Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rally of the lakes

• 29-04-2014 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭

Wel lads, just looking for a bit of info on the rally,

me and a mate are going to be travelling down from kilkenny. We were thinking of going down on friday night, sleeping in the car and watch rally on sat. I have checked on the rally website but it dose not list where the stages are, and its a bit hard for me to get a program. Where are some good spots to watch the rally.?

Also the night time 'activities' are they better on the fri night or sat night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

smiffy2ky8 wrote: »
    Wel lads, just looking for a bit of info on the rally,

me and a mate are going to be travelling down from kilkenny. We were thinking of going down on friday night, sleeping in the car and watch rally on sat. I have checked on the rally website but it dose not list where the stages are, and its a bit hard for me to get a program. Where are some good spots to watch the rally.?

Also the night time 'activities' are they better on the fri night or sat night
    Which "activities" are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

If you're sleeping in the car then you may as well head to Molls Gap, usually run twice on the first day and sometimes again the second day. The road is closed until around 5:30am Saturday morning, to stop scobes ballsing around all night up there and risking cancelling the stage. So park at the bottom where other cars will be and get some shut eye or dance around on the roads, what ever suits! Then the cops will open the roads and head up (usually at a fairly hefty pace).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭smiffy2ky8

Lads driving around

smiffy2ky8 wrote: »
    Lads driving around
    "lads" will be driving around all weekend.. the men will be competing in the Rally.

If your planning on heading down to act the cnut with the knuckle draggers , please don't! Genuine Rally People and the town of Killarney don't want ye simple as.

The Last thing the organisers need are more of the "bap bap brigade" turning up to tarnish a fantastic sporting event..

If ye want to go act the gimp then i'd suggest heading to kiltorcan or something instead.
    If on the other hand you intend actually going to killarney to spectate, i suggest getting a program on the way down and in particular pay close attention to the full page advert the club have placed addressed directly to the "bap bap brigade"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭smiffy2ky8

Cant act the maggot, dont have the car for that,

Some amount of knuckle draggers alright at the Lakes rally more than any other. I stopped going for years because of it, they just add to the traffic not even going to the stages and cause a nusciance in general for all the locals.
    As said, get a program. It's the only way. If not, then Molls Gap is the sure thing stage as I posted above. It's crowded though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Some amount of knuckle draggers alright at the Lakes rally more than any other. I stopped going for years because of it, they just add to the traffic not even going to the stages and cause a nusciance in general for all the locals.
    As said, get a program. It's the only way. If not, then Molls Gap is the sure thing stage as I posted above. It's crowded though.

Same here, stopped going to the lakes a long time ago because of the trouble makers. It's a shame too because its a great rally apart from them..

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

There is always going to be young fellas doing the eejit. definitely never stopped me going to a rally though. There are programmes available from as far away as Newcastle West so plenty time to plot your route. BTW the gap closes at 7am sat morning

liam7831 wrote: »
    There is always going to be young fellas doing the eejit. definitely never stopped me going to a rally though. There are programmes available from as far away as Newcastle West so plenty time to plot your route. BTW the gap closes at 7am sat morning

Even earlier on Sunday ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I've always found the Donegal Rally far worse for the "knuckle brigade" Was up one year when my OH was competing and a friend of his co-driver was a guard that got rammed by some scumbags who had been acting the maggot and decided to make a break for the border.

It's going to be a great weekend, unfortunately I can't go but my OH is once again competing. Best of luck to all competitors.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Its unfortunately a curse that blights pretty much all forms of Motorsport I am afraid to say. I do my best not to let them ruin my enjoyment of a race weekend.
    Ya, best to ignore and let the cops deal with them. Have to say though, never found it much of an issue at Donegal. Always found Donegal to be handy enough to navigate around, far less crowds than at Killarney, which is another reason I haven't been to Killarney in years.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Ya, best to ignore and let the cops deal with them. Have to say though, never found it much of an issue at Donegal. Always found Donegal to be handy enough to navigate around, far less crowds than at Killarney, which is another reason I haven't been to Killarney in years.
    Same as.. i'm heading down friday evening and working on the Gap all weekend, i'm hoing to avoid the traffic if possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

barney 20v wrote: »
    "lads" will be driving around all weekend.. the men will be competing in the Rally.

If your planning on heading down to act the cnut with the knuckle draggers , please don't! Genuine Rally People and the town of Killarney don't want ye simple as.

The Last thing the organisers need are more of the "bap bap brigade" turning up to tarnish a fantastic sporting event..

If ye want to go act the gimp then i'd suggest heading to kiltorcan or something instead.
    If on the other hand you intend actually going to killarney to spectate, i suggest getting a program on the way down and in particular pay close attention to the full page advert the club have placed addressed directly to the "bap bap brigade"

...could not have put it more eloquently, nicely done good sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 shanef91

SATURDAY STAGES

SS 1Molls Gap Road Close | First Car Start | Road Open

7.00AM | 8:30am |

SS 2 Ballaghbeama 8:30am | 9:29am | 11:50am

SS 3 Caragh Lake 9:15am | 10:15am | 12:30 pm

SS 4 Molls Gap 7:00am | 12:28 pm | 14:45 pm

SS 5 BallaghBeama 12:25pm | 13:27 pm | 15:50 pm

SS 6 Carragh Lake 13:10pm | 14:13 pm | 16:30 pm

SS 7 Coolick 15:00 pm | 16:05pm | 18:10 pm

SUNDAY STAGE'S

SS 8 Molls Gap Road closed | first car start | road open

6:30 am | 7:50 am | 10:15 am

SS 9 Borlin 8:00 am | 9:08 am | 11:30 am

SS 10 Lough Allua 9:20 am | 10:26 am | 12:45 pm

SS 11 Fuhiry 10:05 am | 11:08 | 13:20 pm

SS 12 Borlin 12:15 pm | 13:18 pm | 15:40 pm

SS 13 Lough Allua 13:30 pm | 14:36 pm | 16:45 pm

SS14 Fuhiry 14:20 pm | 15:18 pm | 17:30 pm

SS 15 Molls Gap (R) 15:30 pm | 16:52 PM | 19:10 pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Bullseye500

Can't wait always a great weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

Wish he had it in Munster Joinery livery like his Evo. Its such a good livery it would look great.

wobbles wrote: »
    Wish he had it in Munster Joinery livery like his Evo. Its such a good livery it would look great.

I suppose with it being a one off event prob was not practical, you heading down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

anyone with any experience know how many stage i could get in reasonably on the sunday if i dont take in the gap stages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

I suppose with it being a one off event prob was not practical, you heading down?

Wish I was, its always a great weekend. One of my favorite events of the year. Nothing like waiting on Molls gap for the first car.