Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday 11th May

• 10-05-2014 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭

Sunday Pricewise

Muwaary and Galiway can help to make it pay

THERE was a lot of negative comment after the Guineas at Newmarket last week when the runners split into two groups. That made life difficult for jockeys and punters but there were no real hard-luck stories and I would much prefer that to what normally unfolds over the mile at Longchamp, writes Tom Segal.

Today we have the two French Guineas and every year we get false results. There are always loads of hard-luck stories, with runners being constantly hampered up the straight, and clearly it is not easy to win from a high draw.

It's always best to play safe and go for something drawn low, although that means placing a big emphasis on the bravery of your jockey. Hopefully, Paul Hanagan will be fully recovered from his nasty fall at Chester in the week and be at his best for Muwaary, who is an interesting longshot in the Poule d'Essai des Poulains (2.45).

At the start of the season I reckon the aim for Muwaary was to go to the Britannia at Royal Ascot, but so well did he win at Newbury on his reappearance that those plans have been shelved for a crack at this Group 1. It is a massive step up in class, but who knows how good this unbeaten colt may turn out to be and he did look good last time.

With that form looking strong and a nice draw in stall two, it is possible Muwaary can win what doesn't appear to be a particularly strong Group 1.

In the same race I also suggest having a few quid on Galiway. Andre Fabre brought just two juveniles to Britain last year - the first was last week's 1,000 Guineas winner Miss France and the other was this horse, who was second in heavy ground at Newbury.

The vibes before that race were that Galiway was the best colt in the Fabre yard - and he still could be. Don't worry that he got beaten in his trial as we saw how much Miss France improved for her first start. Provided the ground doesn't get too soft, today could be the day we see what Galiway is really made of.

Francois Doumen is best known for winning Cheltenham Gold Cups and Stayers' Hurdles rather than Flat Classics, but he is a brilliant trainer who only handles Flat horses these days and he looks to have a really good one in Xcellance.

In last month's Prix Imprudence, which was contested by most of the best French fillies including Miss France, Xcellance travelled well and quickened up nicely to beat a really fast rival in Vorda.

Given her pedigree I can't believe Xcellance isn't going to be even better over the mile of today's Poule d'Essai des Pouliches (2.08) and I'm hoping she can pick up the front-running Lesstalk In Paris close home.

The best of the British looks to be J Wonder on form, but if the ground is soft it could be that Frankie Dettori's mount Al Thakira runs a big race too. She was just behind J Wonder in what used to be the Fred Darling and if there is rain she could reverse the placings, although she is drawn wide while J Wonder is in stall one.

Snow Sky put in a perfectly acceptable Derby trial at Lingfield yesterday, and if he goes to Epsom he would have an each-way chance. Having said that, he will have to step up to beat Australia and True Story and a bigger clue might come in the Derrinstown Stud Derby Trial (3.55) at Leopardstown this afternoon.

All Aidan O'Brien's three-year-olds are improving massively for the run this season and so Geoffrey Chaucer is going to have to be extremely good to beat Fascinating Rock and Obliterator on his seasonal reappearance.

Today's bets

Xcellance
    2.08 Longchamp
    1pt win at 9-1 with Coral
    (15-2 with bet365)

Muwaary
    2.45 Longchamp
    1pt win at 12-1 with bet365 (11-1 with Betfred)

Galiway
    2.45 Longchamp
    1pt win at 9-1 with Boylesports (8-1 with Hills)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Thanks for posting as always

I rarely follow but I'm always curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Dalasiri is a big price at 16s i the handicap at Killarney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭bookman2

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Dalasiri is a big price at 16s i the handicap at Killarney

Yes it sure is looks well overpriced. What do u make of Kalanns chances?

bookman2 wrote: »

Very frustrating horse-probably has a win in him off a mark like this but this is a hot race. Not for me but he could go well. I wouldn't necessarily put you off him but he probably should have more wins than he does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Will be backing Little King Robin in the 3.10 at Killarney. Ran a blinder last time out and this looks easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Ellie Mia in the 2.40 Killarney has good form behind Margo last time out and that horse went on to win again at the Punchestown festival. Around 3/1 in most places

Johner wrote: »
    Will be backing Little King Robin in the 3.10 at Killarney. Ran a blinder last time out and this looks easier.

