Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ARist in the spotlight.... Menoscemo

• 29-04-2014 8:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭

Taking it back to a Tuesday handover as per the original rules of the game.

This week I'm putting a long time friend of the forum on the block. When it comes to running, what this man doesn't have an opinion on could fit on the side of a matchbox.

From coaching the novices, to taking on the masters of running, Meno knows "the plan that works"; and question it AT YOUR PERIL!

We could learn a lot this week ladies and gents*... :)

*CAVEAT EMPTOR! ;)

What's your softest PB?
    What's your best PB?
    What could you run a mile in tomorrow?
    With regard to the mile, with what time would you be happy to hang up your gorunsketchers for good?
    How much do you really actually deep down want to run a sub 3 marathon?!
    Do you promise to hand over to a track fairy next week before we all die of marathon boredom?
    What did you have for breakfast the morning of the 12 mile race in London?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Will you ever do another ultra?

Would you ever do a tri?

What's the ultimate hangover cure?

Do you think you could beat Brian over 400m?

Best beer available at the Coal Hole?

Favourite sporting moment ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Would you ever go a year without marathons (or ultras)?
    What sports did you play when you were younger?
    What would you change about Athletics Ireland?
    Favourite race?
    Favourite training session?
    Favourite place to run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Haven't you done this spotlight thing before? :confused:

What's your view on racing under a false name? :D

How does it feel to taste CL's dust? :)

Are you still insisting you were hard done by the penalty lap for last year's beer mile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

What's with the cap ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Why do the Ulster lads not sing Amhrán na bhfiann before a rugby international?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

What's your favourite shoe (for running, not dancing)
    Depth charges or tequila slammers?
    What do you not know about running?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Favourite Boxer?

Favourite fight (Boxing - not a boards row)?

Digger or CL?

Just how good do those Skechers feel?

Most memorable race (not all performance linked)?

Does Quirky know more about boxing than you?

Is Mr Stew your Son?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

If you could only choose one of the following, which would it be:

- You at Croke Park watching Tyrone beat Dublin on All Ireland Final day?
    or
    - Doing a sub 3 marathon. ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Thanks for the intro cl. Can I just point out there are no capitals in my username ;)

*CAVEAT EMPTOR! ;)

What's your softest PB?
    Has to be my 10 mile PB (69:20). That's only because I havent raced a 10 mile in over 3 years. I have actually broken it by nearly 5 minutes in a Half marathon. My other PB's line up pretty equally according to the calculators (1 Mile 5:24 - Marathon 3:04).

Edit: Actually my Beermile time of 13 minutes+ is probably softer again. I should be able to rectify that in a few months :D

What's your best PB?
    As above they are pretty close. A lot of people would reckon my marathon (3:04) is more Impressive than my 5k (18:22) or 10k (38:29) but I reckon I was in 3:02 shape when I ran 3:04. I was most pleased with my 10k last summer as I had previously had a mental block when it came to that distance!!

What could you run a mile in tomorrow?
    Tomorrow I would be lucky to break 7 minutes!!

With regard to the mile, with what time would you be happy to hang up your gorunsketchers for good?
    I don't really have any ambitions to race a mile again!! When I raced one last july it caused me to tear a hamstring. To race a mile you really need to be doing specific mile workouts, my legs just weren't used to that pace.

BTW the skechers are a Long distance shoe for me. I would be using spikes for a mile

How much do you really actually deep down want to run a sub 3 marathon?!
    I really want it, I just need to be in better shape to make it feasible. No point trying to run a sub 3 marathon when you just don't have the speed. To do it properly I really need to get my shorter times down and then be peaking for the marathion itself.

Do you promise to hand over to a track fairy next week before we all die of marathon boredom?
    As long as i can find one to accept ;)

What did you have for breakfast the morning of the 12 mile race in London?
    6 pints of Craft Ale and a Steak dinner :pac:
    No actually to be really boring; a bowl of poridge,a bowl of fruit and a coffee

Hi RK!! Hope London life is treating you well
    Will you ever do another ultra?
    Definitely but not until I have run a sub 3 marathon or given up trying. Would love to give Connemara 39.3 a proper run. I have ran it twice but sabotaged myself both times by running a marathon PB 3-4 weeks out. I Would also love to run a good 50miler or 100k. Probably Dingle 50 mile.

