Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GW38 - Matchday Thread - The Final One

• 10-05-2014 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭

Yeah yeah. I know the unofficial rules re starting the Matchday thread before midnight, or even before a sensible time on the day its self.

But its the final one, never seen so much movement on transfer threads, and captaincy threads, and even the FSA League thread, so there obviously is a demand, but everyone is afraid to do it.

:p

So here goes, my final team of the season, one transfer of Rooney to Sturridge, the reuniting of SSS, and the whole FPL Head v Heart, of West Ham beating City, despite having 3 City Players in my squad v 0 Hammers players, and Premier League Glory for Liverpool.

Mannone
    --Evra--Coleman--Zabaleta--
    Eriksen--Nasri--Sterling--Mata
    -Sturridge--Dzeko--Suárez(c)-

Subs in order...

Boruc Ramsey Ward Olsson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Transfers done tonight as I'll be busy in the morning.

Mannone
    Zab Baines Coleman
    Sterling Hazard Eriksen Yaya
    Giroud Suarez(c) Aguero
    Adrian Terry Colback Olsson

Terry on the bench as he's doubtful and Im afraid they might give him a few minutes as its the last game of the season. Should be hectic with all the games on at once and lots of changes to teams, every body will be refreshing their screens at 2 o'clock onwards to get the team news :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

My last team of the season:

Mannone
    Ward Evra Kompany
    Lallana Eriksen Yaya Ransey
    Sturridge Aguero Suarez

Subs: Adrian Mata Bardsley Chester.

Good luck to all. Hopefully today is a profitable day for us all.

G-week 38 (-4):

Mannone
    Bardsley Dann Dem
    Hazard Eriksen Rambo Yaya
    Sturridge Aguero Suarez (c)

Subs: Davis, Terry, Collins, Ward-Prowse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

we've got 4 posts and over 2 hours in without anyone questioning if this thread is too early?....this board just ain't what it used to be :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭hurlingman97

Heres my team at a -4. Leaves me with an 8 point lead. Wont be around tomorrow so wont know how i got on till around 6.

Mannone
    Azpil - Alonso - Coleman
    Gerard - Yaya(V) - Eriksen - Nasri
    Suarez(C) - Dzeko - Sturridge

Subs: Adrian, Ramsey, Mariappa, Rosenior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭ItsChecoTime

Brought in Hazard and trying to decide whether to captain him or Eriksen, have to make up 22 points but feeling slightly more optimistic as it was previously 30 points but rival took a 12 point hit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

No idea what my team is going to be yet, I'll probably leave it till the last minute. 1 point behind in one of my leagues and 100 odd in the other one. Perfect ending would be winning them both :P

Edit:

Mannone
    Zab, Mert, Coleman
    Mata, Ramsey, Yaya, Barkley
    Suarez, Sturridge, Wilson

Taking a punt on Wilson, hoping that he'll get another start based on his last game and grabs another few goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,185 ✭✭✭G1032

Thank God the season is over today. What a bloody nightmare it had been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Mannone not starting according to the guardian

Wouldn't be surprised if there's a few more surprise selections too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

HighClass wrote: »
    No idea what my team is going to be yet, I'll probably leave it till the last minute. 1 point behind in one of my leagues and 100 odd in the other one. Perfect ending would be winning them both :P

Edit:

Mannone
    Zab, Mert, Coleman
    Mata, Ramsey, Yaya, Barkley
    Suarez, Sturridge, Wilson

Taking a punt on Wilson, hoping that he'll get another start based on his last game and grabs another few goals.

Wilson doubtful with a knock according to the Guardian.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/may/09/southampton-manchester-united-match-preview

KevIRL wrote: »

No Brown in their line up either.

They also have Ramsey on the bench but Aguero, Mata and Hazard starting.

My sub keeper is Adrian :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

My sub keeper is f**king Marshall. That Mannone thing would be a nightmare. Anything more to it other than the Guardian?

Just like last week the main swing this week will likely be which players actually start. Total gamble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Squeaky Bum Time for me.

I'm top of my work league by 21pts. €400 at steak. I've Taken a -4 pt hit to get Sturridge and Dzeko in. Suarez captain.

Mannone
    Coleman - Ward - Zabelata
    Mata - YaYa - Sterling - Barkley

Fingers Crossed.

And still hoping West Ham do Liverpool a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

roryc wrote: »
    My sub keeper is f**king Marshall. That Mannone thing would be a nightmare. Anything more to it other than the Guardian?

Just like last week the main swing this week will likely be which players actually start. Total gamble.

Think its down to poyet saying he will rotate a bit for his last game in his friday presser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Whatever else, it's been some season, with bandwagons and surprises aplenty. Thanks to everyone for making the FSA a pleasure to hang out in; the mods for keeping things running smoothly and without rancour, everyone for the advice, encouragement and craic, and those who keep us all updated (big shout out to finnharpsboy).

May your captains score hat-tricks and your defenders get baps!

Think its down to poyet saying he will rotate a bit for his last game in his friday presser.

