Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

He was later interviewed and was released without charge....

• 19-05-2014 9:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭

Why?
    What reason on earth is good enough to release this scum without charge?
    There is a young lad now ****ting himself waiting for an AIDS/Hep/Other test result.

I really do not understand this.

A violent thug got more than he bargained for when he raided a Chinese
    takeaway - a belt of a meat cleaver and 20 stitches to the head.

The vicious lowlife stabbed a teenage staff member in the arm with a
    blood-filled syringe during the raid in Wicklow town on Friday night.

But during the commotion, the injured lad’s colleague burst out of the
    kitchen with the cleaver and hit the raider across the head.

The bloody ordeal happened at 11pm on Friday when a 20-year-old man entered
    the Oriental Castle Chinese takeaway in the town’s busy Market Square.

He threatened staff with the syringe and demanded cash from the teenage boy,
    who was serving customers.

The brave youngster tackled the crazed thief to the ground where, in the
    struggle, he was stabbed in the arm.

Witnesses say a man then came running from the kitchen to protect his
    colleague with a large meat clever and struck the thief on the back of the head
    as the pair struggled on the ground.

Liam Byrne, manager of nearby pub Whiskers, was standing outside the bar when
    he heard “shouting and screaming”.

He told The Mirror: “I heard a commotion coming from the Chinese restaurant
    across the street so I went over to investigate.

“I went in and the owner was shouting, ‘help we are being robbed’.”

Burley Liam, a former prop for Wicklow Rugby Club, said he told the raider to
    settle down when the man, who was now back on his feet, pushed him and called
    him a ‘pr**k’.

Liam added: “I pushed him back against the wall and managed to ground him, I
    put my knee on the back of his neck and held his arms behind his back until the
    Gardaí arrived.

“It was only then I saw the syringe on the ground and noticed the young lad
    had a puncture wound on his arm which was bleeding, I told him to go and wash it
    out immediately.”

Brave Liam also had to wash himself down after being covered in blood, which
    was spewing from the raider’s head wound.

Gardaí arrived a short time later and the man was arrested.

He was taken to St Vincent’s Hospital in Dublin, where he received treatment
    for his injuries, including 20 stitches to the back of his head.

He was later interviewed and was released without charge.

A file has been sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The brave youngster now faces an anxious six-month wait to discover if man
    has infected him with any blood-related diseases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's probably because you don't know the facts of the case?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Why?
    What reason on earth is good enough to release this scum without charge?
    There is a young lad now ****ting himself waiting for an AIDS/Hep/Other test result.

He will get two barristers and a solicitor on legal aid and hell never see the inside if a cell. Mark my words.

Hell probably sue the take away as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

When the Gardaí complete their investigation, they send a file to the DPP. The prosecutor must read the file carefully and decide whether there is enough evidence to put before the court. At that stage he may or may not be charged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

the Chinese - a great bunch of lads!
    well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

GerB40 wrote: »
    For fúck sake.. When did this happen? The fella with the cleaver should have chopped that scumbags head off. It's no wonder nobody trusts the gardaí anymore, letting filth like that walk away after attacking a young lad with a syringe.

It's nothing to do with the guards. The DPP decides what happens next.

bear1 wrote: »

after he got hit in the head he went carjacking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Hyperbole at its finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Whoops excuse me I bollocksed this up. I'll delete my post as I saw Chinese and thug and thought it was regarding a car jacking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

****ing hell, you think a pissed off china man would be able to swing a meat cleaver

fell tired to rob a chinese down our way back in the eighties, they near took his arm off with a cleaver

bear1 wrote: »
    Whoops excuse me I bollocksed this up. I'll delete my post as I saw Chinese and thug and thought it was regarding a car jacking

*bear 1
    not a racist
    bear 1
    not a racist
    bear 1
    not a racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

It's because of the bankers and the government and the parents and the guards and maybe the immigrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Boombastic wrote: »
    *bear 1
    not a racist
    bear 1
    not a racist
    bear 1
    not a racist

:D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I presume the 6 months for which the victim has to wait are because it takes that long for the blood disease to present themselves, right? Could they not now test the scum who attacked him to see whether he has these diseases? I know there's the possibility that the syringe contained blood from another person, but that's less likely. Might make the wait a bit easier for the kid. Depending on the results, of course....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

It does jar with me that a person who tried to rob a business and stabbed a teenager in the arm with a blood filled syringe was a few hours later released, completly free to do terrorize until the dpp decides if he has a case to answer, presumably many months away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

GerB40 wrote: »
    For fúck sake.. When did this happen? The fella with the cleaver should have chopped that scumbags head off. It's no wonder nobody trusts the gardaí anymore, letting filth like that walk away after attacking a young lad with a syringe.