Would you ever do a tri?
    Never

What's the ultimate hangover cure?
    More beer, hope the one tomorrow isn't as bad.

Do you think you could beat Brian over 400m?
    He would have to be terribly out of shape. Actually yeah I probably could :p

Best beer available at the Coal Hole?
    Haha, I was asking for Nicholsons Lager all night. I only realised the next day (was having a hangover cure ;)) that it doesn't exist. I don't know the name offhand but it was their only craft lager on tap. It was obviously quite strong :pac:

Favourite sporting moment ever?
    2 spring imediately to mind:
    Man United winning their first league title in my lifetime after a 25 year wait. I was a huge united fan at the time and the whole Cantona era was great.

Tyrone winning their first All ireland in 2003 was also massive after so many years of going close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

menoscemo wrote: »
    I Would also love to run a good 50miler ,Probably Dingle 50.
    :(
    Obviously u like to travel or are still pissed dat I beat u in Johnstown,.:)

If u could coach 1 person on boards,who'd it be and why?
    Do u really believe in all that Daniels and casanova stuff?

Hey Ray!! Hopefully catch up with you in Limerick...

Would you ever go a year without marathons (or ultras)?

Yep. I am considering doing that for the next year. I feel I need to get my short times right down before I can give sub3 a proper go (get into 2:55 equivalent shape over the shorter distances). I had that plan this time last year as I Only raced 1 Marathon (London) in 2013 and went 12 months without racing another one. Only issue was a torn Hamstring in the summer which kept me out for a month. I had been making great progress up to that point but the injury and layoff seemed to send me back to square 1 :mad:

What sports did you play when you were younger?
    GAA and soccer and a little bit of boxing when I was very young. I was forced to give up boxing when I was 8 after a head injury caused by a car accident.
    I played Soccer and GAA up to about 18. I actually have a Tyrone minor medal and an Ulster runner up one. When I headed off to University I pretty much gave up sport for over 10 years.

What would you change about Athletics Ireland?
    Not sure if it is AI or just local clubs but we need to work on getting the young kids enjoying and competing in athletics. When I was in school we used to do all the events, including Long jump, shot, Javelin, High Jump etc. Some of the kids where really good at certain events, but apart from Sports day there was nowhere to compete so it never led anywhere.

Favourite race?
    Love the Dunshaughlin 10k. It just sums up everything that is good about a proper club race.

Favourite training session?
    When I am going well I love running something like 10 miles at MP. Just feels like you are gliding along and it's tough but not too tough.

Favourite place to run?
    Tallaght Track or else Tymon Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

When was your last PB?
    What's your next PB going to be?
    If we ask you two years from now, which PB you are most proud of, what distance and what time will it be?
    Are you still being coached?
    A few scoops the night before a marathon - harmless fun, or just a bit of gluttony?
    Galway Hooker or O'Hara's Pale Ale?
    Have you ever done an IMRA race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

went 12 months without racing another one.

how many marathons did you not-race in that period? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

Would you date someone who wore headphones during a race?

Would you a date some from Dunleer or Drogheda who was clearly starting too far up the field?

More seriously,

Who would be a good mentor for the DCM14 novice thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

1) Do you believe your pursuit of the sub 3 marathon to be a help or a hindrance to your progress and performances at 5K and 10K, and why?

2) What type of gym/ strength based work do you incorporate into your training?

3) What, for you, are the biggest pluses of being part of your own particular club?

4) A couple of years ago you were talking a good game with regards the sub 60 400m, and then went strangely silent. What happened?

5) Any future plans to have another craic at the track?

6) As somebody who doesn't race on the track much, what do you think should be done to encourage more average joe adults to participate in track and field on a regular basis?

7) You are in charge of AAI for one day. What three drastic changes do you make?

8) Amateur or Professional boxing?

9) Which 3 top athletes would you invite to join you for pints and why?

10) In a general sporting context, how good do you believe Katie Taylor is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

On a scale of 1 to 10 how much does it sicken you that the Dubs are having so much success?

