Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Election Posters: Should they be banned ??

• 26-04-2014 3:48pm
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The country has been destroyed by pointless, ugly election posters.
    This really p!sses me off :mad::mad::mad:

Does anyone else agree that all election posters should be banned ??

Should election posters be banned?? 194 votes

Yes, ban all election posters
    0%
    No, don't ban all election posters
    100%
    StephenStarkBigConAlunquaaludelintdrummerZaphStringExplosive_CornflaketoxofStimpyoneHolstennuttyboy79T17cHkenmcm5ex9oqjawdg2iSparkosgthighwayAlquacassette50 194 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

2011 wrote: »
    The country has been destroyed by pointless, ugly election posters.
    This really p!sses me off.

Does anyone else agree that all election posters should be banned ??

No , I like them, they brighten up our boring lampposts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Best course of action to the bring the issue up with your local councillor....

Oh right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,039 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Absolutely.

The achieve nothing, all you see is a blur of posters, they all start to blend into one after a while (or maybe that's just me?) - the ones in my area don't even specify which election they're running in ffs, just Vote Number 1. Number 1 for what???

And half of them are at head height or blocking traffic lights (I'm seriously thinking of emailing the Green Party to complain about their candidate's one at the Kevin St. junction which is positively dangerous.)

And how much feckin' money is wasted on them every time?

I know this is an AH thread, so sorry about the serious answer, but :mad:

wazky wrote: »
    Best course of action to the bring the issue up with your local councillor.

I'm waiting for someone, anyone, to turn up at my house canvassing, and they'll be told that if they have posters up they won't be getting my vote. I suspect I needn't bother going to the polling statiion if that's the case though, so I might let them away with promising to address the issue of posters next time around, and preferably agree not to use them themselves.

No canvassers yet though :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

They should take them all down. What the hell are they playing at trying to distract drivers. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

But how would I know who to vote for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

No, I got paid good money to put a few up during the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Absolutely.

The achieve nothing, all you see is a blur of posters, they all start to blend into one after a while (or maybe that's just me?) - the ones in my area don't even specify which election they're running in ffs, just Vote Number 1.

And half of them are at head height or blocking traffic lights (I'm seriously thinking of emailing the Green Party to complain about their candidate's one at the Kevin St. junction which is positively dangerous.

And how much feckin' money is wasted on them every time?

I know this is an AH thread, so sorry about the serious answer, but :mad:

Noticed that the other day as well.Are you a local or European candidate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

They should take them all down. What the hell are they playing at trying to distract drivers. Idiots.

If a 3x2 poster distracts you, don't drive. Do you crash every time you pass a shop with a special offer poster!?

They don't bother me much. It does bother me when they aren't taken down in a reasonable amount of time after the elections though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

they should definitely be banned. Horrible yokes.

How am expected to vote for anyone irresponsible enough to cause distractions for drivers on every road in the country.
    It just goes to show you though, polititians generally don't give a **** about the people, they care about personal gain and the feeling of self importance. Not to mention the money.
    Vincent Brown if you're reading this please ask every polititian you have on your show this question over the next few weeks.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    If a 3x2 poster distracts you, don't drive. Do you crash every time you pass a shop with a special offer poster!?

They don't bother me much. It does bother me when they aren't taken down in a reasonable amount of time after the elections though

You're bombarded with them. I've never crashed in ten years, however my eyes are drawn to them while driving, yes. It takes just one second to crash and it could be the result of reading an election poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I think we should start a fund so that we can run a candidate who will ban election posters.

Of course we're going to need to put up thousands of election posters to achieve it but the ends justify the means.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

The fact of the matter is that if you don't put up posters, the chances are you won't get elected. From my experience most candidates don't even want to use posters, they just feel they have to in order to remain competitive. I doubt candidates would spend €3,000 + on their posters if they felt they weren't needed, and they wouldn't have their teams out all night trying to put them up.

Some sort of system like they have in France could work, where there is limited designated space for candidates to display their posters. That would be better for the environment, cheaper for candidates and wouldn't be too intrusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

You know it's a criminal offence to remove posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

Chucken wrote: »

So keep your wits about you when you deface the horrible ****ing things. Fat, arrogant privilege staring smugly at you from every lamppost.

The fact of the matter is that if you don't put up posters, the chances are you won't get elected. From my experience most candidates don't even want to use posters, they just feel they have to in order to remain competitive. I doubt candidates would spend €3,000 + on their posters if they felt they weren't needed, and they wouldn't have their teams out all night trying to put them up.

Some sort of system like they have in France could work, where there is limited designated space for candidates to display their posters. That would be better for the environment, cheaper for candidates and wouldn't be too intrusive.

Which is why I'd like to see someone have the guts to propose a unilateral agreement to stop using posters. They'd get my vote for sure.

The way things are gone now, there's a set of every candidate's posters on every single pole, traffic light, tree, and anything else they can get a cable tie around, even if it's only 10 feet from the last one. What the feck purpose does that serve? Half of them seem be out to plaster THEIR posters everywhere (even if that means two or three on one pole) just so the others can't. It's like a kids game gone wrong. And these are the people we're going to vote to run our country/county?

