Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hungover in work

• 09-05-2014 7:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭

Had a work party last night with free booze throughout. I'm shattered right now but at work, sitting at my desk. Anyone else dying today? The rest of ye, any tips to get through til 5?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Hair of the dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

c_man wrote: »
    Had a work party last night with free booze throughout. I'm shattered right now but at work, sitting at my desk. Anyone else dying today? The rest of ye, any tips to get through til 5?

At least if it was a work party everyone else will be in the same boat so it's ok! It's when you go out with mates and come into work hungover and reeking of booze, them the days you need to worry about getting thru work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

As a former boss of mine used to say on work nights out, If you can be a man at night, be a man in the morning. Not sure what he meant so when he failed to show in the morning after one serious do, I went to sleep under his desk for a couple of hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭littlelulu

Who organised that kind of party on a Thursday night?? Its clearly to see who is the strongest employee the day after a free booze party. I think you should work extremely hard and claim the prize they are going to give out at the end of the day.

Is there anybody else dying in the office or was it just a party for one with some free (stolen) booze?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

anncoates wrote: »
    Hair of the dog

I would but somebody stole my emergency naggin I keep in the toilet cistern. Must be them damn cleaners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Sausages.

Lots and lots of sausages.

littlelulu wrote: »
    Who organised that kind of party on a Thursday night??

Surprisingly enough, it was a teetotaler who organised it.
    Is there anybody else dying in the office or was it just a party for one with some free (stolen) booze?

Only one other person in yet on my floor. Free booze for all. A magical time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

When I go into work hungover, I just fill up on water and Red Bull, and pray to a deity I don't believe in that I get through the day.

We had a staff party a few months back, free booze all night, and I was rostered in the next day.

Boss came out the next day, saw that I was literally hanging over the counter, head down, and laughed at me, then got me a coffee and told me to go for a break. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭littlelulu

Thats actually not surprising at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

A roll and a bottle of Lucozade around 11am will sort you. And promise yourself a pint after work, or a few pints/cans tonight. It'll keep your brain happy. Or at least the part of it thats still functioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

just keep staring at the clock on the wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Sausages.

Lots and lots of sausages.
    as party of quite a DIRTY fry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I would but somebody stole my emergency naggin I keep in the toilet cistern. Must be them damn cleaners.

Seriously though, the odd time I've been dying in work on a Friday, I just make it to lunchtime and go out for a big sit down lunch with a pint and that keeps you going until the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 jbehanx

Bottle of coke and a super split , works every time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Only one other person in yet on my floor. Free booze for all. A magical time.

There's your problem right there.

Water, Water and more water and when you are sick and tired of water then go and drink another glass of water. Also have some chocolate to get your blood sugar back up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Sneaky bastard has probably arranged piss tests today to climb to the top of the corporate ladder.

Oh and I suggest lots of water and a McDonald's breakfast. And another couple of pints after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

I used to work in this rubbish job, when I would go for break I would have a skip of pints, another job i used to work in we used to get speed on a Friday happy days !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Get some grub, you will be better after it. If you don't, once 2pm comes around you will be fully sober and feel like death.

A can of red bull and plenty of water with a paracetamol if you need it.

6541 wrote: »
    I used to work in this rubbish job, when I would go for break I would have a skip of pints, another job i used to work in we used to get speed on a Friday happy days !

Public service?

Joke! Please don't bite my head off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Andrews liver salts sorts out the dodgy tummy.

Paracetamol for the head.

Lucozade sport for sugar

Water for rehydration.

Mints for booze breath.

Only 8 hours left!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

Get yourself a McDonalds strawberry milkshake!!! Dono what they put in it but it's heaven to me after a night of drink!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Whatever you do, do not think to yourself, 'How would I deal with this at home?' cos I'm pretty sure **** at your desk is frowned upon in most workplaces.....apart from those companies with designated '**** Breaks' :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

What's wrong with a work party on Thursday? If it were Friday or Saturday everyone would have their own plans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

What's wrong with a work party on Thursday? If it were Friday or Saturday everyone would have their own plans.

Exactly, best to be dying at work and getting paid then dying at home on a Saturday or sunday and getting nothing for it. ;)

hallo dare wrote: »
    Exactly, best to be dying at work and getting paid then dying at home on a Saturday or sunday and getting nothing for it. ;)

Also sorts the men from the boys. The day you ring in sick the night after beers is the day you should stop drinking on a worknight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Bank of Ireland Richie Boucher throwing a party for getting his bonus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A roll and a bottle of Lucozade around 11am will sort you.
    This. And the grease has to be dripping out of the breakfast roll for maximum effect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭miece16

go out with the boys at night but get up with the men in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

jbehanx wrote: »

super split ?

I had a Lucozade first thing after waking this morning. It's got me through this far.

God bless Lucozade. Although I do think that Irn Bru has its charms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Two Solpadine, four mini sausage rolls and can of coke and a big spliff. you will be right as rain in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Two Solpadine, four mini sausage rolls and can of coke and a big spliff. you will be right as rain in no time.

a big spliff is exactly what he needs now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

a wee dab of speed is just the ticket

a big spliff is exactly what he needs now

I finish at 5, so talk to me at half past...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Dioralite , costs bout 30cents in the chemists , designed for kids who had vomiting and scutters .
    It replaces salts , sugars , minerals etc .It truly is a miracle , wonder drug.

On a lighter note I worked in construction for years and my employer organised a piss up on a Thursday one November.It turned into a night of drunken debauchery fighting , vomiting and so on with two arrests , one in hospital from biting a glass as a bet.

The owner of the company brought those that made it in for breakfast and then sent us home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

the_monkey wrote: »
    super split ?

Its an ice cream like a choc ice but replace the chocalate with and orange coating.

It can also be made with captain morgans and fizzy orange. Either would help with the hangover.

Personally a can of monster (caffeine and sugar) followed by mcDonalds for lunch would be what I'd do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

jbehanx wrote: »

I'd rather a bottle of speed and a super spliff to cure my hangover :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Starting work in 2 hours and I'm absolutely hanging :(

All our work parties are mid-week (usually Thursdays) you won't get half as much people interested on a Friday night as they are heading home for the weekend, have plans with friends etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

1.5 hours left and then a well deserved pint! TGIF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Crumpets wrote: »
    Starting work in 2 hours and I'm absolutely hanging :(

So you got to have a lie in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

petes wrote: »
    So you got to have a lie in!!

It didn't help. On my lunch break now. 5 hours left. Kill me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Push Pop

Before you go asleep drink 2 pints of water and drop 2 codeines if you can get it. Also take a zantac 150mg to sort out the acid. Just call in sick if that doesn't work if they don't know you were out. Work/life balance is all the rage these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Opiates and Acid. got it. sound

I got through it lads!

Feck it, heading out again later.