Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not over limit after 5 beers

• 04-05-2014 12:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭

Someone I know claims they passed a breathalyser last night and her father in the passenger seat did the test too (they knew the guard) and passed after finishing his 5th beer only a few minutes before. No reason to think she is lying. Father not a particularly large man either. Just sounds strange to me. Strange how alcohol affects different people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I really can't believe that, unless the pints were spread over the course of the day. But still I reckon then the latest one would see it back over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Yeah I dont believe that either! If it was five beers over the course of ten hours then maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Its not something i would be shouting about been honest or proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The driver wasn't drinking, right?
    Did they breathylise the dad for the laugh , or was she a learner driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

The dad was a passenger, they knew the guard so I'd say he did it for the laugh.

I'd believe it, 5 pints over maybe 3 hours, if he was taking it handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

5 pints in 3hrs, no way.

I wouldn't want him on the road anyway, pass or fail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I've heard of it before, a friend of mine passed after 5 about 4 years ago coming back from a funeral, it registered but he wasn't over so the guards let him go obviously, i was a passenger and had the same to drink as him over maybe 2 and a half or 3 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Dont you get rid of a unit of alcohol an hour?
    So I can't see why it would be so hard to believe, everyone's body reacts differently to everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Some people take their drinks differently.

0.5l of whiskey here between 12AM and 3AM, got some sleep, woke up at 7 and breathalysed myself at 7:30 AM, came up as 0.00. Repeated just to be sure.

(Did it at a police station and took a taxi there, never drinked and drove in my life)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

I heard of lads that passed the old breathalyzer after 7 or 8 pints

Sobanek wrote: »

0.5l of whiskey here between 12AM and 3AM, got some sleep, woke up at 7 and breathalysed myself at 7:30 AM, came up as 0.00. Repeated just to be sure.

(Did it at a police station and took a taxi there, never drinked and drove in my life)

That's actually fairly impressive, I'd have thought you would still be registering something after that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

bigron2109 wrote: »
    Its not something i would be shouting about been honest or proud of.

Driver wasnt drinking, collecting her dad from the pub. No laws were broken here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The driver wasn't drinking, right?
    Did they breathylise the dad for the laugh , or was she a learner driver?

No, she was dry. The dad asked to do it for the laugh, which to me says he was merry enough! Still passed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,159 ✭✭✭joeguevara

bmwguy wrote: »
    Driver wasnt drinking, collecting her dad from the pub. No laws were broken here.

I think the way the op was written it looks like the driver had drunk 5 pints. Now after rereading it was just her father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Story just sounds bizarre to me. Even if the guard knew the dad it would be bad form to do the breathalyzer for the craic. It might only encourage the father to take a chance in future with a skull full of pints, if he thinks he will be under the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

0.02 takes about an hour to get out of the system.

It depends on what alcohol was taken too. Dark alcohols like red wines and whiskey take longer to get out of the system.

With my work I have to get breathalised EVERY morning to be fit for work. We also get random drug screenings (urine test).

I stay in a workers camp and there are self breathalyser machines available for use if you want to self test before going to work. Obviously if you blow any numbers you don't go or face the consequences.

Most roadside tests are passive tests. No tube to blow into. Just breath alcohol.

A few years ago in work I'd blown 0.019 in the morning at 5:50am by self testing. At 6:10am I was passive tested at work and passed. at 6:20am I self tested myself and blew 0.010

It depends how well calibrated the machines are, the type of tests. The passive tests (for work at least) are easy to bypass by not actually breathing on them. The measure the ambient air. The police here in Australia use the same passive tests at roadsides. They obviously make sure you blow hard onto it. I've self tested myself being sober after swirling Listerine and blown mid-high range numbers (0.189 I think) and 5 minutes later blown 0.000.

