Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NUI Maynooth myths/legends rumors

• 10-05-2014 4:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭

I've been reading about rumors of tunnels under UCD and Trinity. Does anyone know of any weird or creepy locations, rumors or myths about NUIM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

Rumour has it that there was, once, a brave yet bearded young man who took it upon himself to refrain from his ritual of getting down on Friday to, instead, use his uncanny orienteering skills to guide fellow students to the almost impenetrable and oft forgotten Lower Loftus wherein they could sit their examinations. Lo, it was said that there was video evidence to support this rumour but, as with all rumours of mystical creatures, the footage is blurry somewhat inaudible and open to scrutiny from the public. Many source the discrepancies in the time line of the footage, stating that it seems to change speed for no apparent reason thus lending credence that to the idea that the footage itself may be doctored.

Many, however, argue for the validity of the footage, claiming to have seen the individual in person. Witness accounts seem to differ in their frequency but some common factors emerge. The individual often regales the witness with some stories that, for legal reasons and frankly I was more than a little drunk when I heard them, can not be repeated here. The individual is always bearded, suggesting some tribal element to the garb, perhaps explaining the behaviour and found footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

The notion its easy to get into second year Psychology through arts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

1. That particular Friday was four years ago.

Thwip! wrote:
    Rumour has it that there was, once, a brave yet bearded young man who took it upon himself to refrain from his ritual of getting down on Friday to, instead, use his uncanny orienteering skills to guide fellow students to the almost impenetrable and oft forgotten Lower Loftus wherein they could sit their examinations. Lo, it was said that there was video evidence to support this rumour but, as with all rumours of mystical creatures, the footage is blurry somewhat inaudible and open to scrutiny from the public. Many source the discrepancies in the time line of the footage, stating that it seems to change speed for no apparent reason thus lending credence that to the idea that the footage itself may be doctored.

Many, however, argue for the validity of the footage, claiming to have seen the individual in person. Witness accounts seem to differ in their frequency but some common factors emerge. The individual often regales the witness with some stories that, for legal reasons and frankly I was more than a little drunk when I heard them, can not be repeated here. The individual is always bearded, suggesting some tribal element to the garb, perhaps explaining the behaviour and found footage.

And he sure did have a great f**king time in college.

There's a murder-myster thriller type book actually set in Maynooth, but I cannot for the life of me remember the title. It has a type of bird in there, possibly raven or crow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭smiles302

You're thinking of "The Rule Book" by Rob Kitchin :) the killer in it calls himself the Raven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

One time a crazy priest saw "the devil" and jumped out a window thats now part of the geography dept afik

Theres actually a farm on campus !

Logic House when it rains:

10246545_699119193482493_4498837024244190276_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

The legend of the North Campus swimming pool :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭QuadLeo

The legend of the banned rag week event - Bladder Bursters. Legend tells of an event so disgusting and unnecessary that it was banned after the first year. From what I can gather the event consisted of £5 cover charge into the SU. The doors are shut. Free bar until somebody goes to pee. Hilarity ensues. I was told that after 2/3 hours somebody had to go and so everybody else followed and it led to 300+ people trying to find a place to pee at the same time. Gas craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

Haha - great idea!
    Surely one could have sort sort of 'p!ss apparatus' down ones trouser leg though? Hmmm, might be a bit more difficult and require more sellotape for us laydees though.

banquo wrote: »
    Logic House when it rains:

10246545_699119193482493_4498837024244190276_n.jpg

I've a tutorial there every Wednesday and every Wednesday without fail it rains on my way over and on my way back to North Campus. Man I love Wednesdays !

smiles302 wrote: »
    You're thinking of "The Rule Book" by Rob Kitchin :) the killer in it calls himself the Raven.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Onanon

There are servants tunnels under a fair bit of the South Campus. Some have been fenced off, but if you are brave enough, you can still explore some of them.

Onanon wrote: »
    There are servants tunnels under a fair bit of the South Campus. Some have been fenced off, but if you are brave enough, you can still explore some of them.

Really ?! Where ?

There's a small building opposite the entrance to the museum. There's a set of stairs that lead to a cellar. If you can get into the cellar, you'll see one of the tunnels. Bring a torch. It's pitch black. It may be fenced off at this point, and the cellar itself might be padlocked, but check it out.

