Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wimp2Warrior - New MMA TV show

• 08-05-2014 3:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭

New MMA TV show currently underway in Australia.
    In ran last year a small scale web series. But this year it will be airing on TV. Might be on Sky at home. The live finale here in sydney is next month. Prob holds about 1500-2000.
    An american version is being planning atm.

The basic gist of it;
    WIMP 2 WARRIOR is the Ultimate Human Experiment! 40 everyday men and women thrown into a 6-month professional MMA fight camp taking in various fighting disciplines such as Wrestling, Grappling, Boxing, Muay Thai and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. Over the 20 weeks of training the contestants also participate in tough strength and conditioning regimes on a personal mission of weight loss and muscle building to completely change their lives mentally and physically. A once in a lifetime experience is then offered to the finalists who make it through to the fight camp with an epic finale in the cage against another competitor to become WARRIORS.

The finale will be hosted in front of a sell out crowd at Luna Park in Sydney on June 21st 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Looks excellent, ill be keen to see that and keep an eye out for it. Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

So basically a load of mike sherridans!! Looks good though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    So basically a load of mike sherridans!! Looks good though

Who's Mike Sheridan?

Mellor wrote: »
    Who's Mike Sheridan?

He's the Editor of joe.ie. He did something very similar by himself last year. Trained with Owen roddy for a few months. Had no fighting experience. After that he fought. Didn't do too bad but lost.

Yeah, same sort of thing then.

There's a huge variety of people in the above show. Age, weight, background etc.

Apparently a US v Canada version starts later this year. Jens Pulver is coaching the US team

Yeah, same sort of thing then.

There's a huge variety of people in the above show. Age, weight, background etc.

Apparently a US v Canada version starts later this year. Jens Pulver is coaching the US team

Who knows, maybe RTE will see the rise in popularity in mma and commission their own version. I won't hold my breath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Who knows, maybe RTE will see the rise in popularity in mma and commission their own version. I won't hold my breath

Can you imagine the state of an Irish version?

"I want te do de cage fighting like!"

Dermighty wrote: »
    Can you imagine the state of an Irish version?

"I want te do de cage fighting like!"

There's an Irish contestant on the series above ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭rckfld

might be worth a look but feel it could be a bit cringey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

There's an Irish contestant on the series above ;)

Do you have any connection to this Mellor? I feel like there's some inside knowledgey things going on in this thread and i'm just ignorant of them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Training/filming for the Irish version of this show starts this Monday. 22 weeks of training out of SBG Ireland on the Naas Road, 6am Monday to Friday with the Finale night fights taking place in the National Boxing Stadium on 13th August. We've been sponsored by Reebok (given free Reebok training gear) and Mike Dolce is also on board for nutrition guidance.

I'm really excited to be taking part in this. I have to say John Kavanagh has been amazing in the build up to this so far. Extremely helpful, very dedicated and passionate about it. It's really exciting to get to work with him directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Good luck Whelo!

Best of luck whelo, you're in for a ride.
    It's taking off big time now

Can't believe reebok made a half decent looking t-shirt

Cheers lads. I'll try do some updates as it goes along. I was just over in SBG this morning collecting all the Reebok gear and meeting up with safe jawz to get mouth guard impressions done.

Got to meet a lot of the other participants and it's a good mix of people. There's not too many looking way out of shape anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Have you done any training sessions yet? there will be a few who are masqeurading as complete beginners no doubt but have experience.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Have you done any training sessions yet? there will be a few who are masqeurading as complete beginners no doubt but have experience.

I've done nothing other than getting up to the gym a couple of days a week to shake off the Cobwebs. There's definitely a few lads with some experience already. There's some young lad of 17 who just got his blue belt in kickboxing, does karate and started bjj a few months ago. There's two other lads who are already in SBG. One has been there about 4 months and the other just over 6 I think.

I've no concerns. At the end of the day we will all be doing the same 22 weeks training and the coaches will match people of as equal ability as possible for fight Night I'm sure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Whelo79 wrote: »
    I've done nothing other than getting up to the gym a couple of days a week to shake off the Cobwebs. There's definitely a few lads with some experience already. There's some young lad of 17 who just got his blue belt in kickboxing, does karate and started bjj a few months ago. There's two other lads who are already in SBG. One has been there about 4 months and the other just over 6 I think.