Think I'll have to stick with him. Chelsea haven't been too strong in attack so Marchall might get lucky or pick up some save points. Mannone's on cracking form though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Santi101

Speroni to come in if thats the case. Might not be a bad thing as i think my rival has mannone and kelvin davis as his keepers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

the last day of the season is a lottery in many ways.

especially today, as only 2 teams are really playing for anything.

It's why I'm taking no hits, and why 2pm is going to be hilarious.

My rival hasn't had a sub keeper all season, hasn't come back to bite him yet. If there is a God, please rest De Gea and Alonso. They should be just as much at risk as anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,872 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Baines in for a hit, madness maybe but last shot at beating my 64k rank of 12/13.

I'm not mentioning my transfer(s). And I will be making them at 11:28.

De Gea or Speroni?

Both 3/1 for clean sheet.

Jesus Christ. My rival has made his transfers. Four of them for a 12 point hit. Go hard or go home! This puts me back in the driving seat. His 7 point lead has now become my 5 point lead, although after that news I'll be making at least 2 transfers. His team will be top drawer after 4 though. Decision time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Neoulous

FHFC wrote: »
    No Brown in their line up either.

They also have Ramsey on the bench but Aguero, Mata and Hazard starting.

These guardians team sheets are a nightmare. My 3 Sunderland players and Ramsey benched. So is it worth going Ramsey -> Sterling for a 4 pts hit? Or a < £ 6m striker for Wickham?

Done.

Only question is whether to do play De Gea or Speroni.

And a niggling question about Ramsey to Sterling for a hit thanks to the poster above :)

One of my opponents went for Gerrard, one for Sterling, we all have Suarez so I decided after all then head wrecking to go for the obvious transfer of Rooney to Sturridge in the end, meaning we've three different Pool attackers fighting it out alongside Luis. May the jammiest bstd win! :)

306511.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

My sub keeper is Boruc.

Done.

Only question is whether to do play De Gea or Speroni.

And a niggling question about Ramsey to Sterling for a hit thanks to the poster above :)

One of my opponents went for Gerrard, one for Sterling, we all have Suarez so I decided after all then head wrecking to go for the obvious transfer of Rooney to Sturridge in the end, meaning we've three different Pool attackers fighting it out alongside Luis. May the jammiest bstd win! :)

De Gea or Speroni is a headwreck alright.

Regarding Ramsey -> Sterling. In your position, what about your opponents? Do they have Ramsey? If so you may as well go with your "differential" Sturridge over their Gerrard and Sterling. Otherwise you may "block" one of the 2 players by ditching Ramsey.

Can't remember if you're chasing or leading...

In my position my only goal is a green arrow to complete my wonderful streak. But these teamsheets got me very worried. Could be 5 players down and that's without accounting for Mata and Evra uncertainties...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Son0vagun wrote: »
    Squeaky Bum Time for me.

I'm top of my work league by 21pts. €400 at steak. I've Taken a -4 pt hit to get Sturridge and Dzeko in. Suarez captain.

Mannone
    Coleman - Ward - Zabelata
    Mata - YaYa - Sterling - Barkley

Fingers Crossed.

And still hoping West Ham do Liverpool a favour.

Good luck with that!
    I'd go for fillet if you're coming into money like that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Neoulous wrote: »
    These guardians team sheets are a nightmare. My 3 Sunderland players and Ramsey benched. So is it worth going Ramsey -> Sterling for a 4 pts hit? Or a < £ 6m striker for Wickham?

Wickham's had a niggling injury for weeks. With the pressure off, I figure he's unlikely to start. I took him out for Studge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭IsMiseMyself

Opponent has rather unexpectedly gone and made two transfers. Interesting. I think he might have shipped Silva out for Hazard (he's been hankering to bring Haz back in) and made turfed Vidic out aswell.

I *still* haven't made my changes. I can't quite bring myself to pull the trigger on Augero-->Dzeko even though Dzeko scares the bejaysus outta me and opponent has him.

EDIT: no. I've changed my mind. I'd say he downgraded Vidic and upgraded Lallana-->Hazard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Well today has finally arrived, the last day of the season. For some it couldn't come quick enough and for others they were only getting into their stride. Eitherway the season draws to a close today and it's been a pleasure to share it with ye, well except for anytime Yaya or Ramsey scored :pac:

I have nothing much to play for myself and have only been inside the top 100k once in the whole 37 GWs, and that was 97k while I'm currently around the 150k mark.

Today for me is all about one man, Michael Thomas Turner the one true hero. Like every hero he's had problems and like every hero he gets a shot at redemption. It's a sad day for the Mickey Turner Appreciation Society but I know he'll do his utmost to get a cleanie and grab a winning goal to go down swinging :)

As for my team I start with:

Mannone
    Cahill - Demi - Turner
    Mata - Arnautovic - Eriksen - Silva
    RVP - Aguero - Studge (c)

McGregor, Ramsey, Ward all sit on my bench as does -4.