Outside the Pugin canteen, there's a small tunnel, but it's not really worth exploring. South Campus is full of interesting places and ruins. Then of course there are the more modern dungeons in the new Arts building and Hume.

Another one to check out is the ruins of Laraghbryan, in a modern cemetery very close to Maynooth. It's out the Kilcock road, about 1km. There is a church and tower that you can climb. The tower has a noticeable lean, but you can still get up the ruined staircase. The monastery that stood here dates back to the 6th century, but was abandoned in the 1700s.

I heard a rumour that there was a tunnel linking it to the castle, but I never found it.

There's a small building opposite the entrance to the museum. There's a set of stairs that lead to a cellar. If you can get into the cellar, you'll see one of the tunnels. Bring a torch. It's pitch black. It may be fenced off at this point, and the cellar itself might be padlocked, but check it out.

Outside the Pugin canteen, there's a small tunnel, but it's not really worth exploring. South Campus is full of interesting places and ruins. Then of course there are the more modern dungeons in the new Arts building and Hume.

Another one to check out is the ruins of Laraghbryan, in a modern cemetery very close to Maynooth. It's out the Kilcock road, about 1km. There is a church and tower that you can climb. The tower has a noticeable lean, but you can still get up the ruined staircase. The monastery that stood here dates back to the 6th century, but was abandoned in the 1700s.

I heard a rumour that there was a tunnel linking it to the castle, but I never found it.

Is that the buildings around the garden ?

The arts building is definitely not new :pac:

aaabbbb wrote: »
    Is that the buildings around the garden ?

The arts building is definitely not new :pac:

As you walk from the museum to humanity house, it's on your left. Humanity house also has a few cellars you can get into.

I meant Iontas, been gone a while now! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

I know where that tunnel is, mwahaha!
    It's closed and padlocked now and no-one larger than the average 12 year old would fit through the tunnel.

As you walk from the museum to humanity house, it's on your left. Humanity house also has a few cellars you can get into.

I meant Iontas, been gone a while now! :)

I know the iontas one. I've never been in it though , I've always wondered its purpose :pac:

To bring speakers on stage :D

That just gave me the image of you sneaking in with a bunch of sub woofers and casually wheeling them onto the stage and doing a rap version of the now infamous friday song you did to the tune of jump around in the middle of a lecture :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

There was a story that I heard years back and it's still doing the rounds about some lad that got scurvy and nearly died because all he lived off was Guinness and porridge. Anyone else hear that?

Also, is the OP the self-titled Phantom Sh!tter? Because if you are, that sh!t's not cool, man. Just putting it out there, that carry on isn't impressing anybody!

I've always wondered this and while I'm here I suppose I'll ask....

What's the deal with that man that always goes around campus in shorts and sandals. He has crutches and appears to have something wrong with his legs as they're very large and swollen looking. He also usually has a big shopping bag filled with papers/what appears to be rubbish. Most commonly he's seen in the arts block PACR on the computers in there or walking to/from said PACR.

What's his deal ? he doesn't appear to be student/staff yet he still has a login ?

I've heard loads of stories but most have sounded too far fetched to be true !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

University mascot perhaps, if not lets adopt him for this purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

What's the deal with that man that always goes around campus in shorts and sandals. He has crutches and appears to have something wrong with his legs as they're very large and swollen looking. He also usually has a big shopping bag filled with papers/what appears to be rubbish. Most commonly he's seen in the arts block PACR on the computers in there or walking to/from said PACR.

What's his deal ? he doesn't appear to be student/staff yet he still has a login ?

He used to be a technician in the Chemistry dept. Think he had some sort of breakdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

Is this the guy whose trousers were very loose fitting and would often a bit too much?

Thwip! wrote: »
    Is this the guy whose trousers were very loose fitting and would often a bit too much?

Erm yeah sometimes but I don't look that much so I haven't noticed it too much

He always always always wears shorts and sandals and has mid-length greyish hair

He's a resident of a special home near to the university. They give him a login for the computers so he can do his thing. He's completely harmless.

He is not a former student / professor / genuis mathematician went mad.

