Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you have done

• 14-05-2014 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭

I was diagnosed with a neurological illness in 2002. This last few years if I am going out for the day I would usually take my wheelchair.A few months ago I had an appointment in a Dublin hospital. As it was an early app we decided we would book into a hotel the night before. We phoned the hotel a few weeks in advance to tell them about my situation. They advised us that there were about 5 steps leading up to the door. We said grand I would manage that. On arriving at the hotel the young man on reception could not have been nicer and on seeing the wheelchair advised us that we could have breakfast in our room. We said great. Next morning my husband went to reception to inquire about breakfast again another lovely girl told him to make his way to the dining room (which was at the bottom of a narrow flight of stairs) and someone there would help him. When he found a member of staff he explained our situation. Sorry she said you must have breakfast here and your wife can have hers in her bedroom. My husband said sorry but I would rather eat with my wife. To cut a long story short the waitress arrived at the bedroom with the two breakfasts, by this time I was sitting dressed ready for my appointment. (We had parked the wheelchair in the en suite because the room was small). When she saw me sitting there she completely lost the head. You tell me your wife is sick she screamed there is nothing wrong with your wife look at her sitting there there is nothing wrong with her. She slammed down the breakfasts and stormed out. My husband followed and said excuse me please a few time but she she never let on she heard him. The girl on reception phoned the dining room telling her my husband would like to speak to her but she refused to come up and explain herself. ( we have thought a thousand times since why did he not go down) But when you are caught by surprise you just dont think. And into the bargain it was the managers day off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Ring the manager now and explain what happened.

Woman sounds like a right c*nt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I probably would have eaten the breakfast.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

lila1 wrote: »
    I was diagnosed with a neurological illness in 2002. This last few years if I am going out for the day I would usually take my wheelchair.A few months ago I had an appointment in a Dublin hospital. As it was an early app we decided we would book into a hotel the night before. We phoned the hotel a few weeks in advance to tell them about my situation. They advised us that there were about 5 steps leading up to the door. We said grand I would manage that. On arriving at the hotel the young man on reception could not have been nicer and on seeing the wheelchair advised us that we could have breakfast in our room. We said great. Next morning my husband went to reception to inquire about breakfast again another lovely girl told him to make his way to the dining room (which was at the bottom of a narrow flight of stairs) and someone there would help him. When he found a member of staff he explained our situation. Sorry she said you must have breakfast here and your wife can have hers in her bedroom. My husband said sorry but I would rather eat with my wife. To cut a long story short the waitress arrived at the bedroom with the two breakfasts, by this time I was sitting dressed ready for my appointment. (We had parked the wheelchair in the en suite because the room was small). When she saw me sitting there she completely lost the head. You tell me your wife is sick she screamed there is nothing wrong with your wife look at her sitting there there is nothing wrong with her. She slammed down the breakfasts and stormed out. My husband followed and said excuse me please a few time but she she never let on she heard him. The girl on reception phoned the dining room telling her my husband would like to speak to her but she refused to come up and explain herself. ( we have thought a thousand times since why did he not go down) But when you are caught by surprise you just dont think. And into the bargain it was the managers day off.

I would have been mad as anything to be treated in such a disrespectful fashion.

All I can say to you is don't allow some arséhole to bring you down, unfortunately there are many of them about and they should be avoided at all costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Get on to management now.

Disabilities are not always visible, the waitress should have used some cop on and shown a bit of sensitivity tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I would get hold of the manager and explain to him that I will make it my personal mission in this vale of tears to close that hotel and jail that bitch of a young wan unless she is fired NOW! That is absolutely outrageous behaviour. What is it to her anyway - did she get into such a snit over having to bring a tray upstairs?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

Ring the hotel and speak to the manager. If you get no satisfaction from them,tell them your story is going up onto Tripadvisor. That should light a fire under their arses..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Sounds like she was having a bad day!! Hindsight is a great thing but i suspect she couldn't leave a busy breakfast service to speak to your husband - if she could have, the situation would probably have been resolved on the day.
    I'd probably write a nice email thanking the hotel staff who were so helpful and mentioning your disappointment that the experience was let down by the behaviour of this waitress.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Did she actually scream ? .... or was it more of a mumble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Kaycee2

What a horrible way to be treated, you'd think when a managers off there should be someone there acting in that position that could have done something for you on the day it happened, i'd get straight onto Tripadvisor and name and shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Ring the manager now and explain what went down. Alternatively, write it up in an email - this can be better as it gives you time to think.

Be to sure to point out the good points (helpful reception staff) as well as the bad (breakfast bint) - a balanced approach is best, so it's very clear that you are a very reasonable person.

To be honest, the brekafast person had no business wondering if you were/were not fit enough to eat breakfast or not. If the reception staff instructed her to serve you in the room, that should be enough.

I'd have had my other half chase her, screaming around the corridors of the hotel with the wheelchair!

(But don't dwell on it. Some people are eejits and some people just make stoopid mistakes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭lila1

Did she actually scream ? .... or was it more of a mumble.
    Believe me she screamed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

What would you have done?

