Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ibiza 2014

• 04-05-2014 1:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭

Who is heading this year, last year was good but getting to the stage it's too much overkill with deep house (or music that some call deep house) having said that 2013 was mostly a great year for music,but you need more variety as it's mostly just deep /tech house or Techno!

Wasn't gonna go this year but am gonna try get over for a long weekend in July, Clockwork Orange having their 20th anniversary party in Es Paradis, first time they've been back on the island in years so that looks brilliant, wouldn't mind another visit to Ushuaia as well enjoyed myself there last year, the Space opening fiesta too looks excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Space opening does look tasty. Gutted I'm missing it (by a week). Steve Lawler playing in Space the weekend I'm there so will head to that. Can't fecking wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,412 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Last year was amazing there.

I get the feeling that this year could be overkill there in terms of people going. Like the people you see knowledge of electronic music doesn't go much farther than the current chart 'dance acts'. Who see Ibiza as 'just another holiday destination'. It's just a hunch I'm getting from my social media feeds. I could be very wrong in this opinion tho, anyone else getting the same vibes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭SupraSonic_26

Im going over for the 12th of sept closing down parties first time heading over cant wait gutted im missing hardwell playing but ill still have a good time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

I might be doing the 13th or the week after, only time I'm free so hopefully everything doesn't dry up by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I might be doing the 13th or the week after, only time I'm free so hopefully everything doesn't dry up by then.

I think closing is last weekend in September....

Sometimes spills into first week in October depending on the club...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭SupraSonic_26

the ibiza planner very good and some very good late deals for san antonio aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Deep house overkill or rather music they try and make out is deep house but in reality it's not.

II may still go for a few days in Sept for closing party's but I'm not overly fussed it's still a magical island but a parody of its former self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

Going there on the 10th for a week. Im a student, how much spending money should I bring?

buyer95 wrote: »
    Going there on the 10th for a week. Im a student, how much spending money should I bring?

19/20 years old I'd say about 100 a day would do nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

Can I ask what ages you guys are? Just wondering if I'm 'over the hill' for this craic....

[although age is but a number & all..]

Pippy1976 wrote: »
    Can I ask what ages you guys are? Just wondering if I'm 'over the hill' for this craic....

[although age is but a number & all..]

I went last year at 23 and didn't feel old at all. There was people there at 20 and at 30.
    19/20 years old I'd say about 100 a day would do nicely.

I spent in & around 1800 there last year in 10 days. I didn't exactly hold back on the spending tho. Did plenty of activities like watersports etc and the Zoo Project & went to the super-clubs which are dear. There was a lot of us there and that probably put up the cost as rounds were dearer etc. I'm back again in less than 2 weeks but we think we can get the price down because 'we're more schooled' of how things work out there. Things like drink especially, ticket prices and taxis. Also if you want to go to Zoo Project, make sure you shop around for prices of tickets & for the body paint. We defo overpaid for the tickets last year.

Basically the big costs will be going to the super-clubs and drink in there. you're talking €50 to get in to a lot of places and then drinks are dear. €48 for a double vodka & coke or €10 for a bottle of water. Was at an opening party where the 200ml bottle of coke was €11.

being Irish, I'm sure you like a hidden naggin. You'll be doing well to get caught with one in a few places. If you are going to the super-clubs like Ushuaia, Space, Amnesia etc well then the disco bus and plenty pre-drinking is your friend. The disco bus's are actually great craic too tbh and the carparks outside the venues are full of people drinking too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Sikpupi

FitzShane wrote: »
    Basically the big costs will be going to the super-clubs and drink in there. you're talking €50 to get in to a lot of places and then drinks are dear. €48 for a double vodka & coke or €10 for a bottle of water. Was at an opening party where the 200ml bottle of coke was €11.

.....OMG just can across you post as I browsing Boards!

How in hell can anyone justify those prices.? Do people pay them???

