Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Brother UK 2014

• 17-05-2014 10:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

So it's nearly that time again-Big Brother!

It's been announced that this year's series has a Power Trip theme, with the emphasis on technology and apparently one housemate will be given control over the compound, which may lead to this person having an influence over who's evicted/up for nomination, etc.

I love Big Brother!

Luisa Zissman, former contestant from the previous celebrity version, has joined the Big Brother's Bit On The Side team, which will mean we'll have the resident gob-on-a-stick, as well as the fabulous Rylan and the not so fabulous Iain Lee.

Does anyone know when the show is actually starting and how long it's on for this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭bopper

I think Channel 5 have made an absolute balls of this show but I'll probably watch it for the first few weeks anyway. I had to turn off last year though as it was so bad. It's supposed to start June 5th or 6th.

I loved Luisa in the house but unfortunately I don't think I'll be able to watch her on Bit on the Side as it will mean having to stomach Rylan. She's a good addition to the team though as she sticks up for other women and should be a good counteraction to Emma Willis who slates all the attractive females contestants and forgives the men for everything.

On a side note surely Rylan is better suited for the description of "gob-on-a-stick". He always wears clothes two sizes too small for him, and between the lip fillers and those shocking teeth, he is a literal gob on a stick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

fussyonion wrote: »
    Luisa Zissman, former contestant from the previous celebrity version, has joined the Big Brother's Bit On The Side team, which will mean we'll have the resident gob-on-a-stick, as well as the fabulous despicable Rylan and the not so fabulous just as despicable Iain Lee.

Couldn't resist. :o:o:o:D:D:D:):):);););)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Couldn't resist. :o:o:o:D:D:D:):):);););)

:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

:mad::mad:

Well, just about everyone who doesn't like Rylan finds him extremely detestable... :o:o:):);)

He does have more fans than Iain Lee, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

Has anyone any ideas who is rumoured to be in the house this year, I usually would have heard something by now,

mr bungle. wrote: »
    Has anyone any ideas who is rumoured to be in the house this year, I usually would have heard something by now,

You mean for the celeb version? That's not on until August, it's the regular version that's launching this week.

bopper wrote: »
    You mean for the celeb version? That's not on until August, it's the regular version that's launching this week.

Of course, my bad,
    I shall get my coat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

So it starts tonight ladies and gents! There have been a few ads for it here on Channel 5 but very little publicity compared to other years. I always say I won't watch it but end up invariably glued!

Only on the second housemate (Tamara and Mark) and I already want to strangle them!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭LadyBetty

I like Mark so far (he uses tarot cards to decide what to wear haha!!) he seems like a bit of craic, but that Steven clown who just went in seems like a right kn0b. Funny the two girls' dresses are so similar, bet they're raging!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

LOL @ the "glamour" model slash devout catholic.

What a horrible bunch they've picked so far. Thank God there's another six going in tomorrow but I'm not getting my hopes up after what we've seen tonight.

It's a bit too early to say who I hate/love, but so far I really like Pauline..I think she comes across really down-to-earth and likeable.

I also like Helen and I don't care what she's done; I can see her doing well.
    Cannot stand Steven; his VT showed him to be a real tw*t.

Matthew provided the most awkward/embarrassing moment of the night by standing on stage with Emma looking as if he was going to bawl his eyes out.
    Did anyone else think he was going to either faint or run for the hills?!

Tamara is a really old looking 24-year-old, isn't she?!

That's all I've to say on the housemates tonight..hope tomorrow's another good one.
    Emma Willis is a stunner :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭rocky1813

What's Helen supposed to have done?

She was a prostitute who had a threesome with Wayne Rooney a few years ago and then sold her story (I think around the time his wife was pregnant). So an all-round good egg and classy chick :rolleyes:

Funnily enough I thought Helen came across as one of the few likeable ones.

Just watched it there and I quite liked Matthew, so I didn't like that he was chosen to be punished - should have been the catholic lady who came across as far more intolerant. I also liked Christopher alot.

Dying to know what the big decision will be tonight!

So far, they seem like a pretty entertaining bunch. Looking forward to seeing the remaining HMs later.

Regarding the big decision
    Emma said that they never done something like this so early in a series before, I doubt so it's an eviction or cutting the house in half,
    Btw did anyone see the top that Gina was " wearing" last night,FFS put them away love :)

Just watched it there and I quite liked Matthew

I quite liked Matthew and I quite liked the American girl too simply because they seem to possess a brain each which is always a rarity on BB! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Doesn anyone have any info on where I can watch this online? Missed last nights launch :(

I'm not sure if the Big Brother app is available just here in the UK but if not just download it and all the episodes can be accessed there. I just checked and last nights launch is up there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

It's back already?!