Well that's no fun.
    Wizard even?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,036 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Who's this "phantom shitter" guy?

A very disgusting and disturbed individual

He's a resident of a special home near to the university. They give him a login for the computers so he can do his thing. He's completely harmless.

He is not a former student / professor / genuis mathematician went mad.

He is a former technician though.

Some person (presumably male) that has left masses of fecal matter in various men's toilets around campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

There was a story that I heard years back and it's still doing the rounds about some lad that got scurvy and nearly died because all he lived off was Guinness and porridge. Anyone else hear that?

Also, is the OP the self-titled Phantom Sh!tter? Because if you are, that sh!t's not cool, man. Just putting it out there, that carry on isn't impressing anybody!

John Gormley told us that story at induction ten years ago. Apparently the guy kept a weeks supply of porridge in his fridge (made up Sunday evening), which subsequently went rancid by Thursday and gave him scurvy.

Ostrom wrote: »
    John Gormley told us that story at induction ten years ago. Apparently the guy kept a weeks supply of porridge in his fridge (made up Sunday evening), which subsequently went rancid by Thursday and gave him scurvy.

It wouldn't be the porridge going off sure it'd be the lack of vitamin c in his diet if he really got scurvy.

Still, five day old porridge (if my maths are correct and I suspect they may not be) sounds like a recipe for disaster. Guaranteed he was heating the whole pot each time. Gent.

ynZ6d5T.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

I think it was just to frighten us into food safety awareness. My undergraduate diet of half-frozen steak and pot noodle suggests otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭metrosity

Coul've sworn I heard something about a hidden wine cellar somewhere in the beautiful old campus. Miss the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

why does the gardener were shorts and football socks and steel toe boots in December and January? also how the heck arnt lads freezing walking around in tee shirts in middle of winter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Westeros

Where is the most accessible tunnel? Worth a look?
    I've only heard the age old story of they guy who jumped out the window after seeing the devil in the mirror. After guy number 3 jumped out the window they decided to get rid of the room. Took a trip into Rhetoric House, found the room and the apparent blood stain. Not too sure if I can believe that one though! :D

Westeros wrote: »
    Where is the most accessible tunnel? Worth a look?
    I've only heard the age old story of they guy who jumped out the window after seeing the devil in the mirror. After guy number 3 jumped out the window they decided to get rid of the room. Took a trip into Rhetoric House, found the room and the apparent blood stain. Not too sure if I can believe that one though! :D

The tunnel is padlocked up, you can't get near it!
    Apparently there is evidence to suggest this is a true story, it's been doing the rounds for years. Every year (as a tour guide!) we tell the first years. It's inevitable that it will get twisted and warped with each telling and interpretation of, but I really do believe it.

kellief wrote: »
    The tunnel is padlocked up, you can't get near it!
    Apparently there is evidence to suggest this is a true story, it's been doing the rounds for years. Every year (as a tour guide!) we tell the first years. It's inevitable that it will get twisted and warped with each telling and interpretation of, but I really do believe it.

Yeah thats where I heard it! Also on the Halloween tour, that was quite interesting. I know the guy that was doing the tour (at the end) said that some stories were of course made up but he did tell the story of the guy in Rhetoric House quite well. Thats how we got to view the room in Rhetoric House :)

Westeros wrote: »
    Yeah thats where I heard it! Also on the Halloween tour, that was quite interesting. I know the guy that was doing the tour (at the end) said that some stories were of course made up but he did tell the story of the guy in Rhetoric House quite well. Thats how we got to view the room in Rhetoric House :)

I was on that tour too. It was brilliant! I heard Joe was writing a book but never anything since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

kellief wrote: »
    I was on that tour too. It was brilliant! I heard Joe was writing a book but never anything since

They did: http://www.amazon.com/Walking-Ghost-Stories-Maynooth-College/dp/1470992892/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1402866289&sr=8-1&keywords=maynooth+ghost

Anybody find these since returning in September? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Xscreamokidx

I'll have a look later on the way to the pool, I'll take a few pics if I find them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Xscreamokidx

Is this the cellar? There's no padlock or anything, just a bolt that you can open, the only thing that's holding it shut is a rusty metal wire. If someone really wanted to explore it they could just cut the wire