Boutcha Tomas??
    Haven't you done this spotlight thing before? :confused:
    Nope

What's your view on racing under a false name? :D

It's all good :pac: Suited us both I think, I got a marathon PB and Brian got re qualified for 2 more years. I was actually running on the proviso I got under 3:10 to re qualify him for London but not to our knowledge; They were about to lower the Q standard to 3:05 a few weeks later. As it happened I had a 3:05 pace-band on as that was the slowest time I was prepared to accept as a 'good result'. I was on for about 3:02 for the first 18 miles but had slowed since then due to cramps. At mile 26 I checked the 3:05 pace-band for the first time to discover I was 5 seconds behind schedule. I Pegged it down the last 385 yards despite both legs cramping up and just about made it in 3:04:58. I didn't realise the significance of those 7 seconds I made up at the time, but in retrospect it was worth it!!

How does it feel to taste CL's dust? :)
    That sounds dirty :pac: Boards answer: I haven't gone away yet ;)

Serious answer: I could not be more delighted for her and her success. Having been her pacer (with RQ) when she ran her first sub 2hr HM a few years ago, I have seen first hand her dramatic improvements and am proud to have played even a small part in them. I think after her performance in DCM last year I was probably the 2nd happiest person in McGrattans.

Are you still insisting you were hard done by the penalty lap for last year's beer mile?
    Haha yeah it was a travesty of Justice :D I must look for a less frothy beer for the next one ;)

What's with the cap ?
    I don't actually wear one that much, in the winter I didn't wear it at all. Basically to keep the sun off my face (I burn really easily) and to keep the sweat out of my eyes. I had a lucky cap that I wore a lot for a few years but I lost it a few months ago :mad:. I bought a new one at the London Expo this year and wore it for London and Boston. It now feels like such an unlucky cap that I don't think I will race in it again, maybe I'll just wear it for training runs this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Do you enjoy coaching / mentoring and who if anyone coaches you ?

What's the worst injury you have picked up running ?

Who on boards has the most natural talent / potential in your eyes ?

Can hard work beat natural talent ?

Do you play any musical instruments ?

Did this get number 1 for you ?

Why do the Ulster lads not sing Amhrán na bhfiann before a rugby international?

Probably because they don't know the words. The schools they went to I don't think they would have taught them ;)

What's your favourite shoe (for running, not dancing)
    That changes every week. I wear pretty much everything and anything. At the moment I would go with Skechers gorun. I picked them up at the expo at Boston on Saturday and 'ran' ;) the marathon on Monday with them on. Suffice to say my miserable performance had nothing to do with the shoe, I really liked them.

Depth charges or tequila slammers?
    I have no Idea what a depth charger is but I hate tequila so i will go with it.

What do you not know about running?
    Are sure you don't mean 'what do you not know'? ;)

Hi Alanking Runningking AMK

Favourite Boxer?
    Growing up I became a huge Eubank Fan. Didn't like him at first but like a lot of people grew to love him as he showed just how brave he could be in the ring. I was absolutely devastated when collins beat him. After the Watson fight he was never the same again and lost his killer instinct. A prime Eubank with the bit betwen his teeth would have destroyed Collins.

From watching Youtube and reading my favourite Old time boxer would probably be Roberto Duran. What a warrior. You should read his Biography, it's great stuff. Won his first world title in 1969 and was still in title fights right up until this century.

Also Ali obviously, he would probably be my favourite sportsperson of all time. He was so much more than a boxer.

I could name you a dozen 'wars' that were great fights. Eubank v Watson would probably be right up there (remember watching it so clearly as a kid). But for it's significance and sheer shock value at the time I would have to go with the Rumble in the Jungle- Ali vs Foreman. Anyone who hasn't seen the Oscar winning documentary on that fight (even if they are not a sports fan) should watch it.

Digger or CL?
    CL :D

Just how good do those Skechers feel?
    They are great. Love the fact they are so wide in the forefoot, can't see myself getting blisters again

Most memorable race (not all performance linked)?
    Conn Ultra. Something special about that one

Does Quirky know more about boxing than you?
    No way. By his own admission he is not a big fan

Is Mr Stew your Son?
    I thought he was my dad :confused:

Hi Alanking Runningking AMK
    Digger or CL?
    CL :D

When you are in the spotlight you have to tell the truth man ;)

Good to see you back at it T

If you could only choose one of the following, which would it be:

- You at Croke Park watching Tyrone beat Dublin on All Ireland Final day?
    or
    - Doing a sub 3 marathon. ?

Sub 3 Mara.

