Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SLDR Driver ?

• 07-05-2014 1:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭

Hey,

Just wondering if anyone has tried/splashed out on one of these and what ye think of it ?
    Lot of buzz about it and wondering if the low CG and subsequent loft up idea has any merit ?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Hey,

Just wondering if anyone has tried/splashed out on one of these and what ye think of it ?
    Lot of buzz about it and wondering if the low CG and subsequent loft up idea has any merit ?

thanks

Tried one at my club fitting at Xmas. Couldn't really hit it to be honest. But then my mate tried it and he got an extra 40 yards I can't remember though what loft he was using. Mark cross field has lofted up. But rick shields(another YouTube guy) tried it and it didn't work for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

etxp wrote: »
    Tried one at my club fitting at Xmas. Couldn't really hit it to be honest. But then my mate tried it and he got an extra 40 yards I can't remember though what loft he was using. Mark cross field has lofted up. But rick shields(another YouTube guy) tried it and it didn't work for him!

What loft did you try ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Redriddick

I have one 10.5 lofted up to higher and set to draw.I like it and am glad i changed from my r11s to this.I know they reckon its harder to hit but my drives are less eratic.I used to have a severe fade but am hitting more straight with this.
    I know its the driver and not the driver but i just feel more comfortable with it.
    Best bet is try it out somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,184 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Look - I'm one to talk.

But does it not come to point where you go.

Ok 100 euro is expensive. I'll go for it.
    Then you go ok - 200 euro for a driver - will say nothing to herself.
    250 - well at least it was fitted and shaft is perfect for me according to a dodgy pro.
    Then at 300 you go - ok this has got out of control.

At 360 - you have to go - there will be a bag of them in the 2nd hand bag in 12 months. And TM will have another 2 clubs out by then.

Anyway - I don't need any extra distance for more trouble.

Look - I'm one to talk.

But does it not come to point where you go.

Ok 100 euro is expensive. I'll go for it.
    Then you go ok - 200 euro for a driver - will say nothing to herself.
    250 - well at least it was fitted and shaft is perfect for me according to a dodgy pro.
    Then at 300 you go - ok this has got out of control.

At 360 - you have to go - there will be a bag of them in the 2nd hand bag in 12 months. And TM will have another 2 clubs out by then.

Anyway - I don't need any extra distance for more trouble.

Completely. I haven't the money to invest anyway but just interested to see if this idea is working for people

sldrcomp.jpg

Like at this stage - time to just laugh, look at above.

Jetspeed died a death so SLDR S is in to replace that.

After seeing mini me above this is who is running Taylor Made.:D

But all joking aside - does it work ?

I'll be looking in 2nd hand bin - or will try one at range . :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Didn't work for me, I lost distance and that was with a wide variety of shafts/lofts. The pro I work with was the same, maybe he is teaching me the same dodgy swing as his ;)

Out of interest what is your normal setup in terms of club, loft, shaft, speed, carry etc ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

Friend of mine paid a lot of money for one
    Is he hitting further ? No
    Is he more consistent? No

In fairness lads - it about time the golf community called their bluff.

If you call bluff in poker too many times - your game is up.

I have to agree with all of the above.
    Taylormade are taking the piss.
    I have rocketbladze tour irons and now the sldr driver but as fixed said come end of year loads to be had.
    I do change my gear fairly often but if i was to buy everytime something new came out i would be broke,homeless and divorced!!

In fairness lads - it about time the golf community called their bluff.

If you call bluff in poker too many times - your game is up.

The thing is it seems to be working for lots of people - although not everyone. And I'd trust Mark Crossfield for example and he uses it now based on the numbers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I'm still hitting my i15 and will continue for a few years I reckon. I will improve more by improving my swing rather than by equipment and I reckon that's true for most golfers. It's hard to come up with a new fad every year so they go black then white then black again. Or big then small then big again or whatever else.
    Don't get me wrong I love spending money on golf stuff but mostly it's just marketing schmonz.

I think it is all relative i.e
    when i started playing i had a second hand set and one of them square headed drivers from aldi.
    I always and i mean always out drove my playing partners with it to the point i was asked what make of driver it was and where i got it.
    After i gradually got better i changed equipment based on swing and results i was seeing.
    SO it does not matter what you use as long as you are comfortable with it.
    And by the way i have gone back to a regular shaft in the sldr.

One other thing (i know im being a pain) i have my foregolf spec sheet here and it has me down for my own rbz(which i had at the time of fitting) with an aldila protopype 70 stiff shaft which i never got!!!

The thing is it seems to be working for lots of people - although not everyone. And I'd trust Mark Crossfield for example and he uses it now based on the numbers

Ahh there has to be something behind it - and their marketing is genius.
    But the relentlessness is a bit tiresome - if this technology is so ground breaking - why did they say every other club was ground breaking before it. They were releasing clubs as technologically ground breaking - when they were changing their design principles in the background.

Is the loft increasing height off ground too - that wont suit my golf - grand in America on a still day. But I play in wind 80 % of the time.

Would just balloon out of bounds.

Anyway - just one club a year will do.