For a fair breath test, you need to have NOT smoked or consumed any alcohol in the 15 minutes prior to blowing as the mouth alcohol can give higher/false readings (such as the listerine). So I wouldn't believe the pass after finishing his 5th beer only minutes before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Lies or breathalyser not accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭RedXIV

about 4 years ago, after a heavy xmas of drinking, late enough in the night, the ole fella brought out his breathalyser and I tried it out of curiosity. Well over the first time. Tried it a second time after a hunch and registered 0.0. Not the greatest skill in the world, but I did it one a mate who's a guard too so it wasn't just the breathalyser my dad had. Its not that hard to figure out what I did, so perhaps there is a bit of that?

RedXIV wrote: »
    about 4 years ago, after a heavy xmas of drinking, late enough in the night, the ole fella brought out his breathalyser and I tried it out of curiosity. Well over the first time. Tried it a second time after a hunch and registered 0.0. Not the greatest skill in the world, but I did it one a mate who's a guard too so it wasn't just the breathalyser my dad had. Its not that hard to figure out what I did, so perhaps there is a bit of that?

Put us out of our misery.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Said 5 beers might have been 5 bottles or 2.5 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Few years back had 3 pints between 9pm and 11. Went to a late film, out at 1am or so and was stopped and tested 10 minutes later. Showed up zero on the thing. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Its not possible for your liver to eliminate alcohol from your bloodstream that fast. Even if it was bottles and not pints. Your friend is lying or the breathalizer wasn't working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

MadYaker wrote: »
    Its not possible for your liver to eliminate alcohol from your bloodstream that fast. Even if it was bottles and not pints. Your friend is lying or the breathalizer wasn't working.

Genectically modified by Diageo like this man ?

http://lordsofthedrinks.com/2013/08/08/polish-survivor-smashes-highscore-alcohol-in-his-blood/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Bull.

I refuse to believe that firstly, anybody would get a cab to a Garda station to get breathalysed and furthermore, refuse to believe any Garda would facilitate somebody off the cuff asking for a breath test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I once did a check on properly calibrated professional alcometer.
    I'm in my early 30's, 6 foot high weighting 15 stones.
    I drank 2 pints (500ml) of 5.6% alc. beer in 30 minutes, and was tested about 30 minutes after I finished drinking.
    Result was equivalent to concentration 53mg of alcohol per 100ml of blood, so very slightly over Irish higher limit.

If I took more time between those beers, possibly I would be under the limit.
    Also most beers served in Irish pubs here are rather between 4% and 4.5% alc. content, so this would lower the result by a good bit.

Still though - I wouldn't risk driving after 2 pints here, even though there is a big chance I could be below the limit.

After 1 pint though, I'm convinced I can be 100% sure to be below the limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

cabb8ge wrote: »

I honestly doubt that the breathalyser at the police station would be inaccurate. Especially that my friend who had the same amount was registering as 0.19.

And it wasn't a Garda station, I was over in Poland at the time.

And you can breathalyse yourself upon request.

I'm a fairly chubby fellow though, 5 foot 7, 16.5 stone

Oops, keyboard ate the 3. Meant to write 0.35l not 0.5 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

I blew over the limit, despite drinking coke the entire night.

Turned our that, despite being designated driver, some arseberry decided to mingle in some vodka - which I didn't notice because I was smothering with a cold and was specifically avoiding alcohol because of it.

And the fact that I drink cola so fast that I'll give myself diabetes if I keep doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

cabb8ge wrote: »

I was breathalysed by a Gard who is a mate after a skinfull one night, just to see how pi55ed we were, exactly - this is all occurring on a sofa, no cars involved, before people loose the head - and passed - this surprised the gards involved, so they did it again - passed again. I had had a massive amount to drink btw, not just a couple of pints. People process alcohol at different rates, simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

duckysauce wrote: »
    what's a gard ? some type of a gate or what , how would a gate get a reading off you ?

You know exactly what he meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

It also depends on how long between you breathalise yourself and when you last drink was.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

pete4130 wrote: »
    0.02 takes about an hour to get out of the system.