I would have asked for Polly. She was always the voice of reason in the establishment which it sounds like you stayed in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

And into the bargain it was the managers day off.
    It doesn't matter if the manager has a day off, it's the hotels duty to make sure a manager is on duty and contactable if a customer requests it. I've forced people to ring the manager so I can talk to them when they use that excuse and I've rang the guards when they refused to contact the manager.

If you request to speak to a manager the manager has to speak to you, I'm pretty sure that's a law.

ScumLord wrote: »
    It doesn't matter if the manager has a day off, it's the hotels duty to make sure a manager is on duty and contactable if a customer requests it. I've forced people to ring the manager so I can talk to them when they use that excuse and I've rang the guards when they refused to contact the manager.

Any hotel worth it's salt will always have a "duty manager" on every shift. They are the management if the general manager is not available.

But ringing the guards when a manager is not available?? That seems OTT. What the f*** was so wrong with the hotel that you had to ring the guards? What did the guards say?
    If you request to speak to a manager the manager has to speak to you, I'm pretty sure that's a law.

Never heard of that law...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

I wouldn't say so. Mostly down to whatever policy a business has.

It's courtesy to get a manager involved but the company doesn't have to oblige to that request.

Also, OP, thats a shocking experience. Sorry to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

What a horrible way to be treated. Like other have said write a honest and frank report on trip advisor mention all the good points then mention this ladies treatment of you. Hopefully you will get a good resolution to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

daithi1970 wrote: »
    Ring the hotel and speak to the manager. If you get no satisfaction from them,tell them your story is going up onto Tripadvisor. That should light a fire under their arses..

Feck Tripadvisor.....

Hello....Joe?

But ringing the guards when a manager is not available?? That seems OTT. What the f*** was so wrong with the hotel that you had to ring the guards? What did the guards say?
    The guards just confirmed that if I request to speak to a manager that they have to make that happen. They didn't call out or anything. It wasn't a hotel either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Don't let this slide OP, for your owns sakes and the sake of someone else who could be treated the same way by that eejit

The guards just confirmed that if I request to speak to a manager that they have to make that happen. They didn't call out or anything. It wasn't a hotel either.

There's no law on it though...

Of course though, you have the right to ask. They also have the right to refuse.

However, that is never here or there.

I really doubt that's the law though. Talk about a police state!

It was a massage parlour wasn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Sounds bizarre, I have worked in shops when the manager was out on business for a number of hours. People are generally happy to leave a message or call back in. Not sure what would have happened in the case of a complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

I'd make it my business to get that woman sacked. Honestly, that's absolutely shocking behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

The guard said that to get a crazy person off the phone. There's no law that says that you must be allowed to speak to a manager. Or you can prove me wrong by producing evidence of this 'law'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Jesus. Great use of police time there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

there is NO WAY in hell I would tolerate that.

The woman needs to be sacked, you need a formal apology and you need to be compensated. How dare she shout at you? Did you actually have to pay a bill to be abused?

Start with management as high as possible - is it a chain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Sounds bizarre, I have worked in shops when the manager was out on business for a number of hours. People are generally happy to leave a message or call back in. Not sure what would have happened in the case of a complaint.
    I worked in a shop for years.

We used to keep a bowler cap and a fake moustache in the break room just for this occasion. A suitably managerial accent would usually convince the hapless customer that everything was above board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

I can't stop laughing at all this.

I'm not laughing at you OP, but this is comical. I can't believe that people like this actually exist. It's is genuinely like a lost episode of Faulty Towers. What a bunch of fcuking lunatics. The manager was off that day? Yeah right, I bet he was off getting the dinner menu from the local Chinese, had broken down and was beating his car with a branch of a tree.

There is actually even a scene in Faulty Towers where Basil also takes issue with a guest that asks can he have breakfast in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Wait until you can run over the story and be totally calm about it. It might help to write down points. Use phrases like "shocking and upsetting" "Hugely disappointed in the service" and so on.

Google the hotel and find out the name of the GM, ring and ask for them by name. When you speak to them, read your points in a calm and reasoned fashion, do not shout. The GM will have your best interest at heart because it is in his/her best interest to do so.

I am sure they will be as displeased as you are.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

This is what I would do:
    - Written complaint. clear, short, to the point
    - Make it clear that you will take no crap
    - Give the manager the benefit of a doubt
    - If the manager does anything less than go completely medieval on that piece of ---- , I swear to you I would make them cry tears of blood. I would sue them into the ground.

You can't treat people like that and expect to get away with it.

D1stant wrote: »
    Jesus. Great use of police time there
    I had a legal question, I didn't ring 999 or anything I just called the local garda station and asked for clarification, then I handed the phone to the guy working and two minutes later he was ringing his manager. The guards offered to come down but I told them it wasn't necessary I just wanted clarification. I don't see how any of that is a waste of garda time, it's what they're there for.

Maybe it's not a law and I just convinced everyone I spoke too that it was.

I'd make it my business to get that woman sacked. Honestly, that's absolutely shocking behaviour.
    Hi I know you are probably right and it was shocking behaviour but although I was in the receiving end I could not have her sacked not in the times that are in it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Why not? Someone more deserving, who's currently unemployed, might get a chance at a job.

