Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The British Soap Awards 2014

• 14-05-2014 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,017 ✭✭✭✭

ITV has confirmed the airdate for the British Soap Awards 2014.

Final schedules released today have revealed that this year's ceremony will be screened on Sunday, May 25 at 8.15pm on ITV.

The ceremony will air for just over two hours, rewarding the best moments and performers from the soap world in the last year.

As was the case last year, ITV is broadcasting the Soap Awards just one day after the event itself takes place. The show will be held in London on the night of May 24, hosted by Phillip Schofield.

Voting currently remains open for the six viewer-chosen categories - Best Actor, Best Actress, Sexiest Male, Sexiest Female, Villain of the Year and Best British Soap.

Channel 4's Hollyoaks has topped this year's shortlist, bagging 20 nominations compared with 15 for EastEnders, 14 for Coronation Street, 12 for Emmerdale and 8 for Doctors.

Viewers can cast their votes now via the official British Soap Awards website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Looking forward to watching these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I love the soap awards but I really wish they'd get someone else to host.
    I cannot stand Phillip Schofield. He's smarmy and condascending and perma-tanned and needs to dye that mop of silvery fluff on his head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,017 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Hollyoaks won best soap

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Hollyoaks won best soap

Ah here spoiler or what!

fussyonion wrote: »
    Ah here spoiler or what!

Sorry but I am happy it won

This has to be a wind-up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

I cannot stand Phillip Schofield. He's smarmy and condascending and perma-tanned and needs to dye that mop of silvery fluff on his head.

Now that's harsh. :o:o:o

Couldn't resist sneaking a peek... :)

They are on TV3 too tonight at 8.15pm

Aye, aye, here with my cuppa tea, and feet up.

Did I hear boos there when Michelle Keegan won again

I didn't hear boos but if they were booing her they need to grow up.
    So many girls are jealous of her but I happen to think she's not only gorgeous but down to earth with it.

She always comes across really well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

If Michelle Keegan is still the best looking...

Am enjoying the clips. Roy will need to clear a shelf in the cafe :), at this rate.

I loved the Cameron story in Emmerdale, particularly the bit, at the end, where they were all such amazing swimmers, so I'm reminded of those stories too that gave me a giggle at the time.

Jaysus cringing here at Phillip Schofield...he's painfully unfunny.

What's wrong with Danny Dyer? Bloody grumpy looking fecker.
    Love how Masood thought Danny Dyer had won Sexiest Male but it was another Danny, hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

What's wrong with Danny Dyer? Bloody grumpy looking fecker.
    Love how Masood thought Danny Dyer had won Sexiest Male but it was another Danny, hehe.

I rewinded that alright! Thought it was him too- should have been! Yum!

Jaysus cringing here at Phillip Schofield...he's painfully unfunny.

Have you ever liked him? :eek: :eek: :o:o

Never. Pompous tool who thinks he's untouchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Very glad Hollyoaks won Best Soap - about time it started getting the recognition it deserves...

Was also delighted for David Neilson and Julie Hesmondhalgh - they really did deserve all those awards... Never realised that David Neilson is so funny and down to earth in real life - I had always imagined him to be quite similar to Roy

I didn't hear boos but if they were booing her they need to grow up.
    So many girls are jealous of her but I happen to think she's not only gorgeous but down to earth with it.

She always comes across really well.

I am sick of her face and her fella Mark on every blooming rag around talking about her exit from Corrie, it cant come soon enough for me

Corrie really stuck it to her given her a lame affair and crap kill off exit as she hoped the door would be open for a return

Also how the hell did Lacey Turner get a best actress nomination, she was barely in Eastenders this year

I'd say Danny Dyer expected to clean up

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Ah here spoiler or what!
    It was spoiled for me because the spoiler was quoted!
    JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Also how the hell did Lacey Turner get a best actress nomination, she was barely in Eastenders this year
    Yeah, I was like WTF?! :confused:
    I'd say Danny Dyer expected to clean up
    I know! He's only in the door for goodness sake and hasn't had any particularly gritty storylines. He looked very annoyed. Heehee.

I was delighted for Julie and David, sweeping the boards almost. Fair play to them both. :)
    Add me to the Philip Schofield fan club- ugh, he's so obnoxious. Can they ever have a show on ITV that doesn't involve him or Holly Willoughby!?

Was also delighted for David Neilson and Julie Hesmondhalgh - they really did deserve all those awards... Never realised that David Neilson is so funny and down to earth in real life - I had always imagined him to be quite similar to Roy

Delighted for them. I saw David interviewed recently, and thought the same, he is so funny and very different to Roy.

I really enjoyed the programme. I always wonder do they all practise their 'gracious loser' faces, beforehand, for when they lose out, after being nominated. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

LynnGrace wrote: »
    I really enjoyed the programme. I always wonder do they all practise their 'gracious loser' faces, beforehand, for when they lose out, after being nominated. :D

To be fair to most of them, I think they're generally quite supportive of the other soaps - so many of the actors have appeared in several of them and producers/writers have been back and forth between the different soaps for years now. I reckon a lot of them are just happy to have a night out and if they're nominated for something even better. You could tell pretty much everyone was happy for Roy and Hayley getting the awards they did.

None of the Eastenders cast looked like happy losers imo especially Danny Dyer and the actress who plays Cindy Jnr :p

Also why wasn't the actress who played Belle Dingle not nominated for best young performer, she is a great little actress

It was a light hearted comment on my part, I kept thinking of Joey in Friends being unable to conceal his feelings when he lost out on a 'soapie'.

Some of them did a better job than others at looking happy, I thought.:D

Jim said he would be back, when he picked up Stephen's award. I read that he is rejoining in July. I wonder how that will work out. Some characters work out really well, when they return, some don't.

Never. Pompous tool who thinks he's untouchable.
    Posy wrote: »
    Add me to the Philip Schofield fan club- ugh, he's so obnoxious. Can they ever have a show on ITV that doesn't involve him or Holly Willoughby!?

Will these clips convince you to change your minds?

(It doesn't matter that they're from the late '80s and early '90s...)