Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I spent Giro Stage 3 in the FDJ Team Car

• 14-05-2014 4:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭

Updated as I can now post links

+ All my photos are here, I wish some were better but it was tricky enough without annoying the team https://www.flickr.com/photos/112718355@N05/sets/72157644230059538/

+I managed to take a few selfies and not end up in the International press despite my second name also being McCarthy ;-)

+Original Article is here: http://barrymccarthy.tumblr.com/post/85720971825/riding-in-a-team-car-at-the-giro-ditalia-2014

+Videos to come but here is one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWJ7Dm3s6Ko

Hi All,

I was lucky enough to win a competition and got the chance to sit in the passenger seat of FDJ team car on Stage 3 of the Giro on Sunday.

It was simply the best experience of my life. I decided to write a couple of words about it on my tumblr with photos but because I dont have enough posts I cannot share the link

I'm not a journo or an expert so don't be too harsh!

You really can’t put into words the chaos that descends in the aftermath of a crash during a bike race. There is no such thing as calm during a stage of a Grand Tour but there exists an almost bizarre rhythm which presides over the peloton which almost seems normal. This was Stage 3 of the 2014 Giro D’Italia, 187km from Armagh to my home town in Dublin. After three hours perched in the passenger seat of the FDJ Team Car I was almost coming to terms with the sudden punctuating crack of the race radios as the riders fed back the action from the front lines. I speak absolutely no French, the radio was completely indecipherable to me, a foreign white noise, however by the pitch and tone I could usually tell if a rider needed some water, some food or a new wheel, exciting but on my first day at the Giro I began to get used to this dart of action. A crash… well that was something entirely different. Panic! Our driver Freddie swerves into the left hand side of the road (the business side) overtaking five team cars to his right and four motorbikes to his left all while cornering, I manage two breaths before we are right in the middle of the action. Nico, the Team Mechanic, sat directly behind me springs into life and out of the car and with two wheels in hand he shows total abandon for his own safety. He sprints over bodies, bikes and cars looking for our team riders and to survey the damage. I froze. I had watched days of bike of racing from the comfort of my couch usually dissecting the damage with a casual familiarity but here I didn’t know where to look or if I should. The race radio shrieks the names of the fallen riders’ teams with a compressed panic "Belkin, Omega Pharma, Astana, Saxo…." we wait. Finally with Nico sprinting back to the car it appears none of the team’s riders were caught, injured or needed attention, focus shifts, lets get out of this mess and into the race. Here the real scramble takes place, with riders desperately trying to get back to the peloton without losing too much time or energy, riders are drafting anything that moves, cars, bikes, mopeds as if the road is a wave and they were surfing on the back of sharks, it’s ****ing fast, it’s reckless, it’s exhilarating, it’s very very real, I’m in a race!

As our car shoots down the road past rider after rider I realise that my hand is turning white from the pressure of bracing against the dashboard, embarrassed I peel it away, I notice Freddie smirk a little. For him this is life, this is normal, this is what he was born to do. Frédéric Guesdon (Freddie) is no driver, he is a legend. Ask about Freddie and you will usually hear two words “Paris-Roubaix” In 1997 Freddie entered cycling’s elite and toughest club when he won the race dubbed “The Hell of the North”. Paris-Roubaix the ultimate classic is 280 of the toughest, bone rattling, energy sapping kilometres known to man. It’s THE race, it’s described as a circus (Boardman) Hell (Pinot), bollocks (De Rooij) and to win it - is the most unique glory. Since retiring Freddie works as the Team Manager for which he once road and in total has been with the team for 18 years. He has truly seen it all. It is clear the esteem with which Freddie is held throughout the peloton. Some of the other team’s drivers and support teams, seem to carry an arrogant scowl on their face as the blaze alongside the other team cars and drivers, this bullying goes on every minute of the race in both the peloton and the support convoy but not with Freddie. Whenever a driver or rider notices Freddie, their demeanour changes, their tough-guy look sheeps itself away and is replaced with a respectful nod towards a man that they know was stronger, tougher and crazier than they could ever expect. Freddie and Nico spoke no English and I had no French but the race was all the mattered, Freddie would point out the wind, the tricky descents, where the team would attack from and how they planned to set their team leader, sprinter and former French National Road Race Champion Nacer Bouhanni. Nico would point out the big names on the road, “Paolini, Maglia Rosa Michael Matthews, Uran, Kittel….Happy Birthday” it made for a truly incredible experience. We all had a laugh at the pink sheep, the decorated trailers with Céili bands in full swing and I soon learn to nod at the pretty girls waving at the car. Racing is fun right?

