Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the most uninteresting fact about Mayo?

• 07-05-2014 10:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭

Fsdghfdfjpogdfvbhutas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Mayonnaise wasn't actually invented there or produced in any significant quantity

The town of Cringeford may not actually exist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Hellmann’s is the number 1 brand in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

3,506 more Catholics in Mayo in 2011 than in 2006

nearly fell asleep writing that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Today is Séptimo de Mayo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Mixing it with ketchup results in pink sauce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

My great grandmother was from Mayo but she fell for the charm of my northern great-grandfather and moved up.

I can't think of anything interesting though.

No wait, UNinteresting you say? the gaelic football teams failure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

55% of all replies to this thread are going to reference mayonnaise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I know what is interesting....

Mayo hands

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=mayo+hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

The major export of Mayo is Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

They put fried onions on their breakfast rolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

I've never been there... who was interested to find out that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Mayo is shìt.

Werd

Mayo has 680 calories per 100 grams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭RED L4 0TH

Zack Mayo was the guy in 'An Officer and a Gentleman'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭FrPhelimYoung

It's about as pointless as this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The Plaza de Mayo is not in Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Mayo have reached September but never shine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

They're for Sam in 2014. Just like 2013. And 2012. Etc.

Vegetarians cannot eat Mayo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I went there once. It was for a NoName event. The NoName club was for teens who decided to stay away from the drink/sex scene and be wholesome and kind to each other.

What a load of sh*t that was. 400 16 year olds in sleeping bags in one room and not one finger bang or naggin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Knock airport was built with NATO money..

there, I said it.. I feel better now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

The virgin Mary appeared there once, then she left...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

The capital of the Republic of Connacht was in Mayo (Castlebar). It's one of the shortest lived countries to ever have existed. All those Corkonians talk about being a "republic" but at least we went out and actually did it!!:D

We were technically at war with Portugal, the Holy Roman Empire, Russia and Prussia among others but never fought them (from 27th August to 8th September 1798).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭SamAK

I know a d1ckhead called Chris who lives in Mayo.

Fact.

The capital of the Republic of Connacht was in Mayo (Castlebar). It's the shortest lived country to ever have existed. All those Corkonians talk about being a "republic" but at least we went out and actually did it!!:D

We were technically at war with Portugal, the Holy Roman Empire, Russia and Prussia among others but never fought them (from 27th August to 8th September 1798).

you left out your Cavan cousins though, they were a part of Connacht a few hundred years before

SamAK wrote: »
    I know a d1ckhead called Chris who lives in Mayo.

Fact.

Is that Marys brother? she is an awful cunt too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

I grew up in England and spent 6 weeks of the summer in Mayo (dad/family live there) and I used to cry every time I left. Yeah, I know there are much better places in Ireland/the world, but when you have to go back to a sh*thole like England, Mayo became my favourite place.

Then I moved to Ireland and now Galway city is my actual favourite place. So slag Mayo all ye want, but it made me love Ireland and want to move here the minute i turned 18 (which i did). I have also never returned to England and you couldn't pay me millions to either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Major producer of shiite country music
    and country music loving gombeens

Ever listen to MWRFM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

orangesoda wrote: »
    you left out your Cavan cousins though, they were a part of Connacht a few hundred years before

Ah sure they were always province hopping. They've been part of Mide (the 5th province), then Connacht (with parts in Leinster) and finally Ulster. Munster never got a go at all.

you wouldn't be interested in taking Donegal at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Knock airport was built with NATO money..

Did NATO donate the dough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Mayo was invented because culchies had no where to go on holidays. It was once un-inhabited but bog hoppers that started holidaying there got lost and so settled there rather than try and find their way out.

There are no maps of mayo just representations of what people think it might look like, if anyone actually cared.

Mayo gets 1.27 days of sunshine a year, I think or maybe it's 1.27m of rain. Either way, it has a bit of weather now and then.

The capital of Mayo is 'M'

Girls outnumber goats by 6 to 1 in Mayo.

It is illegal to leave your chickens outside in a storm in Co Mayo.

All first born children in Mayo are given names according to how many teeth their mother has left at the time of their birth.

No one from Mayo has ever appeared on Fair City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭p38

Sandwiches are not the same without Mayo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Ah Lads and Lasses. I must stand up and be counted here. Spent my secondary schooling there in boarding school up to the Leaving Cert.
    We have reunions there every few years - great craic.
    Mass every morning but it was there that I first read The Origin Of The Species and Man's Place In Nature. I left a full blown atheist to the chagrin of my parents :)
    That was in the mid 60s and there were only two other healthy people in my parish in Kerry that did not go to Sunday Mass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I feel sick. I want to puke.

Puke baby, puke! It's a free country ........... 1916 an all that.
    But better make sure that there is cabbage, mash and turnips in the technicolour yawn :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Lived there for a month once with a friend. He nicknamed it Royston Mayo.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

The town of Cringeford may not actually exist

well if it don't exist it definitely should! Have you seen sh1tebag today? no man,did you see the head on the woman he went home with last night? id say sh1tebag will be hiding in cringeford for a few days after waking up beside that one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

My geography teachers always claimed Ireland's only fjord was on the Mayo-Galway border. I have since discovered there are two more. Not only was this uninteresting, it's not even a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Liam McHale likes basketball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

CJC999 wrote: »
    No one from Mayo has ever appeared on Fair City.

Funnily enough a woman from Castlebar was on it once and they wouldn't shut up about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Bassfish

It's pronounced Mayeoooooooogh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

We had a religion teacher from Mayo in secondary school. He spent most of the class talking about his girlfriend or about the time he was hitching from Galway back home to Claremorris the lad that picked him up tried to molest him in the car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Apparently Galway won't beat Mayo if they have Willie Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Enda Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Funnily enough a woman from Castlebar was on it once and they wouldn't shut up about it.

Enda Kenny?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Supernintendo Chalmers

How about an interesting fact - Achill Island has the highest sea cliffs in Western Europe

This site tells you all you need to know!

http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Mayo_(County)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

There's a Blessington in Mayo, between Kilmaine and Ballinrobe

SimonLynch wrote: »
    There's a Blessington in Mayo, between Kilmaine and Ballinrobe

Great part of the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

It's were Dav the community managers is from, allegedly.