voter

Remember we were conned last general election with FG & Lab what we got was FF repackaged.

Water Rates bill will be €1,000 within 12 months remember I told you !
    Property Tax will be €1,000 within 12 months after these elections, remember I told you.
    Universal charge is Tax for nothing just scamming hard pressed tax payers.

Remember when voting, it's worth €70,000 per year for each councillor, they get 30k plus €40k expenses

MEP get €150k plus €120k expenses, it's all about money..... Money money money

They don't give a toss about the electorate.

Actually I'm 31 (DOB: 01/10/1982)... And I'm not 22 in those posters.. They are from the 2009 Local Elections - so you have been looking at a 26 year old me..

There is a good reason why I've put them up around the place too - approx half of my posters have been ripped down and stolen on me. Rather than let the perpetrators get to me I decided to unearth old posters which I had in storage in garden shed.. Also got stickers printed up which clearly state that they're recycled 2009 posters, stickers also mention my current running mates.

If you want to discuss this any further feel free to call / email me

Mr Councillor that's not exact correct, you put your historical posters up before your colleagues ones were up, so much for party unity and respect to running mates, but alas at least you admitted you are not the same image as the poster.

I understand the Fianna Fáil party machine is all over the place, every man out to out do their running mates, a race to the bottom a legacy of the old days.

By the way, your not allowed to use people's mobile phones to solicit votes. All mobiles are on the NDT register, take note of the fines imposed on eircom recently by data protection commissioner.

By the way Mr FF councillor you can thank Mr Lowry Ind for that beautiful piece of legislation, that will keep you all in check, €1,000 fine per each infraction.

Ireland should get rid of the curse of councillors, they do nothing, can get you nothing, if they do, it's only because you were unaware of your legal rights.

The revenue should audit all these councillors and in that way the electorate would know if they were truly upstanding citizens.

Sure in Dublin all the planning corruption centered around councillors taking back handers ie selling their council votes for Money from developers. You could say they caused the collapse of the economy, developers having to pay these chaps and thus driving the house prices up.

It's amazing the drive in these characters, if there were no huge pay check money, no back handers who would we see on the posters.

I have to laugh, all the councillor making rubbish claims that they got this and that and the world and the Crows no pun intended, know well they had absolutely nothing to do with it, the county managers did what they were paid to do, fix the roads,etc etc.

Vote for truthfully young candidates under 25, that way they won't have being exposed or corrupted by the cute ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I have a face, vote for me number one! o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

I'm voting for Mattress Mick. Looks an honest enough chap. Type to get the job done.

Always going to fast to see what party he is running for though.

approx half of my posters have been ripped down and stolen on me.
    How do you think they are getting at them? do you think the vandals are carrying ladders around with them?

Or are you another one of these grossly irresponsible people actually putting them up in reach of people? Therefore creating a serious traffic hazard. As your colleague Mary Fitzpatrick has in my local area, it is vile to see what she has done, I saw one of hers blowing around the N11 dual carriage way the other day. Many of her posters are below the 2.5m limit clearly stated in the safety guidelines issued to your party by the county council.

Have you checked the safety guidelines in your own locality? I have heard of numerous heights set out in different counties. If yours have none you could just follow one of the set of guidelines, astonishing they have to actually state such obvious things.

She also violated the ESB warning. I wondered if there was perhaps a nationwide agreement for Fianna Fail to violate this?

There could be very good reason your posters are being removed, are you sure it is not the council doing it? they confirmed to me that they have taken down loads in my area, and will be charging the offending parties. It could be some concerned private citizen taking them down.

Dun laoghaire rathdown issued these guidelines. Te ones in bold are ones I know your colleague knowingly violated, there are possibly more.
    REVISED GUIDELINES ON THE ERECTION AND REMOVAL OF ELECTION POSTERS:

1. Election posters should only be erected (a) not earlier than 30 days before the poll date or (b) from the date the Minister makes the order for the holding of the poll, whichever is the shorter period. The time limit for Referendum posters is not restricted to 30 days. These posters are allowed from the date the polling day order is signed. In this regard the effective date for the erection of posters is not before 12 midnight on Tuesday 22nd of April 2014.

2. In accordance with the Litter Pollution Act 1997 election posters and ties must be removed within 7 days after polling date. Failure to do so may result in prosecution. The associated fixing arrangement particularly plastic ties must be removed at the same time the poster is being removed.

3. No adhesive or metal fixings are permitted.

4. All posters should be manufactured from cardboard composites or other recyclable materials.

5. The Party or individual responsible for the poster must be clearly indicated on the poster.

6. Posters must not be erected as follows:

a. on lamp standards with overhead line electricity feed,

b. on traffic signal poles

c. on bridge parapets, overpasses and on pedestrian bridges

d. on roundabouts

e. on roadside traffic barriers

f. on traffic poles or statutory signage of any type including stop, yield, cycletrack, parking control, etc.

g. on Motorways

h. must not obstruct the view of traffic lights or road signs,

i. must not block or obstruct motorists view of pedestrians, i.e. pedestrian barriers, or railings or motorists view of other traffic

7. There should be a minimum clearance of 2.5 metres (8ft) from the lower edge of any poster to ground level on footpaths and 3.2metres (10ft) on cycle lanes and no posters should be placed higher than 6.5 metres (20ft) from the ground.

