Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Emergency Landing At Dublin Airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Looks like a good few of them are gone off to hospital.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

Food poisoning??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

Public health alert issued over this case. Crew members began complaining of nausea, dizziness and watery eyes.

All passengers transported to a local hotel.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

RadioRetro wrote: »
    Public health alert issued over this case. Crew members began complaining of nausea, dizziness and watery eyes.

All passengers transported to a local hotel.
    Sounds like the picked up a nasty bug or worse virus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

The watery eyes and dizziness sound more like a reaction to a chemical - no pax involved though - strange. Hope they're all ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Kenny2012

A picture of N284AY A330 on the stands surrounded by fire trucks.

https://flic.kr/p/nhha9x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

Could they have landed in a worse country for urgent medical care, I wonder how long they were waiting at A&E for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,410 ✭✭✭✭flazio

kub wrote: »
    Could they have landed in a worse country for urgent medical care, I wonder how long they were waiting at A&E for?

They were probably bumped up while everyone else was left waiting outside or diverted to other hospitals.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

I was up at the airport with the kids this afternoon. I had no technology with me.

We got there just before 3 and parked alongside 28.

Not long after, a load of ambulances drove by and it looked like they were stopped down near the cemetary. I just thought there must have been a bad traffic accident.There were also some Garda cars parked beside 28. I thought they might have been doing speed camera work. That must be like shooting fish in a barrel on that road.

And then the US Airways flight came in so slowly to land. It looked like the plane was barely moving. I thought it
    a bit odd that an American fight would be coming in at that hour of the day. It never occurred to me that that was an emergency.

As it taxied back towards the terminal, the fire brigades came into view and then the ambulances. I had never seen this before.
    And then the penny dropped that there must be a medical emergency or a disruptive passengeron board. They took a while to get folk off the plane.

Why would the fire brigades be needed? So much fuel on board?

We were happy just to see EI DVM depart. My little one refers to it a "the new old Aer Lingus" and then he gets to see the ambulances and fire brigades.

I though it funny that the media reported that the plane was at a remote part of the airport when it was right between the old B area and the new terminal.

I hope all the crew are well. I am sure they got some preferential treatment at Beaumont or wherever they ended up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Anyone an idea of the time of this please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

Came in at around 3.10pm this afternoon.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

flazio wrote: »
    They were probably bumped up while everyone else was left waiting outside or diverted to other hospitals.

It doesn't matter who a person is when brought through A&E all patients are triage and treated accordingly.

:D Oh dear they must be still there so waiting amongst the junkies and wino's, that will leave a lasting impression of this place on their minds.

They won't be getting sick again over Ireland you can bet that :pac:

P.S. Being such a big Ireland fan and wanting to move there someday, you guys really aren't selling it :D Then again every country complains about themselves.

Yep they could well be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

lambayire wrote: »

That's it in a nutshell, she'd still be pretty heavy as she was only a couple of hours into her flight to PHL. The fire tenders are a precaution should she burst tyres or have her brakes get fried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

lambayire wrote: »

They dump some fuel too so it wouldn't have too much landing - the little pipe things near the end of the wing

gctest50 wrote: »
    They'd just dump the fuel - the little pipe things near the end of the wing

I don't think a lot of aircraft can do that actually. Could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭grimbergen

There seem to be more and more of these emergency landings in ireland these days - does anybody know if the airports make money off them, as in the airline have to pay for the cost of the services provided?

Before anyone says, I know obviously that these only land where there's a genuine emergency etc.

With the likes of US airways diversion today Servisair/swissport who do the handling for them in Dublin would look after the flight regarding ground ops,The same would also apply to catering and fueling companies.

fr336 wrote: »

I'm not sure really - some do it better than others though :)

gctest50 wrote: »
    I'm not sure really - some do it better than others though :)

:eek::eek::eek: Amazing! Was that all for show?

the fuel dump pipe is near the engines on them

- maybe for a reason ? last ditch effort for putting off heat seeking missiles ? or would it be hot enough ? dunno

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=f111+dump+and+burn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,159 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Most widebodies, very few narrowbodies. Older types more likely to have it than new (in general).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I was told by so one in the... Well who should be in the know that the fuel jettison system is a customer option in the A330 family. I'm guessing it would be possible depending on the load factor and they cargo they were carrying that they could have been under MLW. For any instance where an aircraft diverts due to multiple crew being Ill or potentially incapacitated they will roll the trucks generally, hot breaks would definitely be a concern too.

As far as I can tell from flightradar24, the flight is still in Dub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Pretty ill informed comment. If they were a genuine emergency that would have gotten excellent medical care.

As far as I can tell from flightradar24, the flight is still in Dub.

It won't leave until today at the earliest. I'd imagine US are sending a reserve crew in on this mornings flight from PHL to operate it home and the ill crew will return on a scheduled service once they're given the all clear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Pretty ill informed comment. If they were a genuine emergency that would have gotten excellent medical care.