Kind of. There was no gradual increase in pace, it was a full on shock of speed which was impossible to predict but with 24km to go, there was a massive scramble to control the front of the peloton. I knew these roads and effect the wind could have from Clontarf to the Flame Rouge but I could have never expected just how fierce the fight would be for the front. I could hear Freddie instructing his riders to watch for “Roche” as they all feared Nico would try and take the stage in Dublin, his father’s hometown and a place he spent a lot of time as child. In the end the break never materialised and we were set for a bunch sprint. I have for a long time marvelled at Mark Cavendish’s ability to account for sprint finishes with almost total recall. Cav can describe in the finest detail every split second of the chaotic finishes at break neck speed. From the team car it was almost a blur, in a split second, we had devoured the coast road, slammed around by the 02 Arena, galloped up the Quays before bang bang another couple of corners (mind the barrier feet on both side) then it was head down and the strongest man wins! Then silence, no radios, no noise, no racing, the wait. Finally the blasted radio punctures the silence, “Stage 3 Winner, rider 171 Marcel Kittel.” No victory for Bouhanni, doesn’t make the podium, the car remains silent before being suddenly engulfed by fans. I wait maybe five minutes before finally deciding to make my excuses and slip out of the car and into the anonymous masses. In the space of a few footsteps I was out of Giro and just another fan. I walk away from the crowds carrying a musette and bottle which Nico gave me as a souvenir, time for a toast I think. I take one swig of the bottle and my face fires up. The bottle contained the hottest, strongest tea which must have had 8 sugars in it. I laugh and drink again to what was the best experience of my life.

I cannot thank the team at FDJ.fr enough, Elisa my contact sums up everything I love a bout bike racing, she travels 110 days a year and monitors up to 3 races a day, she knows her racing and loves her racing and allowed me to sit in the lead car for a once in a lifetime experience. To Freddie and Nico for allowing me the privilege of joining them on the front lines and making the experience all the better, my only regret is not being able to thank them in their native tongue. Finally I wish to thank the riders, their effort is what made the day and race. On the very next stage. Bouhanni would battle through the wet and claim victory on Stage 4 of the Giro D’Italia – a true champion in every sense of the word. Forza FDJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Can you PM me your tumblr link and I'll post it so we can see the pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭rckfld

Inquitus wrote: »
    Can you PM me your tumblr link and I'll post it so we can see the pics.

Inquitus your inbox is full it won't allow me to PM.

You guys can try go to barrymccarthy.tumblr.com

You guys can try go to barrymccarthy.tumblr.com[/quote]

I have 100s of photos and vids that I'm currently uploading it was an amazing experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Well done. Great read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

That sound like an amazing experience - lucky boy !!!

Thanks for the account

TheBlaaMan wrote: »
    That sound like an amazing experience - lucky boy !!!

Thanks for the account

Thanks guys for the positive feedback was nervous about posting, I have some more pics on my twitter @barrymccarthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Brilliant post, thanks for sharing!

MODS can you please allow
    me to post links I have some videos of the first climb, the finish and some sticky bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Great post and enjoyable read. Lucky son of a *****!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Konkers

Yeah great post, nice to know that someone who really appreciates the experience actually wins those competitions.

Oh and just as importantly...... Any luck sorting out a link to those pics. Can.t see anything on the tumblr link above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭MarkG1975

Nice one, what a day!!

Konkers wrote: »

Oh and just as importantly...... Any luck sorting out a link to those pics. Can.t see anything on the tumblr link above.

Hi thank you that's really nice to hear, no unfortunately not, I still get an error saying that I am a new user. I will
    Post a link to some I have on flicker to my twitter @barrymccarthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

rckfld wrote: »
    I'm not a journo or an expert so don't be too harsh!