I've no concerns. At the end of the day we will all be doing the same 22 weeks training and the coaches will match people of as equal ability as possible for fight Night I'm sure.

Yeah only cheating themselves really if they have any decent experience the goal isnt to whoop somebody anyways fair play for taking part I guarantee you will train at least bjj for the rest of your life after this.

Hopefully. I was actual about to start going to do bjj in Team Ryano. I had made enquiries in late November and was going to start in January but then this W2W appeared and I couldn't resist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Best of luck man, will definitely tune in to watch that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Best of luck, looking forward to the updates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Good luck Whelo. Keep us updated. :)

There probably will be some like that. But it'll become obvious over a few months and they'll be matched up with each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Don't mind the BJJ player with six months experience, 'tis feck all. Or the blue belt level kickboxer ~ you'll catch up very quickly and after 22 weeks full time training you'll all be pretty much on a level playing field.

Fair play to ya, I'll be looking forward to seeing this.

Best of luck to you - fantastic opportunity. Don't forget to enjoy the process too - not just the results :-)

We done our first bit of bjj today. It was a 90 minute session learning escapes from full mount. I have to say I found it really interesting. I love the technicallity of it but it is also so basic, if that makes sense. The person on top was not trying to strike or submit, so obviously it will be much tougher to try escape when you have that to contend with also.

We have the option of doing a 1hr yoga class afterwards every morning so I'm going to avail of that as often as I can.

All in all a very positive start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Yupp, BJJ is like unlocking special moves but anyone can do them, an extremely interesting and addictive art. Yoga will definitely help as flexibility in the ground game is a big advantage.

Will this be on RTE does anyone know?

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Yupp, BJJ is like unlocking special moves but anyone can do them, an extremely interesting and addictive art. Yoga will definitely help as flexibility in the ground game is a big advantage.

Will this be on RTE does anyone know?

We haven't been told anything about when it will air or what station. They had cameras in for one of the tryout sessions and I think maybe some of that footage was being used to pitch the concept around. They were very positive that it would be taken up because of the interest in MMA. Recording for us starts on Thursday I've been told, that coincides with our first session with John Kavanagh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Best of luck Whelo! Keep us updated on any info about when its airing or anything else you think we should know. Remember to keep an ear to the ground and let us know any insider info on upcoming SBG fights :)

Has anybody heard from Whelo? We know he survived day 1 but thats it......hopefully he's alright!

Devastator wrote: »
    Has anybody heard from Whelo? We know he survived day 1 but thats it......hopefully he's alright!

Haha, yeah I'm still alive. All is great so far. Fantastic coaches, a great crew of trainees. Paddy Houlahan was in with John Kavanagh on the first Thursday and I got paired up with him for a bit to do a bit of footwork movement which was nice.

Really enjoying the experience so far. Kavanagh has a fantastic way of speaking, completely at ease and very knowledgeable. He loves his guillotines. I got to do some under hook battling with him too (he was basically demonstrating to the group a simple way to prevent someone getting double under hooks in the clinch)

So far the cameras have only been in on Thursdays (which coincides with the day we are with JK) I've avoided any sort of interview yet but they've been grabbing people each session. I haven't heard where or when it will be shown yet.

Great stuff!

Good to hear you're alright, learning lots and enjoying it which is the main thing!

Who trains you on other days apart from thurs?
    How much training are you doing per week?
    How are you coping with the training?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Good stuff Whelo. Actually found out at the weekend someone I know is taking part in this too. I saw a video that was getting a good bit of notice over the weekend for Bare Knuckling Bipolar which is the name/platform he is using to promote awareness of Bi Polar. He was saying he is part of Wimp2Warrior and finding it great so far. Don't want to derail the thread so wont go sharing the video etc but anyone interested look up Bare Knuckling BiPolar on facebook, its another great example of MMA being a great help in fighting mental health issues.