I may not have seen Tyrone beating Dublin on all Ireland Final day but:
    • I have seen Tyrone Beating Dublin in croker many a time.
    • I have seen Tyrone win 3 All Irelands in Croke Park.
    • The only time I have felt even the slightest bit uneasy among GAA fans was after we beat the Dubs in a QF a few years ago, I would hate to see what they would be like if we beat them in a Final ;)

Hey anto. I never mentioned your race as I won't be ready this year. Also the day you beat me, I give up ;)

If u could coach 1 person on boards,who'd it be and why?
    TRR.
    I reckon I could get him out of his 2:35-2:36 rut ;)

Do u really believe in all that Daniels and casanova stuff?
    Wha??? :confused: Are you talking about whisky or Romance or both???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

If you have a 3:05 pace band on your arm like you did in London 2013 then how are you going to run sub 3 if you have that to fall back on ?

How did you get a BQ ?

Hi Krusty!!! Hope to catch you for Beermile if not before...

When was your last PB?
    Mile last July. Set 5k and 10k PB's last june. For a variety of reasons I have embarrassingly only raced once since then :eek: (failed marathons aside)

What's your next PB going to be?
    Next time I do a 10 mile for sure ;) Otherwise I definitely hope to race more over the summer

If we ask you two years from now, which PB you are most proud of, what distance and what time will it be?
    Good question. I reckon I have most potential over HM, seems to be a good distance for me when I am fit and healthy.

Are you still being coached?
    No not really. I still ask for bits of advice but mostly do my own thing, maybe I need a change....

A few scoops the night before a marathon - harmless fun, or just a bit of gluttony?
    If not racing the next day; harmless fun. I had about 7 pints the night before I paced 4hrs in Dublin in 2011. Woke up late the next morning, had no time for breakfast and forgot to bring any gels. Closest I came to bonking that day!!

Racing, a pint or two would do no harm. You taught me that in London last year ;) I had no beer the night before London this year. maybe that is where I went wrong?? :eek:

Galway Hooker or O'Hara's Pale Ale?
    O'Haras Pale ale, nice tipple. Galway Hooker is a bit bland

Nope. i registered for the Half Marathon Plod a few years ago and recce'd the course with Gerard65 and RQ. I did so much moaning that day the Ger renamed me 'menopause'. Never did the race. I have dodgy ankles since I was a kid (car drove over my foot) so I have a paranoia about twisting a foot/ankle. I won't even run on grass unless it is perfectly smooth. Give me tarmac any day.

RayCun wrote: »
    how many marathons did you not-race in that period? :)

2. Paced DCM 3:40 and ran a handy 3:18 in the EOI series in January (beating CL) in the process ;).
    I honestly can't see that has any negative effect in this. If I do an easy Marathon on Saturday I am always ready for a full weeks training the week after. Whats the big physiological difference between running 24 miles LSR and a 26.2 mile LSR?? If training for a Half, should you never run more than 13 in training?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Nope. i registered for the Half Marathon Plod a few years ago and recce'd the course with Gerard65 and RQ. I did so much moaning that day the Ger renamed me 'menopause'. Never did the race. I have dodgy ankles since I was a kid (car drove over my foot) so I have a paranoia about twisting a foot/ankle. I won't even run on grass unless it is perfectly smooth. Give me tarmac any day.

Remembered the nickname when I read KC's question. We really should reignite that one.

You only tell half the story, part of the reasoning for that one was the sudden burst of enthusiasm and disregard for your ankles as we passed a nice group of 'older' ladies out for their little walk.

Would you date someone who wore headphones during a race?
    Would you a date some from Dunleer or Drogheda who was clearly starting too far up the field?
    Whats with all the american talk stass???
    BTW it's just drogheda that does that ;)

More seriously,

Who would be a good mentor for the DCM14 novice thread?

Not a hope buddy. Have a look at my story about shoes above ;)
    I am not sure I'd be a good coach to beginners. I don't believe half the advice typically given to novice marathoners even though it is probably the best advice to give. Most of it is claptrap and lazy generalisms.

Anyway I am pretty sure ososlo has the role sewn up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

statss wrote: »

Woah, woah, woah, stall the digger. Athletes from Dunleer often start up near the front of the field, but that's only because they often to go on to win the race! Please don't lump all us Louthians into the one heap!

Good man Niall,

Why the hell do you like pacing so much? Be honest, is it for the back-slapping?!
    You came on a lot over 5-10k last summer, can you tell us a little about your training from that time and what changes you made?
    How fast do you think you need to become to break 3 hours? 36 minute 10k/1.22 half?
    You tried the 100m at the graded meets a while ago, tempted to give the sprints another go this year?

