Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alan Shatter's time could be up

• 03-05-2014 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭

Well, if tomorrow's Sunday Independent is anything to go by anyway :eek:

http://i.imgur.com/Ydwally.jpg
    'Final Straw as Shatter Breaks Law on Wallace'

Can't be having law breakers sitting in the Dail now, can we? :pac:

Wonder how long it'll take for Gardai to arrest him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

No doubt there'll be an opening in a chain of Take-aways or somthing for him. Heard Cowen grabbed the petrol-station gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

he's Donald Ducked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

He'll get a role on Love/Hate, a crooked civil servant would fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Like any successful Irish politician, Shatter is made from teflon. Nothing will ever stick. At worst he'll be quietly shuffled out of his front bench role before settling into a comfortable life post politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

The only funny side to this is the way us Irish will just laugh about how the Minister for justice has broken the law. He will still be given a pension and all the perks of been a TD. That's if he even gets fired or leaves the post. If I lost my job tomorrow, I wouldn't be getting a pension or anything.

Sorry but this country is ****ed. Everyone is all about the money, ****ing hell I would even do it, there are no implications for your actions. If you rob it's fine, if you get caught it's fine and if you get away with it sure that's fine too.

Look at Cowan , working in Topaz now. A company that's managed to secure fueling nearly all goverment vehicles. Worst off this is only what we hear about.

Then again, **** it. Sure I get paid 400.20 a week and my take home pay is 355.50. Yet, someone like Denis dose not have to pay tax in Ireland and earns millions a year and then employes Brian Cowen.

Maybe Alan will get a job at Hyundai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

Good, I haven't hated the current government as much as others but can't stand the man for his sneakiness and dishonesty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Wallllaaaceee!!!

Freeedoooomm!!
    (of information act)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

So Wallace could clean him out in court. I wonder has Shatter pissed off any judges lately?

as I said when all this started: never trust a man who dyes his eyebrows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

Gonna miss him off Callan's Kicks :D

Also to add, I will vote SF. Just to ****ing make a point that all these parties are all the same.

I would rather be ruled by England than these scumbags. They are just utter pests, have no idea what they are doing but over a few drinks there mates will look after things then us the tax payer get ****ing fleeced.

I am convinced, when these water charges are brought in. It will be cheaper for me too go Tesco and buy water from them and fill my tank myself than too buy off Irish Water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Good riddance to the ****er if it turns out to be true, took long enough.

Let's hope our dear old Justice Minister has the book thrown at him for breaking the law. Ah who am I kidding. The best we can hope for is his sacking. If he could leave the Dail while he's at it, that'd be great, go back to writing the dirty novels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

pablo128 wrote: »
    So Wallace could clean him out in court.
    Would he have to pay tax on that? Not that it'd matter to him.:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

The DPC does not hold a status like the ombudsman nor in poscession of the full powers of a court (more is the pity), hence so long as Shatner is loyal to Kenny, then FG will back him.
    ... 3 weeks down the line after Labour get decimated in the EP elections, it might be another story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

msg11 wrote: »
    Also to add, I will vote SF. Just to ****ing make a point that all these parties are all the same.

Id not vote SF over this maybe someone like the Anti Austerity Alliance or the Socialist party. SF's hands are very dirty atm too look at where Gerry Adams is one is as bad at the other.

Manach wrote: »
    The DPC does not hold a status like the ombudsman nor in poscession of the full powers of a court (more is the pity), hence so long as Shatner is loyal to Kenny, then FG will back him.
    ... 3 weeks down the line after Labour get decimated in the EP elections, it might be another story.

it will be very hard for shatter to hide behind a my-civil-servants-ate-my-homework excuse like last time. He had his hand in the cookie jar this time.

Labour might insist on his sacrifice before the euro elections to show they are serious about standards in office. blood for the blood polls and that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Ah lads do ye think it's time I close my Boards account then?

I'm fecked! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I don't think shatter has anything to worry about. Didn't two glorious bankers get found guilty of ****ing us over only to be found not guilty by the judge because to jail them would be unjust or some cocksu king nonsense like that.
    We are so fecking stupid its laughable. The apologists here and.... wait... nowhere else will no doubt be out in force to explain how we would be fools to vote any of the indos or shinners in.
    Well, if we all voted indo then it would send an extremely clear message, no?
    Would it feck the country up? LOL. More than it is at the moment?
    Or what, what have i missed?
    We need to start going ukraine on our leaders and their lickarses. Fe king tossers are draining us dry just to keep their learjets on standby.

jjbrien wrote: »
    Id not vote SF over this maybe someone like the Anti Austerity Alliance or the Socialist party. SF's hands are very dirty atm too look at where Gerry Adams is one is as bad at the other.

I hear what you are saying.

But this is purely to shut people up saying SF are great when they will turn out to be broken promises.

All the parties have there hands dirty in different ways in fairness. Murder, corruption and ignorance. As someone said how many lives where lost because of the economic crisis, as in people having personal tragedies?

Sorry for been blunt.

How he still is Minister For Justice is beyond me. Well it isn't really, considering we don't usually sack politicians in our country. He should be long gone by now. Has to be the most aloof, out of touch Irish minister I've seen in my life.

so gerry adams gets out tomorrow and asks the nearest shinner what hes missed,
    shinner tells him alan shatters resigned

gerry wonders just how long he was in that police station for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

stankratz wrote: »
    How he still is Minister For Justice is beyond me. Well it isn't really, considering we don't usually sack politicians in our country. He should be long gone by now. Has to be the most aloof, out of touch Irish minister I've seen in my life.
    Not beyond me either. We are too apathetic. Nothing will change until we actually do something. All of us. Day off work etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Ah lads do ye think it's time I close my Boards account then?

I'm fecked! :rolleyes:

The funny thing is, if this actually turned out to be the real Shatter posting online with such a cavalier attitude to the situation, it literally wouldn't surprise me a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The funny thing is, if this actually turned out to be the real Shatter posting online with such a cavalier attitude to the situation, it literally wouldn't surprise me a bit.

I doubt it's really Alan Shatter. Most of his posts are in Bargain Alerts :P

Manach wrote: »
    so long as Shatner is loyal to Kenny, then FG will back him

I've long suspected that the dynamic of Shatter's and Kenny's working relationship maybe akin to that of Cheney and Bush.

One providing the simple rustic image for the public to feel comforted by while the other wields the power out of sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Bambi wrote: »
    as I said when all this started: never trust a man who dyes his eyebrows

Or has the word shat in his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Why stop with Shatter? Get the rest of the rotten scumbags out.
    "DoyouknowwhoIam" is one of the elite who thought themselves above the law.
    Still, good news for the local off-licence as he and Carol drown their sorrows in the safe confines behind those robust pillars that entry their estate. This episode will lower the tone of the area and canny buyers who bought in there 15 to 20 years ago might now be prompted to sell up before any more yobs are uncovered. :D
    We await the usual backslapping at his retirement as other gombeen men eagerly try on the anti slip gloves before looking up the greasy pole.
    I assume the "want to spend more time in Florida with my family" will be trotted out.

הבה נגילה

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Will he accuse the DPC of antisemitism?

I doubt it. Just as the Irish people take no nonsense from Pavee Point - because of their habitual bleatings ........ the Sons Of David are regarded as a boring lot with narcissistic and crazy beliefs.
    After all, if you portray yourself as one of the chosen people (by Yahweh) the CMH, Dundrum would be more suitable address than Ballinteer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Some great news for a change. Bye bye shatter, good riddance. Time to celebrate now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Did McCabe and Wallace not break Data Comission laws on a spectacular scale compared to Shatter.
    If shatter goes down for this the whistleblowers will have to be prosecuted and rightly so.

Did McCabe and Wallace not break Data Comission laws on a spectacular scale compared to Shatter.
    If shatter goes down for this the whistleblowers will have to be prosecuted and rightly so.

You're comparing Oranges with Orangutans. But nice try!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Shatter being the orange

Funny how there's no mention of this on RTE. Our justice minister found guilty of committing a crime and it's not even newsworthy?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

His time was up long ago and he's still there

I'd be surprised if anything is done about this apart from 'lessons will be learned, yadda, yarda, yadda'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Smokescreen time FG.
    White poweder in envelopes is not enough.
    Expect a story to break tomorrow about how a big crate was posted to Shatters office containing Fr Jack in a Nazi officers uniform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Why stop with Shatter? Get the rest of the rotten scumbags out.
    "DoyouknowwhoIam" is one of the elite who thought themselves above the law.
    Still, good news for the local off-licence as he and Carol drown their sorrows in the safe confines behind those robust pillars that entry their estate. This episode will lower the tone of the area and canny buyers who bought in there 15 to 20 years ago might now be prompted to sell up before any more yobs are uncovered. :D
    We await the usual backslapping at his retirement as other gombeen men eagerly try on the anti slip gloves before looking up the greasy pole.
    I assume the "want to spend more time in Florida with my family" will be trotted out.

הבה נגילה
    WilyCoyote wrote: »
    I doubt it. Just as the Irish people take no nonsense from Pavee Point - because of their habitual bleatings ........ the Sons Of David are regarded as a boring lot with narcissistic and crazy beliefs.
    After all, if you portray yourself as one of the chosen people (by Yahweh) the CMH, Dundrum would be more suitable address than Ballinteer.

Are you two pre-empting deflecting accusations of anti-semitism by actually being anti-semitic? Well fcuking done. :mad:

Muise... wrote: »
    Are you two pre-empting deflecting accusations of anti-semitism by actually being anti-semitic? Well fcuking done. :mad:

Eh...no? Calm dowm there schindler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Eh...no? Calm dowm their schindler

Well, at least I know you're not a grammar Nazi...

Damn ninja edit fail
    also, spelling mistakes are not grammar mistakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I'm sure the usual shower will be delighted with the news.

Total storm in a teacup if you ask me.

I'm sure the usual shower will be delighted with the news.

Total storm in a teacup if you ask me.

Bollocks. What do you mean by the 'usual shower'? Those that don't like the idea of a minister of justice breaking the law and using his position to discredit political opponents?

As for it being a storm in a teacup.. Shatter called for the resignation of O'Dea after he disclosed confidential information that was furnished to his as MoJ... the hypocritical little scuzzball should have been sacked the day after he decided to do the same thing himself.
    “What Minister O’Dea admitted yesterday is that he willingly and publicly discussed, for his own electoral gain, confidential information furnished to him by a member of An Garda Síochána. Such conduct is entirely unacceptable by any minister in any Government. Such conduct by a Minister for Defence, part of whose constitutional duty is to secure the security of the State, renders the Minster unfit for Cabinet office.

“No member of the gardaí, nor any member of the Defence Forces, can now in any way be assured that confidential information furnished to this minister will not be misused and be made public. The Minister s position is no longer defensible, and it is a sad reflection on the judgment of both the Taoiseach and the Green members of Government, that he remains in Cabinet"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Using or Disclosing confidential information my a minister in relation to another person or persons for personal or political gain should be an offence punishable by several years in jail.

You'd want to be very naive not to think that this kind of thing happens all the time.

The vast majority of people aren't going to care about this minor transgression.

I'm not even a FGer, and I don't give a hoot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

You'd want to be very naive not to think that this kind of thing happens all the time.

The vast majority of people aren't going to care about this minor transgression.

Bollox.......you'd care if private details were revealed on national TV about you ......... Mr anonymous poster.
    Can I have your real name........ shur no one would care.
    Seaneh wrote: »
    Using or Disclosing confidential information my a minister in relation to another person or persons for personal or political gain should be an offence punishable by several years in jail.

Not alone the Minister for justice, who also has a legal practice.

If it were a minor transgression that no one cared about then it would have died on the vine some time ago. And as for it being commonplace; no better time to bring such underhand behaviour to an end by setting an example in this instance.

That's because the vast majority of people are ignorant fools that don't care about anything that doesn't directly affect them. Thankfully there's enough people that do care to put a dent in FG's support base if they decide to do nothing about it or continue on as if nothing happened.

He has been found guilty of committing a fairly serious crime (given his position and responsibility) and is now likely to be hit with a huge civil case which could last months. I don't think FG are going to want that lingering over them.. and Labour certainly won't want to be associated with him now. This together with the fact that two reports are due to be published in the coming days (GSOC bugging and the McCabe report) puts him in a fairly precarious position right now with an election only a fortnight away. And with all the talk from government over the last few days about how nobody, politicians included, are above the law.. they can't really be seen to be coming out in support of a criminal without making themselves look like the gobdaws that many people already see them as.

course you arent sweetheart

Bambi wrote: »
    course you arent sweetheart

My support for FF is on the record on this site sweetcheeks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

My support for FF is on the record on this site sweetcheeks.

An FF voter not seeing political corruption and abuse of power as a big deal.

Well colour me shocked!