Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Query??

• 08-05-2014 10:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭

Planning on playing early on Sunday morning in a comp away and then back home for my medal that afternoon. Question is (and this is a big IF) i score well in the morning, how do i know what to play off in the evening if the competition isnt totaled up yet? Or do you just play off the same handicap for the day? only saying this as im on .5 at the minute so anything decent and ill be cut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

You make a best guess as to what your new handicap will be and play off that :)

The onus is on your to cut yourself - If you have a good round, check in the clubhouse after the round what the standard scratch normally is and then use that as your guideline for cutting yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭ShivasIrons

You get cut when the competition is closed and results are announced, in this situation it's unlikely that the morning competition will be finished by the time you play at your home club.

Play off the same handicap for the day, unless the results are known before you tee off again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

You get cut when the competition is closed and results are announced, in this situation it's unlikely that the morning competition will be finished by the time you play at your home club.

Play off the same handicap for the day, unless the results are known before you tee off again.

I would be 99% sure that this in not correct. If you shoot low it is your responsibility to amend your own handicap, if no official CSS is available then you work from the SSS.

This is not the case for getting .1 back

I could be corrected on this but i wold be surprised if I am wrong

J

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I would be 99% sure that this in not correct. If you shoot low it is your responsibility to amend your own handicap, if no official CSS is available then you work from the SSS.

This is not the case for getting .1 back

I could be corrected on this but i wold be surprised if I am wrong

J

I agree, onus is on you to make the cut off SSS immediately but if you play bad you do not make any 0.1 adjustment...open to correction though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Correct. You cut yourself if you have a good score. Go off standard scratch on the card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭ShivasIrons

From Congu for 36 hole competitions

In a Stroke Play or Match Play competition played over more than one round, the Committee in charge, in the Conditions of the Competition, are required to establish whether or not the handicap of a player at the start of the competition applies throughout the competition. In framing the conditions of a competition played over more than one round, the following guidelines are
    recommended.
    In a competition such as a 36 Hole or 72 Hole competition played in the same day or over a number of days within a short period of time the handicap of a player applying at the beginning of a competition shall apply throughout the duration of the competition.

When Handicaps are to be altered

20.9 Alterations to Playing Handicaps, increases and decreases, must be made as soon as practicable after the close of a competition or after the score(s) becomes known to the Home Club. The alterations must be displayed immediately in a prominent position at the club and posted by the Home Club to the CDH.

If the player is unable to find out

20.11 If a player returns a Qualifying Score or Scores below his Playing Handicap at his Home Club or away and is unable to:
    (a) report an away score(s) to his Home Club or
    (b) ascertain whether or not his Playing Handicap has been reduced as a result of the score(s) he must, before playing in another competition at his Home Club or away, for that competition make such reduction to his Playing Handicap as shall be appropriate under the UHS by applying the Competition Scratch Score if known, otherwise the Standard Scratch Score, to calculate his Nett Differential and handicap reduction.

In this case where the competitions are on in the same day, I think it's more then reasonable the player plays off the same handicap all day, unless the results are known and posted before he tees off again. I would say this situation is closer to playing a 36 hole competition in one day rather then playing in a different competition over separate days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

That is based on a 1 competition at 1 club ran over 36 holes. The query is in relation to 2 separate competitions.

Part b of what you posted confirms he should go off the standard scratch on the card because the competition standard scratch will not be available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

If the player is unable to find out

20.11 If a player returns a Qualifying Score or Scores below his Playing Handicap at his Home Club or away and is unable to:
    (a) report an away score(s) to his Home Club or
    (b) ascertain whether or not his Playing Handicap has been reduced as a result of the score(s) he must, before playing in another competition at his Home Club or away, for that competition make such reduction to his Playing Handicap as shall be appropriate under the UHS by applying the Competition Scratch Score if known, otherwise the Standard Scratch Score, to calculate his Nett Differential and handicap reduction.

In this case where the competitions are on in the same day, I think it's more then reasonable the player plays off the same handicap all day, unless the results are known and posted before he tees off again. I would say this situation is closer to playing a 36 hole competition in one day rather then playing in a different competition over separate days.

I think you debunked your argument here because from what you quote, it clearly says the player should reduce their handicap if they have beaten CSS. if they don't know what CSS is, they need to look at SSS and if they have beaten that, then they should make the cut.

If the player does well, ie shoots 37+ points, well they know they will have beaten CSS, so yes they should definately cut themselves.

But if they only shoot 35/36 points, maybe that could or could not merit a cut, so they should look at the SSS and base it on that.

