Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan Tubridy: "I'll break your legs"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

He's dead ****in right too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

frankly id say if tubs tried to break anyones legs.. he'd be more likely to break a bone in his own feeble body first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Muahahaha wrote: »
    This is a good one, Tubs was interviewing a guy who used to beat up his wife quite regular and told him during the interview that if he ever did it to someone who Tubridy loves then he'd call around to his house and break his legs.

If it wasn't so serious it would be funny but nonetheless I can't get the image of Ryan Tubridy going around to someone's gaff and breaking their legs out of my mind.

Like it just couldn't happen, could it ?

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/id-come-over-to-your-house-and-break-your-legs-ryan-tubridy-struggles-to-keep-emotions-in-check-during-live-interview-with-domestic-abuser-30274324.html

He's dead right, I'd do the same myself.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

frankly id say if tubs tried to break anyones legs.. he'd be more likely to break a bone in his own feeble body first

I too had this thought lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Tubs the world's least intimidating man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why was he interviewing a domestic abuser in the first place? =/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Well fair stones to him. I wouldn't have thought the pull-through had it in him to come out with the likes of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Call in show I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

His PR people told him 'Ryan, we've got an image problem here. The people of Ireland think you're a sneering, grovelling wimpy little weasel of a nerd whose is also a shill for FFailure. So we're going to smash that image by having a domestic abuser on the radio and you can then look double hard by telling him you'd break his legs'. And so it was.

Rumour has it that Tubs ratings on 2FM are so bad that he might soon be out of a job. Not to worry, I hear there is lots of work going with debt collection agencies these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Ravenid

I don't know.

There's always been something about Tubridy I haven't trusted.

I could easily see him snapping and taking someone out American Psycho style.

I'll guarantee you he likes Huey Lewis and the News.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This is what would happen if Tupperware tried to break someones legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

My opinion of him has gone down after the comment tbh. What a stupid thing for an interviewer to say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

jimgoose wrote: »
    Well fair stones to him. I wouldn't have thought the pull-through had it in him to come out with the likes of that.

HAHAHA Thats brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Not before giving him a little speech about JFK first though.

cloud493 wrote: »
    Call in show I think

I don't listen to the show so I've no idea what the format is, but why would producers allow someone to call in and speak at length about beating women?

Anyway, Tubridy 'thanked' and 'commended' the gentleman for calling in so his hardman talk seems to have been a bit redundant.

It does kinda sound like a PR stunt I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Fair play to Tubridy.
    These vicious bullies usually get away with a slap on the wrist. A dose of their own medicine mightn't go amiss. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

Tubridy wouldn't burst a bag of Taytos even if he was wearing Doc Martins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Ahhhh he is just saying that to impress his female listeners. Certain types of men are always at that lark.

In reality, there isn't a chance of that chap breaking anyone's legs should the actual need for it arise.

I'd say Tubridy is afraid of his own shadow at the best of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Tubs the world's least intimidating man.

I found it apt that Vito Corleone was the first to thank the quoted post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

Tubs wouldn't break wind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭JohnDee

I get the impression Tubs wouldn't break wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭JohnDee

I get the impression Tubs wouldn't break wind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

He wouldn't break wind that fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

He wouldn't bate snow off a rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Once bumped into Tubs in a shop in Dalkey. Was surprised at how small he was. I dwarfed him, and I'm not really that big. If I was a woman beater, I wouldn't be scared of that little fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭daysleeper

The interview is here if anyone wants to listen, starts at about 1hr15mins in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

He wouldn't bate eggs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

I lost respect for the worm Tubridy after his interview with Gerry Adams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

ratings

.E_C_K_S. wrote: »
    Tubridy wouldn't burst a bag of Taytos even if he was wearing Doc Martins

....if he ever did it to someone who Tubridy loves

You'd be amazed how strong,small people can be when it comes to defending their loved ones ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

ScumLord wrote: »
    This is what would happen if Tupperware tried to break someones legs.

Or like what happened to cisse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Its sobering to think that a lot of the worlds men of power do not possess physical strength, relying on others to do their dirty work for them. Tubs has enough money in a city where you can get someone killed for €2k.......

Many figures in History were big time killers without having any physical strength, Hitler had Parkinsons Disease from 1944 onwards, yet more than half the German casualties occurred in the last 5 months of the war.

Mao Tse Tung was in charge of a pretty sanguinary regime right up to mid to late 70's, a pensioner quiet capable of killing.

The spoken or written word, a public persona and influence are pretty powerful weapons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

It's a non-issue. Neither of them raised their voices, they were incredibly civil, and ryan tubridy just made his point that he wouldn't be able to control himself if that was the situation. If you haven't listened to the whole chat they had, then don't post here getting mad about it.

I don't listen to the show so I've no idea what the format is, but why would producers allow someone to call in and speak at length about beating women?

Anyway, Tubridy 'thanked' and 'commended' the gentleman for calling in so his hardman talk seems to have been a bit redundant.

It does kinda sound like a PR stunt I must say.

Bother reading the article?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

doolox wrote: »
    Its sobering to think that a lot of the worlds men of power do not possess physical strength, relying on others to do their dirty work for them. Tubs has enough money in a city where you can get someone killed for €2k.......

Many figures in History were big time killers without having any physical strength, Hitler had Parkinsons Disease from 1944 onwards, yet more than half the German casualties occurred in the last 5 months of the war.

Mao Tse Tung was in charge of a pretty sanguinary regime right up to mid to late 70's, a pensioner quiet capable of killing.

The spoken or written word, a public persona and influence are pretty powerful weapons.

Are you trying to say that Tubs is like Pol Pot or something. Hes annoying, but not that bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Like Ryan Tubridy, I'm physically quite feeble. I've never been in any kind of fight, never hit anyone and if I tried, I'd probably just injure myself. But I think - in the right circumstances, if I was armed with a blunt instrument, if my victim was being restrained, and if I had a bit of time - I could probably manage to break a person's legs. Maybe that's what Ryan meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Tubs has been doing MMA for years, supposedly quite handy at it too. While i don't know if he can specifically break your legs, he can put a hurting on most men. Not as harmless as he looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭BearBanjer

Tubs reminds me of the little asthmatic kid in 'IT'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

It's a bit like Eoin McLove saying "I could have you killed".
    I doubt very much Tubrity would be doing the leg breaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭fullaljackeen

Ryan Tubridy doesn't do push-ups, he pushes the earth down.

There used to be a street named after Tubridy, but it was changed because nobody crosses Tubridy and lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

It's a non-issue. Neither of them raised their voices, they were incredibly civil, and ryan tubridy just made his point that he wouldn't be able to control himself if that was the situation. If you haven't listened to the whole chat they had, then don't post here getting mad about it.

Doesn't add up. Not like the Independent to exaggerate a non-story...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

Oh jaysus i may pay my licence fee now,tubridy has earned his 500k. :rolleyes:

I hate when they bring the sex of the victim into these issues. God i hate RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

This is a good one, Tubs was interviewing a guy who used to beat up his wife quite regular and told him during the interview that if he ever did it to someone who Tubridy loves then he'd call around to his house and break his legs.

If it wasn't so serious it would be funny but nonetheless I can't get the image of Ryan Tubridy going around to someone's gaff and breaking their legs out of my mind.

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/id-come-over-to-your-house-and-break-your-legs-ryan-tubridy-struggles-to-keep-emotions-in-check-during-live-interview-with-domestic-abuser-30274324.html

I agree with his sentiment about domestic abuse, but Turbridy not so hard when it comes to calling out the politics and corruption in Ireland, which makes him a cowardly hypocrite.

Bother reading the article?

Yes. Bother reading my post? I asked how and why producers would allow a caller to go live on air, on breakfast radio, to speak candidly about beating a woman.

The article doesn't mention how that came to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Image of Mr. Burns crushing a paper cup :pac:

ryan101 wrote: »
    I agree with his sentiment about domestic abuse, but Turbridy not so hard when it comes to calling out the politics and corruption in Ireland, which makes him a cowardly hypocrite.

I fail to see the connection between the 2 tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I don't disagree with what he said but Tubbers wouldn't bate snow off a rope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

Chucken wrote: »
    I fail to see the connection between the 2 tbh.

If he's going to preach moral lessons about bullying other people, I'm all for it, but he needs to be consistent with his morality, not hypocritical and cowardly selective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

,,,is merely a symptom of greater abuses in society such as making large families live in are small substandard houses for large rents, paying people very low wages for long hours work, people being dumped into unemployment by uncaring governments etc.....

Busy productive people do not engage in violence against the ones they claim to love but rather find themselves trapped in situations they cannot solve although they expected to solve them.

In former times a large group of families lived and worked together, uncles and aunts supervised each other and you did not have the deadly level of domestic abuse you have now in the "modern" nuclear family.

The state must now intervene more frequently aqnd intrusively than in the past to safeguard victims from abuse but are only learning how to do this.
    Meeting violence with violence, while the kneejerk reaction most likely to occur and very tempting, will not work. Isolation and then supervised meetings at the discretion of the victims are often the only way to go.

Yes. Bother reading my post? I asked how and why producers would allow a caller to go live on air, on breakfast radio, to speak candidly about beating a woman.

The article doesn't mention how that came to be.

Why wouldn't they have him talk about it?