Very well written mate, as good as any Irish cycling publication around right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

MODS can you please allow
    me to post links I have some videos of the first climb, the finish and some sticky bottles.

Nothing we can do, it's a site-wide system rule that users with less than 50 posts can't post pictures or links. What you can do is email/pm them to somebody else (any volunteers?) to post them for you.

Okay thanks for getting back to me. Will do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Thirteen quick replies might work.... What's your name again??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 cianb13

Really interesting article! do you remember Elisas full name? I think i might have met her in Bewleys Hotel!

cianb13 wrote: »
    Really interesting article! do you remember Elisas full name? I think i might have met her in Bewleys Hotel!

Elisa Madiot, related Marc Madiot I presume! Nice girl, really cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Great read, you lucky ....! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭robfahy

Nice article... thanks for sharing!

logik wrote: »
    Great read, you lucky ....! :)

Thanks Logik, it wasn't quite the same watching it on TV yesterday.

One thing I would love to add is just how impressive it was to see all the towns and villages big and small decked out and cheering the riders on. We can be quite cyclical some times in this country but it was really something! Fair play all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭whacker00

great read @rckfld and what a great experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Great post, really conveys the excitement of the occasion. Well done.

Thanks a lot Lynn, trying to upload some videos from the car at the moment.

How did you win this prize?, if you don't mind.
    Looking forward to seeing the videos.
    Only seven more posts to be eligible.

It was in conjunction with the cycle superstore, they had a draw on their members appreciation night. I did not win but on the night and twitter told the lads how keen I was.

When the winner pulled out they got in touch on Friday to see if I would take it. Que me PM'ing and begging anybody for a lift up to Armagh, I even created a thread here to get a lift.

Kind of kicking myself as I filmed the videos in portrait but they are still cool enough.

Overwhelmed with the feedback, stickybottle have "stuck" it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭carltonleon

Brilliant stuff rckfld. looking forward to the visuals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Lovely read and well written. I felt your excitement and passion reading that.

Well done. Some great memories there for you.

Btw, how did you get to Armagh?

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Btw, how did you get to Armagh?

Ha! I thought you would never ask! My fantastic brother, picked me up at 5AM and dropped me up, I packed a phone charger, a jacket and a copy of Charly Wegelius' book Domestique, as we pulled out of the town, we drove past Charly at about 5KM/h. I pulled the book out of my bag but it was too late, I pointed at the book and pointed at Charly at which point Freddie said "Charly Wegalooooooo"

Class..

Okay I have 50 posts so will add some links lads.

Updated as I can now post links

+ All my photos are here, I wish some were better but it was tricky enough without annoying the team https://www.flickr.com/photos/112718355@N05/sets/72157644230059538/

+I managed to take a few selfies and not end up in the International press despite my second name also being McCarthy ;-)

+Original Article is here: http://barrymccarthy.tumblr.com/post/85720971825/riding-in-a-team-car-at-the-giro-ditalia-2014

+Videos to come but here is one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWJ7Dm3s6Ko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

heh, I'm standing about a foot to the left of this photo - https://flic.kr/p/nBeQHQ - beside the guy holding the phone up. Must get around to processing my pics and uploading them.

buffalo wrote: »
    heh, I'm standing about a foot to the left of this photo - https://flic.kr/p/nBeQHQ - beside the guy holding the phone up. Must get around to processing my pics and uploading them.

Cool!

Yeah I guess if anybody has pics of the FDJ car that I might be in, it would be cool to let me know. Thanks!

Edited - sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Ryath

Spoilers FFS

Ryath wrote: »
    Spoilers FFS

Really sorry, new here but should know better.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Really sorry, new here but should know better.

MOD VOICE: Please re read the STICKIED post re spoilers at the top of the front page. Accidental or otherwise another mistake and you will be on holiday until after the racing season ends.

Read understood and again sorry.

and there was you. thinking, it was all sweetness and light, here.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    and there was you. thinking, it was all sweetness and light, here.

I was just thinking that, honeymoon period and all that!!!
    Wee bit carried away...