We paid €80 into Pasha the first night we got there in June. It was our first night, we arrived in late and we weren't planning on going to a club until the second night. Once we were on the island and started drinking, we decided to go. Pasha isn't the best club, the drinks were extortion, and we had to endure David Gutta who was a bag of shíte.

So make sure you buy your club tickets in advance

Sikpupi wrote: »
    .....OMG just can across you post as I browsing Boards!

How in hell can anyone justify those prices.? Do people pay them???

Yeah. They have salt water in the taps in the bathroom to extort people on drugs and make them buy water. Madness really but it seems to work.

BTW we have no intention of going into one of those superclubs unless somebody really appealing is playing. No interest in paying 80+ for the usual "press play" DJs that dominate that scene - Calvin Harris and David Guetta I'm looking at you.

19 - 20... Student....

I think that's me told! Anyone over 30 need not apply. Boo! I hate growing old.

19 - 20... Student....

Hang on, I only said 19/20 because of the "95" at the end of his name. There will definitely be over 30's there!

Bullshít. I'm 34

Synode wrote: »
    Bullshít. I'm 34

YUSS!!! Deadly. I'm 38. Is that too old to partay?!

You're only as old as you feel. There was a gang of us and the oldest was 38. We had great craic over there. The only bad thing is that it's expensive

Yeah, it is expensive alright. My plan was to go this year but I just can't justify the prices as I try figure out a budget!

I'll have to rave it up on Irish soil instead. Hmmm....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ASOT

Its only as expensive as you make it, i went for my 7th time in 5 years in June. 400 for flights & apartment then 1400ish spending money. for two weeks. Just be smart with your money, aka dont go to pacha to see David Guetta. Absolutely ridiculous paying 80e for that so its your own fault really. Most tickets will be 45 & under.

Pre drinking is key, a litre of cheap vodka is only 6e in the offlicense. Sky vodka and more premium brands are still under 20e for a litre if you dont want to drink paint stripper! Theres lots of cheap food places along the run in to the strip & in the bay. My favourite was Urban Lounge in the bay. Cheap lovely food, great drink deals and a serious setup for the World Cup/Football matches.

Never just go into a bar, always look for a rep to get atleast some sort of deal, usually two pints/glasses of spirt/mixer & 2 shots for 6/7/8e seemed to be the norm this year, places like Joe Spoons on the west end is usually a good place to start with a Jugg of cocktail and a bit of a dance. A few places like Amsterdam Bar will offer big enough groups good deals, At one stage we got two bottles of vodka, a bottle of jager, unlimited mixers, 5L of cocktails & a few bottles of beer for 10r a head between 8 of us!

At the end of the day its only expensive if you let yourself be ripped off. Bora Bora on a sunday get the bus out and party on the beach with some gargle, dont buy tickets for it with a free two hour bar when you can do it for yourself cheaper and get more enjoyment out of it! Cafe Del Mar sunset while listening to whatever big DJ is playing in mambos that night for an hour or two before they hit the big club is key aswell. I more or less seen most big DJs over the years right in front of me at Cafe Mambos window. Most surprisingly was Steve Aoki back in June playing a deep house set which was unreal.

Heading back over September 28th for Defected closing party along with a few others, 220e for flights & accomodation for 6 days. Heaven on Earth!!

Regarding age? Who cares! We had a lad and his cousin in there 30s staying in our hotel and came out most nights with us, nobody cares. 99% are just there to party anyway not judge people!

The group of lads I'm going with are all in the 19-21 bracket. I have about 700 euro saved in spending money, I don't plan to buy drinks in the clubs the nights I do go to big clubs, just get sloshed before. Can't wait to go now!

ASOT wrote: »
    Absolutely ridiculous paying 80e for that so its your own fault really

I didn't blame anyone else

I know im just saying i wouldnt complain about it after doing it. Its clearly advertised as being that much. Its the dearest night on the island by nearly 50%. The only benefit would be seeing Pacha which is such a nice club.