Hey chivito/pisco/12345656!! That's a long list of questions :eek:

1) Do you believe your pursuit of the sub 3 marathon to be a help or a hindrance to your progress and performances at 5K and 10K, and why?
    A definite mutual help.
    I think training for a 5k and a marathon are 95% the same thing. Too many people use 'training for a 5k/10k' as an excuse to run less and end up going backwards over all distances.

2) What type of gym/ strength based work do you incorporate into your training?
    None whatsoever.
    I once spent over €1000 on a physio (including MRI he asked me to get) for an injury. The MRI turned out negative.
    He had me doing gym work for months and it never helped my injury. He still tried to book me in for the nth time after the MRI proved his original diagnosis wrong and assured me the weights would help in the longterm. I immediately stopped doing everything he said and never went back. What a waste of money and time!!
    A young trainee Ecoli cured the year long ailment in just a few treatments btw.

3) What, for you, are the biggest pluses of being part of your own particular club?

The track, the cameradrie and the social scene.

4) A couple of years ago you were talking a good game with regards the sub 60 400m, and then went strangely silent. What happened?
    I ran a 100m and 800m in the grade meets (with no training) and realised to succeed at the sprints I would have to specifically train for them. That would mean giving up long distances as you really can't do both at the same time IMO. Basically I was not prepared to do that!!

5) Any future plans to have another craic at the track?
    Probably not!! unless just doing it for the craic ;)

6) As somebody who doesn't race on the track much, what do you think should be done to encourage more average joe adults to participate in track and field on a regular basis?

I have actually raced a bit on the track. 2 x 1 mile, 1 x 100m, 1 x 800m and my club have a series of track races every year for the joggers training group ( I won our 1200m last year :D)
    To answer your question: do you really want the masses running track races? It would be a logistical nightmare to have 500+ people turn up for a track meet with only 8 lanes. Imagine mile races with people getting lapped etc and 100m races with 30 different heats. Feck that, leave track as an exclusive hobby for the eilte joggers ;)

7) You are in charge of AAI for one day. What three drastic changes do you make?
    Properly fund elite athletes
    Proper competition for young kids
    Stop selling off national races (Great ireland run 10k, r'n'r HM etc) to private capitalists and keep them as in house races.

8) Amateur or Professional boxing?
    They used to be two seperate and distinct codes, so much so that they were almost different sports.
    Nowadays there is little difference between the two. The WSB has taken away headguards and has amateurs fighting regularly or money. A decent amateur can make as much if not more money than a decent pro.

Despite that PRO all the way for me. Lighter gloves, more rounds, may the best man win. A primal but beautiful sport when it is done right.

Gary OHanlon claralara and Krusty clown

10) In a general sporting context, how good do you believe Katie Taylor is?
    She is probably the best ever female boxer (pro or amateur) which has to hold massive merit. Unlike the men's game I don't think there is a big difference between pro and amateur as she can make more money in Amateur.
    The downside is that there is not much depth in female boxing, amateur or pro (yet), so you can't compare her to someone like Ali Or Sugar Ray Robinson....despite that she would probably rank up there with the greatest ever Irish sportspeople.

gerard_65 wrote: »
    On a scale of 1 to 10 how much does it sicken you that the Dubs are having so much success?

Gerard, so much success??? :confused: on a scale of 1-10 about 1
    You dubs have won 2 all irelands in the last 18 Years. We have won 3 in the last 11 ;). What's there to be jealous about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

How many running shoes do you own?
    What is your ideal race weight?
    Coe or Ovett?
    Treacy or Coghlan?
    Fav Beer?

How come you ate so much ham in London?

Did it come as a shock that RK gave briantherunner the rattle and not you?

Are you sure crisps don't contribute to bad cholesterol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Gary OHanlon claralara and Krusty clown

Dear lord please tell me that's a joke... You can invite 3 top athletes for a pint and that's who you choose?! Not your pals Carl Lewis or Ben Johnson or Haile or Dibaba or an Irish great or a world record holder over 3 different distances??!! No offence to the Gary's; but come on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

claralara wrote: »
    Dear lord please tell me that's a joke... You can invite 3 top athletes for a pint and that's who you choose?! Not your pals Carl Lewis or Ben Johnson or Haile or Dibaba or an Irish great or a world record holder over 3 different distances??!! No offence to the Gary's; but come on!