Maybe it's not a law and I just convinced everyone I spoke too that it was.

No maybe about it. Tisn't a law.

But hey - Certainly worked in your situation :)

Nemeses wrote: »
    No maybe about it. Tisn't a law.
    Maybe I am the law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Why not? Someone more deserving, who's currently unemployed, might get a chance at a job.

I agree with the OP: there's a good chance that if she writes to/speaks to the management of the hotel and has them explain to the waitress that her behaviour was inappropriate, she's most unlikely to behave in a similar way in future.
    People in all walks of life can be ignorant as to what a person with a disability looks like, and it sounds to me like the waitress in this case took one look at the OP and decided that her husband had pulled a fast one and had her leave a busy breakfast service to carry a meal up to what she assumed was an able-bodied couple being lazy/flouting the policy of the hotel.
    Was she wrong? Yes.
    Should she be fired immediately as a result? No - give her a chance to prove she can learn from the situation, and hopefully treat people better in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Zonua

dee_mc wrote: »
    I agree with the OP: there's a good chance that if she writes to/speaks to the management of the hotel and has them explain to the waitress that her behaviour was inappropriate, she's most unlikely to behave in a similar way in future.
    People in all walks of life can be ignorant as to what a person with a disability looks like, and it sounds to me like the waitress in this case took one look at the OP and decided that her husband had pulled a fast one and had her leave a busy breakfast service to carry a meal up to what she assumed was an able-bodied couple being lazy/flouting the policy of the hotel.
    Was she wrong? Yes.
    Should she be fired immediately as a result? No - give her a chance to prove she can learn from the situation, and hopefully treat people better in future.

Even if the OP WAS able to make it down to the breakfast room herself - she still did not deserve to be treated like this. Staff screaming at you because you asked for room service?????? The husband being told he had to eat away from his wife - wtf??? I would've thought this makes no sense.

OP, I am so angry at the way you have been treated. I think the employee in question absolutely deserves to be sacked. In the OP's version, they did everything correctly. The way you were treated is not acceptable, disability or not.

Name and shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Www.tripadvisor.ie

Copy and paste your post there. Manager won't take long to reply.

I had a legal question......I just wanted clarification. I don't see how any of that is a waste of garda time, it's what they're there for.

No.

That's a solicitor you're thinking of.

It would help if we had more details of your case. How many jelly-wrestlers were you promised?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I'm absolutely disgusted at the way the OP was treated. If it were me I would email the General Manager as things can get heated during a phone call and quite often when you see something in writing you will see bits you want to tweak.

I would be calm and polite but make it extremely clear exactly how upset you were by the shockingly unprofessional and abusive behavior of that staff member.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Put everything in writing and email the manager OP. Then request that he or she speaks to you.

Give credit where it's due to the staff who were polite (that's important).

Then make sure sure you provide as much detail as possible about the staff member who was rude, making sure to include times and locations ans ensure both you and your husband's version of events tally with each other.

Nobody is doubting you but if your complaints result in dismissal preceedings, your versions of the case must be absolutely watertight.

Finally, I wouldn't take as much stock in Trip Advisor as others here seem to. It's easly open to manipulation. If you are a member of a support group for your condition such as the IMNDA, threaten to inform them of your experience at the hotel. They can highlight what happened and have the ear of all media outlets in the country. The hotel would be crazy not to engage with you given the prospect of such negative publicity.

Thanks so much everyone for their replies I am going to send the manager an email although I do feel that it is a bit late because this happened a few months ago and for all I know this waitress might not even work there anymore. Will let you know how I get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

This is an appalling story, OP. Please do pursue the manager in the manner described. I personally wouldn't look for anyone to be sacked, but they cannot be allowed to continue to think and act in that manner. And at the very least the cost of your stay should be refunded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Thanks so much everyone for their replies I am going to send the manager an email although I do feel that it is a bit late because this happened a few months ago and for all I know this waitress might not even work there anymore. Will let you know how I get on.

This is more the reason to email the manager. That woman needs to learn how to treat paying customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭zuhuraswa

Definitely ring the manager ASAP!

This is a few lines from the email I received from management of the hotel today.

Thank you so much for bringing this matter to my attention. I am absolutely horrified an disgusted at the way you had been treated in our establishment. I apologise to yourself and your husband for the way you were spoken to by our housekeeper. She had absolutely no right to speak to you husband in that manner. I can assure you had I been there that morning it would have been a case of immediate dismissal. I have spoken to the girl in question and she informed me that at the time she saw you you had no apparent disability and she saw no evidence of a wheelchair in the room. However from talking to the receptionist who was on duty that morning I know this was not the case. I understand that you and your husband left that morning without breakfast and that you also paid your bill. I will be refunding your bill within the next week and I am inviting yourself and your husband to our hotel again where I will look after you both myself. As for the girl in question I know you stated in your email that you dont want her sacked, but I am giving it very careful consideration about what action I should take. I will let you know what I decide. Again I am truly sorry for what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Tordelback

Proper order.

While it might have been nice if some culpability had been accepted in perhaps not providing clear enough guidance for staff in dealing with customers, you can't argue with the thoroughness of the apology.