Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scrap a 2010 Volvo S40 because of engine trouble?

• 10-05-2014 7:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Driving home from work my S40 revved off the clock and filled the street with white smoke before cutting out eventually.

My father-in-law came and helped me push it off the road and we got it towed to a garage that we use all the time.
    My fil is fairly handy with cars and he knows the guy who runs the garage so he has been dealing with this for me.
    There is a problem with the fuel injectors that caused diesel to leak into the oil.
    A new set of injectors fitted is in the region of 1-2k but my fil and mechanic think that replacing the engine is a better option as we could replace the injectors only to find out that the engine has been damaged.
    We tried sourcing another engine and took delivery of one ,1.5k, from an 08 s40 that matched my engines spec.
    When the engine arrived there were a number of differences in the engines and they decided against fitting it. I cant remeber exactly the differences but one was that the fuel injectors were different and there was a concern that my ecu may not be able to control them correctly.
    We spoke to a volvo dealer about a new engine and we think it would come to about 7k for the block injectors and turbo.
    We spoke to an engine overhauler and after we described the problem they said that they wouldnt overhaul it as if the engine had revved off the clock that something could have been damaged that wouldnt be caught be an overhaul.
    We haven't any leads on another engine so we dont really know where to go from here.
    One of the options that has been mentioned is scrapping it instead of sinking 7k into it only to find there is something else wrong.

We are at a bit of a loss here.

Id appreciate any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Have you comprehensive insurance? Surely it's covered and would be well worth claiming against?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

Zip firelighters..................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 RDesign

CJC999 wrote: »
    Have you comprehensive insurance? Surely it's covered and would be well worth claiming against?

I do have comprehensive insurance but i didnt think claiming for a write off would be covered unless it was the result of an accident?
    The insurance would probably push for the new engine as it would be cheaper for them than replacing the car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

You can't claim insurance for mechanical failure

Have you contacted Volvo ireland about compensation? They should be embarrassed about an engine failure on a 4 year old car. How much mileage on car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Have you hot hire purchase agreement on the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,684 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

You would be stone mad to scrap it.
    I agree that a replacement engine is probably a good Idea but it shouldn't impossible to get one. Search for your exact engine code in the UK.
    Didn't they share a alout of bits with the Ford focus. I'm sure someone here will know if engine was shared with that our with anything else to help wide your search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

I wouldn't be scrapping a 2010 car. Try Volvo first. They should offer some kind of goodwill but tbh a new engine iscrazy money. They might meet you half way.

Probably best to try uk. Few on this forum could guide you in right direction. Probably pick one up for 1500 or less I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Can you not replace the ecu if there is a concern that your ecu may not work with the replacement engine? Maybe the ecu from the replacement engine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Push Volvo all the way for goodwill replacement, a four year old car should not crap itself in that manner. Just make sure you have evidence of a service history as per Volvo's handbook. If they play hard ball with you get onto Joe Duffy and the likes.

Joe a Duffy is a Volvo dealer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Old diesel

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Joe a Duffy is a Volvo dealer :D

But Good ole talk to Joe on RTE Radio 1 ISN'T - unless he does cars as a sideline :D

On a serious note - certainly try to get on to Volvo about seeing what they can do for you in terms of part compensating you the cost of a replacement engine.

Bear in mind that as it stands now - the car is worth a lot less with a bursted engine.

So even if you do have to put money into it - the increase in value due to it been a properly working S40 once more - would help offset that cost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

What engine is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

A competent mechanic should identify which variation of a particular engine is in your car. So far the guy you're using has failed to do that. I would bring it somewhere else.

As for contacting Volvo I think you would be in a better position if you brought it to a dealer - I know it's costly but it might possibly be with the risk of leaving them accessing it. It doesn't mean you have to pay their rates on a repair as you can always take it somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

If you are in Dublin, there is a Indy Volvo dealer called Ivs on Erne st just under the railway bridge. I used to have an s40 and I found him very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭ford jedi

i would double check the cause of the problem , the injectors on them very rarely leak in to the cylinders, i would say a blown turbo was more the original cause of the car over reviing, is the car running now at all ? most of those 1.6 engines are the same but when you source them second hand , the replacement engine you get is usually from a peugeot or citroen they do look slightly different ,, eg manifolds etc but they can defo be changed over . we do a good few of them . is your replacement engine one of the above peugeot etc?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I'm just amazed the engine overhauler wouldn't touch it.
    Isn't this what they do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭dantastic

I'm just amazed the engine overhauler wouldn't touch it.
    Isn't this what they do?

