Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Share a small inspirational story.

• 17-05-2014 4:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭

I was just thinking of something that I've found inspirational ever since it happened. About a year ago, I was somewhere around Grafton Street. I have no idea how it came to my attention, but I saw an old man. He clearly had a lot of trouble moving, I'd imagine he was in his late 70s/80s, he had to use two crutches, and even with the crutches, moved VERY slowly. But anyway, for the next few months, I spent a lot of my time in that area. And almost every day I was in the area, I came across this same man. And even though through the winter I haven't came across him as much, it's still a regular thing that I come across him. I find it quite inspirational that even though a lot of people in his shoes would stay at home all day every day, this guy refuses to lie down, and still goes out to enjoy himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

I just watched an episode of golden balls where neither of the final players had lied during the whole show had an amazing final round and split the cash

Restored my faith in humanity :cool:

I may or may not have cried
    >.>
    <.<
    >.>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

I manage to get up every morning after half an hour of trying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Of all the crap that is forced upon us that we are told to find "inspirational"I give this a 2.7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

HugsiePie wrote: »
    I just watched an episode of golden balls where neither of the final players had lied during the whole show had an amazing final round and split the cash

>.>
    <.<
    >.>

Aye i just watched that to and still don't have fookin clue what was going on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

kneemos wrote: »
    Of all the crap that is forced upon us that we are told to find "inspirational"I give this a 2.7.

Is that out of 5 or out of 10?

>.>
    <.<
    >.>

Is this something to do with David Peckham?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

>.>
    <.<
    >.>

You should always steal on Golden balls. I would rather both go home with nothing than just me go home with nothing.

Is that out of 5 or out of 10?

10.Praise the lord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I didn't google Irina Shayk' topless picture this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I once saw a guy limping along on crutches, selling Big Issue and begging at traffic lights.

Then one evening when I was going home, I witnessed something amazing. Miraculous even. He must have been struck by a bolt of lightening, for he was cured and walking tall, proud and upright without his crutches - and even got a brand new pair of NIKE runners as he was picked up by his friends to go home for the evening.

Praise the Lord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Des Bishops immersion joke is truly inspirational as it just refuses to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Inspirational story here, I think based on a group of ponies just outside of Thurles.

Twilight Sparkle awakens in an ethereal place, where she is greeted by Princess Celestia, who congratulates her. Celestia reveals that Twilight has just done something that Star Swirl, despite being such a great unicorn, could never complete because he did not understand friendship the way that Twilight does. Twilight undergoes a transformation and returns to Ponyville as an alicorn. Her friends are amazed and happily welcome her change, while Celestia announces that Twilight is no longer her student, but a princess who has demonstrated leadership and other positive attributes from her friends during her stay in Ponyville. Twilight becomes concerned that she has no idea what to do now as she is no longer Celestia's student, but Celestia promises that they will all help each other to learn what may come in the future. Later, Twilight is officially crowned in a grand celebration in Canterlot, and she thanks her friends for being there to help her.

If I wasn't already crying I would start crying because of a story like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

Des Bishops immersion joke is truly inspirational as it just refuses to die.

As do cockroaches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

"If at first you don't succeed, try, try again" Joseph Stalin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Was out for a early morning walk last weekend, came across an old man looking distressed outside his house, (it was his house as I know him to see) So I asked him are you okay, he told me he was locked out, I gave him my name, explained what family I came from and offered to go in through a window of his house.
    This is what I did, I opened a large window via squeezing in through a small window. Then opened the front door and let him in.
    I am awaiting my Karma !!!

6541 wrote: »
    Was out for a early morning walk last weekend, came across an old man looking distressed outside his house, (it was his house as I know him to see) So I asked him are you okay, he told me he was locked out, I gave him my name, explained what family I came from and offered to go in through a window of his house.
    This is what I did, I opened a large window via squeezing in through a small window. Then opened the front door and let him in.

Why? did you steal something before opening the front door?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

How did you know it was his house? You probably just facilitated a burglary :)

Karma doesn't work if you wait for it....sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

can't be bothered to think but off the top of my head, my great-grandfather, used to cycle about on the bike until he was 90, he even got in the local newspaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

So you see this old guy who can barely walk and you **** on him?? Would you prefer if he did lie down, would that make it easier for you? Maybe ask him nicely?

And almost every day I was in the area, I came across this same man. And even though through the winter I haven't came across him as much, it's still a regular thing that I come across him. I find it quite inspirational that even though a lot of people in his shoes would stay at home all day every day, this guy refuses to lie down, and still goes out to enjoy himself.