Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local and european elections

• 10-05-2014 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭

If any of the candidates make it to the front door, what will you be bringing up with them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Lambofdave wrote: »
    If any of the candidates make it to the front door, what will you be bringing up with them?

I want pp for two holiday homes beside a lake . The first one to get it will get my vote ! I'm not holding out alot of hope though .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Commonage framework plan
    GLAS
    Sheep grassland payment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

There several points on local level from property tax to roads etc.
    On European level, doubt we see any of them around my area as none of them or their associates called before.
    Apart from letting them know our feelings etc, do many of us genuinely think they going to do anything about our issues. Found leaflet one local candidate, who was subsequently elected last time out. Could show them how many of their promises they didn't keep.
    But as he said it wasn't all his fault.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭huey1975

If that comic book antihero Ming makes it to my door I will ask him why he couldn't keep his mouth shut about the penalty points. I always appreciated the way the ordinary otherwise law abiding citizen could ask his local friendly cop to sort out trivial little matters like no tax , speeding , seat belts, and using the mobile phone until Mick Wallace who didn't pay his VAT and Ming the drug user had the ruin it for everyone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

I will be voting fine gael in regardless of what they promise. dairy farming is going better now than when fianna fail were in and we had the celtic tiger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I will be voting fine gael in regardless of what they promise. dairy farming is going better now than when fianna fail were in and we had the celtic tiger.

My grandmother and grandfather when they were alive always maintained FF were for the farmers.

And the builders and anyone else they could pull a few quid out of

moy83 wrote: »

Suppose they would have been referring to the old days.
    Wonder will fg stay in next time around. FF will do something to get themselves back in

Suppose they would have been referring to the old days.
    Wonder will fg stay in next time around. FF will do something to get themselves back in

Different times no doubt , I'm glad our grandfather's never met mine was FG and by god they took their politics to heart back then :D

I think we've all changed in my family. All more or less FG.
    Farmer I did my second placement with us a big FG man and well known too. His cousin is in the seanad. He nearly ran me from the yard on my interview when I told him my family were big FF supporters :D

I think we've all changed in my family. All more or less FG.
    Farmer I did my second placement with us a big FG man and well known too. His cousin is in the seanad. He nearly ran me from the yard on my interview when I told him my family were big FF supporters :D

Aswell not mentioning what side you are on in an inteview :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I don't think I have ever NOT voted but I have to say, reluctantly, that I've never in my life had as little interest in a campaign as this one.
    I simply can't bring myself to giving a Fcuk about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I just hate party politics full stop, whole thing is just an election machine, whatever party has the deeper pockets gets in in general. Once they are in it all boils back to a gravy train of fat pensions, expenses etc etc. Main problem with independents is there isn't enough of them to make any real difference, and after the bunch of idiots we have in the dail at the sec (wallace, ming), independents will be even less popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

As my grand father would say FF was the workers and small farmers and the blue shirts were for big farmers and merchants. I doubt it has changed much.

To be honest I don't see much difference between them only real difference is the colour of their posters. That said Brian Crowley has his in blue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Last fella that came to the door I asked him what was my vote worth in €'s...needless to say I'm no better off for it :rolleyes: There's a fella running married to my girlfriends aunt, he'll have to get number 1 I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭grimbergen

I always understood it as ICMSA = FF and IFA = FG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

huey1975 wrote: »
    If that comic book antihero Ming makes it to my door I will ask him why he couldn't keep his mouth shut about the penalty points. I always appreciated the way the ordinary otherwise law abiding citizen could ask his local friendly cop to sort out trivial little matters like no tax , speeding , seat belts, and using the mobile phone until Mick Wallace who didn't pay his VAT and Ming the drug user had the ruin it for everyone.

Ah yes them was the days when you could even get away with the odd murder just so long as you were otherwise law abiding.
    I can't say I agree with mings points or anyboy else's being quashed or that I would disagree if the same happened with my own. That said I don't think he ruined it for everyone. If you get points because garda x said you were breaking the traffic laws you should take your punishment unless you are cleared of the offence in court. Garda y shouldn't be able to overrule garda x because he knows you.
    How about the shinners for Europe. I think they are the least pro-Europe party and on that basis they might (though probably not) actually not kiss the fuhrer sorry chancellors posterior and instead stand up for this country.
    I know that standing up for the country is of course pointless as we have to be good little boys and girls and do what we're told anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

The roads are in total **** around my parish. Fix them and get my vote. They don't have any power to do anything else

Marian Harkin will be getting my no.1 for MEP, I know of some of the work she has done for small farmers and it's a credit to her, including bringing farmers out to Europe.

