Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1.2 million missing from department of social protection

• 01-05-2014 12:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭

Three staff members at the Department of Social Protection are being investigated for misappropriation of funds, the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) has heard.

one of these staff members has been fired.
    The other two staff members at the department, headed up by Minister Joan Burton, have been suspended as a garda investigation into the claims continue.

It’s claimed that one staff member “colluded with an outsider” over a six year period. It’s alleged the ‘outsider’ received more than €1m in funds, which would be €166,000 a year or €3,205 a week
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-investigate-misappropriation-of-funds-worth-up-to-12m-at-department-of-social-protection-30235413.html

In one instance the fraud was carried out on a weekly basis for over 6 years!!

Rotten from the inside out and the top down, with no oversight, management or morals

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 72 ✭✭seamonkey92

Probably those fat cats in Dublin lining their pockets, all this country ever does is bend over and take it. No backbone. The country been ruined by the suits in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I thought you meant 1.2 million people....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭paulbok

I thought you meant 1.2 million people....

T'would sort out the high unemployment levels pretty sharpish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Probably those fat cats in Dublin lining their pockets, all this country ever does is bend over and take it. No backbone. The country been ruined by the suits in Dublin.

Or it could be some rouge employees. You get them in every single job ever. The public service is no exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

That's it, boyo. Keep voting Healy-Rae, Lowry and Joe Gombeen to show those Dublin fat-cats and the D4 meeja

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Boombastic wrote: »

........one of these staff members has been fired.

Must be a first for a civil servant.

Lapin wrote: »
    Was probably on the Jobbridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Yeah right, Dublin blah blah blah. All the fault of the city slickers leading the plain gombeens of Ireland astray. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

paulbok wrote: »
    T'would sort out the high unemployment levels pretty sharpish

social protection would indicate they were on welfare. And claiming it. Or not existing. Sounds like a job for Dunham and Bishop.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 72 ✭✭seamonkey92

Collie D wrote: »
    That's it, boyo. Keep voting Healy-Rae, Lowry and Joe Gombeen to show those Dublin fat-cats and the D4 meeja

Healy-Rae, Lowry No thanks, I'll be voting Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Rotten from the inside out and the top down, with no oversight, management or morals

I kniow this is AH but that's quite a statement

you'd think no fraud or crime was ever committed in the Private sector.

3 individuals out of hundreds of Department Staff.....People fired and under Garda investigation...but still let's just call them all names and have another PS bashing thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Lapin wrote: »

Who is this civil servent the has been stealing our money?

Who is the outsider?

What sentence did the courts hand down to them?

Are the suspended ones receiving full pay?

How many people altogether work in the department?

So many questions..l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Three staff members at the Department of Social Protection are being investigated for misappropriation of funds, the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) has heard.

one of these staff members has been fired.
    The other two staff members at the department, headed up by Minister Joan Burton, have been suspended as a garda investigation into the claims continue.

It’s claimed that one staff member “colluded with an outsider” over a six year period. It’s alleged the ‘outsider’ received more than €1m in funds, which would be €166,000 a year or €3,205 a week
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/gardai-investigate-misappropriation-of-funds-worth-up-to-12m-at-department-of-social-protection-30235413.html

In one instance the fraud was carried out on a weekly basis for over 6 years!!

Sounds like a fairly typical employee fraud situation. It was finally discovered and action is being taken. Exactly what would happen in most private companies - disciplinary proceedings and garda involvement.

It may point out system weaknesses that need to be fixed to prevent recurrence but apart from that I don't think it paints the department in a particularly bad light

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Can't believe someone was actually sacked. I presume they'll be suing the state for unfair dismissal by tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

It was 3 people and the process of oversight is what eventually brought it to light. The morals and ethics of those discovering it have led to them being investigated and in one instance so far, fired. But don't let perspective and facts stop your rant.

You know the "suits in Dublin" are worn by people from outside Dublin, yeh? In the case of politicians for example, most of them are from outside Dublin and are elected by people from outside Dublin, to represent people from outside Dublin. But again, don't let that stop your rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭JamBur

I fcuking hate this sort of inane, pessimistic drivel. Cop on and grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

im sure its the tip of the iceberg

The true figure could be of titanic proportions.

Yep the 1.2 million only accounts for 2 of the cases known

Two of the cases involve €1.2m and were referred to gardai in December 2012, Ms O’Donoghue said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Or it could be some rouge employees...
    Bloody communists!

Or it could be some rouge employees. .
    Rouge employees could makeup the shortfall and spare the department's blushes.

It was 3 people and the process of oversight is what eventually brought it to light. The morals and ethics of those discovering it have led to them being investigated and in one instance so far, fired. But don't let perspective and facts stop your rant.

You know the "suits in Dublin" are worn by people from outside Dublin, yeh? In the case of politicians for example, most of them are from outside Dublin and are elected by people from outside Dublin, to represent people from outside Dublin. But again, don't let that stop your rant.

It took 6 years of 'oversight' to bring it too light. This very department is responsible for combating social welfare fraud and yet they can't see what's under their noses in the same department?

