Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The highest pub in Ireland

• 02-05-2014 11:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭

Lets all raise a glass high to the highest pub in Ireland, where, by the looks of things, everybodys ****in high, man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

RikkFlair wrote: »

Lets all raise a glass high to the highest pub in Ireland, where, by the looks of things, everybodys ****in high, man.

It's quite far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Are they speaking English?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

highest in hibernia was in derry i thought

http://itoccuredtome.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/pondarosa.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Is Johnny Foxes not the highest or was that just a lie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

RikkFlair wrote: »

If it was a matter of life or death to pick one of those handsome men to sleep with who would you choose OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

If it was a matter of life or death to pick one of those handsome men to sleep with who would you choose OP?

The black faced one :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

daniel craig's da on the right ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

For the rest of their lives the 3 lads will be known to the parish as "d'three wise men who were on d'telly."

When I grow up, I want to be like that Joe Kelly. Heroes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

The lamb, failing that I choose instant death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

orangesoda wrote: »

Seconded, I did hear that some pretender was trying to claim the title though, looks like this asylum is it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

Liamalone wrote: »
    Seconded, I did hear that some pretender was trying to claim the title though, looks like this asylum is it.

I heard some story about unionists writing a complaint letter or something about it and so it was given to the 2nd highest, strange given that the pub is in a big nationalist area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nice lamb.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

wazky wrote: »

It's a lie.

Dublanders like to like about these sorts of things. They also claim to have the oldest bar in Ireland (Brazen Head) which is also a lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Boldberry

I think the Brazen Head lies about, I'm sure your average Dub couldn't give two fcuks about how old a tourist trap claims to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

looks like a grand ol spot,great find op.Hipster-free too by the looks of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Seaneh wrote: »
    It's a lie.

Dublanders like to like about these sorts of things. They also claim to have the oldest bar in Ireland (Brazen Head) which is also a lie.

Is that not true? I quite like the Brazen Head. Although Johnnie Fox's fell out of favour recently when we did a bus tour thing there and had to leave at 12.30am when the craic was just getting started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

This is the oldest pub in Ireland...

http://seansbar.lightholderproductions.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

crockholm wrote: »
    looks like a grand ol spot,great find op.Hipster-free too by the looks of it

If hipster means anyone from guy from local village who is not a sheep farmer, and up, It's hipster free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

MonstaMash wrote: »
    This is the oldest pub in Ireland...

http://seansbar.lightholderproductions.com/

Claims to be the oldest in Europe as well. Founded in 900AD. :eek:

If hipster means anyone from guy from local village who is not a sheep farmer, and up, It's hipster free.

Aaaahhh, you know who I mean-them lads with the skinny jeans tucked into the wellies,and Reading the poetry section of "The Farmers Journal".

Guinness book of records have been trying to confirm for a few years now that it is indeed the oldest bar in the world. It's the oldest currently listed in the book but they decided to do further research before giving any bar the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Daithi_2014

Highest pub in Ireland is in Roundwood, co. wicklow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

Was thinking the same thing.

Some facts would also be nice...I had Always presumed that one of the pubs in roundwood was the highest pub.Perhaps it's time to put a G.P.S. or something on the pubs counter and get a definitive answer.

The 3 men and the Lamb look like they're having a bit of fun at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Ten hard years on the Internet and I still don't know what the highest f*cking pub in Ireland is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Still not sure if they were all speaking Klingon or english :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Was there even an Athlone back then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The old boys remind me of this:

Lapin wrote: »
    Was there even an Athlone back then?

There was a ford and a small settlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Do gimmicks like oldest pub in such a place, or highest pub etc really work? It just makes me think 'tourist trap' and avoid.

Now if they were claiming "highest ratio of hedonistic female to males ratio in Ireland" that'd be different.

Do gimmicks like oldest pub in such a place, or highest pub etc really work? It just makes me think 'tourist trap' and avoid.

Try get a seat in Seán's Bar any night between wednesday and sunday and see for yourself. Or go visit on a hot day in the summer. Place does be thronged with tourists coming in the back door off their boats.
    Now if they were claiming "highest ratio of hedonistic female to males ratio in Ireland" that'd be different.

Sounds like it's Kilkenny you're looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

crockholm wrote: »
    Some facts would also be nice...I had Always presumed that one of the pubs in roundwood was the highest pub.Perhaps it's time to put a G.P.S. or something on the pubs counter and get a definitive answer.

The 3 men and the Lamb look like they're having a bit of fun at least.

Kavanagh's Vartry House is the Highest Pub in the Highest Village in Ireland but Johnny Foxes is actually higher I think. Not sure about others. Think there another village trying to claim to be the highest in Ireland too over Roundwood. Somewhere in Cork or Kerry.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Ha, class video OP. I have a friend from that area who is always raving about that pub. He was distraught when it burned down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

It's a lie. I was in Johnny foxes and then I was in one in Kerry when I was a child. You would want to see the road to get up to it. I was shítting it in case the car went down the side of the mountain. Put it this way you would not want to be drink driving home after a night out if you valued your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Put it this way you would not want to be drink driving home after a night out if you valued your life.

That goes for ANY pub!

Trust me if you seen where this pub was. I often drove drunk, no problem. Even when sober you have to watch where your going on this road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Trust me...... I often drove drunk,

I think not.....

Well I haven't drunk drove for a few years as I don't even drink anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

It's a lie.

Do you have something against dublin or?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

This came up a few years ago and I looked it up on google maps with the terrain counter on. The one in the video is highest, followed by roundwood and then ponderosa in Derry iirc.
    Johnnie foxes isnt even close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭FrStone

I have to say I find it hilarious that the city slickers can't understand the lads in the video. They have a strong accent alright but for a person born and raised in Ireland not to be able to understand them is mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

I didn't get a word the second fellow said :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭smallgarden

We drove up to it last summer, up a dodgy road for ages for it to be closed!

FrStone wrote: »
    I have to say I find it hilarious that the city slickers can't understand the lads in the video. They have a strong accent alright but for a person born and raised in Ireland not to be able to understand them is mad!

I live in the country and haven't a clue what they are on about. I can make out a few words and then they laugh, that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

It's a lie.

What's the oldest pub ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

eoins23456 wrote: »
    What's the oldest pub ?

Some place in Athlone I think. Guinness record people think it could be oldest in world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Some place in Athlone I think. Guinness record people think it could be oldest in world.

Sean's bar in Athlone. Despite being popular with tourists, its actually a great pub. Cracking Guinness and atmosphere.

With a Little googling and a dash of copying,I got the following (no sources,just what Another poster had posted on a different forum)

Top of Coom-Cork/Kerry border-1033 ft asl

Ponderosa-Derry-947 ft asl

Johnny Foxes-Dublin/Wicklow- 910 ft asl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

orangesoda wrote: »

Our family used to own that pub. It was a thatched cottage back then, but was knocked down with that built in its place by its new owners. It's closed at the minute for renovation, but I think it is being turned into a restaurant/truck stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Oldest pub is a toughy as it depends on how you judge it.
    Is it still the oldest if it started as a pub became a butchers, a pub, a courthouse and back to a pub?
    If its always been a pub but didnt originally have a license?
    If its always been a pub but closed for a few years at some stage?

The continually licensed oldest I think is Grace Neils in Down, another contender the gateway/realt dearg in Cork closed a couple of years ago.