Would have to swap too many parts in order for it to be a warranty job. Wouldn't be feasible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

My first thought here was blown turbo and runaway due to the engine consuming its own oil, but that'd result in black smoke. White smoke sounds like unburnt fuel which would point towards injector trouble.

It'd be really unusual for injectors to leak diesel directly into the engine oil. What is sounds like is that one or more injectors failed open and streamed fuel into the engine, causing it to overfuel and run away. Some diesel might get into the oil past the piston rings at this point but not that much.

I'd start with getting the car to a Volvo specialist and have it assessed by them. Contact Volvo for a goodwill gesture towards the repair; if that fails, get onto the injector manufacturer.

One other thing to bear in mind is where you've been refuelling - absurdly cheap, unbranded stations are likely to be selling laundered fuel and this will do serious damage to the fuel injection system in any diesel car. Volvo may push this one back at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Wait till an engine of the same code and year comes up on ebay? You might need to play the long game and it could be a few months. Also try the UK parts websites. Something should come up.

Thanks for the replies lads.

Was in contact with Volvo, they won't cover anything as the car is out of warranty.
    They said I could bear the cost of transporting it to a Volvo dealership and the cost of assessing it if I wanted to, and that "hopefully the work done by the non Volvo dealer will not have displaced too much of the evidence meaning the Volvo dealer can verify the cause and recommended repair".

As the car is in another garage with the engine out I don't think its worth my while getting it reassembled and then transporting it to them when I know they won't do anything.

The issue of bad diesel has come up a few times, I get it at the local Topaz all the time so hopefully that isn't the issue.

Someone asked about the engine we looked at, it was form an 08 S40, as it wasn't the same the mechanic didn't put it in.
    Had a look at a Mondeo engine in a friends car as there are a few 2010 Mondeos in breakers yards around but that isn't the same either.

Looks like we are waiting for another 2.0L Diesel 2010 S40 engine to show up, I don't know enough to say if thats the correct course or not, some posters here seem to think that a Peugeot engine would fit?

We won't be scrapping the car but it will be going into storage for the foreseeable future.

Will let you know if there's any developments, not expecting much to happen any time soon...

bear1 wrote: »

OP was it like this?

Yup, that was pretty much it.

OP, as said before, you will have a long, white beard down to your knees by the time the exact same engine shows up in Ireland. After that you can take your car to classic car shows.
    Scrappy in the UK or Traynors be your best bet:
    http://www.traynors.co.uk/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

RDesign wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies lads.

Was in contact with Volvo, they won't cover anything as the car is out of warranty.

You'll have to try a lot harder than that. Phoning up is not going to get you any other answer.

Are you good at creating prose ? Write a letter to the MD of Volvo in Ireland. Preferably send it registered post. Describe what happened, service history, mileage (the lower the better), how surprised you are etc, and what remedy you expect. i.e. a replacement engine.

You may have to write several letters. You may have to reject several offers. The tone of the first letter should be polite but firm. i.e. don't jump straight in to threatening lawyers or Joe Duffy.

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    You'll have to try a lot harder than that. Phoning up is not going to get you any other answer.

Are you good at creating prose ? Write a letter to the MD of Volvo in Ireland. Preferably send it registered post. Describe what happened, service history, mileage (the lower the better), how surprised you are etc, and what remedy you expect. i.e. a replacement engine.

You may have to write several letters. You may have to reject several offers. The tone of the first letter should be polite but firm. i.e. don't jump straight in to threatening lawyers or Joe Duffy.

This - exactly this - Volvo don't want to pay out if they can avoid it - hence their initial response.

What Volvo would like is for you to go away and not be on to them again.

Need to keep after them - regardless of the fact that the cars out of warranty - such a failure at 4 years old is unacceptable on a well maintained car.