So far the cameras have only been in on Thursdays (which coincides with the day we are with JK) I've avoided any sort of interview yet but they've been grabbing people each session. I haven't heard where or when it will be shown yet.
    Don't avoid them too much. I didn't like having it in my face when I was a sweaty heap so appearances in the end product were slim. The footage they did get was probably too laden with curses to use anyway.
    Axwell wrote: »
    Good stuff Whelo. Actually found out at the weekend someone I know is taking part in this too. I saw a video that was getting a good bit of notice over the weekend for Bare Knuckling Bipolar which is the name/platform he is using to promote awareness of Bi Polar. He was saying he is part of Wimp2Warrior and finding it great so far. Don't want to derail the thread so wont go sharing the video etc but anyone interested look up Bare Knuckling BiPolar on facebook, its another great example of MMA being a great help in fighting mental health issues.
    A good cause, but I really dislike that name. No doubt lots of people will miss the irony and and think he is being literal.

Who trains you on other days apart from thurs?
    How much training are you doing per week?
    How are you coping with the training?

Mondays - Joey B doing BJJ
    Tuesdays - Mark Cleary doing movement
    Wednesday - Karl Cannon Thai Boxing
    Friday - Simon McEvoy Strength & Conditioning

It's 90 minutes every morning, 6am - 7.30 and then there is a yoga class I do straight after every session. Coping fine so far, the early mornings are getting easier. I hyperextended my left elbow yesterday so it's a bit tender today. The first of many injuries I'm sure!!

Axwell wrote: »

Yeah that's Éanna. He's a really really nice fella. Fair play to him for what he is doing. He's been in SBG for a few months prior to this starting so I believe that's he he found out about the programme. His video is excellent, very honest and heartfelt.

We were the same. Then it went to 5 mornings.
    Then I added in Saturday morning BJJ, and runs at lunchtime. By the end it was 8 session a week, exclude DIY-yoga in front of the TV.

We were the same. Then it went to 5 mornings.
    Then I added in Saturday morning BJJ, and runs at lunchtime. By the end it was 8 session a week, exclude DIY-yoga in front of the TV.

We have Thursdays too with John Kavanagh so 5 mornings a week. I'm already looking into joining one of the local gyms to do some double up sessions. I'll probably go for either Team Ryano in Finglas, SBG Charlestown or SBG Swords. One day of bjj a week just doesn't seem enough. Although I'd say no matter how good the training most of the fights will probably still end up as stand up slogger knockers. Holy Mary shots being swung from all angles for 90 seconds and then both fighters are exhausted!!! Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

You should hit the Saturday morning open mat in SBG for your BJJ fix. You'll be battered around by all the colours of the rainbow and learn a tonne! It's savage craic :D

MagicIRL wrote: »
    You should hit the Saturday morning open mat in SBG for your BJJ fix. You'll be battered around by all the colours of the rainbow and learn a tonne! It's savage craic :D

Haha. Maybe in a couple of months time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Haha. Maybe in a couple of months time!!

The sooner the better! Only way to learn to defend that neck is to be tapped for failing to defend that neck over and over again :D

Well I only done my first bit of bjj sparring yesterday so I think a few more weeks of instruction might be required before jumping in the deep end.!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 RJPala

Check out a comedian called Bryan Lacey. He works with a website I write for and is creating video blogs on his progress with this program. Pretty interesting stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Decent team behind you. Karl is probably one of the funniest coaches down there, great at breaking things down to make them easier to grasp as well

I keep saying I'll get down for this but never do ha. Goals :)

RJPala wrote: »
    Check out a comedian called Bryan Lacey. He works with a website I write for and is creating video blogs on his progress with this program. Pretty interesting stuff.

Yeah Brian is doing the UK version. They are in week 11 now so a good bit ahead of us. His vlogs are very good and he had an excellent interview with John Kavanagh last week.

Tazzimus wrote: »
    Decent team behind you. Karl is probably one of the funniest coaches down there, great at breaking things down to make them easier to grasp as well

Karl is excellent, and very very funny. I think he is not allowed anywhere near the tv cameras for obvious reasons! Hahaha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Yeah Brian is doing the UK version. They are in week 11 now so a good bit ahead of us. His vlogs are very good and he had an excellent interview with John Kavanagh last week.

Think you mean Jay Taylor?

califano wrote: »
    Think you mean Jay Taylor?

No this one was defo with JK on Whoatv or whatever it is called. Spoke about wimp to warrior ireland and the aftermath of UFC 196.

I know Jay Taylor is in the Sydney series of W2W. They have their finale fight this Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Mellor, is there anywhere online I can watch the Australian series? I'm looking for a new show to watch at the moment and this will fit the bill nicely.