Took the 3/1 earlier, hopefully she wins anyway as we own her dam.

Took a chance on Elliptique here at Longchamp

Look at the weather at Longchamp. Bucketing down

Lads is the clock on ATR wrong or did they go off slightly early there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

I reckon Paul Nolan's cat could run in the bumper at Killarney and give a good account of himself given the form the yard has been in the last few days but with a tissue price of 20\1, kennady looks to have been over bet into 2\1 fav imo .Ive backed Dr Waluigi ew and win @ 8\1.The same trainer/jockey/owner combo won this last yr with The Winkler and the horse has already put in a similar decent prep run which should have him spot on for today. Good luck today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Done a Guineas double of Indonesienne and Galiway. Think they both ran good trials in the Grotte and the fontainebleu respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Bentelimar 2nd race at Killarney if money down will win looks to have plenty of gears if wants to use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Done a Guineas double of Indonesienne and Galiway. Think they both ran good trials in the Grotte and the fontainebleu respectively.

Have backed indonesienne as well. Also fancy galiway

Why can't ATR show Killarney before Longchamp. Wankbags.

Oh there's no pictures from Killarney. Listening to Dessie on commentary you wouldn't have a clue what's going to win. He's ****ing useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Technical difficulties with the feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Bentelimar 2nd race at Killarney if money down will win looks to have plenty of gears if wants to use them.

Fair play.

Good man Ludlow. :rolleyes:

Off and running
    Storm Alert already detached, jumped the first slowly
    Barton Stacey leads
    Hayjack lies second
    Cloudy Bob third
    Copper Birch, One Conemara & Sin Bin prominent
    Smadynium makes mistake
    Barton Stacey leads
    Cloudy Bob lies second
    Hayjack third
    Gallery Exhibition, One Conemara & Sin Bin prominent
    Copper Birch makes mistake
    Barton Stacey & Hayjack disputing
    Cloudy Bob third
    Copper Birch racing lazily
    Barton Stacey leads
    Hayjack lies second
    Cloudy Bob third
    One Conemara & Sin Bin prominent
    Smadynium making headway
    Hayjack leads
    Cloudy Bob lies second
    Sin Bin third
    Big Casino & One Conemara prominent
    Barton Stacey losing ground
    Hayjack leads
    One Conemara going well
    Hayjack leads
    Cloudy Bob lies second
    Sin Bin third
    Smadynium next
    Copper Birch running abysmally, he's pulling up
    Hayjack leads
    Cloudy Bob lies second
    Sin Bin third
    One Conemara this is bizarre, the race is being stopped
    VOID RACE - the starter was apparently waving his flag
    all bets will be refunded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Good man Ludlow. :rolleyes:

Off and running
    Storm Alert already detached, jumped the first slowly
    Barton Stacey leads
    Hayjack lies second
    Cloudy Bob third
    Copper Birch, One Conemara & Sin Bin prominent
    Smadynium makes mistake
    Barton Stacey leads
    Cloudy Bob lies second
    Hayjack third
    Gallery Exhibition, One Conemara & Sin Bin prominent
    Copper Birch makes mistake
    Barton Stacey & Hayjack disputing
    Cloudy Bob third
    Copper Birch racing lazily
    Barton Stacey leads
    Hayjack lies second
    Cloudy Bob third
    One Conemara & Sin Bin prominent
    Smadynium making headway
    Hayjack leads
    Cloudy Bob lies second
    Sin Bin third
    Barton Stacey losing ground
    Hayjack leads
    One Conemara going well
    Hayjack leads
    Cloudy Bob lies second
    Sin Bin third
    Smadynium next
    Copper Birch running abysmally, he's pulling up
    Hayjack leads
    Cloudy Bob lies second
    Sin Bin third
    One Conemara this is bizarre, the race is being stopped
    VOID RACE - the starter was apparently waving his flag
    all bets will be refunded

Was wondering what had happened, gob****es should be got rid of, flag waving tools that just like a bit of power ffs what difference would someone starting a few yards behind the pack make in a 3 mile race :mad:

Disappointing not able to watch it but sounded like she bolted up by about 15 lengths. Get in. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Cheers, was looking for a horse to make up a treble in shop this morning, god bless you and boylesports free Wifi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

How many graded/listed races is that for Weld this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Ebanoran 3.55 8-1 ew
    I think it will keep closer tabs on leader this time and challenge for victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Ridiculous strike rate Weld has at the moment. Well done anyone here that has got on Fascinating Rock @ 3's in next. Think seen some of yous did the other day.