IF - you have to go down the 2nd hand route - it may be worth seeking advice on say Volvo forums - there might be people on those forums that know what engine you need for your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

OP - is it an MY10 S40 2.0d, or an MY11 D3? Might explain the difference in the engine as the 2.0d (136bhp) is a Ford Based unit, but the D3 (150bhp) is a 5 cylinder Volvo engine (that rarely gives issues).

MY11 pricing was released in May 2010, production started around the end of August for September delivery.

I'm guessing that it's an R-Design model based on your username? In which case, it's most likely a UK import. R-Design was sold in Ireland in 2010, but very few and far between.

If it is a 2.0d model, then the same engine was used in the C30/V50/S80/V70 from the Volvo range.

R.O.R wrote: »
    OP - is it an MY10 S40 2.0d, or an MY11 D3? Might explain the difference in the engine as the 2.0d (136bhp) is a Ford Based unit, but the D3 (150bhp) is a 5 cylinder Volvo engine (that rarely gives issues).

MY11 pricing was released in May 2010, production started around the end of August for September delivery.

I'm guessing that it's an R-Design model based on your username? In which case, it's most likely a UK import. R-Design was sold in Ireland in 2010, but very few and far between.

If it is a 2.0d model, then the same engine was used in the C30/V50/S80/V70 from the Volvo range.

Never realised that 5 cylinder ended up in the Mk 2 S40 - im assuming that's the 2.0 5 cylinder I thought I read about from Volvo???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Old diesel wrote: »
    Never realised that 5 cylinder ended up in the Mk 2 S40 - im assuming that's the 2.0 5 cylinder I thought I read about from Volvo???

It's a downsized version of the D5, fitted to S40/V50 from Week 35 in 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

If you don't end up pursuing Volvo on this (I really think you should) then try to get your hands on the Volvo/Ford/PSA parts catalogues for 2008-2011. While the whole engine may not be exactly shared between models, it's pretty common for major components to be shared e.g. block, crank, pistons with only the ancillaries being changed to suit different models.

A few hours poring through the catalogues should tell you if the engine you bought is usable or not. A good engine repair workshop could probably tell you this too.

Chimaera wrote: »
    If you don't end up pursuing Volvo on this (I really think you should) then try to get your hands on the Volvo/Ford/PSA parts catalogues for 2008-2011. While the whole engine may not be exactly shared between models, it's pretty common for major components to be shared e.g. block, crank, pistons with only the ancillaries being changed to suit different models.

A few hours poring through the catalogues should tell you if the engine you bought is usable or not. A good engine repair workshop could probably tell you this too.

But worth noting RORs comments above too - just in case OPs Volvo has the later engine???

R.O.R wrote: »

It's a MY10 S40 2.0d (136bhp)
    It was first registered in April 2010, it is an R-Design but I don't believe it was imported, I bought it in 2012 from a Windsor dealership in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭walus

What is the mileage and how often did you service it? Assuming it was well maintained you would have a valid point in claiming cost participation from Volvo.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭dantastic

dantastic wrote: »
    It's not one of these by any chance?
    Might be, will look into it.

Mileage is about 90k KM iirc and was serviced regularly enough, not always by a Volvo dealer though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 T.Sparkie

Op, I would definitely be sending a letter to Volvo Ireland as pointed out previously. From my experience, the dealers don't have the authority to authorize out of warranty repairs so Volvo Ireland would need to be contacted as the car is 4 years old with average mileage for a diesel and catastrophic engine failure is simply not acceptable on a car of that age regardless of service history.
    If that doesn't work send an email to Volvo in Sweden, they could offer a reduced price on a replacement engine as a goodwill gesture so I would say go for it!
    The least they can say is no!!

I can't see volvo being too generous tbh. If the car was bought new by the op from a volvo dealer and serviced there all the way through then they might entertain you, but bought used from a non volvo dealer with non volvo servicing I can't see them bothering. Worth a shot though.
    Terrible situation to be in.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Op--You Based in Dublin?
    Pop me a pm and Ill put you on to a lad who knows his Volvos inside out.
    Hes helped a few boardsies in the past.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I can't see volvo being too generous tbh. If the car was bought new by the op from a volvo dealer and serviced there all the way through then they might entertain you, but bought used from a non volvo dealer with non volvo servicing I can't see them bothering. Worth a shot though.
    Terrible situation to be in.

