Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assault in broad daylight

• 16-05-2014 5:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭

I try my best to stay clear of Dublin city centre these days. I absolutely hate the place, night or day. But yesterday was one of those rare occasions when I had to go in.

So, I park in the multi-storey on Parnell Street and on walking through the exit I am presented with quite a sight. Two guys beating the crap out of another guy. All three were what I would describe as 'undesirables'. They had the guy on the ground and there was lots of shouting, and sitting right next to them on the steps was what appeared to be one of their girlfriends, smoking and texting as casual as you like. Not a care in the world.

This was not late at night. It was in broad daylight. Just after 6.30pm. And you know what, I just walked right past them. Didn't bother looking back. I just went about my day. And other people on the street did the exact same thing.

Basically there was nothing I could do. If I tried to intervene, I might have been beaten up or worse. All three of them might have turned on me (I've seen this type of thing happen before). Or if I knocked one of them out, I might have been up on charges.

I was going to call the gardai, but saw someone else on their phone and heard him reporting the assault. And so I went about my business.

But the incident is stuck in my head. I'm 36 years old, and even back when I was 20 this would have shocked me to see something like this on a busy street in daylight. Over the last 15 years this city, and country (you only need to look at the news today to see its nationwide) has become a very dangerous place. What is it going to be like 20 years from now???

I think we as a nation need to start thinking about where we're headed. This country seems completely rudderless. The authorities and government are not providing a positive direction and I can only see things getting worse.

You would think with the amount of taxes we pay, that we would at least live in a safe environment.

Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

It was 6.30pm, just how broad could the daylight have been? I'm terms of imperial measurements I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Thoughts? Normal enough for that area, which is a very sad fact.

Why is nothing done about this? Why are things like using a mobile phone while driving at the forefront of Garda interest?

There should be hourly patrols in Dublin, zero tolerance policing for casual street crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I try my best to stay clear of Dublin city centre these days. I absolutely hate the place, night or day. But yesterday was one of those rare occasions when I had to go in.

So, I park in the multi-storey on Parnell Street and on walking through the exit I am presented with quite a sight. Two guys beating the crap out of another guy. All three were what I would describe as 'undesirables'. They had the guy on the ground and there was lots of shouting, and sitting right next to them on the steps was what appeared to be one of their girlfriends, smoking and texting as casual as you like. Not a care in the world.

This was not late at night. It was in broad daylight. Just after 6.30pm. And you know what, I just walked right past them. Didn't bother looking back. I just went about my day. And other people on the street did the exact same thing.

Basically there was nothing I could do. If I tried to intervene, I might have been beaten up or worse. All three of them might have turned on me (I've seen this type of thing happen before). Or if I knocked one of them out, I might have been up on charges.

I was going to call the gardai, but saw someone else on their phone and heard him reporting the assault. And so I went about my business.

But the incident is stuck in my head. I'm 36 years old, and even back when I was 20 this would have shocked me to see something like this on a busy street in daylight. Over the last 15 years this city, and country (you only need to look at the news today to see its nationwide) has become a very dangerous place. What is it going to be like 20 years from now???

I think we as a nation need to start thinking about where we're headed. This country seems completely rudderless. The authorities and government are not providing a positive direction and I can only see things getting worse.

You would think with the amount of taxes we pay, that we would at least live in a safe environment.

Thoughts?
    No-one touched you. They were probably best of mates again when they sobered up. Which bit wasn't safe? Junkies/winos will tend to batter each other - no amount of tax money will stop that. They'd fight themselves if none of their mates were around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

No-one touched you. They were probably best of mates again when they sobered up. Which bit wasn't safe? Junkies/winos will tend to batter each other - no amount of tax money will stop that. They'd fight themselves if none of their mates were around.

Sorry, should have been more clear on this. They weren't junkies or winos. Just the tracky wearing types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Thoughts?

Nothing new there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

In the exact same place, way back in the '80's a gang cut an innocent man with a stanley knife. I remember walking by as the man was helped into an ambulance by a garda. Without really trying I can remember several similar assaults as as far back as the mid '70's. Maybe its the communication revolution that spreads these stories further and faster but I believe it was happening for decades - I'm not sure it is worse now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Did you at least give it the old: Ah heere, leave it ouu! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

What can the Gardai do really? Its a lot of hassle to arrest them, they'd be out that evening. Better to let them fight it out, they might even do the gene pool a favour with a lucky punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭lilsparkle69

I go to college up off Parnell street and there are a good few junkies and 'undesirables'. There have been a few peoples mobile phones taken off them outside the college and I have seen a fight breaking outside the post office. I know I wouldn't feel comfortable to go around town, especially at night, by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Its a dangerous business, leaving your house alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Thoughts?

Why would the victim turn on you? Wouldn't he be happy that you intervened to stop him being beaten up no?

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    Why would the victim turn on you? Wouldn't he be happy that you intervened to stop him being beaten up no?

You'd be surprised how many have made that mistake and got the sh!t beaten out of them. These are probably 2 mates having a argument, and nothing unites 2 mates quicker than a stranger hitting one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

some years ago in Letterkenny one night, I was standing at the bottom of the main street looking for a taxi when I noticed a garda coming running down the street with his cap under his arm towards me.