One fired, how did the court cases go? No money recouped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

you'd think no fraud or crime was ever committed in the Private sector.
    there most certainly is, the difference is, it doesnt effect me, I couldnt really care less, this is the kind of s**t we are being bled dry with taxes for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Idbatterim wrote: »
    there most certainly is, the difference is, it doesnt effect me, I couldnt really care less, this is the kind of s**t we are being bled dry with taxes for!
    You think private fraud doesn't effect you? It certainly does, who pays for the prosecution? Who pays for the jail accommodation?

You think fraud on insurance companies doesn't push up your premium?

Short sighted view.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    You think private fraud doesn't effect you? It certainly does, who pays for the prosecution? Who pays for the jail accommodation?

Short sighted view.
    at least there would be a prosecution and jail accomodation needed. I suppose they're saving us a few Bob.

of course it effects you..it increases the cost of doing business and therefore fees and costs increase etc

at least there would be a prosecution and jail accomodation needed. I suppose they're saving us a few Bob.
    DSP staff have been sent to jail for fraud and these people could easily have the same happen to them. Fraud is normally quite difficult to build a case on requires time.

What will make you sick is how long DSP recovery plans take on people who commit fraud as customers. Quite common for them to be for 15+years at €2 a week. Only recently have they been given the power to go after people who are no longer customers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If that's true, why are they currently being investigated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The cost to me from private fraud, would be a fraction of that, that we are all paying because of welfare fraud...

and these people are being investigated and hopefully punished for it

so what's your issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Yeah

Bunch of fine upstanding folks

http://news.sky.com/story/1252758/gerry-adams-being-questioned-over-1972-murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

A vote for carbombs, extortion and terrorism? Vote for Sinn Fein. They'll even deliver the bomb to the public figure of your choice while making arms deals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Short sighted view.

Ah come on, we all know that white collar criminals don't go to jail!

DSP staff have been sent to jail for fraud and these people could easily have the same happen to them. Fraud is normally quite difficult to build a case on requires time.

What will make you sick is how long DSP recovery plans take on people who commit fraud as customers. Quite common for them to be for 15+years at €2 a week. Only recently have they been given the power to go after people who are no longer customers

Well the guy was fired in 2012. I'd imagine the investigation was concluded at that stage, how long more will it take to bring to court?

Full wages and an extra 3205 a week on top, I'm sure they have something that could be seized to make a repayment, which they haven't bothered their arse to do yet

Well the guy was fired in 2012. I'd imagine the investigation was concluded at that stage, how long more will it take to bring to court?

Full wages and an extra 3205 a week on top, I'm sure they have something that could be seized to make a repayment, which they haven't bothered their arse to do yet

can I have a loan of your magical all-knowing device when you are finished with it?

Riskymove wrote: »
    can I have a loan of your magical all-knowing device when you are finished with it?
    ? Please explain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

You can't just seize something for repayment. You'd need some kind of court order. And civil matters always come after criminal trials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

one of these staff members has been fired promoted.

I fixed the obvious typo there.

Ah come on, we all know that white collar criminals don't go to jail!
    Yeah that garlic guy didn't serve any time.

Imagine away but reality might hit you hard bro. You can be fired from a job and criminal prosecution then can take some time. How long did it take for the Anglo trial?

I don't know if he has or has not paid back any of the money back do you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Please stop acting like you know the first thing about it. The Department of Social Protection pays out almost €20bn per year and has thousands of employees. Things like this happen in every organisation but a tiny cross section of employees, 3 in this case, hardly signify an organisation that is "Rotten from the inside out and the top down".

I wonder where Boombastic works and how much experience he has in any large organisation?

A large organisation with minimal accountability?

I'm not a thief, I don't make excuses for thieves. It's easy to know where some people work with their 'what's wrong with it atitude'. As in said rotten from the top down and the inside out with no morals

A large organisation with minimal accountability?

I'm not a thief, I don't make excuses for thieves. It's easy to know where some people work with their 'what's wrong with it atitude'. As in said rotten from the top down and the inside out with no morals

Ok tell me where the last 5 poster work.

At the institute of making excuses for thieves.

LOL

If you actually had understanding you might realise that you are obviously clueless

LOL

If you actually had understanding you might realise that you are obviously clueless

Well that well thought out and logical post really filled the gaps in my understanding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

i wonder how the rest of the country would cope if dublin stopped subsidizing yis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

A vote for carbombs, extortion and terrorism? Vote for Sinn Fein. They'll even deliver the bomb to the public figure of your choice while making arms deals.

You do know that all of the above is in the past with Sinn Fein. Whereas the main stream partys like FG FF and Labour seem to let blatant white collar crime and corruption go unpunished in this very day and age.

Well that well thought out and logical post really filled the gaps in my understanding

You think you deserve respectful answer given what you are saying and the name calling??

You refused every reasonable response and are acting like a child

i wonder how the rest of the country would cope if dublin stopped subsidizing yis

Probably the same way the department of social protection employee had to cope on their wages after their €3205 self sanctioned weekly top up was 'discovered'