So today's the day and it's the final countdown. May everyone have adequate fortune :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,466 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

there's going to be a lot of angry people who've taken hits at 2pm.

Wickham's had a niggling injury for weeks. With the pressure off, I figure he's unlikely to start. I took him out for Studge
    Right. Thanks for the news.

Got my previous calculation wrong. Have £6.5 m to spend for a striker. Other 2 are Suarez & Aguero. Who would you get? Is Kane a good idea?

Or what about Ramsey -> Sterling and Wickham -> Bony ?

De Gea or Speroni is a headwreck alright.

Regarding Ramsey -> Sterling. In your position, what about your opponents? Do they have Ramsey? If so you may as well go with your "differential" Sturridge over their Gerrard and Sterling. Otherwise you may "block" one of the 2 players by ditching Ramsey.

Can't remember if you're chasing or leading...

In my position my only goal is a green arrow to complete my wonderful streak. But these teamsheets got me very worried. Could be 5 players down and that's without accounting for Mata and Evra uncertainties...

3 points separate the three of us!

Both have Ramsey so decided to keep him in case he does play and go mad. He is Ramsey after all, we know what happens when you drop the fecker.

Mata, Sturridge and Zab my key differentials now. Sterling and Dzeko my danger men.

Seriously though: these last 38 weeks has flown. Though time, retroactively, has a way of doing that.

Even though I may very well lose my private league and I'm only ranked 50k, I've had great craic. Fantasy Football was a surprisingly excellent new hobby, but it wouldn't have been nearly as fun without Boards and the banter on here.

Right. Thanks for the news.

Got my previous calculation wrong. Have £6.5 m to spend for a striker. Other 2 are Suarez & Aguero. Who would you get? Is Kane a good idea?

Kane a decent shout probably at that money. Probably the only one.

Well today has finally arrived, the last day of the season. For some it couldn't come quick enough and for others they were only getting into their stride. Eitherway the season draws to a close today and it's been a pleasure to share it with ye, well except for anytime Yaya or Ramsey scored :pac:

I have nothing much to play for myself and have only been inside the top 100k once in the whole 37 GWs, and that was 97k while I'm currently around the 150k mark.

Today for me is all about one man, Michael Thomas Turner the one true hero. Like every hero he's had problems and like every hero he gets a shot at redemption. It's a sad day for the Mickey Turner Appreciation Society but I know he'll do his utmost to get a cleanie and grab a winning goal to go down swinging :)

As for my team I start with:

Mannone
    Cahill - Demi - Turner
    Mata - Arnautovic - Eriksen - Silva
    RVP - Aguero - Studge (c)

McGregor, Ramsey, Ward all sit on my bench as does -4.

So today's the day and it's the final countdown. May everyone have adequate fortune :)

I so love that you've benched Ramsey. You know what that means! 10 points at least for the Welsh Wizard. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,335 ✭✭✭✭km79

James Wilson not in united squad today

km79 wrote: »

What a waste of -4 hit he was. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Right so, after a few days in which Ryan Giggs and Yaya Toure combined to ensure that my season peters out like that of Spurs some months ago we've reached the final day and while I'll be missing it even tomorrow I know it's good to get a break. I'd love to break back into the top 10k tonight, should be safe inside the premier league for the boards H2H for the debut season.
    Well done and thanks to everyone who's contributed here over the season, the best fantasy football forum around by miles, this time next year there will be one of us going for the big prize:cool:

I've gone with the SAS for the first time, I just think that Liverpool will finish on a high no matter what happens at the Etihad. I'm playing Adam Johnson ahead of Puncheon and Ward ahead of Vidic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭shano_88

Amalfitano or Puncheon??

I've gone with the SAS for the first time, I just think that Liverpool will finish on a high no matter what happens at the Etihad. I'm playing Adam Johnson ahead of Puncheon and Ward ahead of Vidic.

Who's your third striker? Agreed that Pool will finish well. Could definitely see them scoring 5.

Having brought in Hazard, I fully expect him to be on the bench at 2pm.

SlickRic wrote: »
    there's going to be a lot of angry people who've taken hits at 2pm.

I've been saying the same all week. Hits are a huge lottery for the final day.

My 11 is picked. Now I'll just sit back and see what happens. No point whingeing, moaning, bitching, complaining etc.

Who's your third striker? Agreed that Pool will finish well. Could definitely see them scoring 5.

Aguero is the one making up the numbers:pac:, he should see some gametime today and shouldn't need much of it to do some damage. If he doesn't play at all I have Puncheon away to Fulham so that could work out OK.

I'm currently debating Aguero-->Dzeko. I can't bring myself so pull the trigger on it though. I've Amilfitano on the bench but I'm sure Aguero is a dead cert to play. And yet... :o

Madness if you ask me, Aguero is expected to start from all sources I've seen and if they are both on the pitch I know which one I'd want in my team(I hope I've made that obvious enough;))

Grand, but you're getting the blame if Aguero does nothing. :pac:

km79 wrote: »

1-0 to the Guardian!!