Will possibly give Ming a mention.

Looking through the list of candidates I may just stop at the two preferences.

I'll have to research Jim Higgins a bit more, could be doing him a disservice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

well mairead mcguinness sickens my ar•e. She is no more for the farmers. Full of sh1t. Take out an ad now and again in journal to say Europe is tightening purse strings....

went to college in Galway same time as Ming. Remember him standing for local elections in Galway at the time and getting 12 votes. Never thought he would be in the dail.
    think the Galway people had it right.
    he is a tool. Full of soundbites and producing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 jcb411abuser

fine gael get my vote, i like how they believe the only way forward is to work profitably. there is an independent here who's slogan is people before profit, if the eegit focused a bit mor eon profit they might be able to afford to help more people. main thing is really hate are those who say "if i get in i'll strongly oppose........" if your plan to change the country is only to stop other people doing things then i have no interest in you, the country needs to get things sorted out and if everybody just said no to everything how can we move forwards and get out of our situation, we need people to make the hard decisions so we can get back on track again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Will never vote for Fine Gael, they were woeful with CAP reform unless on high payments, promised to not legislate for the X case and showed how they had no principles with dictator Enda not allowing an dissent in what was a matter of conscious.
    Micheal Martin is a useless leader.
    Sinn Fein, well I would need a brain transplant.
    Labour, led by former workers party man who supported the Soviet Union, Kim Il Sung of North Korea and people like Mao of China, a former colleague of Gilmore, Rabbite and co wanted by the US for working with the North Korean in trying to flood the world with high class fake $100 bills.
    Green, pollute the airwaves with something that isn't proven - yes to less pollution, no to taxing what is not yet proven.
    People before profit - their belief is if you or I make money, it should be taken and given to those who can't be bothered.

I hope government parties are destroyed but enough people seem to still want to vote for them despite the lies and support of people who commit crime (Mick Wallace leak on primetime) like the justice minister.

Politicians are consistent in failing us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

the only interest ff had in farming was building concrete jungles on some of the best agricultural land available , most of which now provide safe nesting grounds for the swallows when they come ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It's the legal littering that gets me.

Poles everywhere covered in election posters, not to mention the big ones stuck to pallets. They are unsightly and potentially hazardous to motorists by diverting their eyes off the road.

I don't want your (political candidates) sh*t flyers thrown in my letterbox. I don't read them and it's costing me to dispose of them.

I also don't want your friends that know jacksh*t about your policies calling to my house and ringing my doorbell continously while I'm trying to have my dinner after a day's work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Muckit wrote: »
    It's the legal littering that gets me.

Poles everywhere covered in election posters, not to mention the big ones stuck to pallets. They are unsightly and potentially hazardous to motorists by diverting their eyes off the road.

I don't want your (political candidates) sh*t flyers thrown in my letterbox. I don't read them and it's costing me to dispose of them.

I also don't want you calling to my house and ringing my doorbell continously while I'm trying to have my dinner after a day's work.

Watching the Giro d'Italia, and the politicians hadn't the decency to have it litter free.

Just catching up with the election debate on prime time. I will stick with my decision for Harkin 1, Ming 2. I wonder how some of the others got as far as the debate. The FF lad is an absolute liability for them, opening question he's constantly nodding his head as Miriam is condemning him with her question lol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 243 ✭✭allbuiz

Just catching up with the election debate on prime time. I will stick with my decision for Harkin 1, Ming 2. I wonder how some of the others got as far as the debate. The FF lad is an absolute liability for them, opening question he's constantly nodding his head as Miriam is condemning him with her question lol.

What would Ming or Harkin do if the got it? Ming would be straight to Amsterdam rather than Brussels I reckon.

What was the TD's name that is brining an anti competition law regarding the live trade of cattle to UK?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 save_me_some

so you appreciated the " pull with a guard " factor

wallace showed great courage throughout that whole scandal , without him and clare daly ( who <MOD Snip> tried to stitch up ) , shatter would still be there

corrupt <MOD Snip> ( and their are tonnes of them ) might be useful for some but they have caused plenty of hardship to many innocent folk

allbuiz wrote: »
    What would Ming or Harkin do if the got it? Ming would be straight to Amsterdam rather than Brussels I reckon.