8. A maximum of two posters per candidate is permitted on any lamp or standard pole.

9. Political parties/independent candidates are reminded that no claims for damages arising from placing, displaying or removal of their posters will lie with the Council and they may consider it appropriate to take out Public Liability Insurance in this regard

10. Where the Council incurs costs in the removal of posters these costs may be recovered.

Election posters that do not comply with these conditions or that are erected on Council property prior to the declaration of an election will be removed by the Council. In the event of a breach of the Litter Pollution Act 1997 – 2009, prosecutions may be initiated.

I have also spotted several FF fire hazards.
    http://www.esb.ie/main/press/pressreleaseWS.jsp?id=1114
    ESB Networks Safety Notice - Election Posters

ESB Networks is warning against the placing of election posters on electricity poles/structures during the forthcoming Presidential election campaign.

Any unauthorised contact or near contact with the electricity networks can result in serious injury or even death. Anyone attempting to place a poster on an electricity pole/structure is at risk of contact with live electricity which can be fatal. Similar risks apply when posters are being removed.

ESB Networks has previously experienced incidents where election posters have caught fire following contact with the electricity network resulting in loss of supply to customers and damaged infrastructure.

Well done !

Sure you got my vote......or did I promise our little doggie the vote first........

Well your dead right, vote for The Mattress, sure he can't be anymore stupid than the lot going for election in south East Clare. FF, FG and Lab

I love the bull ****e, they say, creating employment, they couldn't create a job if their life depended on it, all they do is take credit for things that happen through no effort on their part. The young councillors learn this trick from the sneaky crafty politicians, the sort of FF / FG TD's that lose their ministerial positions because of stupidly!. I wonder who that could be, follow the crumble trail............

Why did you put up your historical posters up beside your running mates homes on their home turf, none of your Fianna. Fail colleagues did this to you. Wasn't that very bad manners and very un party like.

Do you think that was the behaviour of a professional junior politician or would you consider that the behaviour of a sneaky person, who thinks their way ahead of his colleagues.

I am a former FF supporter, and I will not be voting for you, because you have no respect for your party colleagues.

You have hundred of posters up everywhere, there is a very big back lash, it's because of your association with Brian Cowen, when you followed him around like a lap dog during the boom period when ye all in Fianna Fáil though ye were royalty and we we pleds.

Timmy Dooley better watch out, Sure you think you topple him at the next election. But the grass roots won't let you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Ive started something here. Who knows where it will end. Strap in people.

Remember Franz Ferdinand. S'all I'm saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

*gets popcorn*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

In the age of Facebook, Twitter and other social media, why are posters needed?

I think they should be banned outright.

There are more than enough opportunities in the media for candidates to get their mugs on view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They haven't bothered their ar*ses taking the cable ties off poles from all the previous campaigns.

Ive started something here. Who knows where it will end. Strap in people.

Remember Franz Ferdinand. S'all I'm saying.

The band, the Archduke or the racehorse?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

The band, the Archduke or the racehorse?:confused:

The one that started the war. The racehourse I think. :D

Naw, it started when a bloke called Archie Duke shot an ostrich 'cause he was hungry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Hi Folks,

Lol, quite the wacky court case to burn money on.
    "Candidate X is clearly not as good looking as their poster made out, yer honour"
    But I guess we know its all bull and you won't be doing it.

Welcome to boards by the way. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Can someone link to an image of the "road sign" type posters?

I think people are talking about this sort of design

http://i.imgur.com/3aGLBkK.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/tk1kKrJ.jpg

What's worse, imo; is this sort of carry on

http://img.rasset.ie/000556a5-560.jpg (image from another election but this is still going on)

http://i.imgur.com/PJNZPLM.jpg - I mean that's just downright dangerous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Actually I'm 31 (DOB: 01/10/1982)... And I'm not 22 in those posters.. They are from the 2009 Local Elections - so you have been looking at a 26 year old me..

There is a good reason why I've put them up around the place too - approx half of my posters have been ripped down and stolen on me. Rather than let the perpetrators get to me I decided to unearth old posters which I had in storage in garden shed.. Also got stickers printed up which clearly state that they're recycled 2009 posters, stickers also mention my current running mates.

If you want to discuss this any further feel free to call / email me

Now Cathal, do you really think people go for a close up look at your posters to see if there is a sticker stating this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 John Glacier

I have to say the amount of election posters around here is mad. Several rain forests could be saved if they didn't bother with posters.

Theres a cutie running for labour round my way.

Her picture makes me think happy sh1t

Sex sells as the saying goes, but only if u r a wanabe politician and conned easily, how does she stand on ?

I have to say the amount of election posters around here is mad. Several rain forests could be saved if they didn't bother with posters.

I know the feeling, we have weeds everywhere now

I think people are talking about this sort of design

http://i.imgur.com/3aGLBkK.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/tk1kKrJ.jpg

What's worse, imo; is this sort of carry on

http://img.rasset.ie/000556a5-560.jpg (image from another election but this is still going on)

http://i.imgur.com/PJNZPLM.jpg - I mean that's just downright dangerous

Mr Crowe, your thoughts on the above please?