For a second I thought that he must have spotted some sort of altercation going on behind me and was rushing over to sort it out.. then I realised that he was actually running from a drunken mob who were chasing after him down the street. The squad car appeared at the bottom of the street, the garda jumped in and it sped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Heat_Wave

OP, I myself had a disturbing experience in town today.

I was walking down O'Connell Street this morning at 9am(very busy), and I dropped my student travelcard without realising. A cyclist then tapped me on my shoulder to inform me that I had dropped a card a good distance back. A junkie overheard this and chased me to my card! He had quite a bad limp so I got to my card first. I picked it up and speed walked off. However, he followed me the whole way down the street shouting at me 'what the **** did you pick up? what the **** is in your hand? don't ****ing ignore me etc.'.

I'm a young girl and I was absolutely petrified. By the time I reached work I was sweating like mad. I was shocked at how no one 'helped me' but having given it some thought I realised that there's actually nothing anyone could have done. What is he had a syringe or something on him?

Sad state of affairs when you're afraid to walk to work in the morning!

Nino Brown wrote: »
    What can the Gardai do really? Its a lot of hassle to arrest them, they'd be out that evening. Better to let them fight it out, they might even do the gene pool a favour with a lucky punch.

Have a very visible no nonsense presence. Change the current nice and friendly uniform.

Couple of these lads walking the streets woulds see this behvious stamped out pretty fast I would think.

http://www.thestar.ie/star/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Emergency-Response-Unit.GardaGardai.jpg

Heat_Wave wrote: »
    OP, I myself had a disturbing experience in town today.

I was walking down O'Connell Street this morning at 9am(very busy), and I dropped my student travelcard without realising. A cyclist then tapped me on my shoulder to inform me that I had dropped a card a good distance back. A junkie overheard this and chased me to my card! He had quite a bad limp so I got to my card first. I picked it up and speed walked off. However, he followed me the whole way down the street shouting at me 'what the **** did you pick up? what the **** is in your hand? don't ****ing ignore me etc.'.

I'm a young girl and I was absolutely petrified. By the time I reached work I was sweating like mad. I was shocked at how no one 'helped me' but having given it some thought I realised that there's actually nothing anyone could have done. What is he had a syringe or something on him?

Sad state of affairs when you're afraid to walk to work in the morning!

That is awful. Honestly, I would be more inclined to help out a girl on her way to work, than to jump into a fight between a few lads.

Holsten wrote: »
    Have a very visible no nonsense presence. Change the current nice and friendly uniform.

Couple of these lads walking the streets woulds see this behvious stamped out pretty fast I would think.

http://www.thestar.ie/star/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Emergency-Response-Unit.GardaGardai.jpg

That would work, but we don't have enough gardai, they can't be everywhere, the problem is not the gardai, but the lack of them.

I think it's a social problem also. But one the main problems the gardai are facing is that these scumbags are being arrested but not convicted. The courts have completely failed us.

True that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭Cazzoenorme

Thoughts?

People fight occasionally, it happens. Read accounts from 100 years ago, there were far more street fights during the day time then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

jamo2oo9 wrote: »

Oh, the naivete!

The problem lies with the Goverment, look at how many applied for the current openings... there are people willing to do the job.. and do it better than the current corruption filled force.

There needs to be a complete overhaul of the entire justice department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Bartyman

The lads in the Army could be put to some use in this respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Hmmm, either yiz all live kinda sheltered lives, or I've really grown accustomed to living in Dublin.

How do ye handle someone beeping at you in traffic? Is it an ordeal?

People fight occasionally, it happens. Read accounts from 100 years ago, there were far more street fights during the day time then.

Its not about a random fight. It's the frequency and seriousness of violent incidents in public areas, that make people going about their lives feel unsafe.

100 years ago a teenager walks up to a man like me and tries to rob me, I'd kick seven shades of sh*te out of him. If I do that today, I'd be the criminal and get severely punished for my actions. Things have changed over the last century...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

The problem lies with the Goverment, look at how many applied for the current openings... there are people willing to do the job.. and do it better than the current corruption filled force.

Irish people don't like paying taxes, any suggested increase is met with incredible hostility. Irish people don't like reductions in benefits, any suggested reduction is met with incredible hostility. As a result we have an underfunded police service that can't be expected to perform on a par with the best in Europe, countries where taxation levels are much higher.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Hmmm, either yiz all live kinda sheltered lives, or I've really grown accustomed to living in Dublin.

How do ye handle someone beeping at you in traffic? Is it an ordeal?

People beeping in traffic is very different to two men beating someone up in the middle of the street!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I was getting my lunch earlier the politie can running from all directions and rugby tackled a lad to the ground

cycling home other officers were separating a woman and a man hammering 7 shades of **** out of each other

all in broad daylight, none in Dublin :(

There needs to be a complete overhaul of the entire justice department.

I agree, I know loads applied for the Garda jobs, but we don't have the money, it's not as simple as hiring everyone willing to it, but yeah I agree things need to change, we need bigger prisons, more cops, less lenient sentences, all of which cost money we don't have.