Jesus, may start watching it so!

eviltwin wrote: »
    Doesn anyone have any info on where I can watch this online? Missed last nights launch :(

I watch it on Youtube. The shows usually get uploaded an hour or two after they finish airing on Channel 5.

Last night's launch show is definitely up, as I watched it last night.

The big twist was a bit of a let-down...pass to the final, big deal.
    I can't stand Ashleigh's accent-I can't listen to her every night!
    Helen's getting a lot of love on Twitter...I like her too.
    I can see Tamara clashing with everyone.

The big twist was a bit of a let-down...pass to the final, big deal.
    I can't stand Ashleigh's accent-I can't listen to her every night!
    Helen's getting a lot of love on Twitter...I like her too.
    I can see Tamara clashing with everyone.
    Plus one on the twist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Merkin wrote: »
    I quite liked Matthew and I quite liked the American girl too simply because they seem to possess a brain each which is always a rarity on BB! :cool:

Someone with a brain on BB...:eek:..Never gona hapen:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

Steven Goode, the 23 yr old millionaire, is an actor! For someone so successful, him or his company don't even exist on google. I've a feeling he is a plant.

Agreed the "big" twist was absolute rubbish.

So far it doesn't look good, the contestants have plenty of eye candy, but very little else going on. It was a breath of fresh air when Jale appeared, someone slightly different to the rest. Surely they had a more original character or 4 to throw in there? Most are carbon copies of each other. Ah well, time will tell. Plenty of scope for Ch5 to make it great, but so far they've messed up all the good chances with BB they have created.

Yes, a lot of the housemates are like caricatures really aren't they? All their VTs invariably talk about what a twat they are/how they're going to shake things up/how combative and controversial they will be and then it's..........well, anything but!

Seems like a lot of them already have one foot in the media space so are already quite savvy which changes the dynamic of the show entirely. When you compare the housemates now (prostitute who sold her footballer story, glamour model, actor, Playboy model, guy who works in media, journalist et al) to the housemates of old (the ex nun, the plumber, the marketing consultant, the air steward etc) then you're comparing entirely different demographics and consequently entirely different shows.

The show would never be fully organic (and it's manufactured so not a great choice of words) after Season One, but it would still be a lot more real and entertaining if you had more random, everyday Joe Soaps in there rather than people who have gone in prepped with lots of media training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Tindie

To early too, I not fan steven or catholic lady, I not sure of the names yet, or
    Chris looks a lot Steve" McDonald lol

Winston annoyed me even before went house lol
    Matthew is my favourite so far!

So, already Chris is being segregated because Pauline and Helen have taken an instant dislike to him. I'm going to go out on a limb and predict that Pauline will choose him to go up for nomination every week.

If that happens, I fully expect him to make the final.

It made for quite uncomfortable viewing didn't it? Pauline decides to take his outlandish statements as fact, gleefully relays this to a select few, who then decide they despise him on foot of that. I hate to see anyone being victimised like that. Yes, he'll be up on Monday for definite.

I don't think Pauline gets wry humour at all, which is why she chose to punish Matthew on the first night too. She took Chris's 'pissing in the kitchen' comment far too seriously (I think he was referencing Sandy from BB3 there), yet she said nothing about Danielle's comments about homosexuality, even though she claims to dislike intolerance.

I agree it was uncomfortable to watch the bitching about both Chris and Jale, especially from Helen. Calling Jale 'slugsworth' having barely even spoken to her - seriously??

I can see Helen and Pauline's popularity plunging very quickly if they keep that behaviour up for long. The British public hate bullies and love an underdog.

Haven't watched since the first night but if what you're saying is true then I guess I was wrong about Helen being likeable. Sounds like a mask is slipping.

I don't see why they've taken a dislike to Chris, he seems nice to me.
    If Helen carries on bitching, I'll seriously turn off her and what is Tamara, a sheep?

She's listening to the bitching and agreeing but not giving her own opinion.
    I find myself disliking Pauline now...why did she have to tell everyone about Chris and Jale's VTs?

I reckon she's jealous of Jale.
    Danielle is a fkin idiot...does she not realise people swear and talk about sex and why should they stop just 'cos she finds it uncomfortable?

Guys let's not remember there is no live feed for BB anymore, so story lines can very easily be created by some very convenient and predictable editing.