The Gardai arrested him. At what point did they not do their job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The young guy was probably not born when the Chinese had a big meat cleaver fight in the centre of Dublin about 40 years back.
    Top tip: Chinese takeaways and restaurants have kitchen staff who chop things for a living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Obviously the theif is a scumbag but the cashier lad was an idiot and hope other cashiers read this and learn that is best to just give these fcukers the money. No amount of money is worth tackling someone with a syringe for. Fair enough if you're trained in martial arts, or an undercover cop or something, but if you're a regular joe / Josephine, just give them want they want. Hopefully they will then go and buy a bag of gear and OD.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

6 months is inaccurate concerning the blood tests for HIV/AIDS.
    They can test you now after 2 months to see if any irregularities are showing up in the blood.

No point in blaming the guards concerning this, they have to follow a process, its the judicial systems fault this man has been allowed to walk free.

It baffles me why a cashier would put his own life at risk over a couple of euros when the likelihood is the owner of the restaurant is already well off.
    Hopefully this will be a lesson to him in the future to give a raider the money he wants & to keep his own mouth shut. Stupidity of the highest order, not bravery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Fair play to the lad coming to his rescue with the meat cleaver!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

It's because of the bankers and the government and the parents and the guards and maybe the immigrants.

This place is ridiculous sometimes, people jumping to conclusions as usual. It's plain to see that it was the unemployed and civil servants who were at fault here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

Maybe we can blame 'the Brits' for this vicious assault ?

(The meat cleaver was probably made in Sheffield)

Possible Headline

"Innocent Irish lad brutally attacked by British Meat-Cleaver in Irish Town town"

'Young (insert name) a talented (hurler, GAA footballer, Musician, etc) was viciously assaulted by a man wielding a British meat-cleaver as he made his way home from evening Mass....A file found at the scene (probably used to sharpen said meat-cleaver) was stamped 'manufactured in Kent', has been forwarded to the DPP as evidence.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

diomed wrote: »
    The young guy was probably not born when the Chinese had a big meat cleaver fight in the centre of Dublin about 40 years back.
    Top tip: Chinese takeaways and restaurants have kitchen staff who chop things for a living.

I saw one on Wexford Street back in the 90s. I was sitting in traffic at the junction with Kevin Street when suddenly about a group of Chinese guys with meat cleavers ran out of a takeaway (I think it used to be called The Maple Leaf) and started chasing after another group of men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Ficheall wrote: »
    I presume the 6 months for which the victim has to wait are because it takes that long for the blood disease to present themselves, right? Could they not now test the scum who attacked him to see whether he has these diseases? I know there's the possibility that the syringe contained blood from another person, but that's less likely. Might make the wait a bit easier for the kid. Depending on the results, of course....

With the chance that the blood in the syringe mightn't be his, and ultimately having to test the victim anyway there wouldn't be much point in testing the attacker as well. These tests are relatively expensive and there's no catch-all test that can be done. They have to do multiple specific tests for various blood-borne diseases.

The victim has more than likely been given post-exposure prophylaxis which essentially brings the risk of contracting HIV to nil if taken within 72 hours of exposure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Obviously the theif is a scumbag but the cashier lad was an idiot and hope other cashiers read this and learn that is best to just give these fcukers the money. No amount of money is worth tackling someone with a syringe for. Fair enough if you're trained in martial arts, or an undercover cop or something, but if you're a regular joe / Josephine, just give them want they want. Hopefully they will then go and buy a bag of gear and OD.

That's the type of attitude that encourages them to do it more and more.

Let them walk all over you sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Gyalist wrote: »
    I saw one on Wexford Street back in the 90s. I was sitting in traffic at the junction with Kevin Street when suddenly about a group of Chinese guys with meat cleavers ran out of a takeaway (I think it used to be called The Maple Leaf) and started chasing after another group of men.

I hope Kevin Street wasn't too scared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

them army barracks that shatter shut, would they not be put to great use for these kinda guys, mrs fitz could also change the law and put some mps and army personell in charge of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭BearBanjer

Should our Chinese takeaway workers be armed? Yes.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I really feel sorry for the cashier, it's an awful situation.

Really in these situations, you just have to give over the money. I know some of the big multinational chains like McDonald's etc. will fire you if you attempt to tackle an armed robber. They should have insurance against robbery, but policies don't tend to cover staff members trying to be a hero and getting themselves injured/killed.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

flutered wrote: »
    them army barracks that shatter shut, would they not be put to great use for these kinda guys, mrs fitz could also change the law and put some mps and army personell in charge of them.