But the relentlessness is a bit tiresome - if this technology is so ground breaking - why did they say every other club was ground breaking before it. They were releasing clubs as technologically ground breaking - when they were changing their design principles in the background.

Is the loft increasing height off ground too - that wont suit my golf - grand in America on a still day. But I play in wind 80 % of the time.

I agree re marketing, re too many clubs etc etc

On the height off ground they reckon launch angle will be higher but peak height won't which is what Mark found.

Ballooning is mostly caused by excess spin from what I can tell.

Redriddick wrote: »
    One other thing (i know im being a pain) i have my foregolf spec sheet here and it has me down for my own rbz(which i had at the time of fitting) with an aldila protopype 70 stiff shaft which i never got!!!

So Foregolf stiffed you or you never put in what they suggested ?

I think herself would have stiffed me and not in a good way if I paid the €155 for the shaft!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

pretty sure the idea behind it is that it's a very low spinning driver compared to others so you need the extra loft to compensate for that.

Watched a different crossfield vid recently where he compared the performance to the i25 & although he loved i25 said he'd stick with sldr cos the numbers were so good. Sldr was higher loft but peak height was basically the same as the lower loft i25 (think his spin rate was around 1900 vs 2300 in the ping)

He did try out the jetspeed & didn't get close to the sldr numbers as far as I know.

I've heard that it is more suited to a golfer with a quicker swing due to the low spin?

SLDR in bag if villa win tonight then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

SLDR in bag if villa win tonight then.

Also TM are running a 30 day money back guarantee deal if you buy the sldr or jetspeed & are not happy with the performance

What loft did you try ?

I think it was 9.5. Or 8.5. Driver I have now is 8.5 so It will have been somewhere near thar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

Tried it at the driving range, 1 degree higher than my normal.

Disliked the sound and found on a bad hit the shot ended up worse compared to my current Xhot Pro.

Much preferred the flight of my Xhot aswell. Not a bad club and I'm sure I could score just as well with it but prefer my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Such a load of rubbish.

The day I swing my driver the exact same way every time is the day I'll start looking at spin rates and numbers.

That's the day I'm on the pga tour as a top of the food chain pro....

ie I'll never buy into them.

ForeRight wrote: »
    Such a load of rubbish.

The day I swing my driver the exact same way every time is the day I'll start looking at spin rates and numbers.

That's the day I'm on the pga tour as a top of the good chain pro....

ie I'll never buy into them.

What driver do you have now?

Some Callaway one I liked the look and feel off in the shop one day last year. Before that I had a nike thing for 3 years I got for €50 in the bargain bucket.

They both seem like they are the same when I hit the ball well. Haven't noticed a difference anyway.

Edit: just checked it. Callaway xhot 9.5 on the bottom of it

I've played with men that have burned it up with what looks like drivers 50 years old.

Some Callaway one I liked the look and feel off in the shop one day last year. Before that I had a nike thing for 3 years I got for €50 in the bargain bucket.

They both seem like they are the same when I hit the ball well. Haven't noticed a difference anyway.

Edit: just checked it. Callaway xhot 9.5 on the bottom of it

I've played with men that have burned it up with what looks like drivers 50 years old.

You already buy into it then if you have an xhot, they all claim to be low spinning blah blah. Is it just the loft up you think is a load of ****?

Not really. Bought it because I needed a new one and that's the one I liked when I picked it up.

Couldn't tell you what spin rates or angles it does. Don't care either.

You paid for it so you have bought into the technology whatever way you look at it. Just because you don't know your spin rates doesn't mean you are not benefitting from them!

I broke my driver. I had to pay for a new one. I was hardly going to pitch it off the tee.

You are comparing me buying a driver off a shelf(I need) to lads worrying about spin rates, angles of launch and shafts etc.

Not even close to bring the same.

I broke my driver. I had to pay for a new one. I was hardly going to pitch it off the tee.

You are comparing me buying a driver off a shelf(I need) to lads worrying about spin rates, angles of launch and shafts etc.

Not even close to bring the same.

So you didn't think when buying it that it would get you a few extra yards? All I'm saying is just because you think it's a load of **** doesn't mean you aren't making use of it, even tho you are ignorant to the technology!

I think lads would be better served spending on good lessons and learning to use the clubs the way they are designed to be instead of forking out stupid money every year for the latest gimmick.

10 yards longer 17 yards longer now 20 yards longer I read with this Taylor made stuff over the course of 3 years. I'd put my mortgage that no amateur golfer is doing that. Those stats might work for pros who are like machines for swinging.

Each to there own but I stand by my statement that it's a load of crap.

I think lads would be better served spending on good lessons and learning to use the clubs the way they are designed to be instead of forking out stupid money every year for the latest gimmick.

10 yards longer 17 yards longer now 20 yards longer I read with this Taylor made stuff over the course of 3 years. I'd put my mortgage that no amateur golfer is doing that. Those stats might work for pros who are like machines for swinging.

It's a load of crap but you are still using the technology?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

It's ok to buy Callaway's top driver from last yr, but it's not ok to buy taylormade's this yr?