They would. Eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,280 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

From experience, Saturday afternoons are generally the quietest times at A & E so I doubt there would be a huge issue.

Not really sure what any of that has to do with the Aviation forum though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭stopthepanic

lord lucan wrote: »
    I'd imagine US are sending a reserve crew in on this mornings flight from PHL to operate it home

Surely there is no way a crew that came in today can just hop back on another flight and 'work' back across the Atlantic........and stop calling be 'Surely'.:)

Well my sincerest apologies, problem is I listen to the media and have always gotten the impression that we had a serious issue in this country with our emergency departments.

So I must be wrong and you know better, fair dues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Simon Gruber Says

Surely there is no way a crew that came in today can just hop back on another flight and 'work' back across the Atlantic........and stop calling be 'Surely'.:)

Think he meant they'd be in the back as passengers on the way over. It's a different aircraft type anyway from the normal Dublin service, they'd need an A330 crew flown in. Regardless of the type they'd need an extra crew because of the extra plane

As mentioned above, they'd come in as pax and would work the flight home late today or early tomorrow depending on what sort of SOPs US have in place regarding crew rest etc.

And just to add, US are using an A330 on the DUB - PHL route for the summer.

Well my sincerest apologies, problem is I listen to the media and have always gotten the impression that we had a serious issue in this country with our emergency departments.

I've often found 'the media' to be notoriously unreliable when reporting 'fact'. Despite what you might think, we do have a good health service, not without it's problems granted. Those with life threatening illness will be seen immediately, and others prioritised according to need. I can't imagine where you might think a better place for the aircraft to divert to might be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Where would be better for a medical diversion in the circumstances ? Land at Dublin and you will have patients receiving assessment and or medical care as needed within 5-10 minutes of leaving the airport (Beaumont) or 10-15 minutes (The Mater). That is why DUB is in many airline databases as a desired medical diversion if required. As for the quality of healthcare...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,280 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

As I posted above I've had reason to use A & E recently, and I couldn't praise the staff or indeed the facilities highly enough. They were attentive, efficient and highly professional.

I think people casting stones in that direction should have a long hard think about it before doing so, as it is quite frankly highly unfair and insulting to the professionalism of our medical staff.

Dublin is a a good a location as any to facilitate an emergency such as this.

Strumms wrote: »
    .... As for the quality of healthcare...

Ye see, this kind of comment is just ill informed and plain wrong. If you'd care to look, the quality of healthcare in this country, particular if you're looking at the larger referral centres such as Beaumont and the Mater, is up there with the best. But the sensationalist headlines you'll see in the press will capture everyone's attention. Much like the press often report aviation stories. Don't believe everything you read (or infer) in the papers.

Can we please keep on topic and take discussion of our health service to another forum.

Well, a poster was questioning Ireland( and by inference Dublin) as a suitable option for a medical diversion, which I think is relevant to the forum. Others were just putting him right. But fair enough, I think he should have got it by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

rovoagho wrote: »
    They would. Eventually.

Complete nonsense. You obviously have no idea what you are talking about.

I do indeed know better. Fair play for conceding this because you clearly have no idea what you are talking about.

The implication that Ireland is a poor location for an emergency landing based on anecdotal media reports that have nothing to do with genuine emergencies is disingenuous as well as being utterly ignorant.

The level of care for genuine emergencies is outstanding. God forbid anyone hear has a heart attack and you'll see how quickly you are into the cath lab and have a stent in place. A&E gets busy, of course it does, but real emergencies are taken care of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Guys one mod has already asked to get back on topic so please do. If you want to discuss hospital's etc take it to the health forum or emergency services forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭stopthepanic

The aircraft is positioning out to Philadelphia at 1430 local as US9190.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭adam88

Was it just the cabin crew. Were the pilots affected. Any idea what happened them. Dodgy food at their hotel ????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Out of curiosity, is it true that the pilot and co-pilot are required to have different meals, or is that just an old wives tale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Out of curiosity, is it true that the pilot and co-pilot are required to have different meals, or is that just an old wives tale?

This is true in most airlines

That's an interesting point though. As Andy has said, most airlines do have a policy in place regarding crews eating different meals on board, however, crew meals that are provided by airlines are generally prepared under the most rigorous conditions, and I would imagine that the incidence of food poisoning related to 'crew meals' is very low. Also given that the incubation period for most types of food poisoning would be in the 'many hours - days' bracket (although there are some with much shorter incubation periods), the risk of food poisoning would be much greater from food that they had consumed prior to flying e.g. a crew having a meal together before pick up / at the airport. I'm not sure that point is hammered home to pilots or airlines enough. While crews are generally aware that they should choose different meals on board (very low risk), I don't think many would think twice about eating the same kung pao chicken the night before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭ivyQ

When I first saw this in the papers I immediately thought of the MERS virus:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,410 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Really? My first thought was, 'They had the fish for dinner'

This too shall pass.