It depends on what alcohol was taken too. Dark alcohols like red wines and whiskey take longer to get out of the system.

With my work I have to get breathalised EVERY morning to be fit for work. We also get random drug screenings (urine test).

I stay in a workers camp and there are self breathalyser machines available for use if you want to self test before going to work. Obviously if you blow any numbers you don't go or face the consequences.

Most roadside tests are passive tests. No tube to blow into. Just breath alcohol.

A few years ago in work I'd blown 0.019 in the morning at 5:50am by self testing. At 6:10am I was passive tested at work and passed. at 6:20am I self tested myself and blew 0.010

It depends how well calibrated the machines are, the type of tests. The passive tests (for work at least) are easy to bypass by not actually breathing on them. The measure the ambient air. The police here in Australia use the same passive tests at roadsides. They obviously make sure you blow hard onto it. I've self tested myself being sober after swirling Listerine and blown mid-high range numbers (0.189 I think) and 5 minutes later blown 0.000.

For a fair breath test, you need to have NOT smoked or consumed any alcohol in the 15 minutes prior to blowing as the mouth alcohol can give higher/false readings (such as the listerine). So I wouldn't believe the pass after finishing his 5th beer only minutes before.

Firstly, I don't see how certain types of alcohol could take longer to leave your system, it is always the same chemical, one would think.
    Secondly, where do you work? Sounds pretty desperate to be subjected to all these tests all the time, unless you're working with heavy machinery, air traffic control or your hand is hovering over a big, red button with the word "Launch" written on it.
    If that's the case, understandable, but if it's somewhere that manufactures tinned fruit, a bit draconian? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Donne

Weight also plays a part.

The more you weigh, the more water is present in your body, which dilutes the alcohol and lowers the blood alcohol level.
    Ref

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

MugMugs wrote: »
    refuse to believe any Garda would facilitate somebody off the cuff asking for a breath test.

My experience is they are more than happy to test anyone assuming they have time. I seen them being stopped in the car park of the hotel where I work, asked by a guest to breathalyze them just to be sure, then breathalyze a few of the occupants just because they asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Thetruthking

Only way I can see that been true is if they where a very large person!

• Site Banned Posts: 6 geezers need excitement 63

Remember seeing a BBC program a year or two ago where they had 6 or 7 people in a bar for an evening, and told them to drink what they normally would, at the pace they normally would, on a night out, and then they breathalysed them.
    There was one guy, old enough, who passed after 7 or 8 glasses of wine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

I lived in Oz in the late 1990's, after the pub you could walk over to any cop car and ask to do a breath test.

In ireland drinking and then driving is not illegal. It is only illegal to be over a certain reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Don't forget that when Clare Daly TD was breathalysed she said she had drunk a hot whiskey just previous. The results came back to say she was 66% bellow the legal limit. She's a pretty skinny lady so I was surprised that a hot whiskey didn't put her over the limit, I always thought that a single drink would do it for a woman and perhaps for some smaller men but apparently not, at least in her case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

Firstly, I don't see how certain types of alcohol could take longer to leave your system, it is always the same chemical, one would think.
    Secondly, where do you work? Sounds pretty desperate to be subjected to all these tests all the time, unless you're working with heavy machinery, air traffic control or your hand is hovering over a big, red button with the word "Launch" written on it.
    If that's the case, understandable, but if it's somewhere that manufactures tinned fruit, a bit draconian? :D

Darker alcohols contain more toxins that the body has to deal with as well as the alcohol and can slow up the process of getting it out of the system. They also worsen hangovers.

I work in oil/gas industry and everybody is subject to these tests each morning to determine their fitness for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I'm surprised that no one has suggested a 'zero alcohol' beer yet.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

flazio wrote: »

well if her Da had been drinking alcohol-free beer it wouldn't much of a tale to tell your mates

unless you mean he drank non-alcohol unwittingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

flazio wrote: »

Alcohol free beer takes mank....

You'd need to be drunk to drink it by mistake.