Irish people don't like paying taxes, any suggested increase is met with incredible hostility. Irish people don't like reductions in benefits, any suggested reduction is met with incredible hostility. As a result we have an underfunded police service that can't be expected to perform on a par with the best in Europe, countries where taxation levels are much higher.

Absolute nonsense. I pay a hell of a lot of money through taxes. Most working people do. And when you add up all of these taxes, it's on a par with most countries around Europe.

100 years ago a teenager walks up to a man like me and tries to rob me, I'd kick seven shades of sh*te out of him. If I do that today, I'd be the criminal and get severely punished for my actions. Things have changed over the last century...

You'd both be criminals, and rightly so.

You actually want to have the right to beat up a teenager without any repercussions? Big man you are.

You'd both be criminals, and rightly so.

You actually want to have the right to beat up a teenager without any repercussions? Big man you are.

So you're supposed to let a teenager assault you? there are plenty out there who will quite happy to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I say its down to letting the gay fellas have the civil partnerships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Sounds like we need a return of 'The Citizen'...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Thoughts?

What would Jesus have done?

Nodin wrote: »
    I say its down to letting the gay fellas have the civil partnerships.

And adoptions. These gay parents are rearing terrible roughians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Their job.
    It's a lot of hassle to arrest them? :rolleyes:
    When will the irish people stop bending over? We should always strive to make things better! Not just put up with everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

And adoptions. These gay parents are rearing terrible roughians.

Abortion would have sorted the problems

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

EyeSight wrote: »
    Their job.
    When will the irish people stop bending over? We should always strive to make things better! Not just put up with everything

If the Gardai won't look after each other, what hope have we got?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

You have to understand folks that it is not like it was in the past, as these little teenagers now can stick a knife into you just for looking crooked at them. It's a brave new world out there these days. Got to be careful, and any-one saying that they will kick the sh*t out of some of them need to think twice, sure a fare few of them have guns now.

It's changed a lot indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭lolo62

OP it's pretty traumatic to witness violence regardless of whether the people doing it are wearing tracksuits or not.
    I personally don't think Dublin is too dangerous (before 10pm on a Friday night anyway!) I think the trick is not to be afraid as fear is a magnet for bad situations.
    That kind of thing doesn't happen every day in broad daylight..you were just unlucky in having to witness it the way you did.
    So right to keep going, and you made sure it want left unreported so duty done there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Heat_Wave sorry to hear that, hope you're ok, that's really unpleasant situation :(

I've been living in Dublin good few years now and have to admit that while I'm quite happy with my life here I am getting fairly fed up with the encounters of scumbag behaviour on nearly a daily basis. Few of my friends have complained about it as well. I'm not sure if it's just me or if the city centre is really getting worse. It's hard to ignore when it's right in your face. It's kind of scary how I got used to it though. My friend has been living here 2 years and I see how is she not coping. She's had enough. She was passing one of the hotels the other day around 5-6pm and some scumbags physically attacked a couple (tourists) walking by for no apparent reason!

I don't mind the individuals asking for a smoke etc the odd time as long as they are polite but I hate the sight of those really dodgy aggressive types hanging around, drinking publicly, shouting at passers by and looking for conflict. Men or women, they are equally bad. As for the Gardai, there isn't enough of them. And as mentioned above the courts have failed. I can't even read the papers any more because it frustrates me so much. Dozens of previous convictions and they are let go. Disgrace.

lolo62 wrote: »
    OP it's pretty traumatic to witness violence regardless of whether the people doing it are wearing tracksuits or not.
    I personally don't think Dublin is too dangerous (before 10pm on a Friday night anyway!) I think the trick is not to be afraid as fear is a magnet for bad situations.
    That kind of thing doesn't happen every day in broad daylight..you were just unlucky in having to witness it the way you did.
    So right to keep going, and you made sure it want left unreported so duty done there.

Go back and read the opening post. Someone was reporting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I blame that rock and roll the whippersnappers jive to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

I was coming out of work one night in Temple Bar I'll tell you when it was, around the time of the original Space Shuttle. Anyway right there on the pavement, crowds milling around oblivious, a fella is beating ten bells out of his female companion, she's croubched down with her hands over her head in the old atomic crash position.
    Being fearless of course I immediately waded in to save my sister.
    Up she gets like Lazarus waving an umbrella" geh away from my felllaaaa'. That told me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Boombastic wrote: »
    Abortion would have sorted the problems

Illegal here of course..:rolleyes:

EyeSight wrote: »
    Their job.

You arrest two junkies for fighting, neither will press charges against the other, so you have them for disturbing the peace or some other BS charge. The Gardai have to do all that paperwork, if it even gets as far as court the guard has to go there too, they'll walk, possible get a fine they won't pay, meanwhile the tax payer pays all the costs.
    So it's a huge waste of Garda time and tax payers money. We should strive to make things better of course, but the system needs to change, I't rather see the Gardai helping real people, and let the junkies kill each other if they like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Another Dublin slamming thread how original :rolleyes:

cloud493 wrote: »
    Another Dublin slamming thread how original :rolleyes:

No one is forcing you to read it or participate in it. :rolleyes: