Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

That back four is the stuff of nightmares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,393 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Surprised there is no Match Thread for the big game tonight.

Any ITK's have the lineup? Bib-Theory pictures even?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭joe123

Always find it strange why posters post in other clubs threads to argue with opposition fans.

I would find it mind numbingly boring. Some of ye have far to much time on yere hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

NukaCola wrote: »
    As in 2012/2013

I just cant agree, maybe because I'm not easily impressed I suppose. How would you rate Henderson in 2012/2013. I would have said he had a decent enough season showing signs of improvement. Yet he was at least on par with Lallana in terms of goals and chances created in 2012/2013. How would you assess Jonjo Shelvey last season for Swansea? A ~5mil signing? He scored and created more than Lallana in his first season, had a better pass completion rate (and passes) also and thats him settling into a new team.

Now I'm not suggesting Shelvey is better, and obviously its not all about chances created etc, i'm just saying, if your comparing seasons 2013/14 is easily his best season by miles. His first season cannot be described as "very good" in my mind.

Absolutely, this '2 good seasons' myth needs to be debunked.

One decent season where he did his job well in a struggling team just promoted, and one impressive season.

He would've been worth about 7m last summer, no more.

It looks like Rodgers really wants him and thinks he could be a player to really improve the squad. At the moment I'd have to trust the man, so I'd get behind the signing if we overpay a little (20m).

At 20m, while overpaying, I can see the logic of signing a player who could serve as adequate backup/competition to Henderson, Sterling and Coutinho, play centre-mid, as a more advanced midfielder or out wide. As many have said, it's a squad game, and maybe signing a player who has a bit of versatility like Lallana would save us from spending 5-10m on a couple of players as backup.

Anything more though would be mad - surely for 25m we could sign a much more proven player, of similar age to Lallana, who has shown the type of quality Lallana has (or preferably better) over a number of seasons at the highest level, or a younger player who has a similar track record to Lallana but with potential scope for improvement to being one of the top players in his position in the world (for example someone like Coutinho).

We are one of the most exciting teams in the world at the moment, playing in the most attractive league, with Champions League football - what an attractive proposition to the above types of players. Surely we can attract them?

I can get on board with Lallana, I see the logic, and Rodgers obviously thinks he's a good fit, but at 26 he's probably not going to improve a huge amount and his level at the moment is very good, but not spectacular, and not 25m-worthy imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

My worry with Lallana is that he will suffer from the pressure of being at a big club. The World Cup might be a good indicator of how he will handle that level of pressure (it has caused bigger players to wilt).

I still think 25m is way way too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

re Lallama - I suspect he is a player who will still doing what he does in 7/8 years at his current level assuming no serious injuries, he doesn't rely on pace or "obvious" strength so should be able to be considered a long term club asset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Morzadec wrote: »
    Absolutely, this '2 good seasons' myth needs to be debunked.

One decent season where he did his job well in a struggling team just promoted, and one impressive season.

He would've been worth about 7m last summer, no more.

It looks like Rodgers really wants him and thinks he could be a player to really improve the squad. At the moment I'd have to trust the man, so I'd get behind the signing if we overpay a little (20m).

At 20m, while overpaying, I can see the logic of signing a player who could serve as adequate backup/competition to Henderson, Sterling and Coutinho, play centre-mid, as a more advanced midfielder or out wide. As many have said, it's a squad game, and maybe signing a player who has a bit of versatility like Lallana would save us from spending 5-10m on a couple of players as backup.

Anything more though would be mad - surely for 25m we could sign a much more proven player, of similar age to Lallana, who has shown the type of quality Lallana has (or preferably better) over a number of seasons at the highest level, or a younger player who has a similar track record to Lallana but with potential scope for improvement to being one of the top players in his position in the world (for example someone like Coutinho).

We are one of the most exciting teams in the world at the moment, playing in the most attractive league, with Champions League football - what an attractive proposition to the above types of players. Surely we can attract them?