Must have been in heaven in Mulligans after Donadea so :P

claralara wrote: »
    ecoli wrote: »
    Must have been in heaven in Mulligans after Donadea so :P

I think he still has the wood to prove it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Your username, what's the story??

Did the strand palace end up as your most expensive 2 night hotel stay ever?

What changes will you make to training/diet/lifestyle before having another bash at sub 3?

How come most posters seem to be on boards 24/7. In your opinion, does anyone here have a proper job?

London marathon or Boston marathon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,370 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Favourite Boxer?
    Growing up I became a huge Eubank Fan. Didn't like him at first but like a lot of people grew to love him as he showed just how brave he could be in the ring. I was absolutely devastated when collins beat him. After the Watson fight he was never the same again and lost his killer instinct. A prime Eubank with the bit betwen his teeth would have destroyed Collins.

From watching Youtube and reading my favourite Old time boxer would probably be Roberto Duran. What a warrior. You should read his Biography, it's great stuff. Won his first world title in 1969 and was still in title fights right up until this century.

Also Ali obviously, he would probably be my favourite sportsperson of all time. He was so much more than a boxer.

I could name you a dozen 'wars' that were great fights. Eubank v Watson would probably be right up there (remember watching it so clearly as a kid). But for it's significance and sheer shock value at the time I would have to go with the Rumble in the Jungle- Ali vs Foreman. Anyone who hasn't seen the Oscar winning documentary on that fight (even if they are not a sports fan) should watch it.
    Not sure a prime Eubank would have destroyed Collins. Collins was as rough and rugged and awkward as they come. Eubank had two chances and failed both times. Nothing in Eubank's "peak" would lead me to believe that he destroys Collins. Collins was never destroyed. Even after the Collins defeats Eubank was very capable; check both bouts with Carl Thompson.

Rumble in the Jungle is spot on. One of sports greatest ever events, and a tremendous fight. It had everything. It's my personal favorite.

Enjoyed reading your replies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,370 ✭✭✭✭walshb

My question to you: Of all the track events in the Olympics which one is the toughest in the sense of stamina and speed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

Hi meno
    I remember a few posts that you were involved in with tergat back in the day.
    Back then you would have been new to running. You say that you don't want to give out advice to newbies as it may be generic morale boosting - but think of it, you could be the new tergat, doling out advice to all comers. That would put the doubters back in their box.
    On a more serious note what one thing do you think has made you a better runner? Wearing kim kardashians go runs? Milage? Beer?

HI PM!!

Do you enjoy coaching / mentoring and who if anyone coaches you ?
    Hi PM, I do but I am pretty much a one trick Pony. I have a fair idea of what it takes to improve a marathon time for a relatively new (but not novice) runner. However at an elite level I wouldn't have a clue tbh. I don't know my daniels from my casanovas at all :pac:

I am pretty uncoachable. I have had some advisors and sounding boards but always end up doing my own thing. I have learned a lot from larry brent/Tergat/TRR and loads from just reading posts and logs on here.

What's the worst injury you have picked up running ?
    Apart from the hamstring tear (mentioned above) which was pretty stupid (I shouldn't have been racing a mile in spikes...) I haven't had an injury that kept me from running for any significant time. I quite literally had a pain in the ass for about a year but trained and raced through it and eventually it went away.

Who on boards has the most natural talent / potential in your eyes ?
    Lots of people seem to have talent as they do well while relatively new to running but I doubt that is down to 'some innate ability'. It's probably more the fact they were relatively fit and lean before starting running and had a recent history of doing sports at a decent level.

Can hard work beat natural talent ?
    “Hard work beats talent when talent fails to work hard.” That's an often quoted saying. I'd say it pretty much sums it up.

Do you play any musical instruments ?
    No Not at all. I am not in any way muscical.

Did this get number 1 for you ?

[/QUOTE]

I don't see any resemblance at all. I have a lovely full head of hair. I think you have me confused with DrQuirky ;)

Rom the data sheet man!!
    If you have a 3:05 pace band on your arm like you did in London 2013 then how are you going to run sub 3 if you have that to fall back on ?
    I was never really gunning for sub 3 in London 2013. My training and races indicated it was just outside my capabilities. I was pretty sure I would run 3:01-3:05 all going well. I am pretty disciplined in that i can run a whole marathon without looking at the garmin; though there are clocks at every mile marker so I had a fair Idea where I was at.

