Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do older women like asics runners so much?

• 16-05-2014 9:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

I notice a lot of women over 30 seem to wear asics runners with work attire on the way to and from their job. It's very unattractive and screams 'I couldn't care about my appearance anymore.' Their younger counterparts generally make more of an effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Not a brand worn by what they'd consider to be "undesirables" I suspect.

Taking the train to Docklands I'd say that a good 60% of all the men in obvious bank attire wear runners on the way in also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

did a plus 30 women is ascis turn you down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

nails1 wrote: »
    I notice a lot of women over 30 seem to wear asics runners with work attire on the way to and from their job. It's very unattractive and screams 'I couldn't care about my appearance anymore.' Their younger counterparts generally make more of an effort.

Don't tell them that they are older. Unless you have quicker runners than theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

More comfortable for the walk to and from work, then wear something different when you get to work or home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Asics make good runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Because it only takes one finger to get them off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Easier on the corns and bunions. I'm in my 30's and wear heels on my way to and from work. I must be an anomaly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Only 5 years until I'm an "older woman".

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Because it only takes one finger to get them off?

the older ladies or the runners?:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Girls wearing runners with their work attire is grand, guys wearing runners with their suit is shocking carry on.

I've no intention of either wrecking my nice shoes on the street or crippling my feet so some random AHer will stop judging me ...

Anyway, my blue runners are great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Would Nike/Adidas be ok?

Why would a kid like you OP be bothered about how "older" (lol) women over 30 look? If the younger women make more of an effort, then concentrate on them. And then when something of real importance occurs in your life, focus on that.

Also lol at over 30 being "older"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

middle aisle in Aldi maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Sorry for the pain I would inflict on you OP, I wear worse than asics runners.
    And yes, it's because I don't quite care about my appearance so much anymore, a bit, enough to be presentable, but not much.

It's funny how "not caring about your appearance much" seems so unpalatable to some.

Is it a requirement for a good life that you care about your appearance ?
    (because I'm pretty happy my way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I am wearing a pair of Asics and im not that old or a woman

I'm ancient, I'm 41, so I'm kind of allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,826 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Asics are probably the best runners money can buy (cue corrections by owners of other brands). If I was to choose a runner to walk to work in I would choose asics. I drive to work though, and I'm a man so therefore I definitely don't care about my appearance.

Glazers Out!

When I took up running, the sales-man told me Asics were the best brand of runner, so by gum I bought them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Magaggie wrote: »
    When I took up running, the sales-man told me Asics were the best brand of runner, so by gum I bought them.

But did he not warn you about being judged?

No. Anything to get a sale I guess. :(:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

A woman in asics runners is probably more attractive than a stoner (in Nike) driving home from McDonalds.

I see what you're trying to do. 2/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

onitsuka cougars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

OP, this is serious.

Those women could be walking (comfortably) around not knowing that you think their shoes detract from their sexual attractiveness. You need to tell them. How else can they improve?

I know the day a man said "she'd get it" to his friends about me was the day I finally felt like I had gotten somewhere in life. I had been wandering around going to college and all that, trying to fill the emptiness inside with meaningless degrees, knowledge, self-worth and platonic female friendships. That man knew my goal in life and he helped me achieve it. You need to help those women too.

God speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I absolutely hate seeing women in suits-be it jacket and trousers or jacket and pencil skirt AND RUNNERS.

I don't care if you're wearing them into/home from work 'cos they're comfy..you look scruffy.
    At least wear smart black flat pumps or dolly shoes...NOT runners.
    God I hate it.

I also hate seeing women wearing long coats and runners or skirts with runners.
    It screams sloppiness to me.

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    OP, this is serious.

Those women could be walking (comfortably) around not knowing that you think their shoes detract from their sexual attractiveness. You need to tell them. How else can they improve?
    You're dead right - say it to their faces OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

fussyonion wrote: »
    I absolutely hate seeing women in suits-be it jacket and trousers or jacket and pencil skirt AND RUNNERS.

I don't care if you're wearing them into/home from work 'cos they're comfy..you look scruffy.
    God I hate it.

someone's a fussy onion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

ratmouse wrote: »
    someone's a fussy onion!

Well that's original :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

Magaggie wrote: »
    You're dead right - say it to their faces OP.

I said it to one before but she didn't go down well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Judging people's attractiveness on their choice of runners? Classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

bluewolf wrote: »
    Also lol at over 30 being "older"

And .....

35+ & pregnant ? Geriatric pregnancy

Well that's original :rolleyes:

The words were out of my mouth before I could stop myself!

gctest50 wrote: »
    And .....

35+ & pregnant ? Geriatric pregnancy
    It is indeed. I think maybe even younger might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

ratmouse wrote: »
    The words were out of my mouth before I could stop myself!

Someone's a ratmouse!

Yes, you've "caught" me out there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

God I hate it.

Well your comment simply screams tbh.

Like nails on a black board. I can imagine you saying it in a really screechy, nagging voice that never shuts up.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Asics make very good runners. The expensive ones would probably be wasted on someone who's only walking to work, but the cheaper models are perfect for it.

Good product at a good price - it's just common sense, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Don't be dissin my asics man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I said it to one before but she didn't go down well

I wouldn´t say she went down at all after a comment like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I do get why the OP is being hated on but would perhaps it would be more acceptable if it was flipped around to why do younger woman keep wearing uncomfortable but more fashionable shoes to walk in and out too work instead of comfy runners. Also Asics do tend to look terrible Puma FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

bluewolf wrote: »
    I've no intention of either wrecking my nice shoes on the street or crippling my feet so some random AHer will stop judging me ...

Anyway, my blue runners are great.

You have your priorities all wrong. You shouldn't be dressing for convenience/comfort/what you like/current fashion etc. You should be dressing to look sexually attractive to nails1.

why do younger woman keep wearing uncomfortable but more fashionable shoes to walk in and out too work instead of comfy runners.

yeah why ?
    God I'm shockingly old and mammy like, I always think that.
    But that's ohkay too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

God I hate it.

I don't think anyone gives a flying fuck in fairness. People with a long commute just want something comfortable to wear to and from work. Pumps have sod all support, maybe people have bad arches or just want something comfy after a day in heels. Maybe they do it just to annoy you, they formed a club or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

Skechers are even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

30 = older woman?! :-O

I've worn runners with dresses and skirts and tbh I do feel like a bit of an eejit BUT I am walking 5km to and from work everyday, because exercise is important to your health and so is having good support for your feet when doing said exercise. Now that I am middle aged (24) these are important to me. However, I can feel some people looking at me thinking 'she looks ridiculous' and there is no way I would have done this at 18/19

To answer your question OP, as you get older you care less about what people think of you and focus more on the things that are important to you.

Is 24 middle aged :eek::eek::eek: ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

If you think ASICS in the over 30's is bad, wait till they get really the hill over 40 like me and wear CROCS when driving the car to work. And then park the car and out come the lovely high heel shoes for the day!:)

Once went into town after work and parked the car in Jervis. Needed to do a few errands, so out came the crocs and away I went. Got a few people looking me up and down, and registering the crocs, was funny to see them do a double take but sure I've never seen them since, and as no children or animals were really hurt in the wearing of said crocs, so happy days.

This quote kind of sums it up.

The older I get, the less I care about what others think of me, therefore the older I get, the more I enjoy life.

And to people like fussy onion, who get stressed out and annoyed by what others wear and HATE (very strong words)mseeing people wearing certain clothes, on behalf of thirty and fortysomethings everywhere, mind your own bloody business.

And before you think I am some fat, dumpy old blue haired frump, I'm not, can still cut the mustard for an owlone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I only wear my Asics if I'm exercising/walking the dog.

Saying that I never wear uncomfortable shoes ever. At work I wear boots/worn-in converse. Even pumps are not comfy enough..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭littlelulu

30 is considered old?!!! :O

Skechers are even better.

I've recently converted from asics to Skechers and I find them sooooo comfortable and easier to run in.

I'm a older woman it would seem. Oh dear.