Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The McCarthy / Kittel selfie - I'm glad I wasn't there ...

• 13-05-2014 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭

I'm glad I wasn't there - I think I might have punched him on the nose in the heat of the occasion.
    But then, if I did, I could have "ran away", saying that I "meant no harm".
    When I saw the state of Kittel on TV after the win I admired that people seemed to give him the space and time to recover himself. Not all apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,834 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

The kid apologized to Kittel, who responded on Twitter and saw the funny side. Lets move on folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

fixie fox wrote: »
    I'm glad I wasn't there - I think I might have punched him on the nose in the heat of the occasion.
    When I saw the state of Kittel on TV after the win I admired that people seemed to give him the space and time to recover himself. Not all apparently.

Chill out. What about the TV cameras shoved in his face? What about when pro-photographer vultures descend upon a big pile up in which riders break bones with blood pouring, snapping away all for money? The kid took a quick picture and moved away quickly. He doesn't deserve any grief for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,216 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

So a kid takes a photo in the "heat of the occasion" as you put it and you advocate thumping him. Is there some sarcasm there I'm missing??

1111963.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

Ok, ok, ... maybe I posted in 'the heat of the moment' (genuinely, it did raise my blood pressure) - so let's drop it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Young fellah does something stupid, hurts no one and has the good grace to apologise once he's seen the error of his ways......it's obviously the butterfly effect in action, if that causes a storm.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭sheepfield

Whats the butterfly effect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

I can understand people having a kind of reflex action response of how terrible that was, what an awful state Kittel was in and all that, but he had actually just won the stage, so without looking too closely at his face & all that, in that moment before Kittel is surrounded by people it's fairly natural to assume for the McCarthy fella that this is a joyous or ecstatic moment for Kittel which he's lucky enough to snatch & grab a part of, & not remotely something terribly personal into which he's intruding. Remember Kittel has just won the stage! - it's the opposite of an awful moment.
    All in all a thing of nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭disco1

Yeah op me too the ****...

sheepfield wrote: »
    Whats the butterfly effect?

Let me Google that for you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

I know the lad since he was 11 yrs old and now he's a first yr senior,who got a little excited on the day.Genuine nice chap from a real salt of the earth cycling family.He took all the s...t today so let him move on.By the way he's riding the ras on Sunday[one of 3 Mc Carthy cousins taking part]Lets all wish him well in his first ras.
    Might even take a selfie with him some day at the end of a stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Can't believe there's a witch-hunt for a guy, who must be barely 18, taking a picture of himself beside Marcel Kittel after winning a stage for literally 1/2 seconds. It's not like something awful happened to Marcel, he'd just won a stage. He didn't touch him, he didn't touch his bike, he just took a picture of himself and Marcel without asking. Come off it. Punching him on the nose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Move along folks, nothing to see here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I thought it was gas. Fair play to him. Sometimes society takes itself waaaaay too seriously and people can really miss out on the funny things in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

wav1 wrote: »
    By the way he's riding the ras on Sunday

You know what will happen, he will win the first stage, collapse after the line in exhaustion and Kittle will jump over the barriers in Roscommon and take a pic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

wav1 wrote: »
    I know the lad since he was 11 yrs old and now he's a first yr senior,who got a little excited on the day.Genuine nice chap from a real salt of the earth cycling family.He took all the s...t today so let him move on.By the way he's riding the ras on Sunday[one of 3 Mc Carthy cousins taking part]Lets all wish him well in his first ras.
    Might even take a selfie with him some day at the end of a stage.

He's doing the Rás? Wow. Is there a national junior squad going in? NRPT?

You know what will happen, he will win the first stage, collapse after the line in exhaustion and Kittle will jump over the barriers in Roscommon and take a pic!

Nope, he'll be out of the Ras by day two, once the infection Kittel had has incubated.......:)

Seriously, hope him and the rest of them do well in the Ras.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

buffalo wrote: »

NRPT I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

NRPT I believe.

I heard it was NPRT.

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    I heard it was NPRT.

Isn't there a distance limit for juniors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

Deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

buffalo wrote: »
    H's riding with a county team.He's a first yr senior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

I rode with this guy in a race last year in Tralee, we were trying to bring back a breakaway, and I can only praise him for the the effort. Worked his socks off and was a lovely fella who would chat away with you. We all make mistakes (I should be crucified for the amount I've made in life) so the idea of thumping someone over a photo in which a rider has just won is a bit mad. Go easy on the lad.

Made "it says in the papers" on rte radio 1 this morning- set to rumble on I guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

Made "it says in the papers" on rte radio 1 this morning- set to rumble on I guess

Add:
    Irish Independent ...
    Irish Examiner ...
    Cycling Weekly ....
    The (London) Times ...
    cyclingnews.com ....
    Belfast Telegraph ....
    etc
    etc

Nice to himself and Kettle exchanging on Twitter about it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭nolinejudge

Over excitement is all. The irony of the photo the professional took to show it being done upset no one. Is it just the size of the lens that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

All this mock moral outrage has me quite amused I must say. It seems these days people know how they feel and should react but wait to see how the world tells them they should react and then the roll in with their "i am outraged" big moment. Looking at this debate I think a lot of people have misread the landscape. It doesn't even seem to matter to these people that Kittel's team found it hillarious and they all retweeted it nor does it seem to matter that Kittel was more than gracious about it.