You want to give nutjobs like this access to automatic weapons and military training? What a bizarre suggestion. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Ireland isnt North Korea. You are innocent until proven guilty. Yes this was a serious crime. But do you put the guy in prison for the next few months( probably a year or two) until he is tried in court? Where he might get a suspended sentence as he had a bad childhood etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

hfallada wrote: »
    Ireland isnt North Korea. You are innocent until proven guilty. Yes this was a serious crime. But do you put the guy in prison for the next few months( probably a year or two) until he is tried in court? Where he might get a suspended sentence as he had a bad childhood etc etc

Do you think they got the wrong guy or do you think he didn't do it ?

Actually maybe he is going to tell 'his side' of the story. I went into the takeaway to buy something to eat, the guy behind the counter jumps over it and attacked me with a syringe, I tried to fight him off and he ended up stabbing himself with the syringe, next thing another guy comes out from the kitchen and attacks me with a knife, then yet another guy arrives from the pub across the road and attacks me and holds me down on the ground until thankfully the gardai arrived and saved me.

That's the type of attitude that encourages them to do it more and more.

Let them walk all over you sure.

Let 'em. As I said, they will OD eventually.

Money is replaceable. Human life is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Why 6 months? Plenty of people face a judge on attempted murder charges a few days later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

eamonnq wrote: »

But what do you do with him? Put in a jail cell until he is put before court. Something which can take months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

But what do you do with him? Put in a jail cell until he is put before court. Something which can take months

Yes. On remand awaiting trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

eamonnq wrote: »

Actually maybe he is going to tell 'his side' of the story. I went into the takeaway to buy something to eat, the guy behind the counter jumps over it and attacked me with a syringe, I tried to fight him off and he ended up stabbing himself with the syringe, next thing another guy comes out from the kitchen and attacks me with a knife, then yet another guy arrives from the pub across the road and attacks me and holds me down on the ground until thankfully the gardai arrived and saved me.

The alternative is to allow the Gardi lock up people as they see fit without any judicial input.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Isn't that what they do in a lot of Europe?
    In this case here the man is clearly a risk to the public, he carried out an assault with a deadly weapon (If your being pedantic its not a deadly weapon if the blood is clean).
    There is no way he should be immediately released as there is clear evidence that he is dangerous, this isn;t relying on circumstantial evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

flutered wrote: »
    them army barracks that shatter shut
    I want a TV newsreader reading that (and getting it mixed up) :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

+ the cash is covered by the insurance policy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Do you think he should be let walk free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

It most certainly is NOT in the vast majority of cases.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I for one don't feel all human life is even close to equally valid. Though to be fair I'd have the extermination urges of a dalek when it comes to irretrievable scum.
    kneemos wrote: »
    The alternative is to allow the Gardi lock up people as they see fit without any judicial input.
    Or have a court system whereby such cases can be assessed within 24 hours and if someone is a danger to the public they should be remanded.

This is the level of "humanity" you're dealing with. Choice quotes from the article:We carjack because we are out of our head on drugs.' 'We needed a bit of entertainment' 'I have seen people being dragged out of car windows' 'Someone was in their car, we needed a bit of entertainment, we grabbed your man, told him to get out of his car he said no, so we grabbed him out, rallied it, then burnt it. I was out of my head on drugs and there was nothing to do at the time.' 'It's not far from LA, kids will be carrying guns and car jacks are a part of it.'. Personally I'd not shed any tears if a few of these wastes of oxygen were run over a few times.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Isn't that what they do in a lot of Europe?
    In this case here the man is clearly a risk to the public, he carried out an assault with a deadly weapon (If your being pedantic its not a deadly weapon if the blood is clean).
    There is no way he should be immediately released as there is clear evidence that he is dangerous, this isn;t relying on circumstantial evidence.

This times a thousand. What the hell are they doing releasing this scumbag back into society? The likelihood of him NOT committing another crime seems extremely slim on the outset - he's just committed an armed robbery for a few euros ffs!

Wibbs wrote: »
    I for one don't feel all human life is even close to equally valid. Though to be fair I'd have the extermination urges of a dalek when it comes to irretrievable scum.

Are you serious? Either do I.

I was clearly referring to the life of the staff member, not the junkie.

I made it clear that I hoped he would end up ODing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

surprise surprise.

IRELAND.

A grey Rough Dump full of knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

You mean the the immigrant Chinese? :pac:
    He stabbed someone in the arm with a blood filled syringe, so yes, yes I do want him kept in prison.

=-=

The Chinese should will be stocking shotguns behind the counter soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

He'll spend a few months out before his sentence or he'll be out a few months sooner if he went to prison now,same difference.