Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eldery Neighbour Scam

• 16-05-2014 8:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭

Keep any eye out for this. It has occured several times that I'm aware of in the Midland area.
    Members of an " travelling ethnic minority" called to my elderly neighbour and produced an ammount of cash stating that they found it at his gate. Very insistent that he take the cash. If he took it, or went to check his wallet he would be robbed. This neighbor had heard of the scam and wouldn't take the money nor engage these "gentlemen". They called to 2 elderly people in a small area.
    The Gardai were informed and are aware of these cases.

So make your neighbours aware of this. <MOD snip>.

(Edit. I spelled elderly incorrectly in the thread title and can't edit!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,542 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Keep any eye out for this. It has occured several times that I'm aware of in the Midland area.
    Members of an " travelling ethnic minority" called to my elderly neighbour and produced an ammount of cash stating that they found it at his gate. Very insistent that he take the cash. If he took it, or went to check his wallet he would be robbed. This neighbor had heard of the scam and wouldn't take the money nor engage these "gentlemen". They called to 2 elderly people in a small area.
    The Gardai were informed and are aware of these cases.

So make your neighbours aware of this. <MOD snip>.

(Edit. I spelled elderly incorrectly in the thread title and can't edit!)

Didn't hear of this. I'll pass it around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

The timing of this particular case is interesting too as it occured during the funeral of an another neighbor. These cnuts are targeting the elderly at times when they think there are less people about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Lads, hold on now, we must respect their culture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Red Sheds

This one happened to my father who lives on his own twice in the past 3 years. Van arrives and 2 -3 of them go into the house. My father smokes, so they are selling cigarrettes at great value somethink like a 1,000 for €50. He agrees to buy them and they ask for the €50 and say that they will be back with the Cigarrettes as they cant carry them in the van as its too risky if stopped by Guards or Customs etc. Double ploy here for them is they they get €50 and see where my father goes to get the money. In fairness to him he did the deal but wouldnt hand over any money till they got the fags first and of course they never came back with them.

He described the boys to me and I happened to see one matching that description at a filling station one day. Approached him and asked was he visiting this man, first the usual denial, then he admitted he had. Told them if they ever go there again, I would come down and drag him out of his caravan and wouldnt be taking him for a picnic. Havent seen them since.

Clever scam for elderly people I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭6600

+100%

Over here they'd increase their dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

6600 wrote: »
    +100%

Over here they'd increase their dole

12 to 20,000 estimated in the USA. Hope the authorities there don't send them all back "home"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,546 ✭✭✭visatorro

i think im a very tolerant individual but these people should be left to rot in jail. guards know exactly who they are and cant touch them. they terrorise people in rural areas. 90% of rural crime is committed by this "ethnic" scum. they dont pay taxes but consider themselves worthy of payments from the state. they have groups that represent them and highlight lots of problems but none of them give any form of solution to any, except we are our own culture and we should be let do what we like. rights me hole. what about the rights of tax paying law abiding people to live without fear of being attacked in their own homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭verywell

Happened to an elderly man in an estate in Carlow too. One well dressed Irish Man came to door with some €50's in his hand and asked the neighbour if they were his as he found them on his drive.

Neighbour says no and your man says are you sure? Neighbour says I will check and goes to his sitting room where unfortunately he had taken money out to pay bills and when he turns arounds the man assaults him and legs it with the money.

Terrible :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Red Sheds wrote: »
    This one happened to my father who lives on his own twice in the past 3 years. Van arrives and 2 -3 of them go into the house. My father smokes, so they are selling cigarrettes at great value somethink like a 1,000 for €50. He agrees to buy them and they ask for the €50 and say that they will be back with the Cigarrettes as they cant carry themin the van as its too risky if stopped by Guards or Customs etc. Double ploy here for them is they they get €50 and see where my father goes to get the money. In fairness to him he did the deal but wouldnt hand over any money till they got the fags first and of course they never came back with them.

He described the boys to me and I happened to see one matching that description at a filling station one day. Approached him and asked was he visiting this man, first the usual denial, then he admitted he had. Told them if they ever go there again, I would come down and drag him out of his caravan and wouldnt be taking him for a picnic. Havent seen them since.

Clever scam for elderly people I thought.

Anyone that intimidates old people like that makes them afraid in their own homes. its disgusting. most old people are trusting like children in some respects, and those that prey on them need to be locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I see there is a poster campaign in place looking for info on the two lads missing near Ballyjamesduff. Unless Hitachi's have learned to read, don't think it Will achieve much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

[MOD]

No more to be achieved here, am closing thread.
    Please pass on the information to your neighbours.

[/MOD]