Helen, the shows headline grabber, was portrayed as nothing but a "lovely", down to earth girl, liked by everyone in the house. Even her VT was so tame compared to the rest. Then as soon as she's given the pass to the final, safe from an early eviction, we see nothing but footage of her b*tching.

Pauline was obviously going to give the killer nomination to someone from the second batch of housemates. She made it abundantly clear that Chris' VT was her least favourite. So then we see ten minutes of people talking about Chris and footage of him looking for a bed to sleep in (something I'm sure all of the new six housemates had to do, not just him). The editors are paving the way for Chris to be the "victim", saved every week by the public, getting one up on the "bullies" and creating "tension".

As for Danielle! Well where to begin?! Last year she sold a story on Dexter from the previous series, all about how unimpressed she was with the size of his manhood. She's also worked as a telephone model for an adult company called bluebird, and has appeared in a documentary on Channel 5 called "Webcam girls: at your service".

Channel 5 just continue to transform this into a scripted reality show.

Ugh seriously? It was clear she was full of it. But I kinda hoped she had duped the producers into believing her. The fact she has worked for Ch5 already.....such a load of crud. Did ANYONE actually audition for this?! Looks as if they headhunted a bunch of desperados on their files.

It does seem they are trying to turn it into a version of TOWIE or the likes. Big thumbs down from me.

Ugh seriously? It was clear she was full of it. But I kinda hoped she had duped the producers into believing her. The fact she has worked for Ch5 already.....such a load of crud. Did ANYONE actually audition for this?! Looks as if they headhunted a bunch of desperados on their files.

It does seem they are trying to turn it into a version of TOWIE or the likes. Big thumbs down from me.

Well Mark has appeared on Shipwrecked and The X Factor, and has apparently been auditioning to be on BB for nearly a decade.

Winston has a small role on Eastender's as one of Sharon's barmen, and was also on the ITV2 reality show "Girlfriends" presented by none other than Emma Willis.

I'm sure the others all have their connections too.

I don't think anyone did audition this year. I'm pretty sure they just scrapped the open auditions altogether and only accept online auditions now (most of which probably didn't get looked at).

Wow.....that's abysmal. They truly have managed to ruin anything that was good about BB, bravo Ch5.

Pauline really is a vile piece of work, the power has clearly gone to her head.

Matthew trying to act all funny and arrogant...I'll never forget his entrance when he looked like a rabbit caught in the headlights. He's a phoney.
    Kimberly looks like a right barrel of laughs, doesn't she? :rolleyes:
    So far I'm liking Chris and though Mark's accent is irritating, he comes across likeable.
    Just hope he doesn't start bitching or I'll turn off him.

I really started to like Toya tonight. I think it was the fanny spray that did it :D

Tamara, however, is really starting to bug me. It's the fake laugh, the fake drunkenness and the fake flirting with Winston. Fake fake fake.

Starting to think it may actually be Jale that gets the killer nom tommorrow night instead of Chris. Will be very interesting to see who will get the power after Pauline is stripped of her head of house status. I'd love it to be one of the newbies.

It's annoying me so much that the people who entered the house on the second night are being referred to be everyone as the "newbies".
    Wrong.
    Big Brother was launched over two nights.

The housemates who went in on night two are exactly the same as the people who went in on night one.

I don't understand why the night-one housemates are treating the latest entrants as if they're "new" and "disrupting a happy family".
    It's not YOUR feckin house and they have every right to be there like you.
    Annoys me so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Thoughts on this series:
      They are all as unlikable as ever, probably even more so.
      This theme is going to get annoying/scrapped very quickly.
      I'm finding it very hard to care about anyone.

Also, take a read of this interview she did with Nuts magazine:

http://i.imgur.com/DJ0gwCO.jpg

She's been telling some awful porkies....

Also, take a read of this interview she did with Nuts magazine:

http://i.imgur.com/DJ0gwCO.jpg

She's been telling some awful porkies....

:eek: The liar!!! I'm not sure how the producers could possibly think she'd get away with it though?

Either their researchers are really shit at their job, or else as another poster mentioned, she was actually headhunted.

Either way, she's blatantly been misrepresenting herself on the show.

OMG guys! After BB tonight there is a show called The Live Surpise and it has KICKED OFF! For those of you who are watching online make sure to watch that and not just the normal show, it's a live feed and Danielle has kicked off with Helen and it's a serious case of handbags at dawn.

Thanks for the heads up.watching it on plus one and wasn't going to bother watching after the main show