Hmmmm.

It's a load of crap but you are still using the technology?

What would you like me to use?

I don't buy into the hype of it but I need to hit the ball with something.

There's a difference between just buying a driver of a shelf and spouting on about your spin rates and launch angles etc when every time you hit the club those numbers are variable due to an inconsistent swing.

As I said if you're a pro I'd expect you to be worrying about these things. If an amateur club golfer spend your money on lessons instead of dropping €300 a year on the latest gimmick because it "makes you better"

Each to their own if you want to but into the hype.

Tilikum wrote: »
    It's ok to buy Callaway's top driver from last yr, but it's not ok to buy taylormade's this yr?

Hmmmm.

I didn't know it was. It was on a special offer and cheap so I took it.

You are comparing that to me going in and asking for the latest driver available because of the numbers the promos say it does.

No thanks. Give me that €149 driver please. This one I have is snapped.

I didn't know it was. It was on a special offer and cheap so I took it.

You are comparing that to me going in and asking for the latest driver available because of the numbers the promos say it does.

No thanks. Give me that €149 driver please. This one I have is snapped.

I don't think anyone is saying buy the latest cause they are telling you it's great. And it's all very well saying just give me a driver but if you were ballooning the ball with the new one but hadn't with the old one then all those spin rates etc would be important to you (at least indirectly)

I disagree.

If I'm ballooning a driver it's my swing. Not the equipment.

Let's be honest there is not much difference in drivers over the past 10 years to cause you to baloon a ball.

You baloon it due to a shocking swing.

I disagree.

If I'm ballooning a driver it's my swing. Not the equipment.

Let's be honest there is not much difference in drivers over the past 10 years to cause you to baloon a ball.

You baloon it due to a shocking swing.

I'm afraid we'll have to agree to disagree on that one. I have hit different drivers on the same day and seen completely different flights with the same swings. Now I know they may not have been completely the same swing but the difference in flight was certainly consistent enough between each driver for it not to have been in my head

I assumed you meant the ball was going way off course by using the term ballooning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Johny 8

The Taylor made woods are definitely longer hitting than titleist. I play titleist and my brother plays Taylor made. I've tried his in the range a few times and Taylor made is about 20 yards longer. Taylormade flight seems very slightly lower. Off the shelf clubs also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭ShivasIrons

The SLDR is a driver that would work really well for some golfers and be awful for others. The reason being is the low spinning head.

Why is it so low spinning, the center of gravity has been moved forward and lower, giving more gear effect when the ball is hit off the center of the face, which is now slightly higher then the center of gravity. As a result shots hit off high up on the face have an even more extreme gear effect, giving really low spinning shots.

If the really low spinning shots are not launch high enough they just dip out of the air, hence the whole loft up campaign, slightly more loft also will increase the spin, launch higher and give the ideal trajectory.

One aspect of the SLDR is the headweight is about 220 grams, about 10% higher then most drivers, this can lead to a loss in swing speed but is made up for in much better spin and launch numbers giving a more optimized flight. It is also slightly less forgiving due to the position of the center of gravity.

The SLDR is a great driver for high spin, high speed players but is an awful driver for low spin players and low speed players. Fitting is crucial for this driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Out of interest what is your normal setup in terms of club, loft, shaft, speed, carry etc ?

9.5 degree Razr Fit extreme, miyazaki kusala blue stiff. When fit speed was in around 100 to 110 depending on shot but I only really swing at the top end when I need too. I'd say average carry probably in around 255/260 as I generally knock it out around 270 with a punchy draw rather than try to cream it.

So in theory this driver is actually worth trying for me.

I wouldn't bother but . Till it is in 2nd hand basket .

By the sounds. People will buy this driver, that it just, will not suit.
    So quickest driver to 2nd hand market ever.

The SLDR is a driver that would work really well for some golfers and be awful for others. The reason being is the low spinning head.

Why is it so low spinning, the center of gravity has been moved forward and lower, giving more gear effect when the ball is hit off the center of the face, which is now slightly higher then the center of gravity. As a result shots hit off high up on the face have an even more extreme gear effect, giving really low spinning shots.

If the really low spinning shots are not launch high enough they just dip out of the air, hence the whole loft up campaign, slightly more loft also will increase the spin, launch higher and give the ideal trajectory.

One aspect of the SLDR is the headweight is about 220 grams, about 10% higher then most drivers, this can lead to a loss in swing speed but is made up for in much better spin and launch numbers giving a more optimized flight. It is also slightly less forgiving due to the position of the center of gravity.

The SLDR is a great driver for high spin, high speed players but is an awful driver for low spin players and low speed players. Fitting is crucial for this driver.

Shivas - would you be willing to do a test - I'll go out with my current driver hit 3 bad swing 2 ok 1 good - and we will see what my figures are versus SLDR ?

I assumed you meant the ball was going way off course by using the term ballooning.

Ah ok. Well then no that is more the swing alright :D
    Although shaft will have an influence and also, in theory, lower spin should mean less off line on bad hits as there is no such thing as side spin just backspin on a tilted axis - so less spin means less offline (in theory :D )