I can get on board with Lallana, I see the logic, and Rodgers obviously thinks he's a good fit, but at 26 he's probably not going to improve a huge amount and his level at the moment is very good, but not spectacular, and not 25m-worthy imo.

Yeah my thoughts too. I think he could be a very good player for us and I do rate him....its just the rumoured fee that has be questioning the wisdom of this. We've been down this road before....Downing had 'proven' more in the PL than Lallana has so far.

The Sunday World, jaysus.

Anyone buying that rag should be subjected to a beheading at the very least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Again, if Lallana was South American or Spanish people would be going mad to sign him for 20M. The chap is a seriously class act and would be absolutely perfect for us in every sense. Doubt he would have any problems stepping up to a bigger team, he handled playing for England pretty damn well and will know most of the Liverpool lads anyway.

With Lallana, you're not just paying for what he has done. You're paying for what you expect him to be able to do. Obviously Rodgers thinks he can keep progressing and really fit in nicely here.

However, my issue is, he's 26 not 22. Still, I won't kick up a fuss if he's signed, and as far as the fee is concerned, as long as it doesn't stop us signing other players we need (LB, RB, etc), then I don't really care.

billy2012 wrote: »
    Again, if Lallana was South American or Spanish people would be going mad to sign him for 20M. The chap is a seriously class act and would be absolutely perfect for us in every sense. Doubt he would have any problems stepping up to a bigger team, he handled playing for England pretty damn well and will know most of the Liverpool lads anyway.

I dont think I have read anyone say they dont rate him. The concern is that he has had 1 very good season. Thats not to say he isnt or wont continue to be a class act but at 20m-25m ......thats a huge risk and we have been badly burnt in the recent past. As people have pointed out there are others in Europe who would be available for less and a similar standard.

Surely, Rodgers and the backroom staff know a bit more than boards users?

I fcuking hope so anyway!

rarnes1 wrote: »

Said that myself yesterday :D

You can't help but get a little invested in it all, I suppose. I do hate the speculation though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Anyone buying that rag should be subjected to a beheading at the very least!

Its not as if the typical gawper of that rag actually needs a head to operate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Am of the thinking that Lallana would be a smashing buy.

Everything about his play suggests to me that he would be a perfect addition to our team.

He harrys players when his team are without the ball, he tracks back well, he tackles well enough, he is a good passer, he is a very good chance creator, he is equally good on either foot, he scores goals, he creates goals, has decent pace, is very skillful and he has a workrate that only Henderson in our team comes close to.

My guess would be that Rodgers sees him as being ideal to play as the left sided CM with Gerrard/DM behind him and the AM ahead of him.

You basically get, with Lallana, a player who can match the better qualities of Henderson, Allen, and Coutinho, and that could slot into the team alongside or instead of any of those three names.

I can think of better midfielders than Lallana, but not an awful lot that have his mix of qualities and that would be at clubs that we could get them off of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Not just that article, but generally speaking, it is funny how many people act like journalism majors as soon as they read an article they don't like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Kess73 wrote: »

Everything about his play suggests to me that he would be a perfect addition to our team.

He harrys players when his team are without the ball, he tracks back well, he tackles well enough, he is a good passer, he is a very good chance creator, he is equally good on either foot, he scores goals, he creates goals, has decent pace, is very skillful and he has a workrate that only Henderson in our team comes close to.

My guess would be that Rodgers sees him as being ideal to play as the left sided CM with Gerrard/DM behind him and the AM ahead of him.

You basically get, with Lallana, a player who can match the better qualities of Henderson, Allen, and Coutinho, and that could slot into the team alongside or instead of any of those three names.

I can think of better midfielders than Lallana, but not an awful lot that have his mix of qualities and that would be at clubs that we could get them off of.

Exactly!!