So it was a case of drawing moustaches on them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Was there a storm one year and posters ended up flying about like confetti.Think I remember something about people finding ingenious uses for them.

kneemos wrote: »
    Was there a storm one year and posters ended up flying about like confetti.Think I remember something about people finding ingenious uses for them.

We used them to make a new roof for our timber (fuel) shed :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

The fact of the matter is that if you don't put up posters, the chances are you won't get elected.

I accept that, but it does not answer my question.
    Should all election posters be banned?

So what do you think would be so bad if nobody was allowed to put up election posters?

What is the downside?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I accept that, but it does not answer my question.
    Should all election posters be banned?

So what do you think would be so bad if nobody was allowed to put up election posters?

What is the downside?

No, I don't think there should be an outright ban. I think posters do serve a purpose in informing people who is running for election in a certain area.

I have had people on the doors tell me that X is not running based on the fact that they have not seen any posters for said candidate up yet, where in reality that candidate probably has not got around to putting up their posters yet. So the posters do serve a purpose and they do have an impact.

I do however think that it is probably time to impose some limitations, such as having designated areas to display posters.

Under which law? Does it just apply to election posters or any auld thing one might decide to hang off a lamp post?

Kichote wrote: »
    Under which law? Does it just apply to election posters or any auld thing one might decide to hang off a lamp post?

Election posters are still considered private property under the law, so interfering with them would be an offense. Far better off reporting any offending posters to the council so that they can follow up on it (through fines and the like).

There are laws specifically pertaining to signs and posters.
    If the posters are permitted by the gardai, then removing them is a criminal offence.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

No, I don't think there should be an outright ban. I think posters do serve a purpose in informing people who is running for election in a certain area.

I would have thought that the internet, newspapers (including free papers), radio, TV, and politicians / volunteers calling door to door do that already.

Would it not be better to send each potential voter who is on the electoral register a taxpayer funded list of all candidates, a single photo and 20 word description of candidate?

Do you think that this assists voters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Limit them to oneperson per 300 m radius or set numeber per constituency or something. Do they really need to have a poster of the same candidate on every tree, every lampost, every tall child and every roadsign on a one mile stretch of road?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I don't think you're allowed hang any auld thing off a lamp post.

There's a window of opportunity for a certain period before an election for election posters, hence the revving of engines coming up to midnight the night before that date, and the mad dash up and down ladders to clog up every available space before your opponent does.

Except, of course, those candidates who ignore the rules altogether and put their posters up long before the opening date - and sure why wouldn't you when there appears to be no sanction whatsoever?

Election posters are still considered private property under the law, so interfering with them would be an offense. Far better off reporting any offending posters to the council so that they can follow up on it (through fines and the like).

Has anyone ever been convicted for taking one down? I suppose then any guerilla advertising i put up gets treated the same?

I would have thought that the internet, newspapers (including free papers), radio, TV, and politicians / volunteers calling door to door do that already.

Would it not be better to send each potential voter who is on the electoral register a taxpayer funded list of all candidates, a single photo and 20 word description of candidate?

Do you think that this assists voters?

That picture is EXACTLY the sort of thing I meant in an earlier post. I just hadn't got around to taking any pictures of it.

It's gone beyond the beyonds by this stage.

Banning election posters would not be without precedent

That's not here.

Unfortunately you are correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I don't mind looking at Nadine Meisonnave's posters currently up around Camden Street, Dublin 2. Puts the Fine into Fine Gael.

That's not here.

i think they are banned in youghal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

For those of us who remember, if we survived those early Wonder Bra posters, then we'll survive anything.

I have no objections to these posters :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

would be very easy for the government to pay for an independently run website that gives a list of all candidates for every constituency/ward, and each candidate can add links to their FB/Twitter/Website.
    then let people who genuinely have an interest on the issues do their homework, and everyone else can enjoy streets free from these eyesores.

I have no objections to these posters :D

Double standards.

:o

Double standards.

You know that this is "After Hours", right?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

They don't bother me too much, but I think they're pointless. Just because I see "Vote Cllr. Devitt #1" and a big cheesy grin doesn't mean I'll vote for him.

Or maybe it does...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Yes...they are a blight on the landscape.

Having said that, Grace Something (a Labour candidate in Dundrum) is rather easy on the eye!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

:D asked my landlord if he had a blowtorch. his face was a picture until he realised i was wanting to use it on the posters. deep in healy rae country and young johnny is leering from every post, obscuring vision...where did he get that suntan..yukk

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I'm waiting for someone, anyone, to turn up at my house canvassing, and they'll be told that if they have posters up they won't be getting my vote. I suspect I needn't bother going to the polling statiion if that's the case though, so I might let them away with promising to address the issue of posters next time around, and preferably agree not to use them themselves.

No canvassers yet though :mad:

daddy and wifey healy rae were here weeks ago before the posters went up.. i know why now:rolleyes:

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

deep rural area here and they block and distract..trying to brainwash..healy rae motto.. i/m on your side a few hundred times each journey..

but they are the council:eek: