Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disgraceful Behaviour during Co.Donegal TT

• 02-05-2014 1:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭

Lads
    Being laid up is a good chance to catch up ! I'm up in Donegal at the minute with a cracked clavicle and broken hand listening to the local radio chat show !

A fella was on saying that he was part of a funeral cortage taking his uncle from a hospice to be waked at home (cant remember where)

The courtage caught up with a few cyclists participating in a TT who pulled up to let it pass but one in particular took exception to being held up

This individual would not let the hearse pass and rode out to the centre of the road. When the hearse did get past he took to the inside of the following cars. When asked to have a bit of manners launched into a verbal tirade of abuse and insults to the relations of the dead person. When the cortage slowed up for a junction he rode up the outside giving more abuse and giving the 2 fingers to the driver of the hearse.

This sort of disrespect gets cycling a bad name and is totally unacceptable ! Its upsetting enough for a family to have to face into a journey home without a loved one just for a complete tosser to add to their upset by acting in such a manner. TT or not

How would he like it if it was god-forbid one of his family members..? The club who organised sent out a person to the family to talk about this incident and tell the family that this . behaviour is not tolerated and is isolated

Today here in Donegal the whole place is fuming over this and I am ashamed to say im a cyclist.

What gets into people ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭del_boy13

No sport has an embargo on idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Sounds like the lad was on steroids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

What gets into people ?

tbh I am really surprised he didn't have his arse handed to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

So of the few cyclists involved, one acted the bollix, and yet the whole of Donegal is fuming and you're ashamed to say your a cyclist?

As previous poster said, no sport has an embargo on idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Is it just me or....if the hearse was travelling at a sufficient speed to overtake a TT (>40kph) then it was just normal traffic? It's not like he was weaving in amongst people walking after a hearse....

In which case the fact it was a hearse is pretty irrelevent and it's just a regular motorist/cyclist altercation where we are only hearing one side of the story? Could he have been occupying the road as it was unsafe to pass...?

Still thought the tirade regardless is pretty disgraceful.

I'm going to hell amn't I?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

In which case the fact it was a hearse is pretty irrelevent

That's a crass thing to say. If you can't show respect to a funeral then you aren't much of a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Whatever about the behaviour of the guy afterwards which was unacceptable, I fail to see the need to pull up for a big long line of cars to let them pass. They're the ones blocking the road by driving in convoy, not the cyclist.

They can hang back and wait for a safe place to pass. It's not like they're in a rush to save the guy from becoming deader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Lads
    Being laid up is a good chance to catch up ! I'm up in Donegal at the minute with a cracked clavicle and broken hand listening to the local radio chat show !

A fella was on saying that he was part of a funeral cortage taking his uncle from a hospice to be waked at home (cant remember where)

The courtage caught up with a few cyclists participating in a TT who pulled up to let it pass but one in particular took exception to being held up

This individual would not let the hearse pass and rode out to the centre of the road. When the hearse did get past he took to the inside of the following cars. When asked to have a bit of manners launched into a verbal tirade of abuse and insults to the relations of the dead person. When the cortage slowed up for a junction he rode up the outside giving more abuse and giving the 2 fingers to the driver of the hearse.

This sort of disrespect gets cycling a bad name and is totally unacceptable ! Its upsetting enough for a family to have to face into a journey home without a loved one just for a complete tosser to add to their upset by acting in such a manner. TT or not

How would he like it if it was god-forbid one of his family members..? The club who organised sent out a person to the family to talk about this incident and tell the family that this . behaviour is not tolerated and is isolated

Today here in Donegal the whole place is fuming over this and I am ashamed to say im a cyclist.

What gets into people ?

1 person..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

It was a man that did it, so today I'm ashamed to say I'm a man.

I hope he wasn't bald or I'll have to be ashamed of that too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

quozl wrote: »
    It was a man that did it, so today I'm ashamed to say I'm a man.

I hope he wasn't bald or I'll have to be ashamed of that too!

I'm ashamed of being alive.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

OK guys I've already had to delete a couple of posts here.

Firstly please do not make any flippant remarks towards any class of individual, and secondly do not advocate any form of violent "retribution". Please keep te discussion civil

Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Some of the attitudes / lack of respect expressed towards funerals is truly amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭circler

There's simply not enough respect on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

We have a person who's heard one side of a story on Donegal's less popular version of the Joe Duffy show and posted here, god knows what actually happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

The simple solution is if it was a Club TT, there should have been a sign on sheet. The Club will know who the person was, if he's a member of their club they can discipline him internally for bad behavior and if he's a member of a different club they could ask them to deal with him.

It's a storm in a teacup really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

During the vets champs last year, a funeral was taking place and the cavalcade and riders were advised to be quiet whilst passing the church. AFAIK it was respected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

seamus wrote: »
    Whatever about the behaviour of the guy afterwards which was unacceptable, I fail to see the need to pull up for a big long line of cars to let them pass. They're the ones blocking the road by driving in convoy, not the cyclist.

They can hang back and wait for a safe place to pass. It's not like they're in a rush to save the guy from becoming deader.

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

I live in county Wicklow which is very popular with cyclists.

Last week I came upon a group of cyclists, they were cycling 2 and 3 a breast. I slowed down behind them and the furthest back cyclist in the group began shouting orders to the cyclists ahead and they all promptly began travelling in single file. As I was on a bend I was waiting patiently to get by them, next of all the guy at the front started shouting back and then they cyclist at the back began waving me on to overtake as the guy in front could see it was safe.

I honestly couldn't believe it, never before have I seen such cooperation and courtesy. This is far from the norm that I've seen though unfortunately. I hope it catches on though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

One side of a story from a non identifiable person (unless the name was given on the radio) against an unidentifiable cyclist (although the person in the car would have had a jersey colour and description). It would seem unusual though that the organisers would not have known about a funeral in the local area and planned accordingly around it, not saying anyone is being misleading, just saying it sounds very unlikely. I mean, the riders would have a reason to go back to the start and say, listen fair is fair, can we have another crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

CramCycle wrote: »
    One side of a story from a non identifiable person (unless the name was given on the radio) against an unidentifiable cyclist (although the person in the car would have had a jersey colour and description). It would seem unusual though that the organisers would not have known about a funeral in the local area and planned accordingly around it, not saying anyone is being misleading, just saying it sounds very unlikely. I mean, the riders would have a reason to go back to the start and say, listen fair is fair, can we have another crack.

Don't let common sense get in the way of having something to be outraged about :D

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Red_Dwarf

seamus wrote: »

Its about respect to a family and friends who lost someone close to them.

You seem to lack it.

Would you overtake funeral procession in your car because they are holding you up?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

In two pages we've had two mod warnings, one yellow card and several deleted posts. Keep it up and this thread will get closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

Some Dubs mightnt appreciate how this carry on is completely unacceptable everywhere else in Ireland outside dublin where the majority of people have respect

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=88752321

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Thanks for the replies guys ! Just a small update - Club know exactly who the person was and this has become a disciplinary matter the nature of which is an internal affair

Any of the fellows who pulled up have been awarded with a time bonus and rightly so I say

You know 99.9% of us all try and ride as safely as we can and exersize a bit of courtesy and common sense and some buck idiot just goes and shafts us all with 20mins of pure stupidity

Dont feel as ashamed now as we all would never engage in such an act. In fact on a thursday evening spin we met a cortage on the opposite side of the road about 3 years ago and we all pulled in stopped and dismounted until they passed then took strips out of each oher in a mass interval ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Some Dubs mightnt appreciate how this carry on is completely unacceptable everywhere else in Ireland outside dublin where the majority of people have respect

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=88752321

I disagree.....the vast majority of people, whereever they live, do appreciate how this type of behaviour would be dis-respectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭JMcL

It would seem unusual though that the organisers would not have known about a funeral in the local area and planned accordingly around it, not saying anyone is being misleading, just saying it sounds very unlikely. I mean, the riders would have a reason to go back to the start and say, listen fair is fair, can we have another crack.

Speculation as I've no idea of the specifics any more than anyone else here, but it may not have been a local funeral - it's a big county and the hospice could easily have been 50km or more away from where the wake was to be held. The organisers may not have known. Still between sign-on sheets, the other riders who didn't behave like tossers etc., it shouldn't be that hard to identify who the individual was and make them aware their behaviour was right out of order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Red_Dwarf wrote: »
    Its about respect to a family and friends who lost someone close to them.

You seem to lack it.

Would you overtake funeral procession in your car because they are holding you up?
    That's not the same thing. If I was driving in front of a hearse, I wouldn't pull over to let it past.

I fail to see how not pulling over is in any way showing disrespect to anyone.

Maybe if you were doing 25km/h on a tight local road, it would be a good idea, but I very much doubt that was the case here. The procession was traffic, let it overtake as traffic is wont to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

I'm after reading the op a few times and I still don't understand it fully. Did the funeral procession catch up to the lads on bikes or the other way round?

And regardless, it's an amazing display of insensitivity on behalf of anyone who'd shout at people attending a funeral. I'd imagine he was the talk of the funeral for the rest of the day, and lucky to escape without someone starting a physical altercation.

<snip>

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

@TequilaMockingBird Don't post in this thread again. Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

The idea of people who cycle being considered a particular all-for-one species is so bizarre I just don't understand it, whether it's an accusation by non-cyclists or a sense of brotherhood by cyclists. How about a story of some left-handed ignoramus that makes all other left-handers hang their heads in shame?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Donegaler

I was not at the event but it does read rather badly for the cyclist. In his defence he is one of the most passionate cyclists in Donegal
    Lets hear his side of the story before we judge him.
    May I add my condolences to the family of the bereaved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

[QUOTE=Donegaler;90207336
    Lets hear his side of the story before we judge him.
    May I add my condolences to the family of the bereaved.[/QUOTE]
    Edited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

Donegaler wrote: »
    I
    Ha. He gave the fingers and abuse to people bringing a deceased relative home to be waked. I dont care if he washes the feet of lepers at the weekend there is no excusing it and he should be kicked out of the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭codie

Ha. He gave the fingers and abuse to people bringing a deceased relative home to be waked. I dont care if he washes the feet of lepers at the weekend there is no excusing it and he should be kicked out of the club

+1 thats just something you dont do.He left himself down badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Riskymove wrote: »
    tbh I am really surprised he didn't have his arse handed to him

Same here.

Judge,jury and executioner.
    Hang him.
    Listen to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

There is a lot of aggression being shown in this thread about an *alleged* incident which someone apparently related on a radio talk show and which is reported here third hand. Joe Duffy would be proud.

doozerie wrote: »
    There is a lot of aggression being shown in this thread about an *alleged* incident which someone apparently related on a radio talk show and which is reported here third hand. Joe Duffy would be proud.

I have a feeling that the "Joe Duffy Account" of this incident is slightly exaggerated.
    But on the other hand ,isn't it brave of some cyclists to make their minds up so decisively about their colleagues guilt or innocence from behind the cloak of anonymity .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

I have a feeling that the "Joe Duffy Account" of this incident is slightly exaggerated.
    But on the other hand ,isn't it brave of some cyclists to make their minds up so decisively about their colleagues guilt or innocence from behind the cloak of anonymity .

Thus far (so far as I can see) you are the only poster to have come close to identifying the cyclist at the heart of this report, and as such everyone else on thread is as much responding to a hypothetical situation as making any minds up about a so called colleague (and to be frank I would be embarrassed to call anyone behaving in the manner described a colleague, or to be regarded as a colleague of theirs). With this being the case, I don't see any justification for the carry on of the individual as described, and the simple fact that you are able to tie this description back to a particular individual with sufficient confidence to post the details you have suggests that there is more than just an element of truth to the description.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Some of the attitudes / lack of respect expressed towards funerals is truly amazing!

Shussssssh, thats why we haven't won an AI since 1951 ;)
    The curse will be on that cyclist for ever :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Even more reason as to why he should have had a bit of cop on, if he continues that attitude with drivers his might be the next funeral in the hearse!!!
    That lad needs to relax!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

A case of roid rage I'd say.

cython wrote: »
    Thus far (so far as I can see) you are the only poster to have come close to identifying the cyclist at the heart of this report, and as such everyone else on thread is as much responding to a hypothetical situation as making any minds up about a so called colleague (and to be frank I would be embarrassed to call anyone behaving in the manner described a colleague, or to be regarded as a colleague of theirs). With this being the case, I don't see any justification for the carry on of the individual as described, and the simple fact that you are able to tie this description back to a particular individual with sufficient confidence to post the details you have suggests that there is more than just an element of truth to the description.

To the best of my knowledge,the Race organiser dealt with the matter very quickly by visiting the family concerned

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

MOD VOICE: as I am on my phone it's hard to mod effectively but the next poster to identify without proof (and I mean verifiable proof) the cyclist in question gets a card. Any questions on what constitutes proof, please PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Oldlegs

MOD VOICE: as I am on my phone it's hard to mod effectively but the next poster to identify without proof (and I mean verifiable proof) the cyclist in question gets a card. Any questions on what constitutes proof, please PM me.

I would say you were hoping for a nice quiet Friday before the bank holiday weekend. "Sure what can go wrong later on a Friday evening" you probably said to yourself. Anyway I have the phone to keep tabs on things. Then all hell breaks lose.
    This thread is a great example of the effort the MODS make.
    Hopefully the rest of your weekend is easier :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭dreamerb

Oldlegs wrote: »
    This thread is a great example of the effort the MODS make.
    It really is. And thanks to all the mods...

On the overall thread, I am a bit nonplussed that anyone's even appearing to defend the alleged behaviour. Corteges outside Dublin tend to travel at reasonable speed when the graveyard isn't in walking distance (likewise in Dublin come to think of it); in my experience in Dublin only a red traffic light is a reasonable break in a funeral cortege, rights of way notwithstanding. It's a matter of simple courtesy to the bereaved. Outside Dublin, I'm really surprised that, if the funeral party was travelling faster than the cyclists, nobody made a general order to wait as soon as the funeral party was seen.

... I've walked behind coffins on public roads in rural Ireland and in urban Dublin without any form of traffic being obnoxious about it; because I live near Mount Jerome graveyard I occasionally encounter funerals while cycling in Dublin and usually slow to the pace or pull in and wait. In rural Ireland I have never yet encountered anyone trying to overtake or be aggressive at a funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭spoke2cun

The sooner a name and Shame policy is applied to anything, the better. It's a strong deterrent, believe it or not.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

spoke2cun wrote: »
    The sooner a name and Shame policy is applied to anything, the better. It's a strong deterrent, believe it or not.

And if somebody names the wrong person are you going to pay boards.ie legal bill?