Princess Aloof 20-1 ew 4.20
    The better ground should improve it's performance . Ran a decent race two back over this trip. Intensical who finished 12 lengths behind her that day went on to win a similar race to this.

Ebanoran 3.55 8-1 ew
    I think it will keep closer tabs on leader this time and challenge for victory.

Knew it would be hard to pass if it got in lead.

Smullen should not have let it steal a few lengths . Should of known Ebanoran keeps on.

Knew it would be hard to pass if it got in lead.

Shout!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Dubron

Princess Aloof 20-1 ew 4.20
    The better ground should improve it's performance . Ran a decent race two back over this trip. Intensical who finished 12 lengths behind her that day went on to win a similar race to this.

Fancy this myself, getting the 3yo and fillies allowances and Corby is the one of the best claimers in the country, unbelievable value for his 7 lbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Dubron wrote: »
    Fancy this myself, getting the 3yo and fillies allowances and Corby is the one of the best claimers in the country, unbelievable value for his 7 lbs.

Got on e/w @ 16's myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

I don't really like this summer jumps craic but I was sure Bonobo in the next at Ludlow would be odds on or close to it. Currently 7/4 with Broadway buffalo the favourite.

Has a penalty to carry but I don't think this race will take much winning even with McCoy on the fav

It's almost bomb proof!! Should take all the beating.

They reversed that leopardstown race in the end. Probably the right call.

Ebanoran will most likely come on from that though and you wouldn't be taking short odds on fascinating rock if they met again.

Ebanoran has lost his 1st place to fascinating rock .

Unlucky!

kiers47 wrote: »
    I don't really like this summer jumps craic but I was sure Bonobo in the next at Ludlow would be odds on or close to it. Currently 7/4 with Broadway buffalo the favourite.

Has a penalty to carry but I don't think this race will take much winning even with McCoy on the fav

It's almost bomb proof!! Should take all the beating.

The prices here are way out. Gone in again at 2s gonna be a really good day or a day where I will regret looking at a ****e Ludlow card!!!

That's what I get for looking at these bad jumping cards!! Wasn't even in first 3 after trading about 8/11 in the run.

Starchitect was making ground while Marakoush was losing it last time out, at 11-1
    I fancy Starchitect to place at least
    11-1 ew 5.25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Starchitect was making ground while Marakoush was losing it last time out, at 11-1
    I fancy Starchitect to place at least
    11-1 ew 5.25

Was thinking of backing this earlier, shaped reasonably well lto.. but 2 places.. no thanks.
    G'luck.

O Brien runner really strong usually a good sign for them!!

Bit of a boil over there. O briens runner ran a nice introductory I thought. Will certainly win a maiden of this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

kiers47 wrote: »
    They reversed that leopardstown race in the end. Probably the right call.

Ebanoran will most likely come on from that though and you wouldn't be taking short odds on fascinating rock if they met again.
    Geoffrey Chaucer is probably the horse to take out of the race, he was conceding 3lbs and interfered with twice in running in a very slowly run race ( 12.45 seconds slow ) and not beaten far. He was eased down after not finding room when going for the finish with Fascinating Rock and he was easy to back in the market. O'Brien stated earlier this week that he'd be better in the second half of the season, so that was a very promising run.

There's a lot of stamina in his pedigree, the Grand Prix De Paris and Leger look like likely targets for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I was very happy to back Geoffrey Chaucer for the Derby at 25s after watching the Derrinstown a few times on Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭bookman2

bookman2 wrote: »

Disappointing run from dalasiri stopped very quickly. Kalann ran slightly better but probably needs to drop a few pounds to be competitive again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

BumperD wrote: »
    I reckon Paul Nolan's cat could run in the bumper at Killarney and give a good account of himself given the form the yard has been in the last few days but with a tissue price of 20\1, kennady looks to have been over bet into 2\1 fav imo .Ive backed Dr Waluigi ew and win @ 8\1.The same trainer/jockey/owner combo won this last yr with The Winkler and the horse has already put in a similar decent prep run which should have him spot on for today. Good luck today.

Couldn't see race but from commentary was up there throughout but faded quite tamely at the business end.