Now for the tricky bit????? all this is computerised now so when you sign in, your handicap is there automatically. can you change it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

stevieob wrote: »
    I think you debunked your argument here because from what you quote, it clearly says the player should reduce their handicap if they have beaten CSS. if they don't know what CSS is, they need to look at SSS and if they have beaten that, then they should make the cut.

If the player does well, ie shoots 37+ points, well they know they will have beaten CSS, so yes they should definately cut themselves.

But if they only shoot 35/36 points, maybe that could or could not merit a cut, so they should look at the SSS and base it on that.

Now for the tricky bit????? all this is computerised now so when you sign in, your handicap is there automatically. can you change it?

You have to confirm your handicap is correct and if not you can chsnge it from what I know.

ForeRight wrote: »
    You have to confirm your handicap is correct and if not you can chsnge it from what I know.

At an away club you can change it, but I dont think you can at your home club.

So if the OP is playing his home club second, he may have to alter his new handicap on the score card. Maybe make a small note somewhere on the card that he believes he was cut earlier in the day and this is his new handicap...

Rikand wrote: »

So if the OP is playing his home club second, he may have to alter his new handicap on the score card. Maybe make a small note somewhere on the card that he believes he was cut earlier in the day and this is his new handicap...

Ah I see. I knew there was something about it alright.

He should 100% be cutting himself anyway IMO.

Also this threads seems like a thinly veiled I'm nearly off scratch boast ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Also this threads seems like a thinly veiled I'm nearly off scratch boast ;)

:) he could be 4.5, 6.5, 8.5 etc etc

OP never said it was 0.5....
    My money is that there's nothing thinly veiled about it ;)

PARlance wrote: »

He said I'm on .5 at the moment not I'm on "a" .5

That reads as he's off .5 to me the big boasting boaster ;)

If he's off 0.5, I'd wager he has a pretty good idea how handicapping works and doesn't need to ask on an internet forum :)

Hence the thinly veiled letting us know hes nearly scratch ;)

Or he could be just genuinely off a higher handicap looking for an answer but I'm very cynical these days :)

Hence the thinly veiled letting us know hes nearly scratch ;)

Or he could be just genuinely off a higher handicap looking for an answer but I'm very cynical these days :)

Come on OP, prove Foreright is just a cynical B

Planning on playing early on Sunday morning in a comp away and then back home for my medal that afternoon. Question is (and this is a big IF) i score well in the morning, how do i know what to play off in the evening if the competition isnt totaled up yet? Or do you just play off the same handicap for the day? only saying this as im on .5 at the minute so anything decent and ill be cut?
    PARlance wrote: »

:confused::eek::confused::eek:

He never said 0.5.

The 0 makes a difference.
    I talk about points in isolation. I would say "I'm .4 and so I can't afford another plus 1" to a fellow golfer.
    The OPs question was about a very possible HC change, I think he's just isolating the .5.
    That's the way I read it anyway.

Com'on OP, prove me right :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Carpo86

As sad as it might make me I had a quick look through the OP's previous posts there and he was off 12.1 a year or two ago so I'd be pretty confident he's not suddenly off 0.5...

Carpo86 wrote: »
    As sad as it might make me I had a quick look through the OP's previous posts there and he was off 12.1 a year or two ago so I'd be pretty confident he's not suddenly off 0.5...

Research saves the day! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

When you enter your results on the computer you should be prompted to update your handicap if necessary...I am anyway!

Also nothing wrong with playing off too low, too high and you get a dq!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭LinksLad

GreeBo wrote: »
    When you enter your results on the computer you should be prompted to update your handicap if necessary...I am anyway!

Also nothing wrong with playing off too low, too high and you get a dq!
    Exactly so. - If in doubt, OP, play off your lower estimate.

Love to play 36 a day, but will wait 'til they can do spine transplants!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I'll play 36 in one day, after herself leaves me! Cant get in 36 in a month now!

Well if he isn't off .5 and this isn't a thinly veiled I'm nearly off scratch boast it's definitely a thinly veiled I play 36 holes a day boast

Have a beer Foreright ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Carpo86 wrote: »

And further... the lowest at his club, Hollystown, is off 1.0

We are only short of knowing what the lad had for breakfast the inquest going on in here.

He won't have any more queries in here I bet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭TheFarneyman

Cheers for the replies and no i wasnt looking for an ego boost, 8.5 is the handicap a few too many lads looking for the veil and cynical view in here :) Carpo86 you were right that is very sad! lol ill just inform the club that morning and cut myself accordingly think thats the main point i took out of the earlier posts. Thanks

ill just inform the club that morning and cut myself accordingly

Confidence is a preference for the habitual voyeur of what is known as........... ;)

golflife!