I'm not sure we will see him in CM, I see him playing further up the field. No doubt he has the quality to play in the center.

gafferino wrote: »
    Well I disagree with you on that point. He had an amazing season for Liverpool.

Yes it is out and out hyperbole. Gerrard being voted second best by THE FOOTBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION makes him self obsessed?

Ive given this far too much attention for the drivel it is.

Enjoy.

See here; I agree the self-obsessed thing is bull****.
    M!Ck^ wrote: »
    The title of the article is ridiculous I agree, but the only reason it's there is to draw attention, positive or negative. That's the Sunday World in a nutshell.
    However some of the points he makes are valid ones, regardless of how you may view the headline or how you may view the journalist.

What I don't agree is that The Football Writers Association' voted him 2nd best player in the league. It's a absolute joke. And the article makes valid points as to why that is and I agree.

Everything has to go through Gerard and in turn has held back players, I have said this already but Henderson excelled when Gerard was injured.

Kess73 wrote: »

I actually agree with you on his qualities...its just the 20m-25m being quoted. You dont think thats too much?

billy2012 wrote: »

Why do you say this?

If we were signing a South American player who had one very good (but not amazingly exceptional) season and one decent season at the top level, aged 26, for a rumoured 20-25m, everyone would be saying we were batsh*t crazy.

For example, Iago Aspas had one very good season at the top level before joining us, aged 25. At 8m or so he was worth a punt, but I warned a lot on here that were getting excited thinking that he was an incredible bargain, that he probably was not really much of an upgrade on Borini (who was younger too).

The reservations expressed have absolutely nothing to do without his nationality and everything to do with what he has achieved in the game at his age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

A question on Lallana.

Why was he the most subbed player for Southampton last year?

Was it tiredness, change of formation, what was he taken off for generally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Anyone buying that rag should be subjected to a beheading at the very least! reading it every week. That should learn 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Not just that article, but generally speaking, it is funny how many people act like journalism majors as soon as they read an article they don't like

Or accountants when money is involved or scouts when players are being mentioned or tacticians when tactics are being discussed.......its all about debate and being open to other peoples views when those views are reasonable and reasons are presented that back up their point of view. Sure if we accept everything that the "professionals" of a given sector give us boards would not exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

5live wrote: »
    A question on Lallana.

He wanted to phone the wife with the results before the game ended.

Becoming quite common these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

Simple question. Do people really think Southampton are going to let their club captain and one of their top performing players go for 10M or 15M?

If it takes 20M or 25M to get him from Southampton and Rodgers/transfer committee want him and believe that they have the budget to pay that for him as well as securing the other targets then what is the problem?

Would people prefer to pay 12M for example for player X who looks good in the Bundesliga but from the research done by the club wouldnt fit in as well or match the system as well as Lallana for an extra 10M?

As i recall there wasnt half as much consternation around the Mhiktyaran price last summer and I reckon Lallana to be every bit as good if not better than him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭asdfgh86

I just hope we make at least one signing who could be plausibly be seen as one of our top 5 best players rather than just a backup/rotation option.

I actually think when loan/injured players come back we have a pretty deep squad of average to good players. But we need players who can really push for a first team spot or at the very least, make a significant impact from the bench.

I used to subscribe to this view.

Then Andy Carroll for 35m happened

A question on Lallana.

I think they had Ramirez on the bench, which is a pretty good swap when legs are getting a bit tired.

I think Rodgers would have subbed the likes of Gerrard, Sturridge, Sterling a lot more if we had quality to replace them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,217 ✭✭✭✭rob316

A question on Lallana.

I've watched a lot of him this season and I'd say he is absolutely knackered, but not due to stamina, more due to the playing style of Southampton. They press very hard and high up the pitch. Akin to our 20 min bursts at the start of a game but they try to do that all game.

Morzadec wrote: »
    I used to subscribe to this view.

Then Andy Carroll for 35m happened

That wasn't Rodgers. On the other hand, Aspas, Moses, Alberto