Not a hope to be honest.No Volvo history they wont touch it. We had to supply full Volvo history with all warranty claims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

What lovely customer service :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Bigcheeze wrote: »

contact Volvo head office

CEO: Håkan Samuelsson

Volvo Group Headquarters is located in Torslanda, outside Gothenburg, Sweden.

Postal address: AB Volvo SE-405 08 Gothenburg, Sweden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Or just try Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

Official letter will be much more effective than twitter.

contact Volvo head office

CEO: Håkan Samuelsson

Volvo Group Headquarters is located in Torslanda, outside Gothenburg, Sweden.

Postal address: AB Volvo SE-405 08 Gothenburg, Sweden
    Or just try Twitter

Mr Samuelsson isn't going to listen to one customer in a case like this where

1.The car has little or no Volvo service history.
    2.The problem hasn't been diagnosed in a Volvo dealer.
    3.In my opinion hasn't been diagnosed correctly.White smoke is usually a fuel related issue.If it was me Id get the injectors overhauled at a cost of probably 150-200 euros and see how it runs.The fact that it over revved shouldn't make any difference unless it completely **** itself.

People really need to stop jumping on the lets ring Joe Duffy/ ring the distributor bandwagon unless they have a solid case and can back it up with the relevant documentation and in this case that is a full Volvo service history or at least invoices for genuine service parts that were fitted.

I deal with this stuff daily and honestly people go nuts when you tell them I cant cover their warranty because they missed 3 services or didn't use genuine parts.
    By all means use non genuine when the car is outside warranty but while its inside use genuine or have it main dealer serviced-at least in a case like this you might have some comeback.I don't think the OP is in reality going to get anywhere with this with Volvo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭mistress_gi

I think the OP should give me the car :)

And you should give the OP money in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭zwind

find a diesel engine specialist. ECU can be replaced/reprogram. diesel engine is very flexible.

you mechanic just want to change part they know.

engine overhauler is expecting to overhaul a perfect engine.

RDesign wrote: »
    Driving home from work my S40 revved off the clock and filled the street with white smoke before cutting out eventually.

My father-in-law came and helped me push it off the road and we got it towed to a garage that we use all the time.
    My fil is fairly handy with cars and he knows the guy who runs the garage so he has been dealing with this for me.
    There is a problem with the fuel injectors that caused diesel to leak into the oil.
    A new set of injectors fitted is in the region of 1-2k but my fil and mechanic think that replacing the engine is a better option as we could replace the injectors only to find out that the engine has been damaged.
    We tried sourcing another engine and took delivery of one ,1.5k, from an 08 s40 that matched my engines spec.
    When the engine arrived there were a number of differences in the engines and they decided against fitting it. I cant remeber exactly the differences but one was that the fuel injectors were different and there was a concern that my ecu may not be able to control them correctly.
    We spoke to a volvo dealer about a new engine and we think it would come to about 7k for the block injectors and turbo.
    We spoke to an engine overhauler and after we described the problem they said that they wouldnt overhaul it as if the engine had revved off the clock that something could have been damaged that wouldnt be caught be an overhaul.
    We haven't any leads on another engine so we dont really know where to go from here.
    One of the options that has been mentioned is scrapping it instead of sinking 7k into it only to find there is something else wrong.

We are at a bit of a loss here.

Id appreciate any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

If it were my car I would bring it to a real mechanic of engines

Probably end up getting reconditioned injectors from and injector service type place and also see what way the turbo is. Very possible it might need go be replaced from damage.

Engine flush and diptane the feck out of it, oil and filter change and it should be grand.

But dont take my word for it

I still am skeptikal as to why that engine can't be rebuild. At least it should be checked out. Check block and head for cracks, check pistons, conrods, valves, surely it can't be that hard to determine if its viable to save it.

i'd say thats someone who doesn't want to put a warrenty on it incase it has to get more work done or something.... or better way of putting it they want the easy work for lots of money.