Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

poly wire

• 18-05-2014 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭

I know a lot of ye dairy lads especially use this on yer reels.

I've been using reels now for two years and find them a great job, but using tape. Wire will allow greater spacing of posts.

What brands are ye using and how many live strands running through it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Don't usually pass much remarks of brands but have found the whhte ONLY wire to be far more visible to man and beast. Have used wire that had a black strand running through it, also a greenish wire and especially a blue wire seemed to be a lot harder for animals to see.
    Sorry don't know brands cos just buy what local store has in stock. Think 'elephant' was one brand that ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

thats the reason I like the tape. If they are trained to it it works as a visual deterant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Hate tape. The look of it is enough. Once ye have a good strong shock in the wire the poly wire is the job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Hate tape. The look of it is enough. Once ye have a good strong shock in the wire the poly wire is the job

Grand for cows. Not for bullocks. Have to use tape for animals that aren't in constant movement daily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Never bothered with tape either here. How do you need less stakes with it? I assume its heavier than the polywire, and it will surely hold more moisture so will sag a lot more? A roll of the tape is a lot shorter and more bulky also isn't it? Having 250m of wire on the one roll is very handy, what length is a tape roll, and would you need a big reel for it?

I use mostly white or bright orange wire here, the orange is probably more visible, animals rarly go through either, unless I've done something stupid like left too much of an angle on a pigtail and it gets pull over.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I generally buy a 500m roll of poly wire in the spring each year and divide it into 3 equal lengths of 160ish metres. That's usually long enough to go across most of my paddocks. The older ones get retired as firelighters.

Not fussy on brands or colours, whatever the local store has is fine. Had a heavier than usual string a few years back, long story, but it sawed through a weanling's leg just above the foot. Tape is only for horses.

There is only one pigtail to get though, white top and high carbon steel, it has strainrite written across the top of the foot, the bit you stand on to push it into the ground. Beware of imitations.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Thanks for everyone's input. When I talked about strands, I was on about the number of live strands woven through it. There are ones with 3, 6, 9 and even pel do a version with 15 strands.

I'm not really fussed about colours and l doubt cattle are either as they see everything in black or white.

I assume right or wrong that the more strands the better as it'll carry current if certain strands burn out?

@timmay and stake spacing l am placing stakes @12-13 paces with 9mm tape as any wind tends to catch it. It is very visible. 200m fits on a reel easily. The polywire l've only started using but found can space posts out to every 20 paces on level ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I use the quad most of the time, usually I'm firing out a straight fence to split a paddock etc, I put the wire across 1st and strain it, and fire in the pigtails afterwards, I've no idea of the spacing but if the wire is tight enough I'd guess they could be 30m apart at places. Its all about speed rather than a perfect strong fence I'll admit, as I'm moving them so often.