Also I didn't seem to recall the same outrage at the camera's being shoved in Dan Martin's face as he is sitting on the ground holding a broken collar bone (credit to moflojo for the pic):
    306599.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

The stewards and marshalls should be doing more to protect riders immediately after a finish to allow them recover without undue harassment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

A young lad(and thanks to wav1 for information) with real talent and steeped in cycling gets a little over excited when a world class athlete is right in front of him. No harm done. He has probably been excited as anyone for months that Giro is in town

Hope it doesn't effect him when he cycles Ras.

As an aside, is it not to be embraced that world class athletes can any do mix side by side with cycling fans. Compared to almost every other sport it is a breath of fresh air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The stewards and marshalls should be doing more to protect riders immediately after a finish to allow them recover without undue harassment.

Have you ever watched the end of a stage in any race ? The riders are mobbed by all sorts of press and photographers before they even come to a stop.

To say this was some sort of undue harassment is gas.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Have you ever watched the end of a stage in any race ? The riders are mobbed by all sorts of press and photographers before they even come to a stop.

My guess is no...

For all those giving out about the pro photographers, some may get a little too heavy, but they're paid to do what they do, because we want to see what see and the great shots they produced.

"Dan Martin falls off bike" means something, but an article showing him grimacing in pain brings the whole story closer to us. You want photographers to allow riders to recover? We'd never get an insight into the amount they suffer if they did that. You can't have your cake and eat it.

ford2600 wrote: »
    Hope it doesn't effect him when he cycles Ras.

Im sure he will get a bit of a slaggin off the auld heads - I cant seem to post an image, but i bet his room-mate on the Ras will be the lad from Gent Wevelgem who lay down on the road for the pic, remember him - :-) #snaphappy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Euro Fred

wow big internet hard man here, step back lads

FFS get over your self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

The "incident" occurs at 7:09 - didn't notice it at the time, wouldn't have again if the "story" hadn't gone viral!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

ThisRegard wrote: »

Yes, I've watched lots both here and abroad. Fair enough, its all part of the job but when someone collapses onto the ground or over the handbars, it makes sense to give them space to recover before any media activities.

i ran onto the field when our parish won the county final back in '93, i jumped up on the goalkeepers shoulders - feel really bad about it now

it was being discussed on Ray D'Arcy this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

That video clip gives a good perspective. The OP would have to be quick. The young lad was there for all of 2 seconds. It looks so different to the photo.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Unlikely, that's what you want so that they get the adrenaline rush and don't feel deflated, they validate the win immediately unlike your contract renewal which maybe months before it validates your effort.
    Peterx wrote: »
    That video clip gives a good perspective. The OP would have to be quick. The young lad was there for all of 2 seconds. It looks so different to the photo.

In and gone, didn't annoy Kittel, unlike the video camera and swarm of paps around him, non story, he even had the respect not to try and hug him or overcrowd him, ran away as quick as he could, which if I met someone I was a fan of I possibly wouldn't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

When the time for some pros and commentators to be horrified and to stand up and make a statement about disgust, disrectfulness etc. etc. they were all silent but when a young lad takes a selfie they have a go call him terrible things and generally make his life hell to use his words.

Where were they all when USADA was published? They hadn't got a pair of balls between them to condemn LA but a young fella with an iPhone oh he is fair game!

I said it before and I will say it again Muppets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Young cyclist sees opportunity, very short timeframe to take advantage of it, gets in, takes his chance, gets what he wanted and does nobody any harm.

If he behaves the same way in a sprint, the future is bright for McCarthy.

Jawgap wrote: »
    it was being discussed on Ray D'Arcy this morning.

Still not a good enough reason to listen to Ray d'Arcy. Yes, I know, there is no good enough reason to listen to Ray d'Arsey but that's not the point. . . . Oh wait a minute, that is the point.

pelevin wrote: »
    Still not a good enough reason to listen to Ray d'Arcy. Yes, I know, there is no good enough reason to listen to Ray d'Arsey but that's not the point. . . . Oh wait a minute, that is the point.

Could've been worse........he could've been on Tubridy......

On radio Tubridy is better than D'arcy AFAIK, on TV, its a close call as to who would be first against the wall when the revolution comes but it would probably be Tubridy, so it depends on which medium you are talking about.

CramCycle wrote: »
    On radio Tubridy is better than D'arcy AFAIK, on TV, its a close call as to who would be first against the wall when the revolution comes but it would probably be Tubridy, so it depends on which medium you are talking about.

As the most prominent practitioner of the fake American accent, I propose he be one of the first up against the wall when the revolution comes......

.......also on one Toy Show didn't he ask a kid in a wheelchair to run over and help him? Or maybe I just imagined it.......

D'Arcy is like an annoying over-enthusiastic puppy, but 'Tubbers' is pure gob****ery in action!

I think you're underestimating d'Arcy, Jawgap. The smugness, smart-arsery, & total light-weightedness all a potent cocktail make.

pelevin wrote: »
    I think you're underestimating d'Arcy, Jawgap. The smugness, smart-arsery, & total light-weightedness all a potent cocktail make.

They do.....and I agree with you, but fellahs who go to the States for a few weeks and come back with a Yank accident are deeply suspicious in my book.

There's not much to choose between the two of them, but given Tubbers is paid out of my TV licence I'd rank him lower.

Plus, there was that stupid book he wrote about JFK........

They do.....and I agree with you, but fellahs who go to the States for a few weeks and come back with a Yank accident are deeply suspicious in my book.
    Have to agree with you here, its like the girls I grew up with who went to UCD losing their magnificent accents to a droll D4/American hybridisation (which would disappear after a few pints).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

i ran onto the field when our parish won the county final back in '93, i jumped up on the goalkeepers shoulders - feel really bad about it now

I think you should :D. Surely the goalie was the one who should have been up on your shoulders. ;)