What was the TD's name that is brining an anti competition law regarding the live trade of cattle to UK?

Both straight talkers with brains to back it up, unafraid to upset the applecart, unbound by a whip system, those qualities have a value in themselves. Very different people, who hold some views important to me.

Harkin a particularly hard worker, and demonstrably interested in the plight of the less well off farmer in the old Connacht/Ulster constituency. She has earned 1 from me.

Ming has impressed me with the penalty points issue, also with how he handled leaders questions with Kenny, whom I am presently disgusted with.

I do believe Ming to be more valuable at home in Ireland, but if he's wanting to go to Europe I'm willing to take a leap of faith and put 2 beside his name.

I've watched the debate and gone through the candidates and I've no problem stopping voting at 2.

Lorraine Higgins and Ronan Mullen did impress me to a degree but I've difficulties with voting for either, to say different would be to lie about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

[MOD]

Please keep this thread at an appropriate level.

[/MOD]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 save_me_some

Both straight talkers with brains to back it up, unafraid to upset the applecart, unbound by a whip system, those qualities have a value in themselves. Very different people, who hold some views important to me.

Harkin a particularly hard worker, and demonstrably interested in the plight of the less well off farmer in the old Connacht/Ulster constituency. She has earned 1 from me.

Ming has impressed me with the penalty points issue, also with how he handled leaders questions with Kenny, whom I am presently disgusted with.

I do believe Ming to be more valuable at home in Ireland, but if he's wanting to go to Europe I'm willing to take a leap of faith and put 2 beside his name.

I've watched the debate and gone through the candidates and I've no problem stopping voting at 2.

Lorraine Higgins and Ronan Mullen did impress me to a degree but I've difficulties with voting for either, to say different would be to lie about it.

im not religous but id have time for ronan mullen , the media in ireland is insufferably liberal and he is usually well able to hold his own , i realise that a very significant percentage of the population are still socially conservative and mullen is one of the few who can represent them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

In Europe I will be giving Marian Harkin no I and prob leave it at that,has done a lot of excellent work out there for social iniatives on rural areas and smaller farmers for last few years,like of Pat the Cope Gallagher need to be carted off to a nursing home,not re-elected;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

everyone is entitled to their opinion and i agree with you on Marian harkin but can i ask you, how many of most mings election promises has he actually come through on. He is an intelligent buck no doubt but I honestly cant see past his populist rhetoric. As regards the penalty points thing, i didn't think he covered himself in glory there either. He used it for points scoring only imo. At the moment he is banging on about ballinasloe hospital closing the maternity wing and that its a shame - well he is in the Dail, why not act on it instead of posting on Facebook how its awful.

TUBBY wrote: »
    everyone is entitled to their opinion and i agree with you on Marian harkin but can i ask you, how many of most mings election promises has he actually come through on. He is an intelligent buck no doubt but I honestly cant see past his populist rhetoric. As regards the penalty points thing, i didn't think he covered himself in glory there either. He used it for points scoring only imo. At the moment he is banging on about ballinasloe hospital closing the maternity wing and that its a shame - well he is in the Dail, why not act on it instead of posting on Facebook how its awful.

I don't live in Roscommon so I don't know what promises he made there, I'm not giving you a short answer I'm giving you an honest one. He had his own issues with points I believe, but to be fair to him if any of us was caught by the law doing something we shouldn't be, and got the chance to be let off? I know I'm not perfect. I think the people involved in the penalty points issue have done the country good in that respect.

Like I said, he is a leap of faith for me, while Harkin has earned my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Mairead McGuinness will probably get my only vote for Europe. She knows what she's doing, is very highly regarded over there and if you ask her something you'll get a straight answer (though I've never seen her on the campaign trail and they are all different beasts when they want votes)

As for the Local elections I will vote for the 3 local candidates.

Local and European Elections are different to General elections. The person is more important than the party.

Using local and EU elections to protest against national issues is silly IMO. And when the general election comes round people will vote on local issues :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

SF appear to hold all the aces at the moment a lot of voters it seems want to kick the present governments ass but will not vote FF so they are in a strong position to pick up a lot of these votes.harkin and mcguinness for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Yes, some irony there, but sometimes the best gamekeeper is a converted poacher. Not defending them either. Do you want the laws governing those trivial matters abolished for everybody or just for the friends of friendly cops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

I want pp for two holiday homes beside a lake . The first one to get it will get my vote ! I'm not holding out alot of hope though .