The group of lads I'm going with are all in the 19-21 bracket. I have about 700 euro saved in spending money, I don't plan to buy drinks in the clubs the nights I do go to big clubs, just get sloshed before. Can't wait to go now!

it'll be tough. 4/5/6 hours in there with no drink. Even if you're locked, you'll need some drink to keep you going even if it just a water or normal alcohol drink. you'll dehydrate quickly, especially with the heat!

We went to one of the Ushuaia gigs last year and couldn't get near a bar. was torture tbh!

FitzShane wrote: »
    it'll be tough. 4/5/6 hours in there with no drink. Even if you're locked, you'll need some drink to keep you going even if it just a water or normal alcohol drink. you'll dehydrate quickly, especially with the heat!

We went to one of the Ushuaia gigs last year and couldn't get near a bar. was torture tbh!

At cream opening this year i ended up buying two bottles of water because i was absolutely ****ed and needed it badly. Ended up costing me 16 quid which is the lower end of the sphere i suppose. We ended up buying these bags that you can put drink into and they fit perfectly into the sole of your shoe! Livesavers.

I know im just saying i wouldnt complain about it after doing it. Its clearly advertised as being that much. Its the dearest night on the island by nearly 50%. The only benefit would be seeing Pacha which is such a nice club.

Pasha is a shíte club compared to Amnesia or Space. I'd advise everyone to stay away. Didn't like it when I was there in 2001 and didn't like it again this year. I can't remember why we went there but I think it was the only thing on that night

Opinions vary, i work in event management so i like the physical venue. Boom in my opinion across the road is one of the best clubs that has recently popped up. reasonably priced drinks for a big club, 8e for a vodka redbull just like here, Quality sound system & a top of the range beer garden!!

At cream opening this year i ended up buying two bottles of water because i was absolutely ****ed and needed it badly. Ended up costing me 16 quid which is the lower end of the sphere i suppose. We ended up buying these bags that you can put drink into and they fit perfectly into the sole of your shoe! Livesavers.

They sound like the job, where did ye pick them up?

Most shops have them they look like a resealable capri sun that you get over there, i think even dealz sell them now over here? Its think enough plastic so theres no chance of them breaking unless your jumping up and down. Obviously only put them on when you get out of the taxi!!

If you cant find them one of the resealable capri suns might actually work!

What do people typically wear into clubs over there? I was thinking a t shirt/polo and shorts, or is that too casual? Would it want to be jeans? I'd imagine you would pass out with the heat wearing jeans!

Mostly Vests/Tshirts/Polos and shorts myself, this year i got alot of the sort of plane coloured short swimming shorts if that makes sense? Really liked them over the cotton shorts i had brought! That long with one or two pairs of jean shorts & i was set!

What would people say are the best clubs to go to? Any little gems, I know about Pacha, Amnesia and Space. Heading off tomorrow, can't wait!

Make sure you go to Boom for either defected (Tuesdays) or Toolroom Knights (Mondays). DC10 also has a savage lineup for the Monday your there!

http://www.ibiza-spotlight.com/night/club_dates_august_i.htm

List of the nights and whos playing if you havnt seen it yet!

Ticket got for Space on Sunday night :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Clockwork Orange @ Es Paradis was one of the events of the summer to date my friend who's over there for the summer said, just reading people's reviews of it online it sounded amazing, an older crowd, no pretentious or posers /hipsters just good quality house music.

I'm actually going for a few days to Majorca instead purely as I can't really afford Ibiza, I'll always spend at least €120 minimum in a club including admission despite me saying I won't and I can't really afford to go as undoubtedly I'll end up going out to several clubs while I was there, what I might try and do is get a cheap flight from Majorca to Ibiza 35 minutes just for one night and back the next day has anyone done that before?

Lads how much would you be paying in for the cheaper (cheapest) nightclubs? Can't see myself able to afford to pay in 40 euro or more every day I'm there!