How did you get a BQ ?
    :confused: By Running a Q time....mine was sub 3:10 I had a few times that qualified me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good man, Niall.

- What does your username mean and how do you pronounce it?

- I noticed during the Christmas drinks that you enjoy the odd fag. Were you ever a serious smoker and if so has it affected breathing? (I think this is a limitation of mine, not that this thread is about me, of course.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

How many languages do you speak?

Do you realise you are the opinionated man on the planet?

In the coal hole you tried to convince me that craft beers were better than common industrial brewed beers because, and I quote, "they brew less pints when brewing craft beer, while the industrial scale beer is brewed in the millions, therefore craft beer is better". How did the craft beer taste when you were spewing it back up in the lobby of the hotel while I sipping a pint of Carling in the hotel bar?

Sub 3, is it mental or physical at this point in time?

If digger was given the bullet in the morning would you make a move on CL?

If digger was away with work this week would you make a move on CL?

Is it true you recruit kids to rob Dundrum shopping centre?

Do you have any siblings?

Would you ever move back to Tyrone or are you settled in the capital?

Do you hate any GAA county more than Dublin?

Regards, feeling nervous at a Dubs match. where exactly do you sit and what the fcuk do you say out loud. Refer to Q1

pconn062 wrote: »
    Woah, woah, woah, stall the digger. Athletes from Dunleer often start up near the front of the field, but that's only because they often to go on to win the race! Please don't lump all us Louthians into the one heap!

Good man Niall,
    Glad to uphold the unknown[/U] good name of Dunleer AC :)

Why the hell do you like pacing so much? Be honest, is it for the back-slapping?!
    Haha not at all. The only marathon I would pace nowadays would be DCM. It's great to be part of the buzz of a big event like that when you are not racing. Gives a decent reason to joining the celebrations afterwards!!! I don't pace many halfs anymore but would choose the ones I do for
    a) perks offered
    b) social aspect (weekend away in Limerick for example)
    c) decent training runs whn I might be too lazy to do a long run otherwise

You came on a lot over 5-10k last summer, can you tell us a little about your training from that time and what changes you made?
    Coming from Marathon training I had a decent base. My club had a great series of 7 midweek races at the time, so every week I was pretty much doing a club race on a tuesday and a 5/10k at the weekend. While I wasn't doing all the club races at 100% they were certainly faster than tempo runs, so all the racing really brought me on. It's a risky strategy but as I say with Marathon base behind me I managed to do it injury free for a couple of months (was starting to burn out at the end of June though!!)

How fast do you think you need to become to break 3 hours? 36 minute 10k/1.22 half?
    I don't think I need to be that fast tbh. If i was in low 38 10k shape and 1:24:xx Half shape I am pretty sure I'd be good to go (provided appropriate training).

You tried the 100m at the graded meets a while ago, tempted to give the sprints another go this year?
    Not if I want to keep my hamstrings in tact no!!

How many running shoes do you own?
    Way too many although I had a cull a few months ago and got rid of about 5-6 pairs. I'd say I have about 8 active pairs and 7-8 that have been retired. BTW keep me a pair of those On racers ;)

What is your ideal race weight?
    No idea. I was about 75kg last year before London. Didn't really pay a lot of attention to it but weighed myself about a month ago and was down to 72kg. Mind you the loss didn't seem to go that well!! Despite that I'd say somewhere south of 70kg.

Coe or Ovett?
    Ovett cos Coe was too posh

Treacy or Coghlan?
    Coghlan cos treacy was too skinny

Fav Beer?
    I try most beers but when I can find one I would choose a Hobgoblin

Digger; ever the cheaky bollox :)

How come you ate so much ham in London?
    There's ham in Hamburgers right?

Did it come as a shock that RK gave briantherunner the rattle and not you?
    I guess she chose him because of all the great athletics genes in his family. Pity they seem to have skipped him :pac:

Are you sure crisps don't contribute to bad cholesterol?
    Pretty sure they do.
    I think you have me confused with yourself on this one. Let me explain this one again. No, crisps don't grow in the ground. Potatoes grow in the ground and crisps are made in factories. Got it? ;)