Would you think of employing a professional and going to the planning authority?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,218 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

i have never seen so many election posters they are everywhere. Will be interesting to see will they all come down within the specified time frame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I think it's important to remember that these are seven year posts. I can't see Pat the Cope nor TJ Fay being there for that duration. I thought McGuinness commanded the stage on Prime Time, experienced and capable of making a point.
    As for Ming I just can't quite decide if he's really clever or really a tool so I just couldn't vote for him. Overall I thought they were a poor selection of candidates and McGuinness and Harkin will get a vote from me and that's about it.

As for local elections here there is a young FF member here Niamh Smith, already a councillor who has been working tirelessly since last elected for all sides of our community and she'll get my no1. Personally I look at individuals rather than party politics.

feargale wrote: »
    Would you think of employing a professional and going to the planning authority?

Are you offering your service there feargale ? I will have to use an engineer or architect but if one of the elected had a good relationship with the planners it would be a help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Firstly im not voting left or independant. Labour and Sinn Fein would like to see all of us hard working folk taxed to the rafters to distribute to our colleagues who "cant find jobs". Also increments still exist in the public service with feck all growth in the economy??? I dont mind FG but Coveney protecting the large SFPs in my opinion was wrong. FF all the way

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Firstly im not voting left or independant. Labour and Sinn Fein would like to see all of us hard working folk taxed to the rafters to distribute to our colleagues who "cant find jobs". Also increments still exist in the public service with feck all growth in the economy??? I dont mind FG but Coveney protecting the large SFPs in my opinion was wrong. FF all the way
    you have a short memory, not as long as i live would i ever vote ff, but each to their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

need to be carted off to a nursing home,not re-elected;)

I'm voting in my area for the first time as finally moved my vote from where I grew up and am shocked by the age of candidates, theres hardly one under 70 and no women (I jest not, not one female women on a poster in the area). Its like the 50's :D

Had one caller thats it, asked him what he stood for 'Representation and Independent voice' asked ever been a member of a party. After huming and hawing he said was elected FF last time and didn't get the nomination this time, what a muppet.

Bit stunned by SF as well all these local small business men running for SF in areas near us, do they not know what SF policies are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

whelan2 wrote: »
    you have a short memory, not as long as i live would i ever vote ff, but each to their own

We all know they made a mess of the country, but to be honest in my opinion if any other crowd had come in to power before the bust, the exact same thing would have happened as not one of em had any talk of pulling in the reigns prior to the banks f***ing up

Milked out wrote: »
    We all know they made a mess of the country, but to be honest in my opinion if any other crowd had come in to power before the bust, the exact same thing would have happened as not one of em had any talk of pulling in the reigns prior to the banks f***ing up
    ah i know , i just cant stand ff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

Did a previous government not return a surplus not that many years ago. Don't agree with the "every party would do the same point"

We're along way from a surplus after the last governments antics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

The first problem is you can only vote for the candidates on your ticket. Local council elections are about who will best represent your area within the overall local government.. I'm not going to ignore a good candidate just to vote in some muppet independent or Shinner either just because they're not FF..

I also think that even within FF there are good hard working people, tarring them all as corrupt is like saying all farmers are just sitting back drawing subs and polluting the waterways.

IMHO you need to be willing to cross historical family party lines to get the right people into the crucial positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭visatorro

Heard during the week that there is about 800 seats in European parliament and it's estimated that 200 anti Euro people will be elected. Wonder will this affect irish farmers in the future.?

As for the locals there's no one I want to vote for. I'm considering not voting at all which kinda goes against what I believe in. Have no affiliation too any parties btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

visatorro wrote: »
    Heard during the week that there is about 800 seats in European parliament and it's estimated that 200 anti Euro people will be elected. Wonder will this affect irish farmers in the future.?

As for the locals there's no one I want to vote for. I'm considering not voting at all which kinda goes against what I believe in. Have no affiliation too any parties btw

If you don't want to vote for anyone running in the locals that is your right. I don't think that you should have to vote for somebody you don't want to. In that situation though I would be inclined to deliberately spoil my vote and in make it clear on the ballot my reason for doing so. I know it makes no difference but at least I will have used my vote which I assume is what is important to you.